FastCarsWiki.com

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

September 18 2012

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Built like a tank, Extremely capable, Quality construction, Tight turning radius

Cons

None

Overall

My family has had 4 FJ's. We absolutely love them. We currently have 2011 and 2008 trail team editions. My Fj tows my boat well. Great ramp vehicle due to the traction. I initially owned a 2007 TRD FJ. The first FJ we had was a blue one with #$%$ wheels. That truck survived a tornado and never got stuck. Absolutely love the FJ!!!!!! Fun truck that is extremely useful. A go anywhere vehicle with the Toyota reliability. Nothing better than that.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

May 16 2012

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Good 23mpg In Town

Cons

none yet

Overall

After researching Porsches, Hummers, Nissan Xterra, Jeep, Honda Truck, The Toyota FJ Cruiser Was hands down the best choice. My First new car. No Creaking or road noises. I Bought The Model With the Special Silver paint, Offroad Shock Package, Special Rims-this style is On 2011's only so far/BF Goodrich Tires. It Makes the ride excellent. Didn't get leather seats, too sticky in the desert. We go Riding at the Glamis Sand Dunes in S.E. Calif. 5 Pounds Of air in the tires and the FJ went anywhere. I could of had any vehicle, but this is a "Guys SUV" looks, style, it's got it all. I don't know why Toyota shows very little of this SUV on T.V./Ad's?

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

April 2 2012

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

goes everywhere I want and tows my boat easily

Cons

my wife can't make her happy but I bought it for me and I wish she would stop driving it.

Overall

go where I what it to go and I can get my boat to place I thought were to hard for my truck.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

February 16 2012

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Handling EXCELLENT, great acceleration, great braking! Nice trim and seating, a change from the FJ40 I owned a 1978 miss the 2 heaters, people in rear complain they are cold (i say wear more layers). This thing will climb a tree! Hope I get the same life from this one as my 78. Have owned it since September 2011.

Cons

NO ashtry or lighter YES there still are smokers, non smokers normally use ashtrays for change so why no ashtry & lighter? The cup holder ashtray is a safety hazard because you HAVE TO TAKE YOUR EYES OFF THE ROAD TO FIND IT, at night no light to see where it is. The 2011 has many safety issues with blind spot the FJ40, 1978 had the wrap around windows but the middle rear windows did NOT hinder your sight. and the A pillers are too wide and also hinder sight you have to be VERY cautious of these blind spots. Mine has the rear view camera that should be relocated so the eleiments do not hinder its useie rain snow can block the camera.

Overall

I LOVE this BEAST

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

February 9 2012

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Great 4x4 meets all challenges with no problems

Cons

its fuel economy

Overall

Love the FJ Cruiser it all you could want in a 4x4 great offroad handeling great

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

February 4 2012

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

everything great

Cons

suicide doors

Overall

Bought this vehicle when it first came out, no complaints....still my favorite ride to and from work. I feel safe in it in any weather. was initially planning to buy an crossover but fell in love with FJ after the test drive. Unbelievably a more comfy ride than my sedan, hardly feels the potholes and rough roads. :)

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

January 16 2012

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Works exceptionally well off road.

Cons

Top 6" of the windows freeze up in bad weather.

Overall

Pros: This vehicle is designed for off road use. I just took it out for 2 weeks into desert and mountain areas. - It went up and over everything that my Land Rover did. (And I didn't have to repair it afterward.) - Steep, rocky roads, no problem. - sand and snow, no problem. - washboard, I could barely feel it. For off road use, I give it 5 stars. (Sorry no mud rating, I avoid mud.) Consistent 19.8 MPG. Cons: - Emergency handling, not good. - Top 6 inches of the windshield freezes in cold, bad weather. - Can't see at all in hard rain. Wipers are ok, it's the way the rain hits the vertical windshield. - Rear view backup camera, useless. It's outside and constantly gets covered with dirt. - My vehicle came with running boards, exchange them for rock rails. The running boards fill up with mud and dirt. Advice for Toyota: - the flat seats are a bit uncomfortable for long drives. Toyota should offer a bucket seat option. - Fix the windshield freezing problem. If the air can't do it, put heating wires along the top of the windshield.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

December 9 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Great ride, good MPG, sharp styling, good towing cap

Cons

None, there is nothing to dislike about this SUV..

Overall

Two thumbs up...

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

November 15 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

great

Cons

none

Overall

i dont have one yet, but i just test drove it, my wife and i loved it , very strong vehicle. cant wait to buy one.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

November 2 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Great offroad, smooth ride, good towing, better mpg than my wrangler

Cons

back seat space, back window does not open, price of after market gear

Overall

This has been by far my favorite vehicle ever. I've had 3 wrangelers, and a liberty, along with alot of other vehicles. The offroad capability and ride are so much better than my jeeps ever were. Here in a couple of years when I get this paid off I'll probably buy another so I can set this one up to do some extreme off roading.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

September 10 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Excellent on and off road manners. Extremely comfortable, and reliable.

Cons

Three or more passengers would be cramped. Vision can be a challenge especially when changing lanes.

Overall

Overall I am extremely pleased, this is my second fj. On and offroad this small SUV is sure to please!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

September 5 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

very reliable, fun to drive

Cons

none

Overall

this weekend I visited friend at a camp site in the mountains. He had a 30" dia. log near the camp site. He drove his custom made jeep body rock crawler with off road tires up the side of the log. With road tires I drove my stock 2007 FJ up the other end of the log. After having the FJ left front tire 30" off the ground and the right reat in the dirt (other 2 tires off the ground), I backed off and drove back to town at 70 mph - smooth ride.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

August 26 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Excellent start with full surge !!

Cons

The original fitment tyres (Dunlop) are aweful...on road.

Overall

F J Cruiser is a superb 4x4 as well as a regular on roader. I have been using the car (2009 year model) ever since I bought id brand new. Vey low on maintennance, fuel is quite affordable in the Middle East (Oman) and so that's fine...would love to get the aweful Dunlop tires (origninal fitment) changed at 60k kilometeres, Im eyeing for BF Goodrich which my friends suggested was a superb tyre.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

July 30 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

I love my all terrain beast, this is why I bought it, is to have a 4X4 utility vehicle. I used to own an old Jeep Cherokee Sport and while the 4 wheel drive busted and the AC went out after a while I really still did like that thing, or more so the (utilicle vehicle) part of it. You know the FJ Cruiser is a nice truck, but you really dont understand the FJs meaning or value untill either the weather gets rough, or you take it off road. If you dont plan on using it for such, your missing alot. Its when there is a 2 foot snow storm and your the 1st one out WITH EASE, you put it in 2 gear 4x4 and you can go up ANYTHING no matter how steep,

Cons

Needs more power plugs inside. One does not do it

Overall

I have pulled out tow trucks, snow plows and other 4x4s, I have given people rides during snow storms and they always say, something like OMG withing the 1st block. If your going to get the FJ Cruiser, get the 4X4 with some off road options, a-trac, locking dif lock, and so on. Your going to want to buy the FJ if your looking for a serious 4X4 that can still play nice on the road, its still comfortable, I have driven it from Detroit to Milwaukee with about 500 pounds of gear and got 20.65 MPG going 70 to 75, same thing when I went to Detroit to Grand Rapids, 20.65 MPG going 65 to 70. around town I average 18 or so and I am light on the pedal and again I carry an extra 500 pounds of gear in back but I am not in heavy traffic that much. I have about 9800 miles so in 200 miles I go for my first oil change, yes, its every 10,000 miles synthetic oil. I do have a guy up the street with over 100,000 on his FJ and he has had zero problems, so thats a good thing

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

July 27 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Lots of room and cargo space. Stronger than a Jeep unlimited for towing.

Cons

None I know of!

Overall

Great all around vehicle for the outdoors people! Better gas mileage than a jeep umlimited with more Horse Power. Can't beat Toyota included care package. Free oil and maintenance for 2 years.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

July 19 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Handsome rugged looks, capable off road, reasonably comfortable on road

Cons

Cheap interior plastic, no factory navigation option. I wish seats had lumbar support. You call those bumpers?

Overall

Overall I am very pleased with FJ

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

July 17 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Overall

You need to think twice before you ever purchase a Toyota of any kind from Molle Toyota in Kansas City Mo

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

June 12 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Spacious, Unique

Cons

Depends on the driver..none for me

Overall

First time owning a Toyota and I purchased a new 2011 FJ. Many people gave me cons for the FJ: visibility, gas mileage, etc. Well I'm 6'3"and I have no visibility issues. I can see perfectly from the rear view, and yes the columns can block folks, but if you set your mirrors to compensate, the issue is resolved. I do understand why some people would have issues with it. I have no kids, so my backseat use will be minimal, and the dog loves it. Gas mileage could be better, but it's a heavy truck, so that's to be expected. I'm only in week 2 of ownership, but I do not regret the decision whatsoever, Great ride for a great price. I absolutely love it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

June 11 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

Spacious, comfortable ride.

Cons

none so far

Overall

My first crossover vehicle, love it. Once I took one for a test drive I was hooked and had to have it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser review

Date

June 7 2011

Model

Toyota FJ Cruiser

Pros

This is a purpose-built tank. I take mine off road in Colorado just about every weekend and it never ceases to impress. Anyone looking for a rugged, reliable, and supremely capable 4X4 should take this vehicle for a test drive. Plenty of power, water-proof interior, towing ability (5,000 lbs), rear differential lock, ATRAC... it just doesn't get any better. Some will compare this vehicle to a Jeep (seemingly its nearest competitor) but the two are vastly different. The FJ will last 20 years and the Heep will in all likelihood break down on you multiple times in the first few...

Cons

No cons. This vehicle does not pretend to be anything it is not. It's not a pavement princess; anyone who buys it with that intended purpose will probably be let down.

Overall

Anyone who loves having a rugged vehicle in their stable that they can beat on every weekend, while it keeps coming back for more, will not be disappointed.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Toyota FJ Cruiser 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph