FastCarsWiki.com

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

March 22 2013

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Outstanding feel and performance

Cons

None

Overall

Comfort and many amenities. Heated and cooled seat and heated steering wheel. Audio system is excellent.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

January 11 2013

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Good looks and nice power. Fit and finsh on mine is a "10"

Cons

Gas milage could be a little better

Overall

9.5

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

January 11 2013

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Dependability is number one.

Cons

Problems with bluetooth.

Overall

Overall dependability, looks, and accelleration is very satisfying for a family vehicle.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

December 30 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

It is a good looking car.

Cons

Eletronics, body - workmanship and customer service are terrible

Overall

We had a 2010 Altima paid for and traded it for a 2012 Maxima. Don't judge a book by it's cover. It is a pretty car, but that is all. I have had the cup holder replaced twice and waiting on the third. It has been on back order for almost two months. The radio/temperature console keeps going out and customer service rep just says that there is nothing they can do unless it happens while it is in the shop. This is #$%$ service!!! And we have a huge gap above the front headlight that a magazine could fit through. The service manager just said - you can go pick another bumber off the lot and we will put it on your car for you. Can you believe??? Makes me wonder if something on my car was used to replace something defective on someone else's vehicle???? I could one with more stuff, but I think you get the idea here.....

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

December 28 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Great styling, excellent power and acceleration, great handling, very comfortable and well equipped.

Cons

The CVT transmission has been very controversial with this vehicle and understandably so. They are touting it as a four door sports car but the transmission feels more like a touring transmission. Very capable but definitely not sporty. Sport mode and paddle shifters help but this remains a questionable attribute. For me, it's ok and brings pros and cons to the overall experience and it isn't afterall a sports car despite the marketing but rather a very athletic sedan. The tailights seem to have QC issues as mine gets condensation when it rains. Will be taking it in for warranty replacement. Have noticed this pop up on message boards fairly consistently.

Overall

This car is beautiful and underated in my opinion. It feels very similar to it's cousin the G37 inside and has similar driving dynamics. With plenty of power and luxurious appointments it should be on anyone's short list for its segment.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

December 21 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

The Maxima is a very fun car to drive. Acceleration from the 3.5, 290HP is incredible. The CVT tranmission is very responsive, power is always ready. Interior comfort is excellent, seats are among the best in the world. The exterior styling is very sporty, and the car is distict, which is a good thing. Bose stereo and IPOd interface is excellent, Bluetooth works great. Heated steering wheel is nice.

Cons

The brakes aren't up to par with the rest of the car. The headlights are poor, it's unfortunate that you have to buy an extra package to get the headlights that should have been standard equipment. This car is a pig on gas...absolutely horrible.

Overall

I love my Maxima. It is a pleasure to drive every time I get in. My previous car was an Acura TL, and the 3 things the Acura did better were the headlights, brakes and fuel economy. The Maxima completeley destroys the TL in every other way. I would gladly have the extra power of the Maxima vs. fuel economy of the Acura. This car is so much fun to drive, but may not be for everyone as it does torque steer.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

December 8 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Smooth, enjoyable drive

Cons

Rear head room

Overall

I traded in my 2007 Altima for my 2012 Maxima SV with the sport package. I LOVE this car. While rear head room is of minor concern, everything else about this car is a plus for me. The crimson black car looks awesome, especially with the 19 inch wheels, rear spoiler and sun roof. The leather is soft and supple, interior lighting is perfect, and I am extremely comfortable driving in the worst of traffic. 6 CD changer and stock sound system are great, and the Bluetooth phone system is incredible. Friends of mine have Bluetooth in their cars, but are drowned out by their vehicles' environmental noises. Not so with the Maxima, which is crystal clear. Having an iPhone with Siri makes up for the slow-to-finally-dial voice activation system. Heated seats and steering wheel are great extras; the seats especially as they help with my lower back pain. This is the 4th Nissan I've purchased in the last 6 years, and neither I nor my family have ever had trouble with them; they have always bested, mechanically speaking, the Fords and GM vehicles of days gone by.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

November 27 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

This car has scarry get-up-and-go power. Need to restrain myself when passing other cars. Looked at the Altima first because of the price and MPG. Altima was nice but just didn't provide the comfort I wanted for long drives (200 to 600 mile drives) and definitely did not have the power. This car is a luxury and prefers premium gas (doesn't require premium but you may lose some performance with regular gas). Most of my driving is highway and I get about 26 MPG. Not too bad for a hot v-6. Steering is a little different feeling at lower speeds but you adapt to it. Powerful, Comfortable and Sexy......What more could you want.

Cons

Wish these cars came with I-Pod ready stereo's. Had a Base-line Nissan Rouge and it had it. Tall people might have a little trouble getting into back seats.

Overall

Nicest car I ever had.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

November 24 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

The maxima with both the "premium packag"e and the "technoogy package" offers both the luxury features of comparable luxury sedans as well as the sport features in sports models. All of ths comes at a price well below the comparable models from Lexus, Infiniti, Audi, BMW, and others. If you are considering a luxury sedan with sport features, you should take a close look at a dressed out Maxima.

Cons

The only negative I can comment on is the gas mileage, although that is not bad at 19/26 for a 6 cylinder with 290 h,p.

Overall

A great car for the money!

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

October 17 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Owned for ~ 7 months...problem free thus far ( would expect nothing less in a new Nissan)...very comfortable to both ride in and drive...seating position is nice, visibility slighly limited but backup camera definitely helps....like the power, delivers relatively smoothly with decent control of torque steer.....handling is twitchy at speed.......overall, recommendable car with a lot going for it at the price, particularly love the styling

Cons

body panel gaps are a touch off on close inspection, gas mileage not as much as I would like (lead foot doesn't help)

Overall

enjoyable ride

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

October 8 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Limited Edition Pkg., looks, performance, ride quality, build quality.

Cons

No USB port in the S trim level.

Overall

Since 2004 we have owned a 2004 Murano, 2005 Altima, 2006 Altima, 2006 Maxima, 2006 Murano,2007 FX35, 2008 G35X, 2008 FX45, 2009 G37X and a 2009 M45X. My wife and I trade cars frequently, as you can tell. Although we have never racked up over 20K miles on any of the above vehicles we have been very satisfied with all of Nissans products. We have never had ANY issues with build quality or recalls. My current 2012 Maxima S is a great car. I have only had it for 3 days but Nissan still has the same great qualities and features we have come to love about them.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

September 25 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

great car, great appointments, very smooth ride thanks to the CVT (trans)

Cons

im not tech. savy and the nav. is a bit overwhelming ( my problem not the cars )

Overall

love it

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

September 20 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

It's a great looking car. It will never go out of style.

Cons

I'm so disappointed in Nissan because my front seats don't work right and I can't get the dealer or Nissan to repair them. There are parts moving in the seat -- you can feel it against your back. The dealer said it was "spring loaded" at first then they said it was built that way and nothing could be done. I contacted Nissan corp and they said the seat didn't need to be fixed because it was built that way. All I can say is see for yourself. Get in the car and raise the headrest. Put your head against the headrest and you'll feel parts from within the seat pushing against your back. Nissan says this is made right.

Overall

I would love this car if it wasn't for the problem with the seat.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

September 20 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Good looking, fun to drive

Cons

Problems with the seat

Overall

Shortly after I took deliver of my Maxima I noticed that when I pulled the headrest up and leaned against it I would feel parts within the seat press up against my back. It felt like something had come off its track. I took it to my dealer that said there was nothing wrong with the seat. The service guy said they all did that when you raised the headrest to its highest position. He said the only thing he could do to fix it was to tell me not to raise the headrest. This is a brand new $35,000 car and the dealer is telling me its broken and nothing can be done about it. I was even more disappointed when I talked to Nissan's regional service advisor who told me there was nothing wrong with my seats. They performed exactly as they should. I couldn't believe my ears when I heard that because the service rep acknowledged that you would feel a parts move against your back when the headrest was at full height. Check it out for yourself before you buy.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

September 15 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Looks, power, luxury and again, looks

Cons

none

Overall

I have been shopping around for a long time and test drove numerous vehicles; BMW, Audi, Mercedes and Infiniti. None of these gave me the looks, power and luxury for the price that I paid for this 2012 Maxima SV with sport and technology packages. The only thing that had initially worried me was the CVT in the Maxima. After test driving it in both auto and auto-manial mode, I was actually pleasently surprised. Power delivery is awesome and the car is very fast....believe me. I traded my '11 Ford Mustang GT for this. there was another gentleman that said not to worry about sticker and thanks to him, I paid just under $31K for a car that was over $40K MSRP. It is absolutely loaded. There is no car out therethat has these sporty muscular looks and luxury for $31K. All I can say...awesomest car for the money.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

September 6 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Very comfotable and economical

Cons

none

Overall

I bought my 2004 Maxima used and have never regretted it. The only maintanance I have preformed on the vehical is the routine oil changes and brakes on rear end. Other than the negative posts here all other owners I have talked to are very happy with their car.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

September 4 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

None

Cons

Can't make lemonade out of this lemon!!

Overall

I have a 2007 Maxima and at 65K mileage the timing chains needed replaced ($2200) and the transmission is going out. Nissan consumer rep told me tough s*&t and they refused to help with anything. They won't recall because of the expense to them but they sure think alot about the cost new of their product!!

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

August 19 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

I fell in love with this car, I was going to settle for a Hyundai sonata or kia optima, but this car really has the style and class that matches me. I have the 3.5 sv premium package and technology pacakage... I love it... the car gets up super fast... I really am glad I was able to get this car.

Cons

NOTHING ... I LOVE THE CAR... if you got it, get it!!

Overall

If you have the money, its worth every penny

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

August 11 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

It looks like nothing else in it's class and appearance is what I look at first. Secondly, I rented the car from Avis for weeks and really got to know the car, I prefer t do this before purchasing a vehicle. It is not a sports sedan but It has a completely different feel to it. The car looks and rides like an Infiniti and has American style muscle while still offering a unique Japanese "smoothness" to it. I am not "nice" to my vehicles and opting for rental insurance (lol) I made sure to beat it up. I wanted to see what this Nissan had and it impressed. If you take it for a spin it will charm you and I obviously went to Nissan and bought one. Best car I've ever owned

Cons

Really having trouble faulting this car. As with most Nissan products, there is a trade off between power and gas mileage. It's still hard to complain as it's competitive in its class

Overall

Test drive.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

July 31 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Styling stands apart from other vehicles in it's class. Truly is a 4 door sports car. Crimson Black Metallic color gets rave reviews from everyone that sees it.

Cons

Nothing

Overall

I've had mine for 2 weeks now. Absolutely AMAZING car! More power than you'll ever need unless you're using it as a race car. The CVT transmission is sooooo smooth. Ride is comfortable and extremely quiet. Phone, Navigation and other controls are voice activated and easy to use (SV Premium Package w/ Navagation) Look forward to my commute every day and find myself wishing it were longer.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

July 26 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Fabulous pick up!

Cons

none

Overall

This car compares to the Lexus ES350. Its as plush inside and looks a lot sleeker ! Great value for the money! Should be in the Infinite division ,not Nissan,

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

July 22 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Cons

Worest car

Overall

I have 2004 maxima SE model. After I purchased three months having Transmission problem.Then I find out that it's Stupid Nissan fault the whole model has same issue. Through out my life I will NEVER BUY ANY NISSAN!

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

July 3 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Good power, handles great, love the CVT, looks good

Cons

Gas mileage

Overall

I love this car. The car handles great but also rides well and it also has some kick to it. I love the CVT tranmission, i dont understand why people hate it so much, its a lot better than a regular transmission. The only problem is the gas mileage. 26 hwy isnt really that good compared to its competitors. Otherwise, its a great car.

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

July 2 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

fast, stylish, comfortable

Cons

nothing

Overall

excellent vehicle

2012 Nissan Maxima review

Date

June 23 2012

Model

Nissan Maxima

Pros

Considering Luxury looks and interior, performance, and decent gas mileage -- great car.

Cons

None

Overall

Beautiful car, no defects upon delivery, fully optioned out, very nice acceleration and handling. Very comfortable. With options, nice level of high tech that works without the struggles shown by the German cars. Compared to sister Infiniti G37 and a number of other models in category, it is certainly middle of the pack or better, but at the lowest price. In view of the above AND the most comfortable seats for a person with a bad back, this was the car for me. The slight tweak of the rear fenders in 2011 took it from a very medicore look to a beautiful car; Instead of rear fenders dropping straight down from trunck, now they flatten out like a shelf before dropping down. Much more current design seen in most German cars.

Nissan Maxima 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph