FastCarsWiki.com

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

September 20 2012

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Having replaced my '85 911 Cabriolet (not enough room to keep both) with an 4s Cab, the refinement of the driving experience, the attention to detail and above all things---the handling/driving experience is second to none. An open air driving experience with the convenience of an automatic top is heavenly. Even with 31, 000 miles on the odometer, the car is tight as a drum.

Cons

There is a chance of an Intermediate Shaft Bearing failure that can be catastrophic, causing complete engine failure and replacement. Be very vigilant on your Prepurchase inspection procedure. Upgrade to a LN Engineering bearing a future must if you want to keep the car.

Overall

Quick, Responsive, Refined....cannot go wrong with owning this car.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

September 7 2007

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

The best there is

Cons

Cant drive with the top down in the rain

Overall

there is no substitute

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

October 3 2006

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

gfc

Cons

fxv

Overall

vxf

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

August 20 2006

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

This thing is a show stopper. I just love seeing it in my garage

Cons

I love this car

Overall

Great car fun to drive and worth the money!

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

July 31 2006

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

style

Cons

Repair costs

Overall

ovarll review is 7

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

June 17 2006

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

The acceleration, handling, cornering, styling, tires, all excellent! Nothing but "woos" and "aahs." Makes my heart beat faster when in the car. Every drive is just exhilarating. Incredible.

Cons

Factory CD player - does not play mp3 and it is very costly to upgrade.

Overall

Bought a very low mileage '04 C4S over '06 C4S because I much like the styling better. Wanted a 911 since high school and the machine has exceeded my expectation on all fronts. I have a BMW and a Cayanne but never got thumbs up from other drivers until I drove my C4S. Making desperate attempt to avoid the first "dink" on the car.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

November 13 2005

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

The handling is extraordinary and makes the average driver exceptional beyond their normal ability. Fit and finish is what you would expect. Car feels like it is on rails, even in the wet. Actually prefer the functional interior over the new 997 interior with all the shiny buttons.....this 911- type 996 interior originally was panned by the critics until Porsche went the GT route with the 997 type....primarily for being the same as Boxster......interesting turn of events....

Cons

Should come standard with navigation system/phone system for $ 90 grand plus car. Porsche options "tack on the price" strategy is archaic versus competition in similar class.

Overall

The 996 version with its distinct styling, modelled after the turbo, separated itself from other 911's. Better lines than the turbo, and more refined look, including unique rear deflector. The new 2006 version does not separate itself from other Carreras, so 996 4S may be more desirable in the future, as one that stands out visually speaking.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

July 19 2005

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

great looks, handling, responsiveness

Cons

none

Overall

better than 997 in looks and equipment, even without new suspension, larger engine

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

March 10 2005

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Incredibile ride and responsiveness. Never disappoints.

Cons

None.

Overall

HAving driven a number of high end sports cars and exotics, I always come back to the 911. It's the best overall drive available, no exceptions.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

February 25 2005

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Incredible acceleration, especially considering it's a normally asperated 6. The style isn't monkeyed with every year so its integrity is preserved. The steering is so precise it's as if it's predicting my moves. Excellent braking also.

Cons

The shifter is a little difficult to navigate on the downshift into first. Reverse is a bit too close to first gear. The seat could use a bit more lumbar support.

Overall

Overall, there is nothing that would prevent me from buying this car again or recommending it to a friend. It's true; there is no substitute.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

January 29 2005

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Exhilarating performance

Cons

Needs more leg room for 6 footers. Priced a little too high

Overall

Excellent

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

November 23 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Power and versatility.

Cons

Nothing :-)... It's amazing

Overall

Simply put: the BEST car...ever.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

November 20 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

I love the fact that I feel safe going fast, or slow in any weather. I also love how well it handels turns.

Cons

The only complaint I have about this car is that the controles for the cruis contole, light control and winsheild wipers feel flimsy. Other then that nothing is wrong with this car if its driven for the right reason.

Overall

I love this car. Anyone who wants a car that can do what you thought you could only dream about doing on the road should strongly consider this car or any of its borthers. (Gets a GT3 if you have the cash haha)

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

September 20 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

World class handling. Magnificent engine,brakes,and chassis. Stereo big upgrade from standard Carrera.

Cons

suspension is much more stiff than standard carrera...where to park it? Front spoiler constantly scrapes....

Overall

Great car...I know it costs a lot of money..but absolutely worth it. I didn't realize how much better it handles than a standard C2(and that's saying something), but it's also defintely more stiff over some surfaces. The short shifter is just awesome and the overall refinement is unreal...

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

September 10 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Wonderful acceleration along with precise 6 speed manual makes for an enjoyable ride. Navagation trip comuter is easier to use than I thought.

Cons

The car is so low to the ground that the front spioler tends to scrape on entering a driveway. The spioler is mat black and the marks are not noticable. The buutons on the radio are too small.

Overall

This is my weekend driver, and I would buy it again in a minute.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

September 6 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

I really doubt half of these guys writing the reviews actually own a porsche or even been in one.

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

very nice car

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

August 13 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Timeless design and style. Supercar looks and performance, but not

Cons

At 415 hp, the 996 TT lags some of the newer sports cars in terms of published hp/tq, but performance numbers still better or rival supercars costing two or three times more than the 996 TT. (997/998 TT will probably remedy hp/tq problem.) Interior is a bit dated, but IMO is superior to new 997 interior. Prices of Porsche options on this car are outrageous (e.g., wood shift knob and wood handle on handbrake cost $880). Expensive. High depreciation.

Overall

Outstanding. I've owned BMW and MBZ -- BMW design is going the wrong way IMO and MBZ quality and value are poor. The Turbo is my dream car and I hope to drive it for years to come. (And my kids think it's great.)

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

July 6 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

this car is awesome great handling.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

June 28 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Great peformance, thrilling to drive, superb handling, dynamic design, great acceleration,overall the best all around sports car on the road.

Cons

Poor interior quality is unacceptable for a $70,000 car.

Overall

I purchased this vehicle in Jan. 04 and I love it. It is absolutely an unbeliveable ride. Everything you would want in a super car is what the 911 Carrera offers. Its fast, agile, and handsome. Porsche could have done a better job on the interior materials used but other than that, no complains.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

June 23 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

good

Cons

good

Overall

nice

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

June 19 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

The ultimate convertible

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

June 4 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

Awsome car!

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

April 20 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

The performance of this car is incredible! Many more options than a Ferrari 360.

Cons

Flat, unsupportive seats. The transmission is a bit rubbery.

Overall

This is a great car from Porsche. Everyone should experience the power of a 911.

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

April 17 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Great Horsepower, Acceleration, and the best thing....IT'S A PORSCHE

Cons

the $100k pricetag

Overall

GREAT CAR

2004 Porsche 911 review

Date

April 8 2004

Model

Porsche 911

Pros

Nothing could be finer than to be driving through the Sierra's and around Lake Tahoe with the top down and in complete command of the road with the Porsche Management System and all the time 4 wheel drive. That's what the 2004 C4S cabriolet gives you. Every motorcycle mamma envies the passenger that is with me.

Cons

Other than the limited trunk space and back seats only my 9 year old like, I really can't think of anything (other than the price, but I still bought it).

Overall

I've driven or owned virtually every luxury make/model available. Nothing compares to the C4S interms of overall vehicle performance, styling, and the feel for the road both in traffic, and in the open. The 2004 C4S will be in my garage, and my showpiece for many years to come. There isn't a vehicle available today within $25k of the C4S price tag that I can imagine replacing it with.

Porsche 911 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph