FastCarsWiki.com

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

April 25 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Smooth Engine, Smooth 6-Speed, Exotic Looks

Cons

Cramped Cabin, No Spare Tire, Harsh Ride

Overall

Even with the deals on remaining '09 Caymans (8-10k off MSRP '09), the price can still be hard to swallow when you consider some strong alternatives - Evo X, Z4, STi Special Edition, 370z, 335i. The car rides relatively hard on So Cal roads given the suspension and 19" wheels. Not as harsh as the Evo X, but not quite as comfortable and sporty as the BMW 3-Series. The cabin is cramped, regardless of how small or big you are. This is a fun second car, but can get tiring really quick as a daily commuter. The powerplant is sufficient for public roads, but I can see how you might want the 3.4L if you track the car. The 2.9L has plenty of power and a nice torque curve, like most German engines, so that shifting is minimized and passing power is always readily available. The interior materials are high quality, so it looks and feels like a luxury car. Steering is precise and the Bi-Xenon Lights are the best. The 19" wheels are a bit rough and word has it that the 18" are a better ride. The car has some decent, but awkward, storage space. This is a civilized car compared to the Evo X (always aggressive), but maybe not as fun on a track or the twisty roads, whereas I'd take the Cayman for more typical So Cal mixed driving (traffic, open highways, etc.). I liked buying a new '09 Cayman for used 911 money (06' Carrera and Carrera S Certified selling for 45-50k, currently). Is it worth 15k over the Evo? Not so sure, but it's a close call in terms of driving pleasure, not aesthetics.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

March 25 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Just got my Porsche Cayman S and I am in Love with it. By far the best and most fun car I've ever owned. Power and handling are the perfect

Cons

The radio could be better but overall it's okay.

Overall

Best sports car for the money

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

February 11 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Comfortable, very good fuel economy and fun!

Cons

A little noisy if the roads are not so smooth

Overall

Had my Cayman for almost 2 months now and am very happy so far. Took it to Las Vegas and was very comfortable the entire 7 hours down and 7 hours back. Even driving at well over 80 mph whenever possible (those little 25mph towns ruin some of the fun) mileage was almost 27 mpg! Looks great and through corners it just does not get any better. The DPK gear box is very smooth and if not accerating hard you are in 7th gear without even noticing it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

February 2 2010

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Total chick magnet with looks, quality, and handling at the highest levels

Cons

A little pricey, seats can get uncomfortable on long ride, Porsche stiff ride

Overall

I love the look and feel of this Porsche (2008 Base model). A little reminisent of my old 944. Loved it also. Dealer wants $550 for 1st oil change. Found an independent mechanic who did it for half that. Tires seem to loose air a little faster than normal. My Guards Red with Saddle Tan interior make for a truely striking combination. Cost for repair is through the roof, so I'll just pray after the warrenty runs out. Not a single problem so far in my 15K miles. Stickered at $51K but I got this stripper model for $43K. Has S wheels and home link, but that's it. Not even leather inside. I did get clear bra to protect the front end and side mirrors. $900 extra but well worth it. The job turned out better than expected. You can hardly tell it's on unless you look closely for the line. Great storage space for a car this size. Tires at 15K miles only 30% worn but I do drive easy. Love the 5 sp. manuel, but could sure use the automatic in LA traffic. This car does what it supposed to very well. If you can live with the basic limitations of a sports car, then you won't be disappointed with this machine.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

October 11 2009

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Handling, Braking, Flexible Power and Thrilling to Drive

Cons

Pricy when purchased new, needs LSD/TBD and $200 Oil Changes

Overall

As the title states, you will be hard-pressed to find a better all around sports car than the Porsche Cayman S. If you are an enthusiast, you'll be instantly satisfied with the driver feel this car communicates. Proper engine noises coming from over your right shoulder, accompanied by thrilling acceleration that is backed by anchor-dropping brakes, and sublime handling. What does this means exactly? Instead of feeling insulated from the experience, you feel integrated. Instead of wanting more power, you feel sorry for those that do. This car just has so much more to offer than many lesser dimensional counterparts. Around town, you'll never know you are driving such a serious sports car -the car can feel down right docile (easy to maneuver with great visibility). However, turn the corner open the throttle wide and you?ll actually hear the car go from saint to sinner. Besides great visibility from the cockpit, there is also plenty of cargo space (for a sports car) and the gas mileage is not bad either! I can easily log MPG?s in the high 20?s on trips and low 20?s with a mix of city and highway. Worth noting, the 2009 and newer models have the newer DFI technology that can peak in the 30?s on the highway. As noted in the cons category, the car definitely is hampered by the open differential in the tight stuff. At Deals Gap in NC (Dragon's Tail of US RT 129), the Cayman S would sometime cut power when you were you applying throttle in the tight turns (especially when damp/wet). However, after installing a torque biasing differential (Quaife), the Cayman S drives as it should - sure-footed with a planted feel that pours the power to the asphalt, properly. Finally, the car is gorgeous! I know, that can be a subjective measure, but I assure you after months, even years of driving this car, you?ll never get tired of looking at ?her.? I?ve owned mine now for three years and the thrill for it has not worn off one bit. I used to trade-up sports cars every 1-3 years. With the Cayman S, I don?t feel that way at all. In fact, I believe that one would need to jump well into the six figure range to get something more (or as) thrilling to drive with the same visual appeal.This one is a keeper.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

October 10 2009

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Mid-engine, great handling, excellent engine note - especially at full throttle, and a good amount o

Cons

Engineered to be less powerful than a 911.

Overall

I drive a 2006 Cayman S that I purchased with 26,000 miles on it. Thus far, one year later, it drives absolutely free of any problems, wakes up and has fun when I am in the mood, but calms down and acts civilized when my girlfriend is not. Overall, I would say that this is a better car than a 911, albeit with less power because of marketing concerns from Porsche. Cayman S is the evolution of the 911, in my opinion.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

August 20 2009

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Precision Handling

Cons

No rear seat

Overall

This car handles MUCH better than Carrera, and is comparable to a Carrera S in terms of handling. I have a friend with a 996 Turbo, a 997 Carrera and another with a 993 and I would drive a base Cayman over any of these cars for handling and responsiveness. The GT3 and the Turbo have better suspension braking, but if you put similar power and suspension into a Cayman, it's only competition would be Ferrari. The Carrera GT is mid-engine. Porsche knows how to design better cars than 911. The problem is marketing, they do not want to cannibalize 911 sales, in my opinion. It is time for Cayman to replace 911.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

June 18 2009

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Handling and appearance are hard to beat! Fuel consumption is roughly 28MPG highway...but at 75 MPH

Cons

Not overly comfortable on drive that is 4 hours or longer.

Overall

I have had the pleasure of owning a Cayman for 2 1/2 years. It has been totally trouble free. I also run in Driver's Education events at Pocono Speedway, Watkins Glen and Mid-Ohio. On the track, there isn't a car that is better balanced than the Cayman. I may get passed by the twin turbos on the long straights and the banked turns, but the Cayman handles the curves like a Formula 1 car and blows them all away. I'll be buying a new one in 6 months.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

June 18 2009

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Looks great, fantastic handling, great engine sound, fast, quality feel

Cons

a little expensive.... but it's a Porsche

Overall

I decided to go for the upgraded 09 model instead of a used because I wanted the extra power. It feels pretty fast so I am not disappointed. Handling is top notch, controls are intuitive, engine note is perfect, looks are great. It's all there. What has really impressed me is the quality everywhere. Shifting, controls, ect all have a great feel. Also, this car has LOTS of storage for a 2 seat car. The front trunk is extremely useful and the hatch back can haul my golf bag. Try a test ride and decide for yourself. It's a lot of fun.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Porsche Cayman review

Date

June 15 2009

Model

Porsche Cayman

Pros

Handling, performance, "bang foir the buck'!

Cons

Cannot find amy yet.

Overall

I purchased a 2009 Cayman S and find it best handling car ever. Plenty of power, superb handling amd overall perfprmance. I've owned 4 Porsches since 1970 and this is most performance for for the money.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Porsche Cayman 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph