FastCarsWiki.com

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

March 2 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

I received my 2013 Tesla Model S mid-size battery with supercharging option and it has been an amazing experience! I highly recommend everyone to go see these new all-electric vehicles at a shopping mall near you. I'm getting a consistent range of over 220 miles per battery charge, not being overly conservative and punching it every now and then, and this is plenty to get around Orange County and Southern California. I drive about 50 miles to and from work everyday, along with occassional trips to the supermarket and such, and I'm able to use it for 4 full days before plugging it in. Tesla recommends I recharge everyday in my garage, but I wanted to test its limits initially. Very impressed!

Cons

A little more planning was needed when I took a weekend roadtrip to San Francisco, especially since this is the mid-size battery version. In the end, I was able to use the Tesla supercharging stations to fill up for free within 45 minutes and the hotel I stayed in San Francisco had free charging for electric vehicles, albeit slower than the supercharging stations but I left it charging overnight. In the end, the entire trip did not cost me a single penny in electricity except the wear and tear on my tires, but some additonal planning is needed to hit the supercharging stations and other public charging spots.

Overall

The future is here!! As battery capacity improves, I see this technology being the de facto standard. I remember back when I was a kid and I was purchasing my first PC. The computer salesman told me that I had two options... the 20 MB hard drive and the 40 MB hard drive. He recommended that I get the 40 MB hard drive and that would be plenty of digital storage to last me a lifetime!! Well times have changed, and we now have hard drives in the hundreds of GBs and we're now getting into Terra Bytes! As battery technology improves, I see electric vehicles using Tesla's technology surpassing gas-powered and hybrid cars with much greater range. Even the ability to recharge quickly will vastly improve with time. Remember this is only first generation! The wave of the future has started!

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

February 26 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Performance, styling, touchscreen, plenty of storage

Cons

2 cup holders, small cubby storage for little things, dark trunk and frunk (front trunk).

Overall

Excellent car for an electric one.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

February 22 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

This car has met all my expectations, comfort and performance are great. an engineering marvel.

Cons

cabin storage space is minimal.

Overall

This car may not be foreveryone, but neither is a 911, corvette or panamera. as for range anxiety, 95% plus of people dont drive a 100 miles in a day, and rarely does anyone take their porsche 911 or corvette on a family trip of greater than 300 miles.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

February 18 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Styling, handling, eco friendly, "cool" factor, interior space, cargo space, central console

Cons

lack of super charger network, back seat headroom, wait

Overall

Until you drive one of these, you have no idea what an electric car designed from the ground up can be. This car only looks like an internal combustion car. The low center of gravity and instantaneous maximum torque make this car behave like a car that is far more expensive. In addition, because of the configuration of the motor, this car has interior and cargo space that would rival a minivan. I've got a base model on order. I put down my deposit almost a year ago and still don't have a concrete date as to when I'll receive mine (April?). But having driven two different models (the 85kWh and the Performance), I can say that the 85kWh models are outstanding. The performance model is actually a bit scary. Since the 0-60 time is actually comparable to cars with 4.0 second times, it's very, very fast. And since it's almost silent, you get to very high speeds faster than you realize. I'm expecting a brisk, but far less intense ride in my base model.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

February 14 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

No Gas! Engine has 1 moving part! seats 7 and front trunk too! Quality and MADE IN USA

Cons

Price. They are expensive. In time we hope for the affordable Tesla.

Overall

The EPA numbers listed are MPGe, the e standing for "equivelant". Study has shown that the energy in a gallon of gas is equivelant to 34 kwh of electricity. Since the public is familar with MPG and not so familiar with KWHs per mile, the EPA decided upon this way to explain Electric car efficiency to everyone. So when a Tesla or LEAF is said to get 99mpge, it's what they would get on an equivelant gallon of gas.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

February 7 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

NO compromise in performance, NO gas of course

Cons

Price, planning trips

Overall

I've had my S for about two weeks and the ride is incrediable! I can beat almost any car off the line but better yet the tech inside is IPad crazy! End of story, if you can afford it...get it. You don't need the performance, I got the 60V fully loaded and it's perfect. Sure I could have spent another 10K for the biggest battery but you won't need that 95% of the time unless you do some serious commutes.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

February 6 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

An incredible machine - smooth ride, very powerful, instant response, and very luxurious. Better ride and handling than Beemers and MBs. Touch screen is amazing! Acceleration is almost unreal. Range is very good - best in the industry in fact. Once superchargers are built throughout the US then it will be even better.

Cons

Had to wait for software updates (but they did arrive). Certainly is not for the faint-of-wallet. Climate control takes up a lot of energy and keeping batteries thermally managed while at rest and not plugged in causes lots of energy drain.

Overall

Excellent car!

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

February 5 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

No gas, no oil, no smog check, quiet, smooth, and drive in the car pool lanes

Cons

Not cheap, but I didn't want a Honda anyway. Need to plan your drive. Slow charging when cold

Overall

Greatest thing since sliced bread. Tremendous acceleration allows you to avoid many annoying situations. More high tech than next years smartphones.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

February 2 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Styling, performance, 17" touchscreen...Everything!

Cons

Car was delivered with a scratch on the roof, and two malfunctioning door handles. Tesla sent a ranger to my house to repair the doors and is going to have the scratch repaired at a local body shop. So far they have been very responsive to my concerns.

Overall

Best car I've ever driven! Highly recommend it!

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

January 28 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Performance, Technology, Efficiency

Cons

needs storage in the doors, app is not out yet

Overall

Awesome vehicle, you must to appreciate what the buzz is all about

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

January 19 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Great styling and performance. As a Leaf owner also I appreciate no more range anxiety on a daily basis. Free supercharges showing up on the East Coast.

Cons

The wait to get one.Long distance driving beyond DC to Boston or CA is still something that takes preparation.

Overall

The car gets better over time as more features are added via software release.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

January 18 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

responsiveness, no gas

Cons

windshield distortion noted at bottom

Overall

I am enjoying a new kind of ride

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

January 14 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

As European I like to drive performance cars through curving roads. As I tested the performance version tesla can only say that the car has more power than chassy can handle. It drives absolutely amazing but something for enthusiasticdriver to get used. As I am very big fan of tip-tronic transmissions and use downshifting to control my traction through the curves. For a test drive around Mercer Island, I was little hesitant to push the car through the turns like I would with tip-tronic cars. To offset the that control I was put in a high regenerative mode that slows down the car faster without applying breaks which gave me little more feel through the turns.

Cons

It does have a fish tail affect when you hit the pedal but recovers nicely. Since this was a performance version I don't believe this issue will be in models below. AWD in next version of X models will definetly prevent fish tailing.

Overall

Absolutely fantastic.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

January 13 2013

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

It is pleasing to look at, outside and interior, however performance leaves much to be desired.

Cons

Handling, acceleration, braking, HUD.

Overall

Test drove it. I wouldnt buy it. Not unless it was at least half of the advertised price. There is more bang for your buck luxury wise spening your 60k+ on a another brand and a gas motor with good milage.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

December 19 2012

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Words cannot express. This is an amazing car. It is also proof that the American auto industry is not done yet. I cannot wait to buy my Tesla Model S (Performance edition)

Cons

Just wish there were Tesla Supercharging stations in my area. But I am sure they are coming soon.

Overall

JUST AN AMAZING CAR!!! LOVE THIS MACHINE. THIS CAR IS AND ALWAYS WILL BE ON THE TOP OF MY LIST! I DID A PROJECT ON THIS CAR IN HIGH SCHOOL, AND I WAS HOOKED! I CANNOT WAIT TO GET THIS AMAZING MACHINE. WELL DESERVING AS MOTOR TREND'S 2013 CAR OF THE YEAR! TESLA ROCKS!!

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

December 10 2012

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

I only have to visit a gas station to go to the bathroom or to get a soda

Cons

not a thing

Overall

I want i want one I want one I want Oh Santa please bring me one

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

December 8 2012

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

This is a pure electric vehicle, not a hybrid. I have the signature performance S. It is very fast with no delay. When you hit the accelerator..wow... Great handling on curves. Very comfortable and easy to drive. I get a lot of positive feed back for people when they see the car.

Cons

No high speed, Tesla super chargers near me (yet). There are super charging stations in California. You can get a slow charge though from many places, including many hotels. Just download the free apps: Recargo and PlugShare to find the chargers near you. I would not plan on a trip over 200 miles without knowing where I was going to charge up.

Overall

This is a beautiful, high performance car without compromise. The 1st of its kind.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

November 28 2012

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Everything!

Cons

Nothing!

Overall

It's an amazing hybrid!

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

November 17 2012

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Great fuel economy!

Cons

none

Overall

I'm dying to find out where you guys are buying electrons by the gallon (88-90mpg!!!! - really? is this using the optional generator from Home Depot?)

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

October 15 2012

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Comfortable, Fast, Sleek

Cons

None.

Overall

I love this car. I always see people waving and giving me thumbs up when they see me go by. The noise, or rather the lack of it, gives the interior a relaxing feel which is what I need after a day of work.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

October 13 2012

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Amazing MPG

Cons

None

Overall

The electric engine gives it 90 MPG but still has nearly 425 HP. And the car itself is really great overall.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

October 3 2012

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

The best handling of any car on the road.

Cons

Not much head room in the back seats.

Overall

This is the car of the future. Everything you could ask from a car, you get. The giant 17" touch screen display is beautiful. With the electric motor there is no shifting, you get non stop full torque from 0 to 125 mph.

2012 Tesla Model S review

Date

September 18 2012

Model

Tesla Model S

Pros

Horsepower

Cons

Efficiency

Overall

I love this car. The best car ever made. Enterior. Exterior. The wheel base. Everythin' just perfect.

Tesla Model S 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph