FastCarsWiki.com

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

December 11 2012

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Love the way it tows, the way it rides, the comfort and the reliability

Cons

One could say fuel economy but why should I, I bought it to tow and haul lots of kids and gear

Overall

So far we have really loved the rig. It is so nice on long trips and the way it tows our stuff. Was a little on the more costly side to purchase. I could have gone back to the GM Yukon but with it's poor reliability I chose to spend a little more and go back to Toyota. I owned two Toyota trucks in the past and loved them and didn't have much if any repairs along the way.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

September 17 2011

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Great car wonderful ride and the engine provides enough power for anything

Cons

The nav system is the only downside on the vehicle very poor

Overall

Great truck with bad nav

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

May 23 2011

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Comfort, much needed leg room as we are tall and good headroom. Great for family trips. Love the turning radious and cargo space even when the third row is in use.

Cons

Not much, as others the gas but I seem to get pretty good mileage, not a real lead foot (try not to be)

Overall

Love the look and handling. Nice replacement for our 4 Runner.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

February 8 2010

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Leased this 2008 after turning in my 2005 SR5. Great with four kids...easiest access compared to the Expedition and the Armada. Nice, comfortable ride, excellecnt turning radius for such a large vehicle. The overhaed DVD system coupled with the JBL sound system is theatre-like. Put on an action movie and turn it up. Sounds corny...but true. Automatic liftgate and operable rear window are great features as well.

Cons

As one might imagine, the V8's mileage is not so great. Average about 15 MPG overall.

Overall

Great vehicle...practical for large families.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

December 30 2009

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Comfort, perfect size, acceleration, appearance, and options (Limited)

Cons

Nothing really.

Overall

I'll mention right away that I don't love Toyota and I dislike the Tundra - which many think this SUV is based on. The similarities are obvious - the front nose is the same, drivetrain, and dash, etc. The big difference (huge difference) is the fact that the Sequoia has a fully-boxed frame and the ride is noteably much better (less bounce) with its independent suspension. The power is immediately available - several magazines have clocked sub-six seconds to 60 mph and the quarter in high 14s to low 15s. I haven't towed anything with it yet, but I'm sure I'll have no issues with that. I test drove the Suburban and Expedition and honestly you can't fail with those either. I ended up settling for this SUV for it's magnificent handling, looks (subjective of course), and because they're known to hold their value quite a bit better. You do pay for that upfront as used ones are pricey - I say that from experience. It drives like a much smaller vehicle. It's tight on corners, fast on the straightway, and completely comfortable in the front, second, and third rows. I'd opt for the Limited as it has a lot of nice options. The Nav system isn't Ford's Sync, but it is nice IMO. The sliding middle seat in the second row is convenient if you have a child seat and need to access the child from the 1st row. As someone mentioned earlier, it has a pedal behind the 2nd row that someone in the 3rd can press to release the seat forward. Also, the Sequoia has a neat ssliding second row and large rear doors to make accessing the 3rd much easier. All other large SUVs have tumbling 2nd rows. Try doing that with car seats in them! As with all other large SUVs (Except Tahoe and Suburban), the third row folds flat at a flip of a switch. No more having to remove the bulky and heavy 3rd row. Safety: has front and side-curtain airbags. The driver crash test score is 5/5 and 4/5 for the passenger. The Expedition and Tahoe/Suburbans both get 5/5 for both. However, the Sequoia does have a 4/5 rollover score versus 3/5 for the Expedition and Suburban. I say test drive all of them - they're all pretty good and can get the job done. But for me, this brut SUV took 1st prize.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

November 23 2009

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Size, power , handling, ride.

Cons

nothing

Overall

It's the best out there.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

October 19 2009

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

I love my sequoia, it has all the room and comfort for my family and the ride is great. My kids love it also. It can carry all the kids gear for all their activities.

Cons

None

Overall

This is a great vehicle for a family of 4 or more who has active lives.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

October 19 2009

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

It's powerful, tows 10K LB travel trailer with ease. I've owned it for over a year and not a single issue has arisen. Great quality and value..I've owned the Chevy Suburban and it does not compare.

Cons

Nothing.

Overall

I would buy another one...and probably will in 10 years.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

June 22 2009

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Quite ride great milage for a full size SUV, great power for towing and offroading

Cons

To pretty to get dirty...

Overall

I love this truck. I upgraded from a 4Runner and it was well worth the money. The truck tows very well and has plenty of power. With the six speed auto is very agile off road. I use the vehicle on the beach of the Outer Banks, and even with a 7 people seated comfortable and a cooler rack on the front and the back it motors right on through the sand

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

May 21 2009

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Excellent ride, Space, Quality inside and out

Cons

No push start keyless entry, would be nice for interior to look more luxurious, cant lock fuel door

Overall

The best SUV out there. I did a lot of research before buy the Sequoia and so far I'm very satisfied. I'm 6' 1" tall and I easily can sit in the third row seat comfortable! This vehicle is very comfortable and rides extremely smooth.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

May 15 2009

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

This vehicle is very comfortable and easy to handle. I had a 2006 and thought it was time to upgrade. This car has all the options of a limited expect the nav and back up camera. Also it gets very good gas mileage to be such a big SUV.

Cons

When first purchased the truck it was hard to park. It took me about two weeks to figure it out. This truck is very wide and sits up higher than my 2006. Also I noticed that it shaked a little when putting on the brakes the truck was brand new so I know it wasn't me. Eventually that stopped and the truck drives like a pro.....All in all I just think it takes some getting used to.

Overall

I love TOYOTA'S! This is the only brand of car I have ever owned and when I say I have owned just about everyone from the Tercel to the Sequoia it is the truth. I would recommend this SUV to anyone who wants a SUV. It is comfortable and most important it drives more like a car than a heavy truck.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

March 18 2009

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

It is an awsoem car, the size is good and it rides super smooth. powerful SUV!

Cons

I disliek the amterial that was used inside. it is easy scratched, bearly touch it with your shoe and it is scrateched. also my odler sequoia had mode up to date technologie than my 2008 whish should not be, i think?

Overall

good car, could be better

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

December 28 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Great engine power, awesome agressive external looks and wonderful internal.

Cons

My only con is gas mileage, but hey, having a 5.7L engine with all that horse power, who cares.

Overall

Purchased this SUV in November '08. I am glad I made this purchase. I was also looking at the Lincoln MKX and Buick Enclave, but these SUV's had too many CONS from other buyers, such as the lack of engine horse power. I love the engine and style of the '08 Sequoia. I highly recommend this vehicle to any buyer looking for an SUV with horse power. I have had many compliments on my purchase and doubt any other automobile manufacturer can beat Toyota at this point.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

December 19 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Great room, very comfortable, I feel very safe in it.

Cons

Backing up can be tricky, front a little truck like.

Overall

Love this vehicle. Travel a lot with my children and their friends- I feel they are very safe- makes me very happy- Knew what I was getting into with the gas mileage.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

November 25 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

The stereo and navigation is well, and love the television in the back seats

Cons

Not too much to dislike

Overall

Great car

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

November 22 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Great overall

Cons

Initial Cost

Overall

For those on this board who complaint about the inside and outside looks and feels of the truck and about the low gas mileages, it's simply ridiculous. Did you open your eyes or seat inside the SUV BEFORE you made the purchase? And the gas mileage, if you want to haul 8 people around with high gas milage, should have bought 2 Prius cars instead.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

November 20 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Excellent overall vehicle. Well thought out and practical for the large family.

Cons

None so far.

Overall

We just purchased our Sequoia two weeks ago and love it. We shopped around and took a look at the Tahoe and Escalade to compare it to. The Escalade was about $25k more and a lot worse on the mpg, so that was a no brainer. The problems that I've read about from Tahoe owners made us pass on it, not to mention that the workmanship of the Tahoe had a poor feel and look to it. We had a 2004 Toyota 4 Runner and loved it, but were running out of space and decided to move up to the big boy. We can actually fit 3 more adults into the Sequoia over the 4 Runner comfortably. We opted for the SR5 4 X 4 with most of the options that come on the Limited edition, but without the additional $$$, including leather seats, spoiler, running boards, power drivers and front passenger seats, rear view camera, daytime running lights, fog lights, rear view mirror with homelink, 6 disc stereo, and power moonroof. We actually paid a little less for the Sequoia then we did for the 4 Runner, which we bought new just about 5 years ago. Goes to show you how much the dealers are marking them down to entice you to buy one currently. The leather seats are plush and rear view camera is a must in a vehicle of this size. The second and third row seats have plenty of space for adults, not just children, and I never have to pull my seat up to give anyone leg room behind me anymore. The ride and gear shift with the 5.7 liter engine and six speed transmission is smooth and flawless. It's not a boat on the road and the steering and handling are very good. This engine is very powerful and gets up to 60 mph in less then 7 seconds, which makes it a breeze for passing traffic or merging on the highway. Brakes are super solid and really stop this 6,000lb beast in a hurry if needed. Gas mileage is supurb for a vehicle of this size. We average 19 mpg on the highway and 14 mpg city and it's barely broken in. I know this is nothing to be proud of in terms of overall mpg, but the rest of the large SUV's are much worse. Little conviences are nice like the i-pod aux hook up to the radio, cup holders for an entire team, power roll down window on the rear door (nice for giving the dog a little fresh air), individual climate zone controls including rear area, and enough storage to bury an office inside, etc. The wife, kids, and I are all very happy with this car. I can't wait for our first long road trip!

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

November 15 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

I have had this Suv for about 10 months and absolutely love it! I traded my 2005 SR-5 for the Plat. model and believe me the extra cost is worth it! The memory seat, steering wheel, and mirrors readjust for me after my husband drives it all with a simple push of a button. The gas mileage is much better than the 2005. This truck is truly a pleasure to drive! My kids love the comfort of the rear seats and truly appreciate the seat warmers on cold mornings. A big bonus is the dual DVD players. They can either watch 2 different movies or watch the same one. The ride is so smooth it feels like you are in a luxury car.

Cons

I have had problems with the automatic folding mirror on the drivers side...it tends to stick. I have also noticed my low tire pressure light doesn't come on. When I first got the truck I had a hard time parking it because it is difficult to gauge distance over the front right quarter panel, even with the sensors I was nervous.It takes some getting used to, however with the back up camera who needs to pull forward into a parking spot. I also think the seat coolers are a waste of time. I live in Southern Louisiana and had no use for them all summer.

Overall

LOVE IT!!

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

October 12 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Available different suspension types. New engine more power, better brakes

Cons

Gas consumption in city

Overall

This new redesigned Sequoia has plenty of new feature that will accomodate a standard size family. Bigger seats fit adults and safer car seats for children. Newly redesign suspension give a smoother ride and an option with platinum you have different suspension options. New bigger, better and efficient engine that improves the feel on this new model. New redesign exterior gives this SUV a better "Look". I love the big space that this SUV offers compared to other SUV, Luxury and standard. I belive it is worth the price.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

October 5 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Very quiet interior, good power, good braking capabilities, good safety ratings.

Cons

radio controls not easy to find during driving.

Overall

I would purchase this vehicle all over again.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

October 4 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Stout Look, Ok Fuel Economy, Durable and Comfy

Cons

Haven't found them yet

Overall

I recently purchased the Limited Sequoia,,,got rid of my Porsche Cayenne S! Even though the Porsche had the power and ability to handle mountain roads at high speeds, i gave up the speed for comfort. The Porsche was too rough, uncomfortable and I was afraid to go offroad with it......didn't want to mess up the paint job. The Sequoia was the answer to my dreams,,,power, comfort, ability to go offroad,,,which I haven't yet...this will be the big test for me! I love the room, seating, bluetooth, IPod adapter, nice control knobs, sits up high and you feel like your the Road King!

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

September 20 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Of course great room for our family of 8. You feal like king of the road.

Cons

Only con is the front grill little bit cheap.

Overall

We are a Toyota family for almost 19yrs. We had an 03' Sequoia, so in comparison this truck is tighter and more powerful, with the same fuel milage, and the kids and adults have a much easier time getting into the third row seats, everything is adjustable on the seats. We traded our RX300 in for this and I have to say that the family is much happier. Very good build quality with the exception of the front grill. We went with the SR5 and upgraded to leather, running boards, rear wing, and upgraded stereo with blue tooth a very nice feature. After reading all of the books that come with the vehicle maintanance is so minimal other than oil changes every 5000. So all in all I think that we have made a very good decision for our family.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

September 11 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

The Sequoia rolled off the line and was absolutely beautiful. The SUV handled well and has plenty of power and fuel economy was surprisingly not bad at all. The fit and finish was very good and you sit very high which I liked mucho!

Cons

The front end was a mess from the day I bought the SUV. Make sure you test drive it cause my SUV had a shake that Toyota tried to fix and eventually bought the Sequoia back. The Sequoia never left the service department! If the truck shakes when you test drive it pass on it or get ready to rock and roll every time you drive it.

Overall

I still love the Toyota product but I think they have fallen to the new model blues that haunts so many auto makers. I am shocked that Toyota knows about this problem yet they still let you spend your money. Beware! I trusted Toyota and still will buy their product but drive their product before you buy it and not just around the block! Drive it on the highway and make sure it behaves.

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

September 6 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Comfortable, Safe, Powerful, Sonar detection,adjustable drivers seat, Navigation, Rear camera, more

Cons

Wish it was a hybrid version, but I knew what I was investing in.

Overall

We purchased the Sequoia 2008 Limited 5.7L V8 Iforce engine. We needed a vehicle that could hold our family and pull the boat. It pulls our large 23' GradyWhite boat without hesitation. My 5month old baby is well shaded with the standard pull up shades and tinted windows in the back seats. I went from driving a honda civic to driving this and I am so glad it came with the Sonar so I know when I am getting to close to things on the sides. It has been a huge adjustment. I love everything about this vehicle. Anyone having issues with this vehicle just happens to be the one who gets the one bad egg out of the dozen. That happens with anything that is mass produced. This vehicle handles turns just as well as my civic did. It handles turns and curves better than my husband's Toyota Tacoma. The drivers seat is so adjustable that I can sit high and my husband who is tall can lower it. The drivers seat can be adjusted for comfort for any height or size of person. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone. My number one suggestion is to invest in the Limited version or the Platinum version. The SR5 just does not do the Sequoia justice. It is very basic and for the money, just go ahead and invest in the Limited. We compared the two and the SR5 was boring. Currently, our Sequoia is averaging 19MPG highway. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!!!!!

2008 Toyota Sequoia review

Date

August 29 2008

Model

Toyota Sequoia

Pros

Graet room inside! Feels like your navigating from a recliner in your living room

Cons

downslope of rear trunk area 9with seats folded down

Overall

I have had this new SUV for about 1 month and have had a blast driving it......I previously owned a Dodge Ram PU and a Chrysler Aspen Limited. Fuel economy is comparible, but Sequoia performed much more responsively to the road with a very tight turning radius for a large SUV.....I call it THE BEAST.......Alll cars/trucks move out of my way when they see me coming! You have the rugged/raw horsepower of a 381HP - V8, with the comfort usually reserved for a cadillac or other luxury vehicle.....You can't tell I'm Thrilled with my new SUV! I will never buy any other make than toyota in the future!

Toyota Sequoia 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph