FastCarsWiki.com

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

October 14 2012

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

I wanted the Volvo safety features mostly and more comfort after turning in a Subaru Impreza wagon (also a dependable car but not so comfortable with 2 grown kids. I do mostly city driving (21 mpg); enjoy leather seats and good sound system. Highway mileage is -29-30 mpg. Also, the car doors are heavier than old Subaru--air bags, ABS, and stability control I feel safer. The ABS brakes are excellent and have used them for at least 4 close calls. They are amazing. Have received compliments from passers by. I am 5' 7" female and the car feels like it is the right size for me. Local service is good--routine maintenance so far with the standard extended warranty.

Cons

Down side: You sit a but low. Sometimes when I pull up to other compact cars and SUVs, I seem to sit lower. Rear visibility a bit obscured with headrests (removable) for parking lot pull-outs, lane changes, and city driving. I am in the habit of looking around a lot due to city driving and DC maniacs! The sunroof does not close automatically and the car is pretty basic. Still, I am happy with the choice and plan to hold on to it.

Overall

Pros: Dependable, attractive, safe, and fun to drive. Cons: Compact size and city gas mileage (5 cyl-21 mpg)

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

March 14 2010

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Nice drive, VOLVO safety, hot exterior design

Cons

rear leg space

Overall

I actually own a 2006 S40 2.4i, and it is still running like new. The seats are comfortable, the features and controls are extremely user-friendly and easy to learn. Not to mention, the styling of the car is chic and catchy. The only con I can say about it is that the rear leg space is quite cramped if the driver or passenger happen to move their seat back a little. As a tall driver, my seat is pushed quite far back, which is comfortable for me, but not comfortable on long drives for anyone in the back. Overall, I would never get rid of this car and absolutely love it! Great buy and worth more than its MSRP.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

January 12 2010

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Owner

Cons

Owner

Overall

Owned it now for 6 mos. Bought it for a 40+ mile daily commute. I live in Maine & it is tackling all the weather situations w/o problems. If you want 32mpg or so,look elsewhere. It does not have a lot of interior space but you can see that in the showroom. Service is "free"(built into the cost of the car) but it makes the maintenance issue easy. The S40 is what it is: a good,well built,safe,so far reliable car. It is definitely worth a look/test drive if it fits your needs.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

December 22 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Great styling, comfortable, reliable, handles well in snow

Cons

no clutch models in US, squeaks when not warmed up for a few minutes

Overall

I bought this car last August after driving a Corolla for more than 12 years. I need something safe and reliable for commuting to work and client appointments. The back seat is large enough and comfortable for the average sized adult for a couple of hours. Feels like a luxury car for a reasonable price. Handles well in snow. 5-cylinder engine larger than what I had before, plenty of power for my mostly city driving. I do miss having a clutch, but shifting the automatic-manual is a good compromise. I've received lots of compliments. I haven't needed service yet, but it's all included in the vehicle lease at the dealer and seems manageable.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

December 19 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Looks great, handles excellent in bad weather, smooth ride, comfortable

Cons

Slow to change gears, gain initial speed

Overall

I love this car and the attention it gets. Anyone who sits in it compliments the styling or says "wow, you have a volvo?" The thing I don't like is having to special order even a simple oil filter when getting the oil changed. The cost isn't different, its just that you have to wait about twice as long as the person to get it done as it would had you been driving a more common brand. No one ever seems to ever have the correct specs for it either. I'm glad I haven't had any problems with it, otherwise it would probably take twice as long to fix! I am definately impressed with how this car handles in poor weather...I have never even felt the wheels pick up even slightly in a bad rain storm. I am actually hoping for snow so I can test it out on that too. I definately feel alot safer and secure in this car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

December 8 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

stylish, great interior, comfortable, easy to park

Cons

none yet

Overall

I traded in my 2006 VW Gti for this car. So far I have put 15,000 miles on the car and am very impressed. However, it's WAY more practical. Insurance is affordable on this car It's SOLID, safe, and the interior is outstanding. Volvo's floating counsel is very cool. I purchased a 2008 with 10,000 miles for around 19 grand. Also, pre-owned Volvos have a 60,000 mile warranty. I'm impressed with Volvo.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

October 13 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

It's not ostentatious, blends right in in an urban surrounding, the audio equipment is OK.

Cons

Switching from an 03 Cadillac STS to this there was a bit of a difference as far as acceleration is concerned. All the plastic feels a bit....cheap. I hate it when people remind me that I'm actually driving a Ford...

Overall

I like the car, the stigma of driving a "mom" car, not so much. However, all in all, I LOVE THIS CAR !!!! Mine is blue, I named it Valdemar. FYI, my 03 Honda Accord was named Fred and my 03 Cadillac STS was named Alikai. lol. I'm just waiting to see how it handles in the snow.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

September 3 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

European feel, great heated seats, and good looks

Cons

bad placement of the windshield wipers off/on switch

Overall

I bought my 2009 Volvo S4 after owning a 1997 VW diesel Passat. I was used to the 37 MPG and my Volvo gets around 23-24 MPG. I had high expectations for the fuel economy but realized that what I was getting with the Volvo is really pretty good. 28-29 highway, 22-24 city. But, all in all, I really like my Volvo. It's very comfortable. It has enough acceleration to overtake slower vehicles on the highway and I just like the European look and feel. This is my first Volvo and am glad I made the plunge to buy it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

June 9 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Good Fuel Economy, fun to drive, tight steering, smooth ride, sporty and stylish, quality, ergonomic

Cons

small trunk space, back seat is good for smaller people / shorter rides.

Overall

This car is great driving back and forth to work and for taking trips. The ride is smooth and comfortable. The sound system is great, I love the fabric, if you spill coffee you can clean it so easily. I get a lot of compliments with this car. Driven 5k miles with no complaints. Its a little smaller than what I am used to, I used to drive an explorer. This car is so much fun to drive, the acceleration is there, the responsiveness is there, its handling is very good and its a safe car :)

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

May 3 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Looks great, drives excellent, very comfortable and great gas mileage. Very happy with this car!!

Cons

none

Overall

This is my first Volvo and I love it!! This is my favorite car so far. Sporty look, comfortable, safe and great gas mileage. Bought it used with only 14K miles on it and got a great deal. Handles well.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

April 18 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Great handeling, sporty look.

Cons

Ride rather rough.

Overall

My 2nd s40 and love having a reason to drive it! The awd and turbo on this car are the exact balance between power and stability that I was looking for. I love the European design and subtle statement this car makes.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

March 27 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Very good fuel economy and comfortable

Cons

Limited interior space

Overall

This car is very fuel economic. I feel very solid and safe when I drive on a highway. It also makes me feel very comfortable... as comfortable as driving a Japanese car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

March 10 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Good fuel economy, control of the car at high speeds perfect.

Cons

A very silent and comfortable car.

Overall

Had not made up my mind but a test drive was all I needed to actually fall in love with my Volvo S40.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

February 20 2009

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Good MPG, Sexy Styling, Fit and finish

Cons

not as responsive as Saab 93, which is only 3k more.

Overall

I love this car. It feels really solid while driving. I have the 2008 model for an year now and I never experienced any reliability issue.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

November 9 2008

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Great acceleration, handling, posh interior, great legroom all around

Cons

steering could be tighter, nav should be included

Overall

This car is fantastic. As an owner of a 2009 S40 T5 R-Design and an Audi A4 Quattro I can do my own road test to see what the pluses and minuses of each are and can see first hand what the differences are. After my comparison, the T5 R-design has more of a elegant sports feel rather than a rigorous sports car feel of the A4. There is more body roll with the S40 than the A4, but the S40 drives like a luxury car with sports tuning. The S40 is quicker off the line and has much better acceleration than the A4 heads up. Folks, if you are trying to compare the S40 to the A4 or BMW for handling and performance, don't bother. Each car serves a different type of driver. The S40 has waaaay more room for passengers that sit in the back seats (your knees will not be in your chest) passengers sitting in the back seat sit comfortably with legroom to spare. This car is a outstanding car for the price points it serves. It has the class and style to compete with the Benz and BMW without paying the price for one. I could have easily bought a Benz or a BMW with cash (as I did with the Volvo) but I choose the S40 cause it is a waay better value for the money and is just as classy as those two.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

November 8 2008

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

has a quality european feel for less money than others.Easy to drive.

Cons

Not the same level on performance as bmw or audi.

Overall

if your looking for a decent performace sedan that has a nimble feeling this is a good choice. Good gas mileage. The controls are extremely easy to use and right there for you.The car has a simple elegance. Seats do not hug you well though. If your looking for a higher performance ride, look to spend a few thousand more and go for the bmw or audi.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

November 5 2008

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Excellent Mileage, Low Emissions, Smooth Ride, Horsepower, Comfortable & User-Friendly Cabin

Cons

Dealers & Certified Mechanics Only in Metropolitan Areas

Overall

The Volvo S40 is well worth the investment. High quality standards plus excellent engineering has brought forth a new maverick in the automobile industry - the Volvo S40. A sporty yet smooth ride and excellently lit controls for night driving provide qualities which my be sought after by many generations. The 2.4i powerhouse provides more than enough horsepower for city driving yet still excels in the areas of gas usage efficiency. I own this automobile and 35mpg while driving in city is an everyday thing for me and could be for you if you follow Volvo's recommended maintenance schedule.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

September 24 2008

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Fuel economy, seats, handling, compact size

Cons

Rough ride, $4200 price increase over 2008, reliability rep

Overall

About to dump my Jetta and had a long test drive with the S-40. Build quality apparently good but Consumer Reports is lukewarm about the reliability. Power adequate but nothing special. Interior bland, doesn't feel as upscale as the Germans. Seat comfort good but not as much as other Volvo models. Handling and ride okay, but not as good as my VW. Select package is now standard for 2009 and includes power sunroof, 8-way power driver seat, AM/FM radio w/in-dash 6-disc CD/MP3 changer, satellite radio, upgraded sound system, trip computer, wood or aluminum interior trim, and front fog lights for a whopping $4200 sticker price increase. Not an option I would have chosen as the sunroof cuts into headroom and I'm tall. Come on folks, almost $29,500 including freight for an entry level Volvo? No wonder their sales have tanked! Ford seems to be doing to Volvo what they've done with their other vehicles; high sticker prices to be followed by hefty discounts, but only if you shop in major metropolitan areas. This excludes upstate New York, where most salesman still think it's 1985 and ridiculously expect full or near MSRP. Decent, but not amazing car; lousy value. Only a few thousand less than an Infiniti G or Mercedes C!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Volvo S40 review

Date

September 18 2008

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

It has great function, good looking. Especially when putting my car under the blue sky, it show in blue-gray color(mine is in gray). You can imagine how excellent the manual is. The back-seat can put it down and make more space for stuffs.

Cons

A little too short in height, I am 6ft tall, everytime I drive in the car, I can usually feel the heat above my head, it really seems too close to the roof.

Overall

In the whole, the volvo S40 maybe a little expensive but it is worthful according to all it function and performance. If I have purchased another car, I would have crashed twice in one month. (I bought it on August 8,2008) Today is September 18, 2008. Fortunely, I saved by my car...Is it ridiculous? But anyway, I dont think so.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Volvo S40 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph