FastCarsWiki.com

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

March 10 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Solid feel, safety and smooth ride

Cons

Handling could be better. My BMW 7 Series drove better. It was smooth yet the road feel was superior. Can't beat those BMW sport seats either. The MB throne seating is very comfortable but you'd have to spend time in both to understand. A simple test drive doesn't do it justice. Navigation is terrible, I believe the W221 is better but the Nav in my old 2000 Honda Odyssey was is superior! Cup holders are a joke.

Overall

At about 80K miles my S430 4matic needed a new alternator ($1,100), passenger SRS sensor ($700), Battery ($200), brakes go out every 30K miles ($700 front), etc. It's a great car but if you can't afford to spend about 2K to 3K a year on out of warranty repairs stay clear. My air suspension is acting up so here comes another $5,000! I had a 2001 BMW 735 Sport Package. I drove it for 80K miles before trading it in. Aside from a brake job and lube service, it didn't need anything else. In contrast, our W220 is high maintenance and very expensive. But still, the solid feel and ride casts shadows over the cost of ownership. I tend to buy new and keep for about 5 years.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

February 22 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Great car for the sophisticated buyer. Shows well, drives well, seats 5 comfortably.

Cons

Last model before body style change in 2007. Noticeable from back, but not from front.

Overall

This car is absolutely wonderful. I saw it, I drove it and I absolutely wanted it. All controls and gauges are well placed for ease. The car truly offers something for every driver....from the Sunday driver to the Everyday Business Professional, this car has it all. The transmission shifting is noticeable, but as an owner of a manual shifting car in the past, the handling of the S500 feels very similar. I use the handling to an advantage as it decreases hard braking in traffic. The factory sound system is outstanding and the styling of the car (interior and exterior) is breathtaking. I live in the city (potholes, constant braking, all four seasons) and the car handles very well for daily driving. Plenty of trunk space for luggage. If an EZ pass toll user, go for the tag mounted pass. Made my first trip to dealership for service and experience was great overall. The service team greets you as soon as you pull into the service area and a service advisor was at my car door as soon as I shifted the car into park. The service team was very knowledgable and making my next appointment for service was a breeze. Be sure to check out the Mercedes Benz Club of America as you get discounts on service and parts after you join.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

January 23 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Quality styling, reliable mechanics, great handling and traction for all conditions with 4matic.

Cons

Like everyone else who owns one, the cupholder (yes singular) is like a cheap childs toy. The fuel mileage is average. Command system lacks aux. input and blue tooth connectivity.

Overall

I have owned prior to this an Audi A8L and currently also have an E38 chassis BMW 7 series. I would rate them Audi, BMW, then M-B. The Audi has the best fuel mileage, power, handling and features, but, uses a timing belt that needs changed at 75K, The BMW is the most reliable and easiest to self maintain, runs a timing chain. The Mercedes has less power, less fuel mileage, less equipment, yet, shouts it's stature much more.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

January 13 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

fast, spacious, smooth, quality, quiet

Cons

no standard heated seats

Overall

i bought this s430 on november 10, 2012 for 22,500 with 50k on it but with a 50k/4 year warranty from to back, top to bottom it costed me about 24,500 that's including gap and my deductible is only $100..over all the ride of the car is very smooth feels like your floating literally. the features are nice but i would expect an expensive car as this to have telephone and at least heated seats standard..you know? the gas mileage is ehh so-so its pretty good for a car its size on regular gas which is what the dealer told me i could use instead of premium i get about 15.5 city, 21 hwy..using premium gas i get 19.6 city, 27.2 hwy better than the window sticker..i was impressed there has not been any issues except when i go to close the sunroof automatically it closes about 3/4 and it retracts all the way open but manually it works just fine. the dealer told me it might need to be re-synced or grease the tracks or a new motor(for the sunroof).the quality of the materials are superb for me..it has plenty of get-up-and-go for me. comfort is about 8/10 overall i would give this car a 9/10

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

September 13 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Safety uncompromised for comfort. Fine form and classic styling in and out

Cons

Cupholders need improvement but serves utility

Overall

ULTIMATE SAFE DRIVING EXPERIENCE DISGUISED IN LUXURY. Way to hit the streets!

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

September 10 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Classy and handles extremely well on the highway.

Cons

I don't have any problems!

Overall

I've owned three BMWs and they were the ultimate driving machines. Honestly, I said, I would only purchase BMWs. Along came the mercedes and I just love this car!!! The next one will be the S550.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

August 24 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Quiet and roomy

Cons

power and mileage

Overall

Bought this used 6 months ago from a dealer for 30% of the original price with only 33000 miles. It is a quiet and roomy car with features that I still have not discovered. You really see the benefits on long trips as you and your family arrive refreshed and ready to go. I am currently looking for another for my wife.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

June 5 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

The solid feel, the smooth drive.

Cons

The cup holders in the front, the crise control leaver

Overall

I love the drive and handled with ease, it gives great gas milage.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

April 19 2010

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Pros: The style of the body Ihave the AMG package. It is a sleek space machine.

Cons

The cup hoolders(come on now) The money thhey pay the desinger I know he or she could have come with something better.

Overall

Thei car is great in all aspects. If you dont have a few pennies dont goe there.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

July 26 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Elegant, comfortable with monstrous performance on tap

Cons

I know I have to feed it a lot of fuel, parts and service but its worth it

Overall

Comparing to a BMW 750 iL V12 while the BMW is smooth and modestly powerful, I always felt that 6 liters should deliver more than the BMW does. Both cars are heavy at 2+ tons American. There are lighter and more nimble cars for certain, but as in racing, this one is Open class. Open class designates Unlimited engine size and unlimited power. That calls for handling that is precise and predictable in all situations. The S65 delivers all that I expected and of course far more. I can think of nothing on 4 wheels that beats the performance. And can still get 18 mpg on the freeway. To get maximum results you need to drive it keeping the turbo lag in mind but I think its preferable for a family supercar compared to supercharging in my opinion (as the s55 for example) as it comes on when needed, has better redline delivery and remains dormant in normal driving.BMW finally seems to accept that for 2009 with their bi-turbos. And the S65 can be further Renntech tricked so redline can be truly interesting territory. I'd like to take it to Bonneville to get its true measure. Or the Autobahn between Koblenz and Trier. I'm pretty sure it can join the 200+ MPH club, unlike anything I've owned before. Not bad for a daily commuter 4 door family car. Like my BMW, and a former MB diesel I've owned I expect cost of ownership (fuel, parts, labor, anguish) to be high. Well as both a Quality professional and former motorcycle tuner and racer I do reluctantly understand the tradeoffs that must be made to support such performance and I accept. You might not. Dont buy this car to impress other people. Buy it to impress yourself. Take the badge off the trunk. And no racing on public roads. This may well be the end times for V12 engines available to the public in the US (think what happened to 2 stroke race bikes in the era of emission controls) so if you are a connoisseur of mechanical elegance, this is where you will find it. Be forewarned, driving this beast will make it hard to go back to the merely excellent cars as you will remember what the S65 is like.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

June 7 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Image, quality, comfort, performance

Cons

Size - not always easy to find a parking space, running costs including depreciation

Overall

A better car in every way than its predecessor. It is solid as a rock but also has a sporty feel and has quality written all over it. But don't buy it if you have a limited budget or a small parking space.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

November 29 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Everything.

Cons

No airconditioned seats.

Overall

Rate this car a 9.99. I should have purchased this car years ago.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

May 22 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

A first rate luxury sedan by a premier builder. Driving one makes you feel like a king, as opposed to the regular shmoe you really are.

Cons

A bit ponderous and wallowy. Styling is clean and timeless but not especially creative or exciting.

Overall

The Benz driving experience is absolutely unique to Mercedes Benz. Everything in the car is designed to soothe your senses and pamper you and your guests. It has a certain tactile feel in the materials and the switchgear. There is an aroma of fine leathers and old money. Woodgrain accents are lavishly finished and trimmed, and bent into smooth flowing shapes. No part of the car is left unfinished, right down to the kick panels and the trunk. The seats themselves are works of art, atriculated to the nth degree and every movement handled quietly and gracefully by smooth electric power. The Benz driver should never have to suffer the indignity of abrupt movement, so everything that is not powered is dampend...pull something open, and it closes as though it were encased in maple syrup. All of these elements conspire with the creamy 5.0 liter V8/7 speed AT and the superb suspension to create a bubble of perfect Benzness that insulates one from the less perfect world outside.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

January 12 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Everything, it is the best MB I have owned.

Cons

Nothing

Overall

Best car owned since my 1995 E320 Conv.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

June 24 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

THE NAME >>> S500 <<<

Cons

SO EXPENSIVE BUT IT'S WORTH EVERY DIME.

Overall

EXCELLENT INSIDE AND OUT.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

March 9 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Cons

Transmission, tire devise really bad, quality of service is very poor

Overall

From day one have complained about hard shifting transmission, service writter kept saying nothing wrong. They finally changed something, and now it is worse than before. Continued problems with steering, electronics, and the service people treat you like they don't care. Chrysler has let this company slip badly.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

January 29 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

very satisfied

Cons

the car should have service as part of the price like they had previously had-BMW provides this.Mercedes went backward.Lousy cup holders.

Overall

good

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

January 12 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Appearance,GPS,Smooth and Quiet Ride,Handles well

Cons

Overpriced, Hard stiff seats,very cheap cup holders,complicated heating/AC System

Overall

In general I like the car. The Caddy Deville that I had before had much more comfortable seats and i was far less tired after a long trip. Have had it 1 year and has 23k miles. Just had some part go out in the steering system,$4900.00. Good thing it's still under warranty. Will take 2 weeks to get part but is drivable. Very complicated control. Seem to make everything more complicated that it really needs to be. I still need to check the manuals every week to figure out how some thing operate

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

November 25 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Prestige (if you're into that), lots of gadgets

Cons

BAD transmission (ugh!), poor customer service, for the 40 and over crowd

Overall

I am tradinging my 2005 S500 for a BMW 550i because I cannot believe how horrible MB's customer service has been. My service engine light comes on all the time and every time I take it in, they can't find anythng wrong and act as if it is my fault for wasting their time! Also, I, unfortunatelyhave also experienced the clunky transmision problems that others have mentioned here and when Ibrig this up, the people at the MB service dept treat me with condescension for thinking that MB would have a transmission problem - -but it is there and it is a REAL problem. For a car that costs more than $100K, I expected better. MB has a real quality problem but they don't want to admit it.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

September 26 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Fuel economy on freeway, comfortable,

Cons

very noisy brake after a while, trunk pops up too strong, lousy quality control

Overall

The 2005 S-430 is a decent car but not worth $75,000. Its quality control is worse than most American made cars.Mercedes must be hurting by the warranty services and refusing to honor some warranty services usually hornored by other car makers. ( such as brake noise). I owned new BMW 740, Cadillac Deville, Lexus 300, Acura Legend but none of those cars have so much trouble in the first year. Some of the problems takes mumerous trips back to the dealer before it can be fixed. eg navigation system ( 3 times), automatic window ( 5 times but still not fixed). The design of the trunk is terrible, I almost got hit a couple times when the trunk opens. I ended up adding weights insde the trunk door so that it won't pop all the way up. Now it only pops up half way. The maunfacturer should have done that. The navigation system needs improvment. It tells you "you have reached your destination" and you may be a couple thousand feets away.The system does not take exact address, it only takes a range such as from 100 to 500 Broadway etc and it does not reminder the exact address either. The good part: this big car is surprisingly fuel efficient on highway. I got 30 mpg driving from San Diego to LA, better than the C class. Local driving fuel economy is average.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

September 18 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Mercedes-Benz. Spectacular Spirit. Quiet. Posh & Elegant~

Cons

It's best to have "Arrived" before telling everyone "You have arrived"

Overall

Mercedes, having invented the auto, is always setting a new standard. This is the second Mercedes I've had, and will never go back to any other luxury sedan. We have had Lincolns, Audis, Jaguars, and BMWs; none of which blew me away. Now, Mercedes- Oh yes... this car speaks to your soul; It speaks to the part of you that says, I'm a player, and am King of The World... Beautiful. Elegant. Spectacular.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

September 14 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Classy auto. Lots of looks. Good performance

Cons

Transmission is terrible. Really hard downshifts. Dealer can't help

Overall

Not enough head room for me, my head hits the roof when I sit up straight. Cannot stand the hard downshiting of the transmission, Would not buy another MB because of it.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

August 23 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Friendly to the enviroment and the first car to make me cry with its beauty

Cons

Non

Overall

This car isamazing , i think this is the only car that i have seen that is beautiful inside and out . everthing from the wheels to the running of the engine is smooth , but when the new and improved Mercades S-class comes out when i am legal to drive i will be the first person on the waiting list .

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

August 17 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Elegant, Beautiful, Best in Show

Cons

NOTHING....I REPEAT.....NOTHING

Overall

This car is a dream to drive and to look at. I am tired of viewing complaints about it-- *If you find that it doesn't meet your expectations, then buy yourself a rolls royce, because that is the only other car on the road that can compete with this land yacht. *Note to people who complain about price-- You shouldn't own this car if money is an object to you. PERIOD.

2006 Mercedes-Benz S-Class review

Date

August 15 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Pros

Very smooth and comfortable

Cons

I had a small problem with the gear shifting and door lock. and it is a bit expensive

Overall

I paid $100,000 for the S350L here in Dubai, loaded with many options, I love the car and i enjoy drving it. I never liked Merc. before, but i found out it is a great car to own. The power of the 350 engine and the 7 speed trams. is more than what i need. if i go back in time, i would buy the same but with an AMG kit and more options, like the night vision. I am sure sure i will be doing this by the end of this year.

Mercedes-Benz S-Class 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph