FastCarsWiki.com

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

October 2 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

I like the size of this car, safety features

Cons

The horrible quality of worksmanship and mechanics. My car is still fairly new (4 years 4 months). Warranty expired in May. Guess what happened in June? Air pump broke $1500. In July? Air conditioner broke, $2000. In August? Suspension broke, $2500. In Sept? An air bag leaked, $1100. It's Oct now and I am horrified! So far I spent about $7,000 fixing this junk-and this is 4 months past warranty expiration! This car is costing me more than mortgage! I looked it up on BlueBook and supposedly it's worth $22000. Tried to sell it back to the dealer, they gave me $10,000. At this point I think even at $10k it's grossly overpriced!!!! DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!!!!

Overall

Overall, if you are lucky, this car might be OK to use. It's a good size and a comfortable ride. But I was told, on many occasions, by many mechanics that this particular model is very unreliable and costs a lot to fix, because it's not your standard mass-produced car. It always costs about 30% more than any other popular model, and judging by the car I own, the worksmanship on it is so poor, that no comfort or discounts should justify ever buying this car. In fact, at this point, I'd never EVER recommend a Mercedes to anyone.... unless you need your "status" ... but then I would STRONGLY SUGGEST you lease... at least this car won't be your problem when your lease expires.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

August 9 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

The most under rated vehicle out there. Amazing blend of luxury, comfort and performance. Love the F1 style shifting behind the steering, SUPER turning radius, amazing pickup, etc. Feels like every single one of the six passenger seats are first class airplane seats. Yes, they include the 3rd row seats too. One of the very few vehicles I can think of that can fit 6 six-footers. Kids love the panoramic sunroof. Surprisingly easy to clean up the car after the kids make a mess of it. I am SO happy that I could extend the comfort and safety of a Mercedes Benz to the entire family. All in all, the best family vehicle out there. Buy pre-owned (2 or 3 years old) and save $$$. Parktronics is a must.

Cons

None. My next car will definitely be another MB!

Overall

Simply THE best option for a very comfortable, 6 person vehicle if you are looking to make the comfort, safety and luxury of a MB extend to the entire family.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

January 5 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

An extremely comfortable car, front and second row seating is outstanding. Handling, for a large station wagon like vehicle is also outstanding. Very adequate luggage capacity It is stable and comfortable at all speeds.

Cons

I Have to be careful not to bump my head when entering the driver's seat (caused by the raked windshield), I'm 6 ft. 2 in.

Overall

I bought a certified used 2007 R350 14 months ago. A great experience, the car is more than I expected in terms of quality, performance, & ride. The dealer service is outstanding. Buying this as a used car saved me about 1/2 of the new car price, new car warranty runs to Feb. 2012. This my second Mercedes, and certainly won't be my last.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

October 22 2010

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

Exterior as well as interior styling is unique and awesome. The ride is smoother and much better than a X5/X3 that I test drove. I am averaging 19.5 miles in mixed driving (not a heavy footer) and 23 on highways. I love the bluetooth, unlike many other cars I have tried the other person can hear you clearly. I bought it used with 38k miles (P1 package), heated seats, navigation, TeleAid, Voice Command etc. for $26k.

Cons

Expensive packages, depreciation (plus for me, since I bought it used) and not a lot of standard equipment. The 3 things that I miss from my previous Hyundai Veracruz are Memory Settings, Rear Climate control (multiple vents) and the back-up sensor. Mercedes needs to make lot of these convenience options as standard.

Overall

Overall a happy driver of R350.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

August 10 2010

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

there are no pros!

Cons

worst car I have ever owned!

Overall

The r500 accomplishes two first for me.....it is definitely the most expensive car I have ever purchased and it has definitely been the worst car I have ever owned!!! This car has been in for repairs 32 times since I have owned it. Thats right 32 times! My experience with dealing with Mercedes-Benz has been nothing but undesirable as well... I have had to fight with them for every repair they do on this car. They are rude on the phone and at the dealership as well.The car does knock when you turn, the sunroof has been repaired 3 times , replaced, and still doesn't work! The steering column was replaced, the dash screen has been replaced, the car stalls....etc. etc. in other words "what an expensive piece of s@#t!" I would not reccomend any one to buy this car or any other Mercedes-Benz product, unless they want a truely bad experience!!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

August 9 2010

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

Passenger Capacity and Room

Cons

Terrible Navigation System

Overall

The R350 is an interesting car and has filled our needs as a growing family. As a single guy I loved my Volvo S60 Turbo, but I needed more room. Both my wife and I are tall, and when my wife was pregnant with our second child, I knew it was time for a second car. We looked, and looked, but all the SUV's and Minivans were ugly, gas guzzling and not comfortable for the most part. The Mercedes R350 handeled surprizing well considering it weighs over 5,000 lbs, the standard engine seemed to supply plenty of power, and the reliablility has been above average. Any issues we have the dealer has always fixed at no cost, small things like the lighter fuse blowing out, or the transmission not shifting correctly (software update fixed the issue), accessory battery no good (free replacement under warranty). We were frightened of expensive repairs with owning a mercedes, so we purchased the extended warranty. We don't have to worry about anything until June 2014, which is excellent peace of mind. At that time we'll look at the market again, but hopefully the desiel version will still be available, since it's a turbo and get's better milege. I tend to keep my cars for a very long period of time, and this Mercedes hopefully will be exception, we were fortunate to buy it with very low miliege under 25,000 miles, so we look forward to years of driving. We use it mostly for local driving, I commute via Train to Manhattan everyday, but we did use it for a long road trip down to Atlanta last year for Thankgiving, and it worked great, with ample room for everything. We love the panaramic room, our 2 year old loves to look out the window, which the more upright seating affords, it's also great to have two spare 3rd row seats for when relatives are visiting. I gave the car a 4 our of 5 since a few items did require minor repair, but the Mercedes dealer we go to, was so genuinely concerned about the transmission shifting to soon, that they gave us a loaner for a day while they diagnosed and fixed the problem, we've never seen it appear. The tinted windows are excellent for hiding your valuables, and children from the strong sun. We love the automatic rear dooor, which lifts up with such ease and allows us to load and unload stuff so easily. Another perk that we will hopefully take advantage of soon is the roof cross bars, we used them all the time with the volvo and we look forward to having the same additional storage, we may also opt one day for the trailer hitch, but it's so expensive to have it put on an older car, and I'm not sure how much we'll use it. The worst thing about this car is the Navigation. We can only diretly input addresses, which works great, or search for POI that are preprogramed by geographic location, but the name search is terrible and will not allow you to use it searching locally, only by the entire country which is useless (perhaps we're missing something here). Overall, I would recommend this vehicle, and many of the short commings, like styling and engine have been upgraded in the newest versions. The 2010 R350's look gorgeous and we're looking forward to maybe getting on eventually, but for now this one is more then sufficient for our family needs.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

January 5 2010

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

Good handling and comfort. Seats 6 comfortably and has a smooth ride.

Cons

Very poor service record. Car has been in the shop for many electrical problems over the past two years and I have had to use roadside assistance 3 times! Dealer is friendly and tries hard but the vehichle does not live up to the brand image of performance and reliability.

Overall

While the car is comfortable, looks good and rides nice it falls far short of my expectations for a $50K car from Mercedes. This is my first MB and I also own an Audi Q7 that has performed much better and been far more reliable. I'm looking to get out of the vehicle as soon as possible and buy a BMW or another AUDI where the value proposition is much better!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

December 21 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

It rides great and the seating comfort is wonderful. Have had no problems, get good gas mileage and you can drive 10 hours and not be tired. I really like everything about it and especially the room it has for the second row seats and if you want to carry a lot of cargo you have the room to do so

Cons

I have not found anything I dislike about the vehilcle.

Overall

Ihave said itg all above

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

September 29 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

The best car I have ever had! We have had an E wagon, an S600 and an ML and this is by far the best car. I have moved a large table and a large flat screen t.v. with no problem. Husband is over 6.3 and I am 6 feet and this car is so comfortable. 6 people truly fit in all seats!

Cons

I only wish the backdoors somehow could open wide as they do AND slide like a true minivan. My kids keep hitting my other car in the garage. Also, I should have splurged on 3rd row air!

Overall

Please Mercedes! Keep making this car!!!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

May 7 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

1) Excellent ride quality 2) Alot of interior room 3) Safety

Cons

The following items should be standard on the R350: 1) Xenon Lights 2) Leather Interior 3) Self-dimming mirrors 4) Follow the Japanese and include more amenities as standard. 5) Made in the US (Alabama); it is not up to the European quality standards.

Overall

9 out of 10

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

March 31 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

Drives great,incredible milage. I purchased a chip ($500 on e-bay) that has given me 20% more torque and better milage. I love this car so much I purchased two. I also have an SL500, and a Lexus LS460. The "R" is my favorite of all. I have had Jags, Mercs, a Maybach 6 different Lexus among them a windstar and a Chrysler Town and County and a Toyata Mini. NONE of the mini Vans come close to this vehicle, and wife liked it so much she garaged the SL and rarely uses the Lexus. A complete joy to drive to AZ and Alaska, through Canada and Calif. Am glad they're not that popular with the US as real bargains on slightly used ones!

Cons

Could offer more luxury Mercedes items. Would love to be able to kick the seats up to the SL500 with massage for long drives. Seat warmers for all would be good. Ifthese are my biggest complaints I'd say I'm doing pretty well with this car. Could use a better navigation system (understand '09 has) and another couple of clocks would be handy!

Overall

Could't imagine a vehicle I could enjoy more for cruising with friends!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

November 16 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

3 row seating very quiet best long journey vehicle on the market fit the kids in and the kitchen sink Good performance and handling gives you a feeling of safety and comfort

Cons

Stearing a little heavy till you get used to it plus size of rear passenger doors this can sometimes have you looking for clearance when parking

Overall

Having just done a 3200 mile road trip it was just like sitting in your arm chair at home with silent and smooth running plus all the driving aids to assist you and the bonus of 24 mpg best vehicle I have owned in my 42 years of driving

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

October 17 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

THIS VEHICLE IS VERY COMFORTABLE. EXCELLENT GAS MILEAGE. HAS A VERY GOOD PICK FOR A DIESEL VEHICLE.

Cons

NOTHING AT THE MOMENT.

Overall

THIS IS THE FIRST DIESEL VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED. IT HAS BEEN A GREAT EXPERIENCE. I GET GREAT GAS MILEAGE. IT'S A SAFE AND SOLID CAR AND IT HAS A VERY ROOMY INTERIOR. EASY TO STEP IN AND OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THE RIDE IS PRETTY QUITE FOR A DIESEL VEHICLE. WHEN I HAVE PULLED UP TO A GAS STATION AND I SAY "FILL IT UP DIESEL PLEASE" THEIR FIRST REPLY IS "THIS VEHICLE IS DIESEL? YOU CAN'T EVEN HEAR THAT NOISE THAT A REGULAR DIESEL ENGINE MAKES". IN THE FUTURE I WILL CONSIDER BUYING ANOTHER DIESEL VEHICLE FROM MERCEDES-BENZ. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO A SMART WISE CONSUMER. MERCEDES-BENZ OWNER ROSA DAHBUR

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

October 5 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

I went from a 4 door pickup to the R350. It has a great engine and my highway mileage ranges up to 27 MPG. I have had zero problems and am totally satisfied.

Cons

I wish it could be a couple of inches higher off the ground.

Overall

Great vehicle, great mileage, great engineering.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

September 18 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

This model in the diesel version is fabulous. VERY Fast. Mid to high 20's for MPG. Mine averages 24 MPG. Excellent for tall drivers and passengers.

Cons

Must get most every option to equal a Mercedes basic sedan. Considered a "light truck" by Mercedes, everything is an option. Pass on their GPS. Some repair parts are still not available since 2006. Most dealers in my area have no idea how to repair Warranty items on this vehicle.

Overall

Ours is an R320 CDI diesel. It never smokes and is very difficult for anyone to tell it is a diesel. Only at idle can you tell and to do that, you must be close to the outside front of the car. Very quiet inside and handles very well for such a large car. Once you understand how a diesel works you'll appreciate it more every day.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

March 4 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

Roomy, daring style. Nothing else really like it on the road!! Very smooth ride.

Cons

Nothing.

Overall

Recommend this vehicle to anyone with more than 4 in their family. Great car. MB definitely got this one right!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

January 6 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

ALL

Cons

NONE

Overall

10

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

December 10 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

First one was a 06 R350 when I found out there would be a diesel traded for an 07 CDI and loving it

Cons

The only thing is the nav system my hand held Navman is far better.

Overall

Do not get the Nav Sys, get a hand held. Other wise this is a great car (except) for the white smoke that came out of the tail pipe (once). Drove for The ATL to BKLYN NY on on tank and a little more than a half (got 626 DOING 75-80 MPH). Got aprox 475 driving around Atl also saw 30mpg in the highway and about 21 in the city.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

October 15 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

The R350 has a very smooth ride, lots of seats. Love the panaromic roof for back passengers.

Cons

You have to buy expensive packages for navigation, panaromic roof, rear entertainment. All the other items I probably will never use. The rear passenger doors are so long , almost can't get them open. If you have 6 passengers, hope they don't each have large suitcases, you can only get 2 to 3 26" suitcases when 3rd row seat up. For $60K, leather seats should be standard. Watch out for the mystery buttons on the back of the steering wheel it will change the gears. Cruise control switch is to close to the turn signal switch. Looks too much like a stationwagon. Have to hand out plenty of money for the hundreds of scheduled maintenance trips to the dealer and expensive premium gas.

Overall

Overall, I feel the R350 is way overly priced.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 Mercedes-Benz R-Class review

Date

October 11 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Pros

really fun to drive, excellent craftsmanship

Cons

None

Overall

I drive an Audi A8L and bought this for my wife. I like the MB better! It is a great driving experience. Very smooth. She went from a Lexus LX470 and her only comment is why she waited.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Mercedes-Benz R-Class 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph