FastCarsWiki.com

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

December 30 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

We purchased this car new and we've had no problems at all. It's a beautiful car and the envy of several of my friends. It's an inexpensive Lexus and I love it!!

Cons

Nothing!!

Overall

We get 30-32 mpg on the highways/freeways! We would recommend this car for anyone wanting luxury and comfort.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

December 23 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

This car has an amazing amount of power when you need it, it rides like a dream, has a huge very confortable reclining back seat, great radio, cd player, sun roof, gps, defrost front and back is great, love that I can start my car and defrost it from inside my home, love the heated seats, front seats adjust just the way I want them, good gas milage and is great on a long car trip, very durable leather on the seats, car turns on a dime almost.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about my Avalon xls but a few things could have had more thought put into it, like the seats are harder than most other cars I have owned, there is limited space for the drivers right leg. The paint chips very easy and it doesn't seem to take bumps in the road well, even small bumps. It is easy for things to slip between the front seats and the console never to be seen again.

Overall

I bought my Avalon xls new in 2006 and after driving it for almost 7 years I feel I can give a very fair review. In all the years I have not had one problem. Never had to go to the shop other than oil change. Had 1 minor recall which was taken care of by the dealer. In my 50 years of driving I think I would take this car over all the others that I have owned. I do believe this car will last me the rest of my driving years. I'm glad I bought my Avalon and would do it again in a heart beat.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

November 13 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

I bought my 2006 Avalon Limited with 32,000 miles in August of 2008. It now has 120,000 miles and only has needed standard maintenance work, so it's extremely reliable. The second thing I like about my Avalon is its acceleration. I merge onto a heavily traveled highway twice a day. I love it when I pull in front of a car and it moves into the passing lane... only to retreat behind me after I accelerate. Finally, the car is comfortable for long trips (especially the rear seating), the steering wheel feels great in my hands, the CD sound is terrific, and I get 33 mpg on the highway and 28 mpg combined city/hwy.

Cons

My only complaint is that, althought the headlights are sufficient horizontally, they are woefully lacking vertically. Be prepared to use your high beams frequently.

Overall

Overall the best car I've ever owned by far.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

April 1 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Interior room, comfort, trouble free, and durability.

Cons

Nothing so far.

Overall

Great car.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

March 28 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

I love my Avalon. I get compliments from teenager to seniors on its style and also its comfort. I had an Audi A6 before this and never thought the Avalon would make me as happy, but it has. It has more room. I just miss the AWD.

Cons

i am not a fan of the whole keyless concept- no valet lockout. Also no folding back seat. The recline in the rear seats isn't really that worthwhile.

Overall

Great car and a pleasure to drive. Plenty of power and luxury.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

March 22 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

excellent fuel, very smooth ride

Cons

no power in passenger side seat

Overall

very nice car i plan on buying another but newer. rides smoother than any car i have been in or driven

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

January 15 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

It's rapid acceleration... The comfortable ride ... It is my cheap Rolls Royce

Cons

Since the powerful engine drives the car to high speed quickly, all models must be equipped with antislip diffrential or preferably four-wheel drive

Overall

Nice spacious, comfortable car

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

May 22 2011

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Still looks nice

Cons

The exhaust sensor had to be replaced at 45k - no big deal except it was welded to the exhaust manifold which also had to be replaced at a cost of $1600. The rack and pinion needs to be replaced at 54k for a cost of $1500.

Overall

Too many costly repairs with so few miles. After eight Toyota's, this is the last one.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

May 4 2011

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Reliable, Fast, Smooth, Gas Mileage, Roominess

Cons

Nothing

Overall

I bought this Avalon new in 2006 and I must say this has become my favorite daily driver of all the cars I've had and I've owned many. It just turned 184,000 miles. In that time I have not had one single mechanical problem. I did have the oil line recall fixed even though it never leaked. I had the accelerator recall done even though that never was a problem either. (NASA recently proved it impossible to have unintended acceleration. Ive consistently changed the oil. I had to replace the battery once but this car has the original spark plugs, water pump, serpentine belt, alternator, etc. EVERYTHING, its amazingly reliable. The 3.5 liter engine is sewing machine smooth and powerful. Ive averaged 27 mpg the whole time Ive had it. People say its an "old man" car but I dont think so. To me it is a a cheaper and bigger version of a ES350Lexus. The difference between the Avalon and Camry is huge. The feel and drive is just completely different. The Avalon feels like an expensive car and the Camry feels like a budget car. I still dont think I've seen a car with as much rear seat and leg room, its gigantic. The Avalon will carry five large adults with ease.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

May 12 2010

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Everything about it. A fabulous car that gets almost the same gas mileage as my 1985 Toyota Corolla (62,515 miles) gets. The best car for the money!

Cons

Nothing.

Overall

Will probably keep it from now on.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

April 25 2010

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Growing up in the 70's, the large American car was the standard of my childhood and I've always been fond of the spacious, smooth road trips a large sedan provided. Fast Forward to 2010 and it seems that I hit my left elbow on the door and the right elbow on my wife in 90% of the vehicles marketed today. We were looking at Honda Accords when a used Toyota Avalon made itself available for roughly the same money. I've always wanted a Cadillac, but could never justify the depreciation and expensive repairs. Driving the Avalon took me back to the glory years of American cars when large comfortable sedans ruled the road as family commuters.

Cons

Now, if you are in the market for a 2006 Avalon there are a couple of things that you need to know going in, THIS IS IMPORTANT. The VVTI oil line is a design flaw on this vehicle and WILL FAIL. You WILL lose your oil if you do not replace this hose, preferably with a metal line. Toyota cut some corners and used a rubber hose to carry the engine oil. The hose sits next to the engine block. Heat + time + deterioration of rubber hose= LEAK & SUDDEN LOSS OF ENGINE OIL. Not a deal breaker, BUT you MUST know this going in. The 2nd thing is that you must ensure the transmission is shifting smoothly before buying, most do, BUT, some don't. It's a computer glitch and the reflash is expensive.

Overall

I love this car, it takes me back to a simpler time when car rides were peaceful and relaxing. The demographic for this car is between 60-67 year old drivers, IE, Grandpa car. I'm 42 and I value comfort, reliability and responsible investment of my money over the latest and greatest social status. The Avalon is the best full size sedan for retaining initial value. The MPG are amazing for a vehicle this roomy and powerful. The leather interior is plush and riding on long trips is akin to sitting on a nice, comfy couch. The cab is quiet and relaxing. The extrerior of this car is deceptively small, compared to the cavernous interior space. If you are buying this vehicle used, there is an outstanding chance that it was owned by someone that did not abuse it and kept the maintenance up. Outside of a few small quirks, this is the perfect car. Luxury and smart money, a winning combination.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

November 2 2009

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

I love my Toyota Avalon. This is my first Toyota and the nicest car I have ever owned. The car handles well in the city and on the highway. I am impressed with the gas mileage. You don't have to pay for premium gas which really helps these days. I love the look and comfort of the interior. I have owned my Avalon for 3 years and my interior is still beautiful. The back seat is really comfortable. This is a great touring car. The sound system is very nice for the money. I looked at several other cars before I chose my Avalon.

Cons

The passenger front seat does not have the same support and options as the driver's seat.

Overall

This is not your Grandpa's sedan. It is a beautiful, classy, luxury car without the outragious price of the other guys. You can pay more for a luxury automobile, but why?

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

May 23 2009

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

I love the comfort, room and acceleration of this car. The wood trim steering wheel feels and looks good, and the dashboard is clean and easy to use. The gas mileage is incredible given the car's size and power, and the number of airbags provide safety. I love the smart key, automatic wipers and headlights. I have a one and a half hour round trip commute to work and the Avalon is by far the best car I've ever owned.

Cons

Navigation systems I've seen in other cars are more user friendly. The styling is somewhat bland and boxy. To me, the car looks great from the rear, but the front end is unimaginative. Also, the headlights provide a terrific amount of horizontal amount of lighting, but don't seem to provide enough vertical lighting.

Overall

I highly recommend the Avalon if you are looking for a comfortable, roomy, reliable, safe, and gas efficient vehicle.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

April 25 2009

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

What's not to like???

Cons

Can't think of anything

Overall

Only problem faced was a burst oil line at 30,000 miles. Fortunately we caught it before the engine went dry, and the dealer was able to fix it in a couple days. Have no plans to sell or trade it off. We always buy new cars and run them for at least ten years. We have no reservations about this car.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

March 16 2009

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

The dash. Lots of space in front and back seats.

Cons

Like some other owners. Have had problem after problem. And ever time I take it to the dealer they can find anything. Until the hose broke and all of the oil came and locked my engine. Had a oil change one month before this happen. Every time you go to the dealer they want you spend spend spend. I have had better performance with my Mazda 626, Nissan Stanza and my Pontiac Grand AM no problems out of any of them an they cost much less.

Overall

DO NOT BUY A TOYOTA THEY ARE HAVING A PROBLEM WITH ALL OF THE TOYOTAS WITH THIS HOSE BRAKING AND DRAINING THE OIL FROM THE ENGINE NOT JUST THE AVALON.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

October 11 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

I work out of my car (35,000 miles in the last 15 months) and it has been great- comfortable, 25 mpg city, 31 highway. Huge trunk and back seat, plenty of room in the front seat. Handles well, great acceleration, etc. Couldn't bear the thought of driving anything else.

Cons

Had some odd and troubling problems; VVTI line blew while driving, initiall indication was odor (w/ relatively new car, oil change one week prior, never dreamed it was my car) 8 miles down the road it started losing power. Towed to Toyota where it was fixed under warranty. Asst Svc Mgr and mechanic stated this had occurred w/ several other cars. When I first bought the car (used w/ 11k miles) it pulled to rt, but was told alignment was within specs. By 12,500 miles, needed tires. Svc Mgr drove it and noted coil spring rotation (?) problem. Once spring was rotated, no more pulling. Agree with comments about thin paint and road noise. Road noise may be tires...

Overall

Make sure you are working with a good Toyota dealer. Had always loved my Toyota dealer, and they eventually did right with the issues with the car, but had to fight for it. I now have some concerns about the longevity of the car due to possible damage from VVTI issue, but can't afford to trade the car. My aunt has a 2007, has had zero problems, has original Bridgestones and has no problem with road noise. Would absolutely buy this car again

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

August 24 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

As others have stated, the styling is fantastic. The ability to accelerate get into the flow of traffic is also great. The features are all that I had hoped they would be. I love the auto AC and the auto Wipers. The sound system is a top of the line system.

Cons

My main con regarding this car is the quality of the assembly. Like someone else stated, the wind noise on the driver side makes you think you left the window cracked. The number of rattles in the dash makes me wonder why Toyota wanted to have this top of the line car built in the USA. It seems to meet the same standard of assembly that all of the US cars show, poor. I have had it back to the dealer several times and can never seem to get the rattles take out.

Overall

A well designed, well engineered, poorly constructed, top of the line car.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

May 25 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

We have had 58,000 trouble free miles so far. The interior room is great, gas mileage is 28 to 31 mpg. The ride and handling are great also.

Cons

The road noise is more than you would expect for a car of this price.

Overall

Great car in all .

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

April 5 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Sharp car all around. Can't beat the looks and the fact its Lexus in Toyota clothing. Then engine has no problems getting you up to speed. The back seat space and leg room are awesome; I'm 6'2" and sometimes ride in the back as if I have my own driver.

Cons

Gas mileage wasn't what was reported; we get 19-20 in town and 26 on the highway using good gas. I agree with the comment about hard seats. I'm disappointed with the quality as there's so much wind noise next to the driver side door, I keep checking to see if I have the window cracked a little. Also, early in the morning, there's a lifter tapping and I only have 16K miles on it. The steering shaft has some movement too. The dealer says that's all normal which I know is a crock since I'm an ASE certified mechanic.

Overall

Overall, a decent car. Since so many other people are happy with theirs, maybe I got stuck with a bad car and bad dealer.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

February 4 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Like the big Lexus for half the price!

Cons

Tiny paint chips all over nose of hood from trucks kicking back stones. Toyota will not cover under warranty.

Overall

If you want the big Lexus, but don't have the $80,000.00 for it, buy the Avalon Limited for $34,000.00. There's not much difference, believe me. This is my second Avalon, and is even nicer than my 2000 XLS. Everyone loves this sharp, comfy car! A great value for your buck, whether you commute to work, or use it for travel---I've done both with my Avalons. Highly recommended!

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

January 22 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Sharp and refined. Front end styling appears benz like and side to rear appears maybach like. It's a melting pot of refined looks.

Cons

Would like a little more than 278 hp.

Overall

Great vehicle with no problems and many compliments when out. Mine is black w/ gold embelished emblems. If they were lexus emblem it would apppear such!

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

January 1 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

size for the money

Cons

getting around in the snow

Overall

very good car takes 6.5 qt. of oil with a cannister filter different than american cars.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

January 1 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

everything

Cons

nothing

Overall

my fourth avalon they were excellent

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

December 16 2007

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Power and mileage, fit and finish, quietness, ride, roominess, etc., etc.

Cons

Agree the paint chips too easily. Needs more ground clearance. Spin-on oil filter would be nice.

Overall

Best value for the money of any car except maybe the 2008 Camry.

2006 Toyota Avalon review

Date

December 13 2007

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

great mileage 31mpg 25 in town

Cons

more room for drivers legs

Overall

has been flawless fr 21000

Toyota Avalon 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph