FastCarsWiki.com

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

February 15 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Good road car

Cons

Plastic gas tank leaked. Very expensive $$$$ Transmission Electic box use to change gears needed to be replaced, also very expensive. $$$$

Overall

Not quite the high quality it is tauted to be

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

December 1 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Very fast and very classy.....the E55 is a wolf in sheep's clothing. Absolute pleasure for long road trips or grinding through traffic. Mine is my daily driver and I've put 38k miles on it in1.25 year! Love this car!

Cons

I love everything about this car. Some might complain about the gas mileage or tire usage

Overall

Just know the history and know what you are getting. These cars require much and regular preventive maint and some early owners choose to defer it to later time. Catching up on services due can be quite expensive. This car is an absolute pleasure to drive but it is not a Honda that will just run forever with no regard to service. I see so many jump in and then complain about the cost of ownership and fuel. Its a sports car dressed as a sedan. You can save much by going to a good independent mechanic you do not need to go to the dealership for service as its much to expensive.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

October 10 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

I got mine new 6 years ago. Excellent performance. Luxury and stylish.

Cons

Expensive, but worth the money.

Overall

Perfect combination.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

October 4 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Beauty and performance

Cons

What's to dislike?

Overall

Love the power-look.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

September 13 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

This car is solid on the road. Brakes and acceleration are fast and strong but the engine is loud

Cons

The engine is a little louder than other vehicles

Overall

Great vehicle, definately a Mercedes Benz.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

September 11 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

The best combination of luxury and performance.

Cons

cup holder break easily.

Overall

Awesome car ! I love it !

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

June 7 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

fun and comfortable

Cons

none so far

Overall

great car for everyone

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

May 22 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Very fast, stops fast, build quality

Cons

solid but not nimble handling.

Overall

* see above. Bought used with 50k miles, need rear brakes now, all expensive but its. Benz, was never cheap to begin with. No one on the road will mess with you once they see the AMG badge on the rear, if foolish enough tto challenge you, drop a gear or two and they usually disappear in the rear view. In essense, this amazing car suffers from a delusion, it runs like nd thinks its a 2 door Corvette, but in reality its a 4 door sedan, brutally fast when you want, settled and poised with elegance when you don't. I call mine, "the Brute in a Suit" A pro bodubuilder in an Armani suit. All ratings are 5, value is 4.5, you get hat you paid for, an affordable super car.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

May 16 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Torque-On-Demand.

Cons

Tough on the rear tires. :-)

Overall

Faster than almost anything else on the road, yet stealthily disguised as a family sedan to avoid tickets and/or jailtime. Infinitely classier than a Mustang or Corvette, while not quite as loudly shouting "Mid-Life Crisis". Be sure to budget well for maintenance, and a lot of rear tires.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

August 27 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Super power and handling in a quiet, roomy wagon

Cons

Ride is rough with low-profile high-speed tires

Overall

Bought on ebay! 3 yrs, zero problems, but I only put on about 8K miles. No other wagon comes close (Dodge Magnum?). 21mpg hwy with 600 lb load in back, over Donner Pass, not going slow. Wish I could have had light color, but the A/C is ferocious. Probably it would ride a lot nicer with 16" wheels and fat tires. Do NOT buy the nav pkg. Their maps are utterly terrible.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

April 12 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

great handling, spoils you with performance

Cons

repairs are too expensive and inevitable

Overall

I used to love my 2006 E500 but I'm becoming disillusioned because of the price of repairs and maintenance. Ball joints problems a year ago. Oil gasket leaking now (thank goodness I had an extended warranty, would've costed $680 on top of the F service $425 and the one-time transmission service $465). Average service is around $450. Spark plugs need to be replaced ($450) at my next service. I feel safe in the car and it definitely is a great car but at what price? I thought I was buying my last car but at this rate I could have purchased two more and had them still under warranty. I might have to let it go.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

March 2 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

The performance of the E-350 is excellent! The handling, acceleration and braking are incredible.

Cons

The road noise is a bit too much for my liking, the tires could be the answer, they are not original equipment.

Overall

I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a performance sedan with super safety. Almost the whole car is steel!!!!

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

February 6 2011

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Overall

has just as much power as the v8.......it moves out like a sports car and put together very strong...

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

January 19 2010

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

The car combines luxury and speed. It has just about anything you would want in a car.

Cons

The onnly thing i dislike is the cost of upkeep.

Overall

I love my car!

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

December 2 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

performance, finish, luxury

Cons

expensive

Overall

excelent car

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

October 27 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Drives great, especially when driving on the freeway. Very quick, goes to excessive speeds without even realizing it.

Cons

Only one thing, not a lot of leg room in the back seat for a larger person. I have to move my drivers seat to an uncomfortable position so they can be.

Overall

Great car, would recommend anyone who is shopping a used mercedes. Besides the lack of room in the back, it's perfect.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

August 19 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Fuel Economy, Looks, Ride, Comfort

Cons

Expensive to have dealer to do service work

Overall

I just purchased my 2006, E320 CDI with 41000 miles on the odometer. I replaced the tires $320.00. I had my local dealer (Aristocrat Motors) catch the service work up on the car (oil change and filter, cabin filter, air filter, transmission fluid change and filter, brake fluid change, lube and clean the sunroof track, and a multipoint inspection) $850.00 OUCH!! I will be doing the service work myself in the future. With that said, I purchased the car in Carrollton, TX and drove it back home to MO. I must say that the car rode and drove beautifully. The fuel economy was spectacular (topped 39 MPG from OKC OK to KC KS)!! The power is great too! I love being able to here the engine at lower speeds; at highway speeds you cannot tell the car is diesel powered. The electronics took a while to figure out, but this is my first car with so many electronic features. The seats are very comfortable as well. I am glad I purchased this car well worth the $26000.00 price I paid for the car. I will definitely purchase another to replace my VW Jetta TDI when it is time.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

November 18 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Just bought this car! I haven't enjoyed driving this much since I was a teenager.

Cons

none

Overall

Buy this car!

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

July 8 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

It drives beautifully, and gets fabulous gas mileage. It is a joy!

Cons

There is nothing I dislike, except the ad valorem taxes in Georgia.

Overall

Buy this car; you will not be disappointed.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

May 26 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

gas milege ,I get over 30 in the city ,39 on the highway, its very quiet,love all the options

Cons

nothing

Overall

I'd own one of these cars for the rest of my life

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

May 20 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Makes driving other cars seem like driving a wagon

Cons

Wish it had a GPS or a reasonable way to hook one up. Also would like a multiple CD changer.

Overall

The AM radio does not pick up stations as well as it should.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

May 18 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

cornering at high speeds; grea fuel efficiency; best car I have ever driven; greta limbar support;

Cons

expense of maintenance, even so it has 13 thou miles interval;

Overall

great car

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

April 11 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

very good handling, but i don't care for the conti-track a/s Continental tires the dealership put on the rims. i would say great handling if not for the tires... will be replacing soon with bridgestone potenza re960as pp tires within the week. acceleration is robust, especially when coming out of a corner. the 7 speed transmission in comfort mode is barely, if not undetectable, when shifting. However, i prefer sports mode in city driving even though the shifts can be felt. In sports mode, i feel more connected to the road. the seats are firm and supportive. the heating and air controls are excellent and easy to use and do not distract from one's sole purpose, driving.

Cons

i did not like the navigation/ GPS due to screen size, functions seem outdated versus my less expensive vehicles. the optional air suspension (airmatic) was not even detectable when i put it in sports 2 mode. the xenon adaptive headlights didn't really seem to illuminate the corners... these were expensive options on this vehicle. as stated earlier, not crazy about the tires. The body seems to lean a bit more going into corners and wish the suspension were tighter. however, the ride wouldn't be as supple, so i can't really put this as a negative... other than these minor complaints, the Pros certainly outweigh any cons i might have with this car...

Overall

I recently bought this car, certified pre owned from mercedes ... best experience i've had in any dealership, atlanta classic cars in Duluth, GA. This is the first car i've bought used and will most certainly do it again. I saved a ton of money, half the original cost, and the it came with the appearance package. For a two year vehicle and 38K miles, if feels new and would never guess it was pre owned.. exceptional car. i had some minor issues with a steering column bushings and it was taken care of promptly by the dealership. other than that, the car drives beautifully. IF your in the market for a new car, take a look at a certified pre owned mercedes first, you can purchase a 2006 E series cheaper than a maxima, and similar pricing to a fully optioned Honda Accord, which car would you rather be in or be seen in? Anyway, the Car runs great and will buy another certified pre owned mercedes in three years...

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

March 22 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

Stylish, but not overbearing. Great acceleration. Super comfortable. Joy to drive.

Cons

Nothing specific.

Overall

Will buy again.

2006 Mercedes-Benz E-Class review

Date

January 7 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Pros

A good value - drives very well; great handling. Good looking and a great ride.

Cons

The 5 speed automatic is OK with 4matic; would love to have the 7. Needs headlight wipers standard.

Overall

A great car - not too flashy for a $55 plus luxury car.

Mercedes-Benz E-Class 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph