FastCarsWiki.com

2010 Porsche Cayman review

Date

January 10 2011

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Good handeling and fuel economy

Cons

Not enough HP for the price

Overall

This is definitely a fun car to drive around town, but not a track car by any means. Considering the price it would've been nice had porsche thrown in a bit more HP so it was able to compete with many of thelower end sports cars, but it's more than enough for my needs. If you are looking for fun car to drive, is unique enough to not be parked on every corner, and wont break the bank then this is the car for you.

2010 Porsche Cayman review

Date

January 2 2011

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

looks like a vw bug

Cons

drives like one

Overall

no power. should have bought a Lotus or two hinda civic si's after two months of driving my car i cant wait to get rid of this pos. hanlds ok but no power out of the turn. needs a turbo.

2010 Porsche Cayman review

Date

December 12 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Looks Great. Handles like nothing else. Versatility (daily driver/performance). Fun to drive.

Cons

Forget about extras such radio, navigation, ipod - if these are priorities - better off with other.

Overall

I have owned VW, Honda and Audi. I love the sportyness and luxury/tech combination of Audi. So I agonized over the Cayman purchase for weeks (visiting and revisiting dealer. I thought Porsche? no satelite radio, ipod, navigation there were - but much more mula). I drove the Cayman and Boxter S (no Cayman S left at local dealer). One of my fears was that I would buy the Base and then long for the S power (which adds about $10k to the price). Well I bought the base, with minimal options other than Carrerra tires which the car already had)and Bluetooth (I use the phone alot in the car )-- and with a manual 6 speed BT was a requirement or so I thought because I don't even want to answer the phone now. Have owned for only 3 months and have it as my second car (my other car is an A3 3.2 -- loaded). Well the Cayman, just keeps getting better and better the more I drive it. I figured out, you don't need navigation, satellite radio or really much else on a Porsche (that is what other cars are made for). I love how it drives, it surprises me quite often, how awesome it handles at low speeds and while "driving aggresively" around twisting country roads or city back roads. Accelaration is more than enough. I tried the Boxter S --just to see and yes, the S will give you much more power. I rationalized that Base Power - I liked, S Power I would rarely, use and thus I could live with the Base. I have no regrets - I love the drive. Contrary, to other reviewers I actually like the interior noise. Although not sure I would take the car on a highway trip more than a couple of hours (I would prefer my A3 with Navigation, better radio and satelite radio). For weekend rides -- it is pure fun. My work schedule is flexible, so as long as I am not stuck in one hour stop and go (which I rarely am) it is worth me wanting to drive it everyday (and giving up my other car all together (but I won't just yet). The car looks great, I get nothing but compliments from freinds, family and complete strangers. Its a perfect balance -- and for my "first" Porsche -- it has exceeded my expectations. The customer care and contact from Porsche makes you feel like a million dollars. Now I think I have experienced true "sports driving" - there is no substitute.

2010 Porsche Cayman review

Date

October 26 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Excellent handling. Fun to drive & good balance. And amazingly reliable

Cons

drone noise. blind spot

Overall

We bought our Cayman with hesitation since we have just purchased a Carrera S Cab. Why get another one when we already have "a better one"? We ended up purchasing the Cayman anyway! And I can tell you we have no regret! We are actually very happy to have the Cayman. However, the Carrera and Cayman behave and drives very different. And now we understand why Porsche makes those cars - most people might think they are all similar, but they are definitely not similar at all. What we don't like about the car -- Since the mid engine is technically inside the car behind the seat, you constantly hear this drone noise in the cabin. To get rid of this noise, you need to turn on the radio or open the window. However, Ferrari F430 has the same issue, but if you love driving the car, then you live with it and take it as that's the way its suppose to be. 911 is rear engine so it does not have this engine drone issue. The engine is in the rear outside the passenger cabin. Here are what we like about Cayman ---- - Drive with less pressure and more enjoyment - Feels like driving a race car - almost as you are on race track everyday. - Lower operating cost and maintenance cost than Carrera S. - Reasonable operating and maintenance cost compare to other Japanese or American cars. - Limited space, but surprisingly comfortable. We had the Carrera S for 2 years now and the Cayman for 1 year. Although we have 2 other cars that we use, but I still ask my wife almost everyday - what are you driving tomorrow? Can I use the Cayman? My wife enjoy this car so much that she is using this as her daily driver. Our other cars - she still need it when picking up kids.

2010 Porsche Cayman review

Date

October 22 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Runs like a rocket

Cons

Peripheral vision impaired by passenger side roof support

Overall

This car turns heads every time I take her out. The sleek fastback and metallic silver paint just makes it unique compared to anything else on the road today. I previously owned a 2000 triple black Boxster and this car far outshines it, esp. WRT quality fit and finish, paint quality, and performance. The Boxster always felt a bit cheap to me because its fit and finish was not high quality. You can feel the Cayman's kick even in 6th gear. Great performance and sound in every gear. The on-board computer is a bit limited, but stills gives MPG and miles to empty. I find myself seeing how I can maximize MPG by going to neutral and coasting for miles downhill (I live in CO where there are lots of big hills). The car is so aerodynamic that it just coasts along without losing speed. Everything fits neatly together and looks handsome in its place. Only thing it doesn't have is an ipod jack on the Bose surround sound. Over the shoulder viewing is a bit limited due to the positioning of the passenger side roof support, but big clear racing style mirrors provide a good alternative cross-check prior to changing lanes. If I had to do it all over again, I'd get the same car.

2010 Porsche Cayman review

Date

August 16 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Quality, Refinement

Cons

Noisy

Overall

I am 40 years old and my Cayman S is the first new car I have ever purchased. I also bought it loaded with options such as: navigation, bluetooth, PASM, Xenon headlights, full leather interior, upgraded stereo, etc. Basically your typical male mid-life crisis car. I presently have 10k miles on the car. The quality and feel of the car are exceptional. Everything works great and is well integrated. Handling is terrific even though I am not a particularly fast or aggressive driver. The steering is heavy and fairly good, although not quite as crisp as I expected given all the superlative reviews about steering feel. The regular seats are very comfortable. Front leg room is adequate for me at 6'1" but taller guys may have issues. I am pleasantly surprised by the ride quality. I have 18" wheels and PASM. The ride is quite comfortable and never harsh or jarring. Buyers coming from luxury cars should have no problems with the ride quality. Aesthetically, I agree with a previous reviewer that the car looks very nice from all angles EXCEPT directly from the side, where is looks sort of short and stubby. Fuel economy is surprisingly good for a 320HP sports car. I average 22 MPG around town. My only real complaint is with the level of interior noise. As reported by Car & Driver magazine, and as I have myself confirmed with a Radio Shack sound level meter, at highway speeds the sound level in the cabin is around 80 dbA and 90+ dbC. This is about 10-12 db higher than most cars. For reference, OSHA requires hearing protection at 85 dbA. After a few hours on the highway, my ears are ringing from all the noise. Interestingly, and disappointingly, the noise is mostly tire/road noise as opposed to engine/exhaust noise. Most sports car buyers will not find this to be a problem or unusual. However, buyers from luxury car backgrounds may find it annoying (as I do). A note about the AC. I live in central Texas. The AC is merely adequate and no better. Those who like cold cabins and live in a hot climate may be disappointed. I found this surprising given the very small cabin volume.

2010 Porsche Cayman review

Date

June 29 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Exceptional integration of steering, brakes, and power plant- BEST HANDLING

Cons

high cost of 'add-on' options that should be incl. (floor mats), in base price or priced less

Overall

Overall, and price dependent, this is the best Porsche that i've owned. Past cars incl.: 968, (2) Boxster S, (2) 996, (1) 996 GT3, (2) Cayenne Turbos, and (2) 997 S'. Handling: exceeds the Boxster S given it's rigidity, Engine: 320 HP is plenty powerful for the Washington DC traffic snarl. The power band is broad and the sound is invigorating w/ a stock exhaust. I've felt it necessary to add Tubi exhausts and Eibach springs and PSS9 coil overs. Stock was not 'involving' enough on the 2006 997 S. The 2010 Cayman S is fine 'as is' - both suspension and exhaust. Comfort: stock seats are terrific!! previous 997 S had sport adaptive seats which were outstanding, however not for an extra $4k. Significant improvement w/ electronics- blue tooth, TMS, etc. Ride around town and highway is terrific! One would think that you'd need to sacrifice handling for comfort- not the case w/ the 2010 Cayman S. Performance- outstanding integration of all 'key' components! Best handling car that I've owned. Better than my 2005 Lotus Elise. Offers more power out of the turns, as well as power steering. Reliability- JD Powers has ranked Porsche #1, (3) of the past (4) years. I've never had any major issues, and only 1-2 minor issues over my (15) years of (11) Porsche's ownership. It is all true what you read about Porsche's exceptional engineering. I highly recommend the Cayman S!!

2010 Porsche Cayman review

Date

May 30 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Solid Build Quality, Gas Mileage

Cons

Compact but Comfortable Interior

Overall

I love the handling of this car on twisty roads. It is very easy to go fast. Gobs of grip from the 19" Carrera S II wheels and a smooth linear naturally aspirated engine. The 2.9L engine provides plenty of power for public roads while returning great gas mileage (25-27 mpg) and 0-60mph times in the high 5.5-6.0 second range. If you need more speed, the go for the 3.4L. This is a sports luxury car, so it is not aggressive like the Evo X. However, the car just rides so smooth and the suspension and dampers feel like they are perfectly set up. The ride can be a little harsh when going slow (15-20mph) over bumpy roads, but gets smooth once going faster. Surprisingly, the car can handle speed bumps better than my BMW 328i. The 6-speed manual is smooth and has relatively short shifts. Plenty of storage space can be found between the two trunks. However, there really is not much small pocket space for things like change, phones, CDs - it's not really a daily driver but could be. It is a good second car, but the performance makes me want to drive this on the weekdays and the other car for slugging passengers and cargo around. Interior quality is high with lots of carpeting and leather. Standard seats are supportive. This car has many of the basis parts that the 911 has at half the price. It comes down to preference, performance (more power in 911, better handling in Cayman), and price. Exterior styling is beautiful from some angles but a bit odd from the side. I have mixed feelings on the look of the bubble roof. I do wish these cars still had spare tires instead of the tire repair kit. However, many of these Porsches and BMW M cars don't come with spares. Odd that an RX-8 and 370z have them.

Porsche Cayman 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph