FastCarsWiki.com

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

February 18 2013

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

very reliable

Cons

very few

Overall

I had this car almost 8 years. I drive every day. Nothing has broken or failed. I only replaced the battery, tires and filters. Not even a single light bulb has gone out. The low speed shift is not as smooth as it could be but it is not even noticable going from 3 to 4 to 5. It is very roomy front and back. Gas mileage is excellet for a car this size. The 3.5 liter six pulls like a V-8. Very quick to 60 MPH. I had planned to trade at 10 years but I like this car!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

August 11 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Lots of pickup for a large car. Amazing fuel economy in it's class. Just an all around pleasure to drive.

Cons

Don't like the cheesy silver plastic doors on everything in the center console. At least it could have been the same as the wood trim in the rest of the car. My only gripe.

Overall

I've owned my Avalon 2 years now and I must say I enjoy getting in and driving as much as I did the first time I drove it home. Amazing value for the money. Love the reclining rear seats!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

August 9 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Man pro are slapped over this vehicle,

Cons

mmmmmmm not much really , really i love the damn thing

Overall

Buy it if you can, your not gonna regret it, and if you do what has a better re sale than a toyota these days ?i bought it at 117,000 km its at 167,000 now nothing needed, get all kinds of people complementing on it, rides great, audio awesome, heated seat and in dash navigation is great, beautiful pearl white colour available, def one of the best buys Ive had.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

June 30 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Very quiet. Nice features. Good gas mpg. for size of car. Very comfortable 4-5 people.

Cons

Paint quality is poor. Many recall issues. Head liners don't hold up. Radio cover works 20% correct. Design oversights of first model yr.

Overall

A very nice car when new. Does not stand the test of time very well!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

June 20 2012

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Great automobile 73000 miles no problems

Cons

none

Overall

great car

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

August 25 2011

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Handling-style-comfy ride-interior-radio.

Cons

Low mileage - cloth seats catch lint.

Overall

on May 5 2011 I bought this used Avalon with 83,000 miles on it. The car was immaculate and had the cushy ride I wanted. I had the first major maint in Aug 2011 - nothing wrong. I was happy the 2005 Avalon has chain timing rather than belt - the chain never needs replacing. I had to cover the front seats with sheepskin because the cloth would "literally" collect every bit of lint from my jeans. If you want a cushy ride, this is the car to buy. It has a blind spot on the right rear but the right mirror is very large to compensate for this. Wish I had a different color than Desert Mica [gray]. Paid $12,000 for this boat.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

March 24 2011

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

I've had my Avalon for over 5 years now i'm still loving it , the ride , style, performance are great even though there was a recall. Been across country 3 times great on the freeways up to 37mpg@ times i'm getting close to the 80000 mile mark ,but that is nothing for a toyota. My van lasted 350000 miles before it died.

Cons

sometimes when driving the transmission has a mind of it's own.

Overall

My wife and i both love our Avalon Touring sedan we got the upgraded JBL sound system and i'm going to upgrade my wheels for the chrome they look better with the Grey body. I will purchase another Avalon when the time comes just love it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

February 20 2011

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

New

Cons

Losts compared to 2001 Avalon XLS

Overall

Over accelerates, even after recall fixes (3 or 4), poor visibility when driving. Too many component distractions while driving. Performance and manufacturing quality seriously declined after 2002. Don't buy, including Lexus until Toyota gets their act together.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

January 21 2010

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

I Love everything about the Avalon. I love how it handles and the accelleration is awesome. It really took some getting used to since I was in a bulky 2004 Cadillac SRX the ride is as different as night and day. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Avalon.

Cons

At the present time I can't find anything that I don't like about it.

Overall

Exellent

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

January 20 2010

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Overall very good, quiet,smooth,ride, peppy engine, decent mileage, quality.

Cons

I think the combination traction control, stability control are atrocias. About the time traction control starts and the vechile may start to slide very little, the stability control kicks in and the vehicle lslows down. There is no way you can get up a slight incline with a slippery surface, the car shuts down.

Overall

I would still buy another one if they change the stablity control.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

March 18 2009

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

The power 280 hp. and acceleration # 1, and the comfort of both front seats. space front & back with 4 persons is very good. Trunk space very good. 23 to 25 MPG in winter, 35 to 38 in summer, at 55mph or 90Kl. with speed control 40 to 41mpg.

Cons

One only outlet for 12 volts accessories and that, in the bottom of the R arm rest where it is almost impossible to reach when needed. extremely disapointed. No control over the interior lights system, opened door or trunk lights ON all the time. Windshield wipers loading with ice in winter.

Overall

Highly recommended overall. Except if you are a BUFF for ELECTRONICS in the car. for safety and highway, better than average. Power when you need it. I am 82 yrs old and still going strong.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

December 24 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

far above the compitition

Cons

doors over the radio panel

Overall

we toured the country in it this year and not a problem at all

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

November 13 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

I've have now owned this vehicle from Feb 2008 to present (mid Nov 08). The acceleration is very good. Even better, the engine feels very smooth when doing so. My seating is the heated/ventilated leather. They are incredibley comfortable. The interior quality is very first rate. the HD headlights are a must, the light is evenly distributed from left to right, no bright spot in the middle of the road. Ride and interior noise were principle reasons I purchase the Avalon. A good deal of interior storage. Heats up quickly in the winter. Complete airbag systems. The auto rear sun shade is great on hot days. Keyless driving, the keys never leave my pocket.

Cons

Rear visibility isn't that good. The lazer cruise control needs some more R and D. I just turn it off and use the normal cruise control. The Limited comes with both. The windshield wipers are expensive. At low speed the transmission sometimes seems confused. Its not that big of an issue.

Overall

I didn't plan plan on purchasing the Limited, as I thought it was a little to pricey. However, due to the fact I was purchasing a Certified Preowned Car from a Dealer, my selection was limited. I'm very happy I purchases the Limited. At night there are LED lights under the side view mirrors which light when you approach the vehicle, very cool. No keys to open the doors. Better than expected MPG. Oh, don't forget the HD head lights. For pessangers in the rear seats, those seats recline. Lots of rear leg room. Very comfortable for bigger people. Overall I'm very pleased. I fell blessed every time I get in.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

August 26 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Power- Fuel economy- FIt & Finish- Smoothness-

Cons

problematic shifting which was taken care of by a TSB- now shifts perfectly! Too bad this model (touring) is being dropped.

Overall

Great vehicle- have had many Toyota's this is the best so far- I like the power better than my new Tundra.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

August 3 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

reliability compared to other vehicles

Cons

Hard to reach articles when they slip down the sides of the seats in front. Not enough room for a hands to go down and reach these articles.

Overall

Great car!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

February 28 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Inside room

Cons

trunk space, Backseat backrest tilting takes room from trunk

Overall

Very nice stylish auto

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

February 23 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Has many of the features found on the Lexus at a fraction of the cost.

Cons

Not as quiet as my 2000 Avalon

Overall

Best value for a full size automobile.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

January 26 2008

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Upgraded stereo, engine performance, quietness and interior comfort. Upgraded JBL stereo is truly amazing.

Cons

Could live without the stereo cover on the dash.

Overall

Best passenger car for the money on the market.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

October 16 2007

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

It rides well and has lots of features. Lots of space, trunk is a bit small.

Cons

Quality control..BAD...Car is in dealership as I write. TSB says possible leaking valve cover seal. OOPS..What that means is the entire drive train MUST be removed to access the Parts, additionally the Heads and intake manifold has to be removed OMG. I saw the car last thursday. I am worried. So far It has had the ower steering rack replaced. The computer that runs the smart key system replace and the Window frame drivers side. They said I will recieve a 100000 mi Warr.

Overall

Having owned 22 Toyota's, I am now certain they have lost there Quality and reliabilty. I own a 05 Tundra.that had its front suspension parts replaced. I also have a 06 rav 4..that is having issues with the computer sending improper codes that lead to engine shut down. If anyone at Toyota reads these.Contact my dealer in northern Baltimore County, MD. This is the real deal. Toyota has all but lost one of there most valved customers.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Toyota Avalon review

Date

August 15 2007

Model

Toyota Avalon

Pros

Nice ride, handles the road well.

Cons

Just had to replace the windshield wipers-what ticket- price shock ! Can you imagine paying $39.52 for the driver's side & 19.96 for the passenger side? plus you can't find them in an auto parts store so you are forced to get them at the dealer.What a ripoff. Shame on Toyota.

Overall

Love the car,disapointed in the cost of windshield wipers .

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Toyota Avalon 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph