FastCarsWiki.com

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

August 24 2007

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

The look

Cons

Very high maintenance. Does not hold its value

Overall

Not Reliable

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

September 17 2006

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Best seats I have ever driven in. Comfort all around. Nice 0-60 times and even goes well in the snow.

Cons

none

Overall

It really is the best for safety, comfort and performance.

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

January 17 2006

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Model and form

Cons

Front wheel drive

Overall

Nice car..

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

July 25 2005

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Good quickness off the line, handles corners with more grip than your behind on the seat. Good economy (I average about 23 mpg mix city/hwy). Unique looks and package. Very nice interior, excellent stereo system with the dolby surround package. Good room up front for even tall drivers (I'm 6'5") and usable back seat for a coupe. Good trunk space (had up to 4 sets of clubs in the trunk before).

Cons

Some torque steer if taking off hard from the line. Power seats are annoyingly slow and most others using your car won't understand how they work, but then again, how often are people getting in back of your coupe? Alot? Buy a 4 door. Some ride comfort sacrificed for handling with the 17" wheels and low profile tires. No complaints about road noise, engine idles very smooth.

Overall

Quick, nimble, and excellent to drive on long touring trips. Isn't just another BMW 3XX or C class Mercedes here in CA. You have a 325i? Great (yawn). So does every other college girl here. Haven't experienced ANY of the mechanical meltdowns others mention. Ownership costs are high on ALL Euro cars, so if you don't expected to be taken by Hanz at the dealership, and you will; you better buy a GM.

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

April 15 2005

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Great looking car with good acceleration - fun to drive - when it's running.

Cons

This car has been a nightmare from year 3 on. Volvo totally refused to stand behind their car. I'll never own a Volvo again.

Overall

Run, don't walk, away from this car (or, if my informal poll of Volvo owners is correct, all Volvos).

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

November 20 2004

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

great handling and performance...fun to drive..excellect stereo

Cons

a few electrical rpblems, but resolved by dealer

Overall

wonderful car...hope to drive it for many years to come

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

July 21 2004

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Excellent engine performance, sound system, comfort, styling.

Cons

The maintenance has been hideous. There is always something going wrong with this car. It has gone back to the dealership a minimum of 3 times a year with a major, car won't start, must be towed type of problem. The problems started to show up within six months of ownership. According to the dealership maintenance dept. this car it a known problem for Volvo...

Overall

Great car to drive, but no one should have to put up with these types of problems from a Volvo.

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

June 15 2004

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Distinctive styling, good acceleration, very good sound system, good grip, handles pretty well for a front wheel driver, and fairly roomy back seat for a two door coupe.

Cons

Wind noise at freeway speeds. Some torque steer when accelerating hard which is very annoying in a vehicle touted as a sports car. The front seats only move forward using the power seat function and they move forward very sloooooooooooooowly. This is an expensive vehicle to repair. Both the driver and passenger side windows had to be replaced. The driver side window was replaced through a factory recall, the passenger window broke inside the door when it was being raised. Cost to replace, $750. Also had an ignition sensor problem, $900 and a power steering part that needed replacing, $1,000

Overall

This is the most expensive vehicle I have ever purchased and I was expecting more from a $40,000 car in terms of mechanical reliability and vehicle integrity. Overall it is a fun car to drive and keep in mind it is a sports car with low profile 17

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

May 10 2004

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Nice styling. Safe, comfortable.

Cons

Turning radius of a schoolbus. Wide tires find every groove in the pavement (Saab doesn't do this). Mediocre handling. Leather interior doesn't wear well. Volvo appears not to be living up to their old reputation for quality (do we have Ford to thank for that?)

Overall

Have had to replace both window regulators. First under warranty; second not covered by extended Volvo warranty (car's only 4 months out of factory warranty on time; still has <50K miles). Dealer says this never happens (don't they always); Volvo Customer Service says

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

February 18 2004

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Love the way it handles on the snow, great stereo system, very safe car to drive.

Cons

Rear end is too high making it difficult to look on the rear view mirror.

Overall

Very safe car to drive on the snow & rain. Great looking car very stylish, serious and at the same time sporty looking car.

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

August 12 2003

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Room convertible/nice look

Cons

Had the 2000 C70 for 9 months. Was in the shop 8 times! From engine, to door malfunctions, battery, etc. In constant need of repair!

Overall

Traded it in for the 2004 S40/same price better car!

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

June 16 2003

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

The brochure says that this is a european performance coupe; that's true. I've driven many of the competitors and this car holds it's own with cars costing far more. The solid, powerful feel when accelerating is satisfying, as are the handling and overall performance aspects of this great car. I have had many other "pricey" cars, but this car-and just as important, the service culture fostered by the dealer-far surpassed my experience with other makes. I consider this car to be the best overall value for a used euro-style, luxury performance coupe, with all of the safety aspects Volvo is famous for.

Cons

Sunroof problems have been unresolved due to poor design. It has been in for repair 5 times, resulting in the entire sunroof being replaced. It's too soon to tell if that will be effective. There have been one or two other minor engine problems, but overall reliablility has been high. It has 47K miles currently.

Overall

This C70 LPT Coupe is a fine car. The safest, best looking and best performing car I could have found for the money. There isn't a safer car for twice the price. If the sunroof replacement solves the rattling overhead, I have no complaints at all. If you find one (and they're really hard to find), but it!

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

May 12 2003

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Exceptional build quality and layout of controls

Cons

Costly adjustments are often required for the convertible top which are not covered under the warranty period.

Overall

Love it

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

April 26 2003

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

This is a great looking and very safe car.

Cons

Needs service too often

Overall

This car is more trouble than it's worth. My visors fell off twice. My roof was "recalibrated" half a dozen times because it would stick halfway up, till the dealer finally replaced a part. The trunk latch didn't stay latched...all this in the first 18 months. Each repair took 3 visits to the dealer: one for them to look at and order the part to be replaced, one to realize they ordered the wrong part, and one to finally replace the part (this happened multiple times). Minor, petty things go wrong, and the dealer isn't very good at fixing them. The directional bulb, and the process for changing it, is completely different in the car and the owner's manual (maybe that's why the dealer keeps ordering the wrong part...). The dealer finally recommended I contact Volvo (I thought they *were* Volvo), so I did...it's been more than 2 weeks, and I haven't heard back. This car should be so much fun, but the aggravation of it spoils that.

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

January 6 2003

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

.

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

I just love this car! It is stylish, quick enough for me, and handles great. Besides feeling absolutely safe in this car, I look good too!

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

October 15 2002

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

looks good

Cons

many electrical problems. suspension sounds like it's falling apart. need an acre to do a 180 degree turn

Overall

when does my lease expire?

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

October 2 2002

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Very Comfortable, smooth ride, feel very safe

Cons

rear seat belts are noisy from wind with top down

Overall

very enjoyable car to drive

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

September 28 2002

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Excellent driving feel. Ample room for 4-5 passangers. Top is absolutely automatic.

Cons

Gas milage in city is about 13 mpg. Small trunk, but bigger than most convertables. Restricted rear window vision with top up.

Overall

The safest convertible with auto rollbars that are hidden until an emergency. I'm 6'6" and car is very comfortable for me and the folks in the back seat. The perfect car for fun and still offers all the comfort you could ask for. Looks great and I get compliments all the time.

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

June 17 2002

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Fast and good handling Looks great. Can seat 4 adults comfortably.

Cons

List of problems I have had with my C70 T5. 1. Battery replaced. 2. Small passenger side window flew off car when doing about 85mph (No Joke! about the window.) 3. Exhaust leak. 4. Driver side door popped open while driving, although properly closed and locked (3 times) 5. Inside door panels when not installed correctly. 6. Traction control needed to be replaced 2nd day of ownership. There were numerous number of other minor problems which needed repair or replacement by Volvo.

Overall

I had the C70 for about a year before I traded it in for a new S80 T6 fully loaded. I naturally received a big discount on the S80 and they bought back the C70 30% above market value for that car. I recommend that you stay clear of the C70 especially the ones built in 1999.

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

March 19 2002

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Superb driving machine. Total comfort and very sporty. You feel in control of the vehicle.

Cons

Rain comes in if you slightly open window.

Overall

Love my automobile!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The ultimate driving experience.

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

March 13 2002

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Comfort, luxury, and safety reign supreme with this vehicle. Convertible top fits tight--no leakage to speak of, and fogging of windshields, front and back, is less of a problem than in a non-convertible luxury car I once owned. Outside sound muted--well insulated, low street noise. Was rammed by large van in back bumper while in car and it took it like a tank. This car is built for long trips--these are the most comfortable seats made. Car still turns heads wherever it goes. Suprisingly good gas mileage.

Cons

This car flys on the freeway, but it is cumbersome in the city. The car is indeed built like a tank, and it feels like you are driving one when maneuvering at lower speeds. However, as I live in a highly populated area, I enjoy the feeling of safety this car gives me, especially on crowded roadways where distracted people are blabbing on their cell phones, not paying attention to the road.

Overall

I have had no major mechanical or electrical problems since I purchased (used) early in 2001. 15/30/45K et al service very expensive but not shockingly so, compared to what I had expected. The convertible top is a dream to use, and many people come over to watch this high tech wonder of a feat when I put it up or down. Back seats are spacious and comfortable. I have ridden in Mercedes, Lexus, BMWs, Jaguars, etc, and this Volvo provides more features designed for ultimate safety and comfort, in my opinion, and many of my friends who ride in my Volvo agree. This is my 4th convertible and will likely be one I keep for the long haul. As I just met someone who has been driving their Volvo non-stop for the last 30 years, this car may last forever!

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

January 27 2002

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

style, highway performance, comfort, sound system

Cons

rear visability, acceleration, steering

Overall

Looks good, handles poorly

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

January 27 2002

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Looks, interior space, awesome hifi, safety sans pareil.

Cons

Road noise is bad for a car of this calibre. Getting out of the back seats with the top up is only for seasoned limbo dancers or contortionists. Expect to buy your clothes when travelling, because you will not be able to fit them in the trunk

Overall

I forgive this car all its faults. I used to hate driving, now I take the long way to anywhere. Makes me feel good. If you have to carry four adults in a sports cab, this is for you

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

January 3 2002

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Very stylish exterior. Headlamp wipers. Rain light control (for tailgaters). Dual CD changers (3-disc/dash & 6-disc/glovebox). Trip computer. Canisto wheels and low-profile tires a plus. "One-touch" for convertible top and 4 windows. "One-touch" for all windows down. Tilt and telesopic steering wheel is nice. Very roomy rear seats. Gets a lot of attention and praise from on-lookers... :)

Cons

Car is still too heavy for engine (perhaps a good thing). Poor performance/acceleration. Severe turbo lag. Slightly sluggish handling. Feels heavy is turns and exhibits some body roll, etc. Suspension not built for such wide tires. Poor tracking in a straight line. Car tends to "swim around" at high speeds on a straight line. Doesn't ride like it's on rails. Braking is so-so.

Overall

Nice luxury convertible, but poor performance alternative. However, given the "tank-like" under-body, super-strong windsheild pillars & ROPS, a great choice for the responsible want-a-be. Design is a bit outdated. Needs GPS alternative and XM radio option. Car also lacks drivers aids such as ESP (electronic stability program), etc. Great (and durable) interior. Nice wood grain dash elements. Lots of buttons to push. My Mom says the interior looks like an airplane cockpit. I like that!

2000 Volvo C70 review

Date

December 11 2001

Model

Volvo C70

Pros

Safe as convertibles come. Top is easy to operate. Very comfortable. Good factory sound system. Handles well and looks very sharp.

Cons

Too many problems for a new car. In (2) years: had stereo replaced, replaced window motors in BOTH doors and then had to go back and have windows readjusted for leaking and wind noise, electrical problems with window controls, coolant system leak, ... you get the picture. Also, slow off the line for the hp, too much road noise (tire issue I think), and some inside styling issues are not well resolved.

Overall

Looks very good, drives well and safe, but be prepared to spend some time at the dealer for repairs ... especially electrical system.

Volvo C70 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph