FastCarsWiki.com

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 26 2013

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Appearance, and handling are very acceptable

Cons

Computer module faulty,reliabilty questionable, repair costly and time consuming. Parts are not readily available worldwide. After driving the car for 5 months, it spent 5 weeks in the repair shop, waiting for reconditioned computer.

Overall

Great little car if computer / electrical system performs.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

October 9 2012

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

35 mph highway, looks very good. engine is good and reliable

Cons

low quality interior and chassis, manual transmission very fragile. I've had an axle shatter on me leaving me stranded. suspension components fragile. these cars loose their value very fast. these cars will not last long.

Overall

beautiful car, with a good engine. but the car is poorly made and is problematic.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

October 30 2009

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

I purchased my 2003 Saab 9-3 Linear in 2/08 with 34,940 miles on it. It was certified pre owned and came with an extensive warranty! The styling was a plus. I was so excited about Onstar (My previous car (2007 Jetta was totaled, and no police were notified) The car also had the drivers package and upgraded 17" factory rims. Its a great car and handles extremely well. One of the most comfortable FWD cars I've driven. Braking is consistent and Safety was my greatest concern in purchasing this car. The Saab CPO warranty is a good one! and even includes Loaner cars nationwide for drivers 21+ BIG plus! Saab's warranty came to good use and more than paid for itself, AND THE CAR!!!!!

Cons

I bought it for $17,500 and decided to trade it because of the high-grade fuel it recommends. I went to trade it 2 months later... Hoping for a good trade it value... HAHAHA I couldn't get $10,000 for a trade because Saabs lose their value so quickly! Cons for me include the quality of materials used. Saab spent over $20k fixing my cars issues... Of coarse I was super meticulous when it came to getting my money's worth from the overpriced warranty!... My Saab now has 83,000... The only thing I've had to pay for so far is Gas, Insurance, and Excessive amounts of windshield washer fluid! Too bad the plastics and door handles turn white so quickly! :-(

Overall

Overall a great car... Would never buy a Saab without a FACTORY or CPO warranty! Actually... Any car! But if you don't mind minor electrical problems, peeling finishes, and a pretty well riding car, This is a great one! I hate to love it, but I do! Can't wait for my next car though!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

July 3 2009

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Great car w/ minimal problems, that looks different. excellent performance for a 24.5 mpg (average) car with even better braking and cornering. Have had no mechanical problems in the 48K miles of ownership. The turbo makes driving fun, and finally the car has so many extras that come standard it would be impossible to list them all. Let’s not forget all the great safety features.

Cons

There are some minor cosmetic issues w/ the car, like fading door handles, chipping logos that eventually fall off, frequent replacement of halogen lights, and some of the interior has rubber coated trim that comes off w/ time.

Overall

Overall a good quality car with great safety and fun performance features that make this a bargain.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 27 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

I bought this car because I really liked the styling. The split folding rear seat has come in handy many times.

Cons

I'm constantly taking it in for expensive repairs!

Overall

I purchased this car used in 2005 and now have 79,000 miles on it. This car is nothing but trouble- poorly built car, costly repairs, unhelpful dealers. Get the extended warranty- you'll need it. After spending $5,000 in repairs over the past 5 months, I now need a new transmission and my radiator is leaking. The dealer wouldn't even buy it from me because they said they have too many others like mine. That tells you something. I definately would not recommend this car to anyone, even my worst enemy!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

January 21 2008

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

fun car and great and unique design. great for the money, esp a cert pre-owned

Cons

elect system is a mess. battery has been replaced 4 times in 18 months.

Overall

good looking but not reliable.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

August 2 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Its one of the best rides I ever experienced, it handles very nicely and its fast, and looks great.

Cons

It has lots of issues with its electrical system, and if something goes wrong with the car, then you have to wait for weeks for the spare parts.

Overall

Rent this car but don’t buy it! Its one of the best rides I ever experienced, it handles very nicely and its fast, and looks great. I was very excited at the beginning but after two years of owning this car, troubles started. It has lots of issues with its electrical system, and if something goes wrong with the car, then you have to wait for weeks for the spare parts. First I thought its my local dealer, but then they showed me the emails they have sent the manufacturer and how they are telling them they have to wait because they have to make the part?!! So to pay all that money for this car and end up without a car for weeks isn’t going to make you happy . I emailed to manufacturer and the customer service regarding this issue and they didn’t even bother to respond!!? So every time something goes wrong, I feel so mad because I know I’m up with at least two weeks of not having a car, its really driving me crazy!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

June 13 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Very smooth sporty ride with good styling and comforable seats. Great looking cars that are solid and unlike any other.

Cons

2003 model year was full of mechanical mistakes. Ex: Electronics, Computer System, Engine, Transmission. Go for a 2004 or newer.

Overall

I work for a Saab dealership and would strongly reccommend against buying a 2003 93. These cars are money pits with some even coming in at 40k with blown transmissions and engines that burn oil. They solved all problems however, after the first model year and the 2004's are much better cars. All of the 2003's that come in as trade in's are shipped right off to auction because we know how much of a headache they are. I would reccommend looking for any year 93 except for 2003!!! You'll be doing yourself a huge favor.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

May 29 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

I have been in Saabs since I got my license at 16 and I have also been in my fair share of accidents and everytime my saab is what saved my life. I fell asleep behind the wheel in my 1997 Saab 900 and the police said if I was in any other car I wouldn't have made it, I walked away with a broken jaw. In 2005 I was hit T-boned by a drunk driver in my other saab 1997 Saab 9000 and my bestfriend survived after the passenger side door got hit head on at 60 mph again any other car we wouldnt have made it. I literally owe saab's my life. Now I have the 2003 Saab 9-3 and im in a protective bubble and love it.

Cons

Nothing really

Overall

Would recommend the car to anyone. Great Safe and Realiable car. Saabs defienently go the extra miles more than any other car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

May 14 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

IT LOOKS GOOD, THAT'S ALL

Cons

MANY, MANY RECALLS & WARRANTY ISSUES. STRANDED ON THE ROAD WITH A FUEL PUMP PROBLEM, ONSTAR WAS IN A DEAD ZONE! TO DATE, FUEL PUMP, TRANSMISSION, 3 WINDOW REGULARS REPLACED! HAD TO HAVE COMPLETE BRAKE JOB DONE AT AROUND 35K MILES UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS - OUT OF POCKET COST WAS $1,250! THE DRIVER'S SEAT CABLE CONTINUOUSLY COMES DETACHED FROM THE SEAT ADJUSTMENT, PERELLI TIRES WEAR OUT AT ABOUT 25K MILES AND ARE NOT RECOMMENDED FOR ANY TYPE OF WINTER DRIVING. I THOUGHT I WAS PURCHASING A QUALITY VEHICLE INSTEAD I GOT AN OVER PRICED MONEY PIT. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS CAR.

Overall

NO RELIABILITY, POOR QUALITY, NOT A GOOD PURCHASE!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

April 18 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Price

Cons

You get what you pay for! The car has been an absolute nightmare for the four months I have owned it. Now, I know why the car has no resale value! DO NOT BUY A SAAB! People hear my car before they see it. The rattles and squeaks are so loud even with the radio volume all the up doesn't drown out the noise, that is, when the radio works. Have taken the car to SAAB 3 times for these problems only to be informed that nothing is wrong with the car. SAAB's product, dealership, and customer service has proven to be the most unreliable, unfriendly, and misleading con-artist's.

Overall

The best place for this car is a junk yard, not your garage!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 4 2007

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Excellent design interior and exterior. Beautiful european styled interior dash with good control layout. Good performance for a 4-cyl turbo with little turbo lag at higher speeds (6-speed manual is very fun to drive). Great braking (ABS) and handling (could be a little tighter in turns). Excellent A++ safety (it saved my wife and I from a head-on... we walked away and the car was totalled). Absolutely huge trunk and overall storage capacity! Cool dash cupholder... you gotta see it.

Cons

The build quality is very poor. My Saab was in the shop over 16 times in a three year period all for manufacturers defects. The things that were replaced: traction control sensor, automatic window motor (3 times), sunroof switch (2 times), all exterior plastic (door handles, wiper jets, etc.) due to oxidation, window/sunroof pinch control reprogrammed (6 times), radiator overflow resevoir (2 times). The plastic on the dash and door handles is peeling off after only 3 years. Also (and this is common to many cars in this class), it is very expensive to have repaired or worked on. Saab has designed it so that only Saab OEM parts can be used on the car, even for wear items like brake ro

Overall

The Saab 9-3 ARC is a very attactive car (inside and out) and is fun to drive. That being said, after my experience with all the manufacturer defects and horrible resale value, I will never own a Saab again nor will anyone else if I can help it! If you are thinking of purchasing this car... please talk with someone who has actually owned one before you buy.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

October 28 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Awesome power for the price, nice tight handling, smart interior design features. you can tell someone with an IQ designed this vehicle. Also love the fact that everyone doesn't have one, yet the continue to ask me "what kind of car is that?" Seats also feel great.

Cons

The fact that i can't drive it as much as i would like to due to constant electrical malfunctions. hard to find prompt service due to lack of dealer support.

Overall

Awesome experience. you should buy this car, just don't buy mine!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 27 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Upscale styling; user friendly convertible top; thick leather seats

Cons

Car rides like a "Conastoga Covered Wagon"; conspicuously bumpy and noisy ride; (car only has 17,000 miles). No center arm rest a true design engineering failure. Disappointing gas mileage (22 on a trip). Audio on radio very poor.

Overall

Good looking car lacking in advertised performance and comfort.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 13 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Love the six speed transmission, the feel of a true luxury sports sedan, very stylish...

Cons

Cup holders, slow first gear, wish the front seats hugged the body a little tighter.

Overall

Overall, love the car. I can't see anyone going wrong with it...

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

March 1 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Comfortable and safe feeling when driving. Last car was a 5 series BMW and this car has all the creature comforts at a fraction of the price. Handles well and passes other cars with little effort. I drive over 100 miles a day and this car gets all my raves for everything that counts... comfort, speed (I cruise at 80), handles great, responsive, and the price is right. I feel SAAB is trying a little harder.

Cons

If I have any dislikes it would be that the car is missing one or two power options that did not come with this model. Otherwise, no complaints.

Overall

Great car... good resale value...

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

February 3 2006

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

The engine works real well. The turbo helps when merging into highway traffic

Cons

The front seats are not comfortable for long road trips.

Overall

The car is good for the money.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

December 17 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

i love the fact that i did not spend the $35,000 it looks like this car cost

Cons

i hate the black plastic bumper guards. if you get any wax on them, it's very hard to remove

Overall

love my car!!!! i sell gm products for a living and i love this car

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

November 25 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Handles beautifully. Lots of power, excellent brakes. Safest car in the market. Tight steering, lovely cornering - grips road. Lots of room for a small car - huge trunk too. No maintenance problems so far. Excellent in snow if you change from the Pirelli issue originals. We get 34-36 mpg overall driving. Nice styling. Compterized emergency braking and steering system is astounding. Shifting is smooth. Incredible Turbo - this four banger outperforms comparable BMWs, Audis, VW's, Mercedes and more - even some of the 6 cylinder models. I drove from Vancouver to Calgary through the Rockies and the car breezed effortlessly the whole way. The nicest single drive I've ever had.

Cons

Small squeak at front of sun roof - fixed by pressing lightly on it. Factory Pirelli's lasted about 30,000 km, and I'm not a hot rodder. Suspension is a little stiff but you really 'understand' the road you're driving on. Two minor recalls have been attended to quickly. There are not many qualified SAAB mechanics around so it's a long drive to the recall center. Maintenance can be done locally by GM. I was given an automatic model 9-3 when mine was in for a recall (arrived with the onstar equipment)and I found it comfortable - better for a slow commute drive - but that the acceleration was noticeably less.

Overall

I have loved driving this car for the last two years. It is a car that commands your attention - a 'zen' driving experience. Service has been great. The back seat is comfortable for adults. I had never driven a SAAB before and I was leery due to it's early GM period reports nonetheless, my test drive almost sold the car by itself. When I followed up with good consumer research I found that it is the safest car in its class anywhere. I like that it has become more mainstream in style as it is very elegantly styled (which increases resale potential) without having to announce "Hey! Look at me ~ I'm drivng an import!" If all SAABs are like mine, I'd say they are the best kept automotive secret going.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2003 Saab 9-3 review

Date

May 25 2005

Model

Saab 9-3

Pros

Good gas mileage Lined top Not too common Comfortable seats

Cons

Somewhat harsh ride small footwell torque steer Radio reception comes and goes,possible connection problem Cheap looking plastic on console

Overall

Bought the car used one yr old. It was worth the price depreciated,but would never pay list price. Not a MB or BMW, but better than Sebring or Solara. This is my first turbo and it has it's best pick up once rolling and is not peaky at all. I think it was a nice compromise, small and somewhat nibble and not overly expense 'used'. Paid under $30k w/ 6yr/100k ext. warranty zero ded. in Feb. '04 w/ 8300 miles. I would just sum it up w/ it's good for what I paid.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Saab 9-3 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph