FastCarsWiki.com

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 15 2013

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Bought this 9-3 Arc convertible new and is a great looking and driving car.

Cons

Had a broken front spring in 2012 and even though GM got rid of the Saab brand, they reimbursed me for the entire cost of both front springs.

Overall

Wish Saab convertibles were still being made. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

January 25 2009

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

It’s not your typically cookie cutter BMW/BENZ/VW/AUDI the AERO still maintains that euro appearance without the ME TOO look and its def. a head turner. The way it’s designed makes me want to stare at it all day/night especially when cleaned & parked reversed in the drive way and the performance?! Ahhhhhhh man! Let’s just say they squeezed the juice out of a 4 cylinder then threw on a TURBO and said "F**K IT WHY NOT?!". In NO TIME I'm doing 90-100mph without noticing due to a quiet cabin. I’m super confident banking corners due to the firm suspension with seats that grab/hold you down (NOT to mention very comfortable), and gas mileage is unbelievable especially with this kind of power.

Cons

Engine does something weird when starting up, certain components in the cabin feels too fragile kind of like a hard plasticky (if that’s a word) feel; For example, hand brake, steering wheel adjuster, gear shifter, door handle, rear view mirror, and side mirror (adjuster buttons)... I guess SAAB is training me/us on how to be gentle. Ohhh almost forgot small little electric problems with side mirrors and little problems with the windows but should be covered if under warranty. MAKE SURE UNDER WARRANTY!!!!!!!!!!

Overall

Rare/Head turner... TURBOed... Fuel efficient... and teaches you to be gentle. Pricey maintenance and make sure under warranty just in case other stuff happens.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 24 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Fast car and love the turbo. makes people think it just a avarge car

Cons

The price it cost to get it worked on if something tears up.

Overall

Love it and would recomend it

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

July 14 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Very fun car to drive; good mileage for the power; exceptional handling; very nimble, smooth ride. I love this car a lot and I plan to take very good care of it and drive till it simply stops running and then I will but another Saab after that.

Cons

Cheap, plasticky interior; daytime running headlights.

Overall

When I test drove a Saab a few weeks ago, I just KNEW I had to get one of these cars. It is without a doubt, the most fun car I've ever owned. To put this into perspective, my previous cars were a '94 Acura Integra, '01 BMW 330I, '04 Audi a4 Cabrio and my current car is an '06 Infiniti M35. The Saab that I just bought a week ago is 4 years old with 44K miles on it and I can say without hesitation that I love this car more than I ever did my other cars which I purchased/leased brand new. The Saab is truly a driver's car...even more so than my BMW. So as long as you don't mind the interior of the car, the Saab will make you very happy. Press down on the gas, let the turbo kick in and you'll feel like you're taking off on a jet. Take the car down any road with some nice curves and you'll fall in love with the way the car feels.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 18 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Fun to drive but still feel very safe. Nice looking. Huge trunk.

Cons

CD player is awkward to load. Odd little quirky things have gone wrong on the car but considering the miles I have on it it has been very reliable.

Overall

Great value for a really good, reliable, fun to drive car.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 16 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Competent and stylish without being overblown. Perfect for those who enjoy the virtues of understatement.

Cons

Maintenance costs are non-trivial. Not bad, but keep a few dollars socked away just in case.

Overall

Bought mine as a lease-returned certified used car, and the warranty service is EXCELLENT. Would recommend for anyone who doesn't want to worry about high-cost repair bills (though as noted above, regular maintenance is not insignificant.)

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

October 16 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Solid sporty car. Great acceleration at low and high speeds, braking is very smooth and reliable. Interior very comfortable. Great on gas mileage for such performance. Multiple seating positions can be customized to just about any body size and height. Looks great, very attractive car even up against a BMW or Lexus. Very good leather quality.

Cons

Leather seat cushions a bit thin, especially on long drives. Green/black light/text displays a bit tacky looking, not real easy on the eye. Try blue/grey or amber/orange next time, please.

Overall

I promised myself I would write a review after buying this car because the other reviews here helped so much. I hope this one is helpful to others. For about $20k w/ 45k miles and a dealer-backed 100k warranty, I can say I'm very happy with this car so far (3 months of trouble free driving). It was choking out a bit during fast acceleration, but a switch from mid to high test fixed that. The car is a dream to drive. Very responsive and stable. It really lulls me into speeding, which I need to correct (maybe next car). It's a very attractive vehicle inside and out. Still, I'm not sure I will drive it past 100K without the warranty. I know Saabs are known for their costly repairs, even with all the GM part replacements (oil filter, brakes, etc.). Then again, I don't think I'd go past 100k without a warranty with any car these days. A

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

September 30 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

The number one thing I love about this car is the exterior styling. It's very sporty looking, surpassing BMW, Audi, Volvo, and even Lexus in my opinion. This car is fast with great handling extremely quick braking and a nice solid build. This car feels very safe, when you know you have ABS breaks, 8 airbags and quick acceleration to get out of tough spots. Some people have complained about the lack of visibility, but I personally do not have a complaint about this issue. Great gas millage is another plus for this car. I have gotten compliments from everyone I know about how much they love this car. Someday I hope to get a 2006-7 with the upgraded interior. This is a great car.

Cons

Some parts of the interior look cheap. There is no wood paneling, and a lot of plastic for the price you pay. I think they could have done a better job. Horsepower wise, its a on the low end but still comparable with some of other base models out there. I experience some turbo lag in the first 20 miles an hour, but then once the turbo is spooled up, the car really takes off. First gear is almost non existent and second is also barely there, however third and fourth are very noticeable. My biggest complaint really lies in the cars interior, even the leather could have been a little more plush. If you can buy a 2006 or newer then you get an upgraded interior but it will cost you.

Overall

I love this car, as it is stunningly beautiful when you walk up to it. I find myself questioning if it's actually mine sometimes. Throughout the first two months I owned this car I continued to be surprised and intrigued by all the little features Saab put in when they made this car. Almost everything in this car is automatic, making things a lot easier. I enjoy the key being near the E-brake, and the computer on top of the dash, which also adds the the sporty racing feel the car gives you. You really do feel like you are in an airplane. They way to go is to buy this car and then get the BSR PPC upgrade that plugs into your ECU under the steering wheel. Then you have about 30 more of both horsepower and torque, giving your car the same if not better acceleration/power then an Aero and for 900 dollars your saving a lot. I have followed many of the blogs on this and everyone seems very happy with this upgrade calling it the best purchase for their money.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

September 16 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Stylish looks without drawing too much attention. Interior comfort and user friendly gadgets surpass my Mercedes Benz C230K. Acceleration, braking, steering and handling is also superior. Turbo lag is minimal with "electric power" that just keeps coming. Everything is solid and well put together - no squeaks or rattles, and road noise is minimal on this model with regular tyres. Economical use of fuel on the highway and in traffic. There's plenty of room in the back for three 6ft passengers without compromising driver and front passenger comfort. Trunk space is more than adequate, with a large entry space allowing for carriage of bulky items and luggage. Good all round visibility.

Cons

Smaller engine capacity makes the car sound like a sewing machine on steroids. No passenger seat memory on this particular model and head restraints require manual adjustment. Large, comfortable, safe, active head restraint can inhibit rear view when reversing. Moonroof sunshade is not automatic or electrically operated. Lack of trunk spoiler and body kit on the standard models leaves the car looking slightly understated.

Overall

This car is amazing. I've been driving American built GM's for the last three years and they simply do not compare to the quality of this car. The cost of purchase and ownership is lower than an Audi, Benz or BMW and the car compares favorably to the A4, C-Class and 3-Series. The interior comfort and accessibility is very good. We bought this car as a 3 year old certified pre-owned and everything on the vehicle looks and feels like new. Saab dealers know their cars and know how to take care of their customers - ours provides free coffee and car washes/wax whenever we want, and the car came with a full tank of fuel without us having to ask. The turbocharged 210 HP engine moves the car effortlessly through traffic and gives it a very sporty feel. The suspension is firm but not hard and makes for a very responsive and comfortable ride. The slogan "Born from Jets" really fits this car - I just hope I never get ejected through the roof at mach II.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

July 8 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

The speed the top goes up and down. Very comfortable. Great handling. Turbo.

Cons

The aero is very low up front.

Overall

Great vehicle. Best convertible on the road.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 7 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Fun - for the first 10,000 miles.

Cons

Needs a permanent parking spot at the dealership. Electronics were extremely unreliable - insisted that doors were open (and therefore turned on interior lights) on a spontaneous basis, which was interesting at 70 mph and at night. Both the dealership and Saab were happy to sell, just as happy to ignore complaints about quality. I would not accept a free car from this dealership (Bangor, ME) and Saab has again proven its well-deserved reputation for producing junk. Should have known better. Sold at 22K rather than spend my life at the dealership.

Overall

Not a chance.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 19 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Styling, Acceleration, Handling

Cons

Some plastic interior components are chintzy. Too many electronic gadgets.

Overall

We bought this car used last year. It has been as good as any new car we have ever owned. Big improvement over our 1998 900 Turbo Although we miss the hatchback

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 6 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

It drives well on road trips; and has great acceleration when passing other vehicles. Wife says the passenger seat is comfortable.

Cons

Not the roomiest of cars when transporting large objects, such as furniture, but the trunk has a decent amount of room in it.

Overall

It's a great car. I've owned it for about 3 yrs now with no problems at all. It's priced lower than the Audi & BMW as well.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

January 22 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Most everything is perfect. Great handling. Perfect acceleration. Good seats. Great styling.

Cons

Basiclly just the inside peels a little, thats all. (not that bad anyways)

Overall

Great car for the money!

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 12 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Hands down the best driving sports sedan in its class. Very comfortable interior. I like the non-conformist things that make it unique, like the a/c vents and the ignition location. The trunk is also the largest in its class. I traded in my Acura TL-S Type on this car and enjoy the improved gas mileage and turbo at high speeds.

Cons

Poor sound system and radio reception.

Overall

I have put about 10k miles on this car over the past 4 months and love it more every day that goes by. It had an electronic malfunction with the a/c fan when I purchased it, but the problem was fixed the next day by the dealer under warranty coverage. I have had it about 6 months now and would not trade it for anything in its class. I highly recommend this car to anyone looking at sports sedans.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

June 11 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Turbo is fast, handling is superb, just search for Saab Performance Team for video proof. The most comfortable seats in any car for any price

Cons

Battery died,some interior parts wear too easily,

Overall

Great car, had it for two years and am getting another one. Fast, responsive, love the styling.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

May 31 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

I like everything about this vehicle. For the price you cannot go wrong. I looked at BMW, Mercedies, Lexus and other vehicles in it's class and none of them could come come close.

Cons

The suspension is a little bit to stiff on city streets but smooth out on the hiway.

Overall

Overall this is a great car.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

May 4 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

I've leased this car for almost two and a half years. The Linear model in 2004 had only a 175 horsepower engine. The car is very fast and when the turbo kicks in the accerleration is great. On a recent roadtrip I averaged 30+ MPG, doing 75 MPH most of the way. When the lease is up, I have my eye on a 93 Aero with the V6.

Cons

The sound system is weak. I would advise the better radio to anyone.

Overall

Styling, performance, good mileage, 100% paid maintanance all in one car.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 9 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

15,000 miles no problems at all, comfortable and added 6 in dash cd system. For the dollar HARD TO find a car with this ACCELERATION VS GAS MILEAGE...YES YOU CAN GET 30 PLUS MPG'S and GOOD handling. Complaints about sunroofs...well when will people learn this is an option that has the HIGHEST probability of a problem in all vehicles.Love ability to drive 5 speed maual.

Cons

The turbo kicks in a SPLIT seconnd slower then you would LIKE. Interior could use a fashioN upgrade but very comfotable with big trunk.

Overall

Good value for fun, work...and the best value in the near luxury class...the 2006 is now upgaraded standardS and availble with more horse power as well.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 7 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

The ride, the handling. Couldn't ask for more. Even the gas mileage is great. I get 36 mgp on the highway.

Cons

The stereo options could be better. For 2006 they now offer more options.

Overall

Love the car. It is the most excitement you can have in a car and still be legal.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

January 27 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Excellent performance, with very good fuel economy (I'm getting 32-33 on the highway)

Cons

Suspension can be a bit rough at times

Overall

Definitely recommend

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 17 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

The dealership has great customer service. Car is unique on the road.

Cons

But, it hasn't been worth all the problems. In just a year i have had to repeatedly take it in for service. First it was just the squeaky noise of the sunroof, now it's a failure in the locking mechanism.

Overall

Use your money to buy a Mercedes or Lexus.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 6 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

This vehicle has been a blast to drive. The acceleration is quietly powerful and aggressively torquey. The handling is perhaps the best quality of this car besides its styling. It's saved by life. I was driving on the highway early one morning while a tractor trailer driver fell asleep and slid into my lane. Just as he was about to side swipe me, I jerked the wheel instinctively. I've lost control like that before but never on a highway. No problem. The suspension and the computer driver assist worked seemlessy. Everything worked so well, so exact, so instinctively that I feel so safe driving it.

Cons

Reliability, quality of materials, and peace of mind. In the past 16 months, 24 seperate malfunctions have occured. How could I recommend this vehicle when I have had 13 seperate appointments to remedy such problems as: battery failure which left me stranded, power window switches, regulators in the windows and sunroof, this is the 3rd cd changer replacement, several peeling and bubbling trim peices on the dash, jammed ashtray, speaker replacements, static at all times on radio/cd, basically anything that has to do with electricity has failed, like the anti-lock brakes, ESP, and traction control, too many other control/switches, etc........

Overall

Horrible reliability and interior quality; other than that, a front wheel drive sport car enthusiast's dream.

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

November 15 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

I love how this car accelerates and stops. Braking is excellent and the turbo feels like a rocket, especially since mine is a 5-speed. The car is fun to drive and the seats are extremely comfortable. I was quite impressed with the safety record also.

Cons

My car's suspension has been quite problematic, all requiring several trips to the dealership. Saabs are apparently synonomous with suspension issues. I've also experienced issues with the radio and computer system. My dealership is quite inept, which requires multiple trips to fix a simple problem. Don't opt for the 17 inch wheels unless you like an extremely bumpy, sometimes jarring ride. After driving my mother's 325xi, there is literally no comparison between the two. The BMW feels more solid and drives much better and tighter.

Overall

Living in Southern California it seems as every other car on the road is a BMW 325, so I wanted to drive something more individual. You definitely pay the price in performance and handling to stand out from the crowd. This is my first and last SLAAB!

2004 Saab 9-3 review

Date

November 4 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

My second Saab and I love this car. Have had for one year and no issues. Great in the snow. Very comfortable interior- really like the bucket seats and like that the leather comes standard.

Cons

Could use another good cup holder- the one that comes out of the dashboard is a cool feature but I feel like it cant hold much

Overall

Love this car, would recommend

Saab 9-3 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph