FastCarsWiki.com

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 29 2012

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Love the distinct look as I have Arc convertible. Car handles well and has plenty of passing power! Yes interior controls are a bit funky, but once I got used to them no problem. I bought this car used 6 months and 8000 miles ago and love it! No repairs save maintenance.

Cons

Interior paint on controls is flaking off some. Stereo could be more modern no input for mP3 player Ipod etc.

Overall

Great car that turns heads, is fun to drive, gets good mileage (23 city 29 highway) and is low maintenance.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 2 2012

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Have owned vehicle since 2005, currentyl 134k. city 26 - 28, 30 + highway. Great car!. Just the right size. Fantastic handeling, and a fun car to drive. I'm trying to find a 2011 that I can buy.

Cons

Maintenance at Dlr. only. Other shops just don't have the experts to work on vehicle.

Overall

Very very happy with car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 26 2011

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

The cornering ability of the 2005 Saab 9-3 is mind blowing!! Hard to believe your driving a sedan.

Cons

Feel the seats although hold you well don't hold you well enough for the handling ability of this vehicle.

Overall

Overall I have driven BMW, Audi, and neither has a car that I feel is as much fun to drive. Its just a wonderful car to drive.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

September 17 2011

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

I have not spent a dollar on repairs on this car since it was new 6 years ago. The only money I've spend is on new tires and wipers, which are supposed to wear out. It's supposed to be safe being a 2005 IIHS Gold Pick based on crash tests. It also handles well and doesn't attract vandals like BMW's do. On the highway, it gets over 30 mpg. In the suburbs, it's fast due to the turbo.

Cons

Nothing, except haters call it quirky.

Overall

Safe, reliable, good handling, Swedish.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

August 28 2010

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

The car handles very well with a set of Goodyear GT's on it. Braking is wonderful and tight. There is some turbo lag, but after it catches up you will get to 70 mph in no time. I drive 240 hwy miles per week and average 33 mpg (and I don't drive like a grandma). The dash computer system is a nice feature. The leather seats are comfortable and I have enough leg room (I'm 6'2"). There are 2 cup holders in front and 2 in the rear. The rear seats fold down to make a large trunk even larger.

Cons

There aren't many. The CD player doesn't work and you cannot put an aftermaket stereo in because the computer system runs through it and it costs $800 to replace (f that). The door seals are horrible. I drive 3 miles of gravel to work and have to run the fan on high to keep the cabin pressurized to keep dust from coming in. The oil filter isn't a typical spin on job, it's goes in a recepticle under the plastic on top of the motor. Have had to replace headlights already.

Overall

I have owned the car for 1 year and it has 59k miles on it. I highly recommend it (so far). The 5 speed works flawlessly and the car is SUPER quiet. I had a spare key made ($70) because if you lose your "key" you will have to buy a new ignition module for $1500. The instrument cluster is very functional and everything is within easy reach. There isn't much room in the back seats if the fronts are in the far back position. I have had the car up to 130 mph and it handled outstanding at speed.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

January 31 2009

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

I love the lime-green color. i love the ease of putting the top down, i love the interior, i love everything about this car.

Cons

maintance repairs are expensive and can only be serviced @ an actual saab dealer.

Overall

The most favorite car I've ever owned.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

May 11 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Nice tight handling. Safety and look. Good gas mileage.

Cons

Nothing yet...

Overall

Would buy another.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 2 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Fuel economy is good, it's fun to drive, handles well.

Cons

Don't drop your keys, we dropped both of ours and they stopped working, it cost almost $1500 for a new CIM module in the steering column plus two new keys. It's out of warranty mileage-wise, dealer said would talk to rep, no word now for a month.

Overall

Keys are too fragile for an "upscale" car, quality is lacking there. Dealer said these failures usually occur under warranty and would be covered; little comfort to us.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 19 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

I bought this car used and so far I have had no problem what so ever. I love this car and zip all over town in it.

Cons

The only con I have is that you cannot silence the horn when you use the key to lock/unlock the doors.

Overall

Having come from buying Chrysler product due to an employee discount I am more than thrilled with this car. I started out by looking for BMW's but decided I didn't want to shell out a bunch of money at the time. This car was right in the price range and I am happy I bought it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 18 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Styling, Unique, Nice features.

Cons

Power, Road Noise, Very little rear leg room, Running day light and low beams are the same. Burns out every 9 to 10 months, not acceptable. $70 for a pair of bulbs.

Overall

A fun car, enjoy driving it. Will buy again.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

May 22 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Styling - Great with top down. Features - Bi Xenon lights, parking assist, sentronic trans, rain sensine wipers, etc... for a great price Price - used at auction Great color - Parchment silver (really kind of a green) Fun!!!

Cons

Phone buttons don't work in US More leather could be used in seats

Overall

I got this car from a broker at a Saab Financial auction... $200 over wholesale, and about $8000 under Kelly Blue Book. It's got everything I wanted on a car and then some. I love driving this thing, and I'll never go back to a plain old car of any sort.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

September 17 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Love this car. Didn't actually want one--thought it was too preppy or staid for me (sports car freak). But now after a year and a half, I love it. Great interior comfort, safety, speeeeeeeeed, handling, sunroof, colors, stereo. Better gas mileage than I expected (recent highway trip an unreal 38mpg!)

Cons

I cannot get the side mirrors to any place where there is zero blindspot left, and it drives me crazy. Also the wheels are impossible to keep clean.

Overall

I will definitely buy another saab, next time a convertible.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

May 7 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Great car, handsome interior and exterior styling. Amazing list of standard features.

Cons

Nothing so far.

Overall

Excellent safety ratings, great handling, and fun to drive. I have had many compliments on this car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

April 27 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

This car's exterior styling caught my eye. The factory tires are oustanding.

Cons

Unfortunately, this particular car has a lot of annoyances that are not readily apparent in a simple test drive. The center armrest is a horrible! It slides on its cheap plastic tracks if you so much as breathe on it. The electric window buttons are not flush, resulting in almost every passenger inadvertently rolling down their window. It's impossible to keep the wheels on this car clean; after 2 miles, they are coated with a ton of black brake dust. The dash controls are made of cheap plastic. The programming on the HVAC is lousy - despite setting the fan settings to manual, the system constantly overrides and turns the fan to an annoying high velocity.

Overall

Overall, my car has had 3 recalls in the 18 months I have owned it (faulty door remote control transmitters, a brake problem and a ignition coil problem.) Thankfully I'm just leasing this car. I'm counting the days 'til I turn it in. Also, don't be fooled into thinking you're buying a true European car - Saab is fully owned by GMC and many of the parts on my car have GMC parts now.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 1 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

The interior is well thought out and is user friendly.

Cons

some road noise when I have the factory snowboard racks on.

Overall

I really like the size of the car it is plenty big for road trips or to go snowboarding. Feels safe on the highway, holds the road. Excelent factory tires. Interior is great.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 17 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

handling is superb; styling is understated and elegant

Cons

so far, no cons

Overall

I hesitated buying this car after having experienced electrical and braking problems on my first Saab (a mid-80s 900S); have been very pleased during my first year of ownership.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

January 12 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Great looks, Unique styling. Extremly fast for a 4Cyl. Great breaking, extremly safe. Best bang for the buck against competitors.

Cons

Air and heat controls do not light up at night. Strange but they are in the standard location as any other car. Accessories and custom wheels are not easy to find and pricey. Parking it(Jerks trying to ding it with their doors)

Overall

Car is put together very well. Handles like a champ in corners on mountain roads and on the streets. This car is a speeding ticket in the making. Every day I look forward to driving it. Test drove the car and had to buy it. I would recommend this car to anyone. I am purchasing another in the near future.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 29 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Quick and really HUGS the road. Lil' stylish. Good MilesPerGallon. I like the steering wheel for some reason, it feels tight. Great highway driving.

Cons

Rear brakes making noise(grinding) at 11,000 miles. And I just got this car from my wife so it's not from me abusing it... yet. Doesn't handle bumps or pot holes very well. Electronic gauges are very 80's. Can I get an mp3 player!?

Overall

This is a lease. It handles REALLY good and drives good in the snow. I got the black with the gray interior and sometimes the black color blends too much. Sometimes it's hard to make out all the Saab "lines". At a quick glance you might think it's a Honda or something like that... I think I like the silver better, it shows off more lines. They could have done a little better with the dash and electronic stuff there. It is roomy though and I am over 6ft. I'm coming from a Jeep Liberty so the car's low ground clearance takes some getting used to. Gotta watch those pot holes and steep driveways.... and since it's a lease I'm not really concerned nor know about long term reliability on this particular car. I had a 2001 Saab 95 before and had big problems. Ended up selling it back to the dealer(ignition cassettes). Which is why I ended up in this lease.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 12 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

breaking system is very good and the seats are really comfortable

Cons

the dashboard panel display as it isnt that user friendly. And using this car will make you spend for fuel more than the tol

Overall

worth my cash

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 6 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

2006, 9 3 2.0t I find this car everything it represents in it marketplace. I'm confident of all its Safety Features. 4cyl turbo amazing power and acceleration rival most 6cly. Handling, Steering "10" tight circles. Braking, confident and reliable. Winter Weather a must fwd drives like an awd. excellent control on snow and ice, with winter tires. (toyo mud and snow) Gas mileage as rated and sometimes better, the best I've had was 34mpg. Interior conviences a plus, trunk space great and fold down back seat.

Cons

My personal dislikes are FM reception poor, and even though I have power seats, on long road trips, i just can not get that perfect comfortable position. need more variables.

Overall

100 % Saabness, you will love it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Saab 9-3 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph