FastCarsWiki.com

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

December 5 2012

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Great fun to drive, thoughtful interior-floating dash, etc.

Cons

I have owned an S40 since it was new in 2004. It has been in the shop so many times it has become a running joke among co-workers. The engine was replaced a year ago and today I learned that it will be another $4,000 to fix it. I have been diligent about maintenance but it hasn't seemed to make a difference. In addition to the engine, the alternator, compressor, stereo, oil pump and all of the knobs in the car have been replaced (and other parts). All of this has been under warranty but the amount of time I've spent on the side of the road, at the dealership and securing rides to and from work over the last 8 1/2 years has been trying. Buying a Honda Accord. Finished with Volvo forever.

Overall

Never!!! Have heard similar stories about this car and the S80. Not worth it with so many reliable cars out there!

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

December 23 2008

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Great handling, sporty, fast, Safe, great on gas

Cons

Stereo isnt the best, but other than that there are no cons!

Overall

I love this car, and if the family wasnt getting bigger I would get another one

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

March 1 2008

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

everything

Cons

nothing

Overall

the car is great

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

October 25 2005

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

I love the fuel efficiency, since I have to work 30 miles away. The sporti-sh look and confortable seats.

Cons

A better stereo system.

Overall

Overall it's an awesome vehicle. I would recomend this car if you are looking for someting nice, sporty, cute and gas efficient. I am very happy with the decision I made on buying this car..!!

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

September 26 2005

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

This car is very comfortable for as small a car as it is. It handles very well, with a sports car feel. It gets very good gas mileage. Very roomy trunk.

Cons

The car computer that tracks gas mileage and average speed went crazy once, but it has never happened again. The controls above my head that control the sunroof and interior lights rattle whenever the bass of a song hits.

Overall

This car is a great buy for its size and is very safe. It is a great car to buy for teens because of its size and safety ratings. I have had my car for 6 months and enjoy it very much. I recommend this car to anyone wanting a small car with great character.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

August 12 2005

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

The safety.

Cons

N/A

Overall

Great, car, great service, great saftey features, what more could I ask for.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

July 26 2005

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Fuel economy is superb - I get 40+ when cruising at 55 and high 20s around town. I like that the fuel economy does not require me to sacrifice performance. For a small car, it has a roomy trunk. It is stylish and feels safe, like driving and armored Civic. On a recent 5500 mile road trip, it performed flawlessly and the temperature gauge never even moved above midway. I also like the prestige conveyed by Volvo without the pretentiousness of BMW or Mercedes. (OK, maybe the headlight wipers are pretentious, but I think they are cool!) The dealer takes care of me... The warranty on CPO cars like mine is very long - I think I still have 4 years and 65,000 miles left.

Cons

Many rattles in the interior, especially from the door and seatbelt retractors. Radio leaves much to be desired. For a luxury (or near luxury) car, it seems to lack a lot of features. For about $6,000 less, a top of the line Ford Focus has a 6-disc CD/MP3 changer, remote trunk release, and telescoping steering to name a few. The S40 has none of these... Dark blue paint shows scratches easily... Despite being certified pre-owned, I still discovered that two of the alloy wheels were bent, each one costing near $400 to replace.

Overall

I don't know about buying one new, but I would definitely recommend considering certified pre-owned. I think I saved $5000 over a new one and still got a great warranty. It's solid. It's safe. It's pretty fun to drive. My biggest regret is not getting the V50 wagon so my dog would have a place to ride... I'm told the newer style has the features that this style S40 lacks, but it also doesn't get the stellar fuel economy and it doesn't have the headlight wipers.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

July 26 2005

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Compact but roomy. 4 Cylinder but with the pick-up of a 6 cylinder. Looks tough but classy.

Cons

Nothing

Overall

Excellent buy!

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

April 22 2005

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

I've owned my S40 for 1.5 years now and I want to love this car. It has all the little luxuries I was looking for when I researched cars. The seats are great after a long road trip. A step on the gas and the turbo kicks in, it's truly fun to drive. The sunroof, heated seats, and sound system make for a great trip. Not a flashy car, just the luxuries that come with a better make.

Cons

There's been numerous electrical problems. The car has been in the shop more as time goes on (I bought a new car so this wouldn't happen!). The temperature sensor gives odd readings even after replacing it, the gas gauge suddenly plummets even after fixing it, the immoblizer comes on, the center console lights burnt out at 6 months, headlight replacement(3X!) ...the list goes on. On the plus side, the dealership employees are wonderful to work with, but nice people don't make up for a car with problems.

Overall

As said in the previous review, don't buy it unless you get a great deal. I had thought I was going to upgrade into a larger Volvo in the future. After this ordeal, I'm buying another make of of car as soon as I can.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

April 9 2005

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Nice comfortable seats, many accessories that you find in more expensive luxury cars, and great safety features.

Cons

I have owned this car for 1.5 years and I cant even count how many times I have been to the dealer. There is always a problem with this car. Have only had one major issue regarding the suspension when the vehicle was only about a year old. Since then it has been minor issues, such as the sunroof coming off its tract, headlight going out, and the leather on the steering wheel peeling.

Overall

Not recommnended to anyone, unless you get it really cheap. I wish I would have kept my 1999 Honda accord rather than trading it in for this car.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

December 19 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

Traded in my 2005 Carrola XR5 for the 2004 S40 people thought I was crazy but needed something safer and more comfortable. Test drove the S40 and was imediatley won over. A very solid car that handles alot better than a toyota (ha haha) and just a comfortable ride for the amount of driving I do.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

July 7 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

I bought my volvo as part of the family legacy. My grandmother bought her 1979, 242DL brand new in 1979. Her car has passed through two other family members since and is still running strong. With all that said, I felt absolutely compelled to buy a Volvo when I became pregnant. I wanted something sporty yet safe and reliable. The S40 fits all of my criteria. I am 27 years old and image/body style is everything... The car is an attractive tank and has all the features of a luxury car with an affordable price tag. The car handles very well and I believe that it will last me for a long time.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

June 16 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

Meets all of my expectations and more. A pleasure to drive and lots of fun.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

June 1 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

I bought a 2004 right out of college, and is the best car!! I live far from my work, and is comfortable to drive in, very safe and more spacious then it looks. It gets great gas mileage, and for driving in the snow and Colorado mountains, I highly recommend the climate package with the dynamic stability assistance, it makes a huge difference. Plus it is very quick, and handles great. I looked at the Accord Coupe, Jetta, and A4 but am VERY happy with the decision I made. You get a lot for your money, and I highly recommend it!

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

May 18 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

I was rear ended in my A4 recently and they gave me a s40 for a rental. It has great acceleration, but it torque steers to the point where I am not comfortable gunning the engine. Interior and features on par with something I would expect from Honda. Stereo sounds like a $99 special from KMart. Drive the Volkswagen/Audi before you buy and see the difference.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

May 5 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

My old volvo had so much problems that I had to take it to the shop too many times to count. The windows would not roll down, the AC broke after 4 years. The engine is extremely loud. The rattle was also very shaky even when idle. Some say they last a long time. Well, my car didn't even get passed 200,000 miles. My friend's mazda 323 has achieved over 300k miles. amazing.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

May 3 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

I am currently have my S40 '00 which is feel exciting and easy to drive. 1.Drive performance - (4-star) It is small and easy drive.2. Quality - (3-star) Rear suspension still have some weak point but straight road can feel better. 3. Engine - (5-star) 2.0L to carry a small body size, just feel MANIAC RACING.4. Advance Tech. (3-star) How do you think that BMW & Mercedes? I prefer simple it's better for driver. Too advance will confuse for owner need to study the Manual book before drive.5. Price - (4-star) Only worth after used. That's why I bought secondhand.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

April 22 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

I test drove one. Rides real smooth and has quite a kick to it. Just wish they had a manual transmission. I guess ill just have to wait untill next year.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

April 14 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

The 2004 Volvo S40 is a great buy because not only do you great a great looking car that is safe, but you also move up in car categories, from Honda and Volkswagen. Besides the TSX is overpriced, it still only a Honda. S40, c'mon it's a Volvo. #1

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

March 30 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

I'm in Germany with the army, I sold my A4 (2002) model last year, and was waiting to buy an Audi TT, but after driving the base S40, I'm convinced this car is real quality and performance wrapped up in total value. I drove my test car for about 45 minutes, to include 20 minutes on the autobahn, the 2.4i has the same feel as the 325i, but I like it better. 168 horsepower in enough for this small sedan, I was crusing at 100 mph just under 4000 rpms, it handels extremley well, (better than any of the other Volvos) and feels solid. The Volvo military sales program is selling these (base 2.4i) for $21,280 (exact price) It's the best deal around. The sound system kicks ass, and all cars come with tip-tronic (automatic with shifting optional) Cruise Control, auto air, power windows and mirrors ect.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

March 11 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

I had a 94 bmw 325i which was a cool car however mechanically...nothing but problems. I bought a S40T about a month ago, love it. Great gas mileage, quick, and looks good. Now I have to change my yahoo name!

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

February 15 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

great for families

Cons

nothing

Overall

It is a great car for families and i love it

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

February 9 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Pros

Love at first site! No kidding, this car is great to look at, extremely fast and nimble, and others think you spent a bundle on it, but what they don't know won't hurt them, right? Again, this car is NO slouch, it will get up and move quickly, amazing for a 4 cylinder, but the Turbo takes care of that. The car WILL go the way you aim it! Great car, if you get the chance to buy one, get it. Also, get the LSE package, it's well worth the extra $1,000!

Cons

Like others have said, the radio needs buttons to press, instead of having to dial to a pre-set station. The cruise control works just fine, but it would be nice to have it on the steering wheel, instead of the turn signal. The side arm rest could be expanded a touch, but maybe those Swedish folks designed it so you wouldn't go to sleep. The steering is very, very, very crisp, so if you do decide to take a nap while driving (not recommended) make SURE you don't jerk the wheel too hard when you wake up, the car WILL go in the direction you told it to go. Front spoiler and rear spoiler really dress up the car, however, make sure you don't crowd the curb to close.

Overall

We purchased this car from North Point Volvo in Little Rock, and if other dealers are having trouble selling cars and being nice to potential customers, they ought to take a few lessons from North Point. Great experience from start to finish! We bought the car on Halloween and the smile hasn't left our face yet. Don't let other reviews lead you into believing this is nothing more than a dressed-up Ford, that is simply NOT true. Swedish from top to bottom. Awesome car!

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

February 6 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

For the price I paid, I can not get anything better than this Volvo S40! It is so easy to drive, and the interior is very spacious and luxrous. Great surprise on the gas milage.

2004 Volvo S40 review

Date

February 1 2004

Model

Volvo S40

Overall

I love this car. I got it as my first car when I turned sixteen, and now as I am in college, I have a newer one and love it! It handles so well, and the car NEVER has any problems. It is really quick too. I suggest it for anyone that cannot afford the bmw or audi a-4- it rocks!

Volvo S40 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph