FastCarsWiki.com

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

March 11 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Fuel economy for road driving is good

Cons

Rough transmission and difficult with power steering

Overall

Only about 25k use on tires and runs loud at times. The interior is very disappointing, the aluminum trim on the steering wheel is peeling. The leather seat and console is cracked (dried out) and the simulated wood trim is cracked. This car has had only one driver and the other five benzes that I have owned over the last twenty years never experienced this level of wear. I have found that the dealer service is somewhat ambivalent.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

January 25 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

looks great

Cons

mechanical problems from day one

Overall

NEVER BUY ONE OF THESE! Owned for 6 months and have replace power steer pump, power steering resevior, rack & pinon steering, and two door locks.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

January 14 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

I have had this vehicle for 3 years and it has always been a great car. I am trading it today on a 2013. The 2006 is a great vehicle. You walk up to it and feel pride of ownership.

Cons

Nothing.

Overall

Great car

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

June 9 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

NONE AT ALL

Cons

This car is the reason i'm poor now

Overall

Overall I'd have more fun getting run over multiple times by this POS than actually driving it. The handling is TERRIBLE!!! Feels like I'm gonna roll even at low speeds and God forbid it's windy on the highway at night. If so you're definitely going to be doing some field sobriety tests cuz it's IMPOSSIBLE to keep it in a straight line...that's IF you don't bounce off the freeway cuz I guess the shocks are meant to make you smash ur head on the ceiling if you happen to run over a small pebble. Nothing would make me happier than having it stolen then bein lucky enough to watch the high speed chase live on tv with a 90's action style ending where it crashes right into the service center and the whole place explodes.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

November 26 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Style and Design as well as its built to take it!

Cons

Could include a few more Accessories but has most!!!

Overall

Loooks feels and runs like s new car all the time...

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

October 13 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

7 spd transmission always able to find the right gear. Harmon -K 440 watt stereo system is fantastic! Emmission exemption certificate for Colorado. Heated seats up to the shoulders. This SUV is fast! 20-24MPG seems to be the range I get with a usual firm 22MPG with 36,500 miles.

Cons

Better control of transmission shifting, trip meter, mpg useage, no touch screen NAV-stereo system, 370 ratio differential available for the ML350...WE ARE NITPICKING HERE.

Overall

I read 200 owner reviews before I bought and since this is my first MB...I can now understand why it is a benchmark in Automotive History. It will be hard to replace as I will never want to step down again.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

June 2 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Capable in the snow, quality materials, and pleasing aesthetics.

Cons

The sound system has been very "iffy" and unreliable. The sound system often times refuses to turn on OR bounces in and out of stereo mode. When brought to the MB service department, the problem was misdiagnosed and therefore, the problems remain.

Overall

Quality vehicle that is pleasurable to drive, reliable in the snow, and still pleasing to look at.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

January 30 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

1. It is a Mercedes. 2. The ride, the fit & finish, with the ruggedness of an off-road vehicle.

Cons

The high costs of regular maintenance. Mercedes does not have the 50K mile maintenance free package. One must pay for all regular maintence (oil changes, filters, tire rotation, etc.) yourself.

Overall

The best.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

January 13 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

I have owned BMW's , Audi,s and Benzes and I must admit the the MB has always been my favorite. This goes back to my 1991 MB 190 and today in 2008, MB is still at the top of my list.

Cons

It took me a little while to understand how to use the Navigationfluently, but eventually I figured it out.

Overall

Great Vehicle

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

November 17 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Solid feel all around. Comfortable and very reliable.

Cons

Transmission sometimes clunks when downshifting at low speeds

Overall

Excellent all season vehicle

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

November 15 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

styling, window areas, hearoom, solid feeling, I also own a 2004 m which I must say seems tougher BUT not near as comfortable. I like the High end options on the 2006

Cons

a little too much plastic

Overall

I owned Suburbans, Explorers and even an Excurtion BUT the M class has as much driver space as any of those. I wanted an SUV that I could still stretch my legs and it was impossible with any Asian or small to midsize SUV. Though made in Alabama this M fits Nordic sized people.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

March 30 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

The best driving sport utility on the market. Powerful, quiet, and fun to drive. All aspects of vehicle great,

Cons

nothing

Overall

The Best of The Best.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

March 24 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Gadyedts

Cons

A lot

Overall

Mercedes people, please don't mix anymore your cars with american brands, since Daymler bought Chrysler Mercedes'll started being so bad. Why? It's relly obbious. The are making some parts here and ensambling it here to, result: American manufactured cars what means problems. Everybody knows that american cars are piece of junk, so why they let they touch their cars here for Chrysler? Please get back to the old good times and leave the american brands with their "perfect for americans" cars.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

March 20 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

nice ride,decent handling

Cons

terrible reliability,electronic gremlins pop out on a monthly basis.

Overall

this is my second merecedes product and it is fraught with the same electronic problems as my 2003 e-class, blower Motors that run when the car is off,srs failures every 4 months,abs warning lights that are false,directional bulb failures almost monthly..The germans overcomplicate the electronics and use the customers as a testing ground.If i was on the board of Mercedes i would fire the CEO for letting the company fall to 36th in quality out of 36 car companies.it should be unacceptable that a hyundai has better enginered reliability than a mercedes.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

March 19 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Appearance, good ride in Comfort mode,

Cons

Rough tranny downshift from 2nd to 1st; many electrical problems; noisy lifters; lack of parts local

Overall

Since May of 2005, my 2006 ML500 has been in the Mercedes Hospital no less that 6 times (not for normal service) sometimes for 10 days at a time. Numerous computer sensor problems and no parts available for 6 - 8 weeks are only begininng. Then I had malfunctioning door handles, improperly installed gas cap seal, air bag sensor failures a secong time, and now I have noisy lifters which makes it sound like a diesel engine. Mecedes' explanation - it's a high performance engine and you are not running it hard or long enough! We now get to the noisy, clunky, annoying downshift form 2nd to 1st at slow speed. They can't fix it. After a short while the good appearance and ride begin to pale with this ongoing littany of problems. The service manager at the dealership where the vehicle was purchased recently resigned. I got to know him quite well as per the trips above. I asked him why he was leaving? The answer - "Frustrations over the problems with the newer Mercedes vehicles and the resultant major customer dissatisfactions - it was no fun any more"!

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

March 17 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Great handling, Great reliability, Solid ride

Cons

Gas milage

Overall

This is a true MB and true SUV. No complaint. The gas milage can be better. But that may have a trade for less power.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

March 10 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Excllent vehicle for its segment

Cons

could be better on gas

Overall

I have found this car to be better than I expected. I heard alot of quality issues with MB but this car has been more than reliable. The handling is probably best in class and the engine is first rate! The engine feels like a V8 not a V6.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

March 6 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

strong engine, good highway driver

Cons

trany,trany,trany lacks exclusivity for an MB

Overall

this is our 2nd 2006 ml 350 the first one we purchased was one of the launch editions in march 2005. it was by far the worst car i have ever purchased. the first 4 weeks the car was at the dealership 3 weeks with transmission problems. next the power seats stopped working it was in the shop 2 more weeks while parts came in from the mother country. this is all happening while we still have a tranny problem. the rear door never would latch properly. all and all the car was a mess and in march 2006 MB bought back the car and offered us a new one right off the lot. the new one is much better but still has a quirky tranny. the 3 american built cars i hve i have never had a problem with and we will be trading this in for an 2007 yukon for my wife because she is allways driving my 2007 yukon and loves it. sorry MB but you lost me forever. i also own a bimmer and will allways have a bimmer but never a MB again.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

February 17 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

nice curb appeal, good gas milage

Cons

Major transmission problems, rear wheel problems,peeling steering wheel, electrical problems

Overall

We have purchased 4 MB's and this one, 2006 ml350 is the worst vehicle we have ever purchased. We still have our 1996 c 220 and 1998 SLK but the 2006 ml350 is a lemon. It has been in the shop for repairs more than any vehicle we have ever owned. I do not recommend purchasing this car. The tramission does a lot of jerking. Our SUV got stuck in our garage twice in 6 months due to tramission issues. The radio/CD player does not come on sometimes. The SUV rattled for at least 3 months before they figuered out why. Calling the dealing is a joke. I have been on hold for as long as 39 minutes trying to get assistance. They know the car is a lemon and do not want to be bothered with us or the lemon. We had a 2000 ML320 that was great, we are so sorry we did not keep it. We waited for the new body style of the 2006 ml350 and boy was that a mistake. We do not have the confidence with MB that we used to and will not recommend them at this time. When we decide to get another SUV, more than likely it will not be an MB.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

February 15 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Looks nice at a distance... look closer and it is fake chrome over plastic.

Cons

Transmission problems from the start, no noise insulation in the doors and chrome interior is peelin

Overall

I have been into the dealer too many times (while I pay for a loaner). Each time I am promised it is fixed (told it is a computerized transmission problem... easily fixed with an update) it retuns to clunking soon after leaving the dealer. The fake chrome peeled off the steering wheel and sliced my finger. The interior is nothing like any of the other Mercedes I had (240 D, 300D, 300CD or 300TD wagon) it looks and is cheaply done not refined as one would expect. The sound of loud road noises and rain drive me crazy in the front of the car. The door sound hollow and amplify everything that hits the wheel well. I am glad it is only a lease. If I had purchased it out right it would be back on the lot as an expensive mistake.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

February 12 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Road handling, Performance

Cons

Price, Very expensive options

Overall

I bought the SUV 6 weeks ago with the offroad package and many other EXPENSIVE options. I have been extremely pleased with the way it performs both on and offroad so far.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

January 29 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Great Performance,smooth transmission, comfort,classy sporty looks!

Cons

Mercedes needs to offer more options as Standard

Overall

I don't understand reviews where people complain about the transmission on this vehicle!! If you know how to drive this is the best transmission ever!! Just don't jump back and forth on the gas in slow traffic!! Drive steady. I have had this vehicle for a year and not one problem!! I had a 2003 E500 before and this car is a much improved vehicle than the previous. This SUV is like a rocket!! The gas mileage is good on the highway but is not good around town (like most). I think its the best SUV out there!!

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

January 26 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

New body style

Cons

Pricey options, roofline too low, bad transmission

Overall

This vehicle is a lemon. The 7 spd. automatic transmission is a piece of junk. I have a problem with it shifting too hard or sometimes not shifting at all. Check engine light comes on and off due to the wrong cylinder head installed during assembly.

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

January 24 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

Beautiful and great peroforming vehicle for a reasonable price!

Cons

Suede seats!

Overall

My husband buys me a new mercedes every year and this is an awesome car. It is quiet and very smooth. I have a child and therefore I don't really care for the seats, but I just cover them. The car is very heavy for safety reasons and considering I think it gets excellent gas mileage, better than the later models. You won't be disappointed!

2006 Mercedes-Benz M-Class review

Date

January 16 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Pros

SOOOO much better than my old '02 ML500. Great ride, load it up with options

Cons

MB has to change how the fog lights work. They need to be able to come in auto mode!

Overall

My car is loaded up with every option but one at the time of production. You have to get the NAV, Ipod, Xeon headlamps, and the Adjustable suspension system. Dont let people tel you otherwise.. The 350 is no 500! Great power in the 302 horses and very nice interior space. I am 6'7" and fit! No way I can in the X5 or the Lexus, no headroom in the BMW at all. They should however make a few minor changes and they may sound petty to the none owner. The ipod display should come up on the main screen and not just the display in front of the driver. Also, they have got to fix the fact that if you want the fog lamps on you have to turn the light switch to full on manually and take it off the oauto feature. Then when you get out of the car and it beeps at you telling you not to forget the key every time you get out.. you leave the lights on because you are immune to the beeping sounds. My Chrysler has it where when the lights are in the auto mode.. and they kick on.. the fog lamps can kick on as well at the same time. Perfect!

Mercedes-Benz M-Class 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph