FastCarsWiki.com

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

January 24 2010

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

The heavy solid in control feel while driving. The styling is sharp and distinctive.

Cons

Very probmatic. last repair of starting issue, the car was in the shop for 5 weeks and problem never corrected. The A/C evaporator leaked freon resulting in having the entire dash removed to replace it. 3k. The butoons on the climate control stick and not reliable. The throtle body and Airmass sensor electronically died 2.1k grill fell apart .9k washer system needs repair occasionally. the central securty system flaked out and is not operating, very inconvient. Just about every repair i have had to do has had a coomma in it. Expensive to maintain. i feel like i an building a new car. The bottom of the leather leats split at 80 k requiring new seat covers.

Overall

Despite it's electrical idiosyncraciys, I love the car. The power, ride,handling and apperence make me keep the car despite it's flaws. it fits like a glove.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

March 10 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

Classic styling power to burn

Cons

Repair expenses are outrageous

Overall

Love the car except for cost of repairs which creep up on you.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

October 7 2003

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

This car handles great. Women can't get their eyes off of it. The drive is smooth and comfortable. The design is better than the competitors for its year.

Cons

The seats tend to rip easily. The repairs are expensive and time consuming. Its a hard car to work on by yourself considering it's almost impossible to get your hands on a repair manual.

Overall

The car is great if you take care of it. It's unique compared to its competition. The ladies love the look and the ride. If you can afford it and take care of it, it is an awesome buy.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

August 2 2003

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

If one can afford luxury-, this is the car. The performance is excellent and well it is sharp when it comes to eye appeal. Unfortunately even driving it at speed limit – it has a tendency to be ticket magnet. (Not receiving a ticket) but it appears some police don’t have better things to do then to fallow or maybe they are trying to determine if one day they too will get to drive the car of their dreams.

Cons

The only negative point is not finding a great mechanic who is knowledgeable on foreign engines. I have found several who calm they are but if they cannot tell you the manufactured RPM setting, keep looking for another place to have your car worked on. ( It's a tad lower the most engines!)

Overall

MB 93 SL 500 is a car that has had it far share of time at the mechanic. Once the various important components have been replaced with newer better-manufactured parts, hoes, brakes, UV joints, and the finicky engine light get addressed, it is a find car with the turn intentions of the manufacture. It just may take you time and lots of money getting you there. I would recommend for interested buyers to purchase this car used, ONLY if previous owner can show maintenance record. This way someone else has taken the blunt of maintenance – but will you see a previous owner sell????? Probably only to replace with a newer SL They are great little car . . . older, used or NEW. Happy riding TOP DOWN! At our age the thrills are simply but expensive!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

January 31 2002

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

Everything except the seats

Cons

The seats are too low

Overall

Love it!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

November 2 2001

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

Good looking. Trouble free hardtop and softtop. its really easy to remove and install the hardtop. Very safe and attached to the road.

Cons

The american version of the SL class is really under powered. The European version is much faster. I had mine when I was in Europe, and I timed my acceleration (0-100 KM/H) and I got and an average of 5.7 sec.

Overall

my recommendation, if you can efford it buy it. Its not only about the power, its about reliability and quality. I'd rather buy a 1993 SL500 than to buy 2001 Vette.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

September 27 2001

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

Handling, ride, appearance

Cons

Vehicle is under-powered. There are no maintenance manuals available should you want to work on the car. Clips that hold front turn signals are prone to break in well over 50% of the time (signal replacement is $80+ each). Stereo is substandard. Interior makeup mirrors fall apart.

Overall

Money is better spent on an American sports car or other luxery convertible.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

June 14 2001

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

The ride is clearly a step above any car I've ever driven. Tight control, able to make hard / sharp maneuvers at speed without complaint. Clearly a heavy vehicle: there is nothing lightweight about the car or its construction and finish. Ideal size: we may end up buying two, with one in softtop, and one in hardtop. You can drive it for 12 hours straight, and finish the day still smiling.

Cons

The finish is spectacular, and we feel we MUST take care of it. So we don't drive it in the winter, or on bad weather days. If I were to drive only short trips in the city, I would take a Boxster. But on long drives, there is nothing to compare with it.

Overall

If you can afford to buy a used car for the price of a new BMW, this is worth considering. $36,000 buys a LOT of car and a superb short- and long-distance driver. Women love the car's looks, and say so.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

April 10 2001

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

ALL MAINTAINENCE DONE BY MERCEDES DEALER ON SCHEDULE

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

February 13 2001

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

it looks nice and classy

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

December 26 2000

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

very good car 4 a 93, a few problems but not much

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

October 31 2000

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

It is in quality and look one of the best cars ever built. First made in 1989 and still a stylish car that suits into the 21st century.

Cons

could be a bit more sporty...

Overall

excellent

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1993 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class review

Date

October 18 2000

Model

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Pros

I love the way it handles and the way it looks. With 12 V it could speed like a jet

Cons

There is nothing to dislike about it

Overall

Greatest driving machine

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Mercedes-Benz SL-Class 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph