FastCarsWiki.com

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

July 26 2012

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Looks, Exclusivity, Performance (in that order)

Cons

European Unreliability, Gas Mileage, Cost (in that order)

Overall

There are good things about owning this car, and there is one main bad thing. There are a few very common problems that will PROBABLY occur within the first 30K miles: 1) Your front strut bearings will start to rattle and squeak and need to be replaced (hopefully under warranty) 2) One or both of your front hubs will start to move and the excessive play will set up a few engine warnings. You will take the car in and they will replace the bad hub (hopefully under warranty) 3) You will likely hear some wind noise coming from the driver side mirror (I never do, but many owners have reported it) 4) You'll hear a variety of other squeaks and rattles which are caused by a variety of little problems (none of which are major, just hassles) These are some of the most common, and there are maybe 3 or 4 other very frequently reported issues. If you really want to learn more about the car, check out c30world, which is a site dedicated to c30 owners. Bottom line, if you have the money to spend on the car, and an extended warranty, and have the time to spend taking it the dealership for the little minor things that will come up, then this car is a blast. Overall I love my passion red C30 R-Design, even with its obvious faults.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

April 10 2012

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Styling, both interior and exterior. Sport luxury on the outside with down to earth simplicity on the inside. Choice of materials is reflective of Scandinavian attention to detail. Interior ergonomics is well designed. It is quiet inside when driving on the highway. I have a premium sound system - it is sharp. Versatility. It is a small car, but it can fit a lot. Just fold back seats and truck space increases significantly. I have a T5, turbo, 220 hp, front wheel drive. That engine pulls real well.

Cons

There is a high pitch, quiet, electric static in the stereo system. They could have filtered that out in a $30K car.

Overall

Great choice for someone looking for sport feel, performance, stylish sporty modern look, with simple and quiet interior, that will get you around at pretty good fuel economy.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

December 5 2009

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

styling, handling, acceleration, stereo, safety

Cons

seatbelt issues, window seals

Overall

I love this car! Now that my little kids are out of carseats and into booster seats and can buckle themselves in, it was time to go back to a coupe. This car is a good fit with my personality. It fits me. It is a grown-up, luxury version of all the cars that I have owned before it. I have only seen 3 other C30's on the road (ever) in my city of half a million people. It drives sportily and luxuriously at the same time. It has plenty of room for grocery-getting for our family of four. About my cons: The seatbelt height is not adjustable at the shoulder and it hits me uncomfortably on my neck. The previous owner must have felt the same way because they added a small adjustable clip at the waist that does manage to move the belt off my neck but then makes it fet weird at my waist. The passenger seatbelt sways and bangs/rattles against the inside wall of the car when not in use. I'm getting a whistling sound at high speeds from the upper area of the driver side window. And a few drops of water were blown in through the sunroof seal while going through the blow dryer at the car wash.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

August 14 2009

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Styling is tops both inside and out. Turbo engine is standard and from 0-60 in 6.2 seconds...what more could you ask for?

Cons

Nothing but my insurance is higher because of the curb weight of the vehicle vs the turbo engine.

Overall

Couldn't ask for a better vehicle. Owned everything from Chevy/Pontiac/Nissan/Honda. By far the best car I've owned. If I do decide to trade this car in, I will definately buy another Volvo. You can order a Volvo, go to Gothenberg Sweden to pick it up and drive it around Europe. When your done driving it around, they will ship it to your local dealer in the States.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

February 6 2009

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Smooth performance, Quite ride, Clean interior, Well designed controls.

Cons

AWD would be nice

Overall

If there ever was a wolf in sheep’s clothing this might well be one of them. On the interstate or back roads of New England this car is at home. After a few rides on snow covered roads the handling is not all that bad for a light FWD. It would think the people at Volvo would eventually bring out an AWD version of this car. Handling is very predictable. Acceleration is most unexpected and very much appreciated. (6 speed R-Design) The exterior starts out as a Volvo and end with a bang (in a good way). This car will always get extra looks and a few comments. The seats are very comfortable and the dash is well thought out. It has the clean no-nonsense Scandinavian look about it. If you’re looking for a lot of bling don’t look here. Lots of room with the back seats down, and no problem handling a full grown Greyhound. The heated seats are a welcome addition with the -6 temp. morning commutes. This car is not bothered by extremely cold weather, Oh yaa! It’s built in Sweden. OEM tires are very good and the paint stands up to the harsh environment of road salt. One of the great thing about this car is the Volvo Dealership in Concord, NH and the way you are treated. This will make or break a deal when buying a car. Trust me I own 2 Volvos from this dealership

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

January 11 2009

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Performance, Speed, Looks

Cons

Type 2 suspension is kinda stiff (but it is a sports suspension) Gas Mileage

Overall

Have had mine for only two weeks, but it is fun to drive and has a sporty look. I made the mistake of driving this car before trying hondas and vws. Neither one had a coupe that could compare. I also got the aftermarket GPS (the one the dealer installs) its nice and also has a bluetooth connection. I wasnt impressed with the factory installed GPS.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

December 6 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

I got the best Demo car in FL territory

Cons

Pricy accesories, oh well.

Overall

I'm going to be short but very clear. This car is gorgeous. I felt in love last year when I saw it online at volvo's site. But when I went to the movies and saw Twilight... OMG... that was the sign I needed. I mean, it got sold instantly. So, I went this weekend and got my spectacular C30. We clicked and now we will be happy for many years!

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

November 7 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Over 30 MPG, Engine performance, Handling, Style, Turns Heads Every Where It Goes

Cons

Getting in and out of back seat

Overall

We have the Ver. 2. The Dynaudio is awesome. The handling of the suspension, braking, engine performance is great. Workmanship is top Swedish quality. We consistently get over 30 mpg on the highway. The tint on the windows is weak. We had our windows tinted to 20% and it made a big difference. Lots of glass on this car. Dealer has been awesome to say the least. Very happy with purchase and service. Considered Audi A3, Mini.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

October 27 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Fun car to drive, very fast and jumps off the start. On front wheel drives it is rare one can squeel the tires, in this one you can. Very sleek and sporty look, I added the hood scoop and spoiler for a reasonable price. Adding these two items really upgraded the look of the vehicle.

Cons

Not many dislikes, it is a little loose during some turns. Trying to find the right tire pressure has proved to be challenging. I expected a little more out of the gas mileage.

Overall

Excellent ride, very fun car. I have a family of 4 and this car works just fine. If you enjoy a car that looks like something out of the Fast and The Furious, you will like this car. If you are looking for grandmas car, this is not it!

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

September 29 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Great ride! Good fuel economy. Very distinctive look, you'll definitely stand out.

Cons

Non

Overall

I purchased this over the MiniCooper due to the pricing and overall value and style. I am really glad to have made the buy!

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

August 1 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

good looking, sporty,fast enough,very roomy inside,stable at high speed,clean and simple

Cons

my gas milage was close to 22mpg ,but was driving in europe going between 90 and 110 , not that bad. Would like red interior lights. Would love this car in AWD

Overall

great smaller car with sports sedan feel and large car room Traded a mini and do not regret it. Great travel car for two with good room in the back seat.The european delivery was great ,traveled 2000 fun miles.the volvo and SAS people were great and what a good deal,try it you will like it . PS- don't go without a tom tom

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

July 25 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Great styling, people are constantly stopping me and telling me how much they love this car. I even had a guy take pictures with his digital camera! 6 speed manual is great, Great gas mileage on the highway.

Cons

Love the look of the trunk , but it is impossible to fit anything bigger than a bread box in through the opening, Air conditioner often smells like cow manure, Bad gas mileage when driving aggressively,

Overall

Great car, almost bought the mini clubman until I drove this car. Very quick, sporty, great style.... but after owning several Lexus' I am not at all happy with the Dealer west side of Cleveland. Numerous minimal problems, like broken rear wiper, loose headlight washer (they said twice that it is normal???) Foam pads under bumper were falling off, dealer told me they are not Volvo installed, but I bought the car new there! ? Go figure.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

July 16 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Comfortable seats!!! Decent ride, about half way between "American" and "Sport." Exactly where I would a car of this level to be. To me, very quiet, can hear the GF speaking at normal levels, no more shouting just to be heard.

Cons

The seat adjustment on the left front of the driver's seat hits the back of my left leg. No AWD!!! With an AWD system this car would be a serious hoot to drive.

Overall

Traded in a 2000 Impreza RS that had been modified to STI specs on this car, glad I did it too. WAY better gas mileage, much more comfortable and quiet. A real car. So far so good after a week. Love the interior design, the floating dash is really quite interesting, makes the car feel more spacious than it really is. The small hatch is nice, just need to pack lighter... I just wish that Volvo would put an AWD version on the road, coupled with a 6 speed manual, would be a lot of fun on the twisty-turnies. Reminds me on Simon's car

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

July 16 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Great seats,engine very responsive, quiet -a mini limo! Well designed.unique!

Cons

Long brake travel,charge for "options", wind noise from side windows at speed.

Overall

This is our sixth volvo ,the others all wagons.The C30 sits along side our XC70 and there is competition for the keys to the C30! The ride is firm but not harsh and the handling superb.We tested both trim versions from the very base to a fully optioned. We resolved by purchasing Ver1 with the auto box, heated seats and hard cargo cover. We decided not to go for the sun roof nor memory seats and although this slows down driver changes it is no big deal as the seats are very adjustable and easy to manipulate.Access to the back seats is a little gymnastic but space is very good for a vehicle in this class.Gas mileage is better than expected. We are very pleased with our purchase and are reliving our youth when we drove the original mini! The C30 is a far superior vehicle and well capable of long haul not just a runabout.....and despite Volvo marketing ...this is not just for the young but also the young at heart! Our local Volvo dealer gave excellent sales service and allowed us to take extensive road tests, not just an half hour around the block. All of which helped us to make our decision.The other two contenders being the BMW1 series and a Mini Cooper S. The Volvo won hands down! And it replaced a BMW3Series!

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

July 11 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Awesome performance (stock), Fuel economy rocks, just over all amazing

Cons

Havnt found something yet.

Overall

I bought my Volvo C30 about two months ago, and i fell in love... when me and my parents went looking for cars i had my eyes on the VW rabbit, the VW GTI, the mazda 3 hatchback, and a ford ranger. We test drove the Volvo, and I was sold instantly, i love my car. Its fast, responsive, easy to drive, smooth gearbox (i bought the manual 6 speed) Sick stereo, im talking dolby surround sound 10 SPEAKERS IN MY LITTLE CAR... So far with my little speedy slightly lead foot style of driving i've been averaging 20 MPG, which is awesome over the expedition my parents wanted me to have... 15 MPG x.x, but anyways... I'm an outdoor guy, I love to be active and most people would look towards a subaru of some sort... i have the roof rack on my car (which you can remove via key) and i've traveled 100's of miles on the highway with two kayaks on the roof... This car is certainly the "crossover" volvo, between sleek executive style, and little racer kids (teenager) attitude... i've not seen any other car on the road be this welcomed by all...

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

July 10 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Good Fuel economy, Rides smooth, great sound system!

Cons

nothing

Overall

This car is amazing! We rented it in Madrid and drove it Toledo, and the gas barely went down, maybe because it was a diesel engine. It has a great sound system and has a lot of space, even though it looks like a small car. I'm almost 15 and was thinking about getting a MINI, but maybe not..I really like this C30.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

May 30 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

great fuel economy and rides like a larger car. Selected this car over BMW's overpriced Mini.

Overall

Went all the way to the factory in Goetheberg, Sweeden to pickup my new car. We had the time of our life driving the new car the first 500 miles back home to Germany. The tour was more than you can dream of how this car is made and the staff was simply the best to explain every little detail. The car is great for military families overseas that are faced with 1.50 per liter or around $8.00 per gallon if you purchase on the local economy. Fits into all of the small parking places and handles the hills around the house without missing a beat. Best car we have purchased in the past 5 years and we are already planning to move to the C70 by next summer.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

May 24 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Good fuel economy, fantastic exterior/interior styling, rear passenger seats don't skimp on space!

Cons

None - she's perfect!

Overall

I saw an advertisement for this car online as I was looking for hatchbacks and I absolutely feel madly in love with it. Volvo has delivered! I am in my twenties and am a first time buyer. This car was perfect for my needs like general grocery shopping, going to and from work and class. She's got great pickup and definitely turns heads. It's fantastic to finally have a car that I can make my own with all the various personalization options available. I picked chameleon blue (and I have named her, "Camille" in honor of that) as my exterior color and its such a mysterious, luminous color! From one angle she looks gun metal gray and from another she looks slightly blue, and occasionally she looks silver. It's a really neat color - a nice take off from your standard blue, red, silver, and black. Enough about the exterior already - the interior is quite a showpiece in and of itself! I haven't had any issues with space in my C30, passenger or luggage. The rear hatch holds one rather large full size zip suitcase with a little room on the sides for some smaller toiletry bags. The rear seats do infact fold down if you have a need for more storage, in which case I can't imagine filling it up between two people (luggage wise). I have had some rather large size (250lbs+) people sit in the rear seats in my car comfortably. The sound system is out of this world! The clarity is amazing! The ease of use of the cruise control and the climate control panels is all first rate. This is an amazing car. I will never run out of good things to say about it!

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

April 25 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

It's a volvo so it's safe, well built and suprisingly spacious. It's beautiful. It's fast and fun but also a great drive for long trips. Lastly and this is often neglected in most reviews: It's quiet. The C30 easily has one of the quietest interiors while on the road. There is no bad seat in this car. Everyone is always suprised by how much room the back seat has.

Cons

Gas Mileage isn't spectacular. I get about 20-22 in the city and 28 on the highway. Overall I average about 22-25mpg per tank.

Overall

Every part of it seems well thought out and designed. I simply have nothing of real significance to complain about.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

April 14 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Smooth ride and fun to drive

Cons

Can't really say as I just purchased the car.

Overall

When I first saw this car I just had to test drive it. I was not disappointed. The ride was smooth and enjoyable. I have to give mad props to the staff at Hoy Fox of El Paso Texas for making the purchase process unbelievable stress free!

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

April 8 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Streamlined interior design, beautiful lines outside, Good pick up and go

Cons

adding accessories easily sends price up another 5-10K

Overall

Saw it: love it! Test drove it: loved it! Bought it: loving it! Fun, speedy, comfortable car that gets plenty of looks from on-lookers. Get the body kit and sports lowering kit without a doubt!

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

March 31 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Great engine feel, simplistic yet elegant dashboard and interior, great looks interior and exterio

Cons

Gas mileage is ok, but getting better, brake peddal is a little heavy for my taste

Overall

Of the 4 cars I've ever owned, I'm the happiest with my c30, the quality of the build, the look of the exterior and interior, especially the waterfall dash and the quality of materials. Plus, the volvo bucket seats are to die for, seriously if you haven't sat in a volvo bucket seat yet, you've missed out. I've owned my c30 for just over a month and Ihave no problems with it whatsoever, the brake pedal feels a little stiffer but thats becaue I was driving a honda element before I got the volvo.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

March 22 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Style, performance and security

Cons

You must want it, you can get better for your money with other cars maker

Overall

Nice car and nice riding

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

March 21 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

Style, safety, speed/handling, lift gate, sound system.

Cons

The ala carte price tag - but I got over that obviously and am not unhappy. Still got a lot of car for 30K out the door. I splurged a bit with almost everything except the leather. Only because they didn't have the car I wanted w/ leather and I didn't want to wait. If you can wait - do the Overseas delivery. Order your car and pick it up in Sweden, drive around Europe, then have it shipped home - all on Volvo. An awesome deal if you can swing the wait.

Overall

This car is so fun to drive. It's very comfortable inside. Love the lift gate for loading groceries and the dog. Sound system with surround sound and iPod compatibility is great. The T-Tec upholstery is different, and appears to be easy to maintain, and gives the feel between leather and cloth-almost suede like. No on the floor models we looked at had leather - it was another 1250.00 bucks. But Volvo is known for the ergonomic seats that fit like a glove regardless of the material on the outside. I opted for the automatic with geartronic on the 2.0. It's fun, and you can really get up and go with the manual shifting of the geartronic without having to use a clutch. On the highway its quiet and moves easily thru traffic. Fuel economy is good considering the engine size. So far, I am very happy with my decision. I studied a lot and got down to the Mini Cooper S and this car. I wasn't as thrilled with the Cooper inside - some weird positioning of gauges, and was noisy on the road.

2008 Volvo C30 review

Date

March 2 2008

Model

Volvo C30

Pros

That no one will own the same exact model.

Cons

N/A

Overall

I enjoy the experience of driving and my choices of accessories.

Volvo C30 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph