FastCarsWiki.com

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

January 20 2013

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

I've had BMW's, Mercedes E Class, Lexus, Jaguar, etc. This car is as comparable as any one of the ones mentioned, and in fact because of the price paid, it's a far better investment. It's great on gas and runs on regular. Even got a GM 48 month warranty. The body style gets lots of unsolicited attention, .Although the interior could have been upgraded somewhat, but again for $26,000 including the Technology Package, I still feel that it's a real deal for such a quality car.

Cons

Interior could have more wood trim, etc.

Overall

Great car so far.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

January 2 2013

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

Have had four Saabs - love everything about them.

Cons

Main problem is no warranty - no free oil changes as in the past.

Overall

I purchased a new 2010 Saab 9-5 in February 2011. Within 4 months of driving it out of the showroom in Winston-Salem, NC, the suspension warning light came on to have it checked. Then everything went out on the Enfotainment system - no radio, no navigation, etc. I went back to the dealer was was advised they were sorry, but I have no warranty and it will cost around $7K to replace the entire system and suspension. Found this to be totally absurd. The salesman never mentioned to be that I would have no warranty. He even went through the warranty book that was in the glove box. Has anyone else had this problem and if so, how did you deal with it other than paying a ridiculous amount? Is there still a recourse of a NC Lemon Law?

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

December 23 2012

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

I've bought this car at 20k discount for 24.260, and would not swap it for C-class Benz, or 3 series BMW or Audi A4, even though they cost 20k more than my ride. Unique, beautiful car with plenty of power to take it anywhere you want. It has all creature comfort options, that are standard. Remote start, heated leather seats, huge interior, power everything, including me when behind the wheel. I've owned Mercedes Benz C-240, 2002 model, paid 10K more for much smaller, less powerful, and 1/2 of the Saab options. Would not look the other way again.

Cons

There are no cons. Zip. Nada.

Overall

Grrrrrrrrreat car at even better price

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

October 13 2012

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

Everything! The acceleration is incredible, the gas mileage is great, the look, feel, controls is just top notch. This is truly the best car I have ever owned or been in. This includes Lexus. Saab finally got it; perfect.

Cons

Nothing!

Overall

I would buy this car again and again.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

June 8 2012

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

Everything. Love the spaceship looks, the open, airy feel of the interior, the handling, acceleration and performance for a car this large is fantastic. I have the V6 Turbo XWD and can't wait for the winter weather.

Cons

Blind spots galore; no backup camera, just sensors with beeps, very surprising in a car that listed for over $52k!

Overall

very pleased with the car since I purchased it back in March 2012. Was brand new (22 miles) and had been sitting on the dealer lot. Had to get the brake rotors fixed upon delivery but otherwise has been an absolute pleasure to own & drive. Buying at 50% off MSRP certainly didn't hurt (the dealer was going out of business and liqudating the inventory as fast as possible) and I have a 25 year master service tech in my town which makes service/repairs easy. The NAV/radio/phone works fantastic and at night with the Xenons, the car lights the road like no other I've ever seen. Love it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

May 8 2012

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

Nice exterior styling. Have received unsolitcited compliments. Reasonably nice internal styling. Great trunk with tons of room and folding split rear seats. Good handling.

Cons

Extremely hard front end. Can feel every little bump especially at high speeds when crossing hard surface changes. Have had the front end bottom out to a point where it felt like I was going to lose the bumper but unfortunately, no one to take it to unless I want to pay. Questionable fit and finish on the interior. Wonder what it will be like to get it serviced in a few years.

Overall

OK Car for the close-out price of $30k after SAAB went bankrupt. No way was it worth the original sticker price of $44k! Tragic that SAABs swan song was an orphaned, limited edition of a GM component, Swedish designed "fresh start." NO warranty support from anyone; GM, SAAB, you name it. This is the car that GM and SAAB literally abandoned upon delivery. Possibly a collectors item given its the last, limited production SAAB ever built.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

February 3 2012

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

Serviced SAAB for 35 years

Cons

I still Have 2 9-5s and love them

Overall

Why did you Buy this car? Just to Put it down?? This must be Your First SAAB. Sell it and go find a Pinto. D

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

December 26 2011

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

I own the Bio Power six speed manual version. I also have the panoramic sun roof which was not supposed to come with the base manual, but I stumbled onto this vehicle and after a thorough test drive traded in my Audi s4 for this car. Hirsch makes a software upgrade for this particular car so down the road I will be able to add 40 BHP adding to this car's already engaging drive. It has been terrific to drive either around town or out on the highway. Everything is logically laid out. Great drive! Quick. Handles great! Comfortable! Long range with large tank, regular fuel, and great gas mileage! Although Hirsch upgrade will require switch to premium fuel.

Cons

No spare tire! Although one can be ordered and there is a space for it unlike the run-flat cars and their corresponding lack of trunk space for a spare. The automatic display lighting is too sensitive to exterior lighting and makes the light switch between high and low too frequently especially when traveling under tree canopies. There should be a defeat setting for this. Rear visability can be an issue as can side vision due to width of "B" pillars. Not impossible but takes some getting used to.

Overall

Even though Saab has filed for bankruptcy I really am not all that concerned. At least I have a great car that I will enjoy every day and won't see one coming the other way all that often. And, I intend to keep this and my other Saab for many more years. Warranties and parts will need to be sorted out, but my Saabs should still be good for another 10+ years and then become even rarer. I've owned many high line cars in the past, many that were very highly regarded by the automotive press, only to sell them within 6-12 months because they were very over-rated in my opinion. Those companies are still in business but I doubt I would ever own another of their respective offerings.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

November 15 2011

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

Drives like a dream. Quite- Most comfortable seats in the world. Back seat is very roomy.

Cons

Nobody knows abour this car-shame on them.

Overall

Traded in my 2007 9-3 Combi and got a very good deal with the incentives. Still drives like a SAAB but much more comfortable. The 4 CYlinder turbo provides plenty of power and seems to fit the car better than the V6. Car drives smaller than it appears which is a bonus. Too bad that Saab does not have the money to advertise but at least I am one of the few that discovered the value. Feels like I am a special minority saving thousands against the Audi and BMW owners that have not a clue about this car. Very impressed with the 2011 9-5.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

October 22 2011

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

Love the new style and performance

Cons

none yet

Overall

I sure love my new Saab. It's better than any of the others I've owned and I'm definately a repeat customer.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

September 15 2011

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

deceptively fast, looks great from all angles, quiet, extremely comfortable, unique

Cons

smaller than normal steering wheel

Overall

Purchased the Turbo4 Premium about a month back. I have owned 4 9-3s prior to this purchase. Incredible car. Just upgraded the performance via the Hirsch upgrade now available in the US. Went from 220hp to 260hp. It is an amazing car that people are passing on due to SAAB's financial state.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

May 1 2011

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

speed, women, and speed

Cons

acceleratinop

Overall

just get a manual and you're good to go - the slap stick is fast,but not fast enough ;) enjoy the saab, shit has class.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

March 29 2011

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

Looks, performance, comfort and safety

Cons

Haven't found anything yet...

Overall

Love this car!!! Handles like a charm. Very unique car. It has soul! Very pleased with the performance.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

February 9 2011

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

Fantastic and really cool looking car--Almost seems like a concept car from the outside. Very unique. Everyone at my office freaked when I drove it to work. Great, tight handling Saab, getting more Germanesque with this 9-5. Punchy old-school Saab high output Turbo keeps it scrappy and a unique ride though. A truly cool/nice/fun alternative to the Deathstar German cars. Hey new Saab owners--make a response ad to VW with a young Luke Skywalker! Swede designers/factory workers and new Dutch financiers are surely the good guys, no? Interior is HUGE. HUGE, as in larger than a BMW 7 series huge. Unbelievable size. Take your wife/girlfriend/partner/etc on a date in this car.

Cons

Base level (mine!) has no rear sensor parking-- $300 add-on at dealer was negotiated in. 'No problem', as they say in Chicago.

Overall

Entry level $40k version has everything you ever thought you needed in a car and nothing you don't. Chicago blizzard of 2011--What? No AWD? Was no problem in this car. Really satisfying car. Feel proud everyday to drive it, silly as that sounds. Thinking of a license plate that says, 'Da SAAB'. Joke, but maybe not--Honk if you see me.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 Saab 9-5 review

Date

January 26 2011

Model

Saab 9-5

Pros

BEST FEEL AND DRIVE !!!

Cons

NOTHING EVERYTHING WAS TERRIFIC!!!!

Overall

WOW.....BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED !!!! BREATHE TAKING

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Saab 9-5 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph