FastCarsWiki.com

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

March 6 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Straight Sexy, Stylish and Rich

Cons

Dont buy if you are worried aobut gas & M per G

Overall

this car make me feel Rich, Powerful, and Sexy!!! It's in a class by it self!! If you cant afford it dont buy it. I love the Instant Incredible Power on demand.... Nothing but Luxuary S500 combined with the E550 and the SLR sport Roled into 1!! Combined with my rich looking jewelry and fine clothes no one really knows how much money I don't have!!! LoL i Lov e It!!

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

November 7 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

In one word. A piece of diamond.

Cons

Nothing so far.

Overall

Have driven all type of Mercedes but AMGs. The CLS is the perfect combination of luxury and sport performance. You can choose it to be calm and gentle or be aggresive like a tiger. Am so happy to own it. An incredible driving experience.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

July 28 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

performance, comfort, handling, mileage, styling

Cons

seats 4

Overall

This is my second CLS but first with the performance package. What a blast to drive, how a 2 ton vehicle can move this well can only be a Mercedes product. Great styling, interior comfort with the dynamic seats cannot compare to any previous vehicle. Purchased this off the lease as could not bear to give it back and as can be seen by the date of this review, I've got a bit of experience with this car. My only objection is that I sometimes need to carry 5 people, so the new one is an S63, but this is my go to car for everyday. Last note is I'm actually getting over 20 mpg in the 500+ HP beast.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

October 10 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Overall

Everything with the car is great, except the handling. Ever since i bought the car, the alogment seems to be off. It has been pulling to the right since i bought the car, I had to take it to the dealer twice before they finally agreed to do an alligment, At first, they claimed it was normal for the car to pull to right, which doesn't sense to me. So i took it the second time and they finally did the alligment. However, even after the alligment the car pulls to the right. I don't know if its just my car, or the car's handling is made with a defect.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

January 20 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

The styling, handling, comfort of ride. Has plenty of power to get you where you need to go. After purchasing, we drove it 700 miles back to our home. It was a pleasure to drive and the seating is awsome.

Cons

None at this time.

Overall

Mercedes has hit a home run with this one!

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

December 22 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

So beautiful! Love the way the engine purrs. It caught my eye last year and I had to get one. Previous jaguar owner, never again. Mercedes is the best car I've ever had. A real driver.

Cons

Seats could be a little more comfortable.

Overall

I think it's the most beautiful car on the road. A head turner. Love driving it, a very personal car.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

September 25 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Excellent body styling. Sure head-turner.

Cons

Beverages in cupholders obstruct gear shift knob.

Overall

The most stylish, elegant, well-mannered beast on the American freeway. Pick a point, any location on the freeway, and it'll take you there smoothly, effortlessly.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

August 11 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Styling, power, elegance, trunk space.

Cons

cupholders, navigation.

Overall

I've had my White 2008 CLS63 AMG since 7/24/2007. I still look forward to driving it every single day. I get depressed in the winter because I can not drive it. It is the best car I have ever owned. I still get complements all the time. I always have it in Sports Mode to get all the power and the full 507 ponies. Even when I am driving 70mph on the freeway and press on the gas, it lowers to 4th gear and takes off like no other car I've had. I wish they do not change the design, ever! I just do not know how they can make it look better and sexier. The only problem I have, cupholders. Too small and misplaced. Large drinks get in the way when trying to shift gears. Now I order medium or small drinks. I will not let cupholder get in the way because this is truly my dream car. Overall, never had problems (knock on wood). I take care of it and it takes care of me. I can really say that Mercedes is the best car company out there. When driving my Mercedes, it makes me forget the whole world.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

July 20 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Fast, Great Handling, comfortable, cooled seats good in summer,

Cons

top speed limited to 145 mph

Overall

This car is great. it is the sportiest mercedes i have ever driven. it is so much fun

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

May 20 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

The most beautiful 4 door hands down. Quite inside and nice control layout.

Cons

Drinks gas at alarming rate- 11.7 MPG! Unreliable from day one. Rough ride with SP1 pkg.

Overall

To be fair, this car deserves a star for its looks alone. As I did, many people will buy it because it looks great, like a superstar in an Armani suit. However, good looks are only skin deep. Besides being a quite and smooth higway cruiser with lots of power and good brakes... everything else about this car is annoying. On my 8th or 9th day of ownership, the A/C controls went out on the blink, spewing hot air on a hot day. The dealer fixed the car in less than 3 hours- the time it took to drive home the loaner and come back after some shopping. A week later the engine light came on. It was towed away because after I parked it, it wouldn't start. Dealer dropped off a loaner and 2 days later I had my car back. The dealer also noted adding 2 extra quarts of oil in 2000 miles. Of course the gas mileage has not gotten any better after 6 months time now. I only get 11-12 mpg! This is a total let down as the EPA ratings were 15/19 so I don't even get close to that. Also along the way, the key fob was replaced. The passenger door lock was repaired. The navigation system was replaced and the ABS brake sensors were replaced. When it comes to safety, that's unacceptable. Mercedes you lost a new customer.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

April 7 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Fuel for this CLS 550 is about average and the GPS is great.

Cons

The ride is a smooth.

Overall

O8 CLS 550 MERCEDES-BENZ makes a statement where ever it goes Because its stylish,luxury,excellent in apperence.I call it the stallion because of the way its built,strong,powerfuly looking and love to run.All I can say about the CLS 550 is that it is a awsome car. And I am planing on keeping it for a long time .

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

April 6 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Plenty of power, great sorround sound.

Cons

not able to rotate tires due to size difference front and back

Overall

Great car except for side view mirrors too small, must change that for better visibility. Also front cup holders in the way, and chrome ring falls out.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

March 16 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Love the appearance - inside and out. Handles very well - great acceleration - awesome features. I added the headrest DVD system, has iPhone bluetooth integration

Cons

Nothing yet

Overall

Have owned Jaguar, Infinity and Lexus and thought Lexus was tops until we purchased the Mercedes CLS5500.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

February 16 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Impeccable styling. This car makes people drool. The workmanship on this car is fantastic. Acceleration is awesome. It is like owning a portable roller coaster. Handling is superb even in dicey weather conditions. My favorite car in 25 years of driving.

Cons

The price is an obvious con. Back seat is a bit cramped if you are taller than six feet. Some limited blind spots due to extreme slope of rear line.

Overall

This is a great car. I never grow tired of driving it. It is comfortable to drive both long and short distances. Bluetooth phone integration is top notch as it downloads your phone book into COMAND. iPod integration is great and can also be controlled with COMAND. The adaptable 7-speed transmission is an incredible piece of engineering. You are never far from staying in the power band. Just add foot! City mileage could be better however, I am sure other V-8 equipped cars have similar performance. This car is the shape of things to come at M-B.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

January 28 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

i love everything!!!! this is by far the best car that i've owned. im usually a vette guy i've had 3 of them so as far as the need for speed i have it & so does this car.

Cons

just one thing.... the price but you get what you pay for

Overall

great car i love it and love the way the lights & car glows at night

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

December 13 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Solid and stable. Excellent suspension. Feels and handles very safe.

Cons

None yet.

Overall

Excellent.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

December 5 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

great stlying/ very quick/love to drive this car.

Cons

NOT FOR TALL OR LARGE PEOPLE.GPS NOT USER FRIENDLY

Overall

I LOVE THIS CAR ,I ALSO HAVE A LARGER SEDAN I WAS GOING TO BUY A VETTE. BUT AT 58, THIS MAKES MORE SENSE!HA.HA. love the looks HANDLES AND RIDES GREAT PRATCIAL NOT REALY BUT THE CAR TURNS ME ON NAD I CAN WAIT TO DRIVE IT DOES YOUR CAR TURN YOU ON LIFE IS SHORT

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

November 12 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Looks, finish, feel, the list can go on and on and on...

Cons

cup holders misplaced.

Overall

Its time for the 4 month review of my '08 CLS63 AMG. It has been a pleasure to own. I had to keep it under 85mph for the first 1000mi. This is truley the best car I have ever owned. Keep in mind I owned an '06 CLS500, BMW 7Series, X5.... I do not see myself trading it ever. Well maybe if they never change the body style. But Mercedes shouldn't mess with this car for at least another 5 years. This beast just gets better with every mile. I have never looked back and regret buying it, even though I wasn't sure the difference between this AMG and CLS500. It is totally a different beast. It is a head turner wherever I go, and still get compliments all the time. When I press the sports button, it unleashes all those 507 ponies and sounds perfect. The only problem I have are the cupholders. To me, they are misplaced. They get in the way and are too high. But still, if all my problems were like this one, I'd be the happiest person on earth. Can't let cupholders get in the way of an AMG. Again, I highly recommend this car, if you are willing to spend $100K+. I am still looking for someone to race. I am talking about someone with an AMG, not mustangs and the like.... The funniest thing, a guy in a hyundai tried to race me. I just laughed and made a right turn. I can truley say that Mercedes is on another level and the rest are a distant 2nd.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

October 15 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Above average engine, above average handling, above average luxury

Cons

Way-too expensive

Overall

I must say, the CLS63 AMG is one of the best built luxury-performance vehicles to hit the streets. No other sedan has over 500 hp, more power than a Ferrari F430! And the 0-60 is just as incredible as the engine. Plus the CLS is the first four-door coupe in it's class! And the luxury is fine; anyone can fall in love with it! The only problem I find with the CLS is it's pricd a little too high for any ordinary person to buy. And the you'll have a really hard time dealing with the insurance. But not even the worst lows of the CLS can bring down it's trown as king of luxury performance cars! Everyone wishes they can have this sweetheart in their driveway!

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

October 5 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

This is a MAN Car!

Cons

My wife looks better in it than I do.

Overall

I've had my 2008 CLS550 since Aug., and I think it is a beast. It is very well mannered in every day traffic, but as soon as that 20 something year old pulls up next to you in his Subaru, Honda, Nissan, tuned up what-ever, you can teach him a real lesson in power. Having the ability to go 0 to 100 and actually doing it, are two different things. The CLS550 gives you all of the confidence in the world to lay waste to those young men. And that's with MY WIFE driving!

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

October 2 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Exceptional styling, great performance. Comfortable space for a couple of adults or kids car-seats i

Cons

Cup holders with water bottle get in the way of the gear shift and NAV controls and not much room fo

Overall

Love the looks, love the drive. Exceptional styling, fun to drive. This is the best looking 4 door coupe. Great head-turner, gets preferred parking in front of the hotels and restaurants entrances. Comfortable space for a couple of adults or kids car-seats in the back seat. Very comfortable hugging seats. Never had any problems. Cup holders with water bottle get in the way of the gear shift and NAV controls and not much room for side storage in the door, but overall interior is beautiful. You could blow out the low profie tires by hitting pot holes. I would recommend getting the insurance it is worth the money. This is my 5th Benz, and the best! I had a E500 sport before this. I have had my CLS550 for a year now, and I love it.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

September 23 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

It has everything that I love in an automobile,luxurios,sporty,fast,great handling,very comfortable,eye catching design,excellant fit and finish in and out. I am very happy with the purchase of this machine.

Cons

Big bucks, but I feel that way about all autos.

Overall

If not convinced by the review, take one for a test ride.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

September 20 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

GOOD RIDE, ESPECIALLY WITH SPORT SUSP ON.

Cons

GEARS SHIFTS ARE A BIT JERKY.

Overall

OVERALL, THIS CAR TURNED OUT TO BE BETTER THAN I EXPECTED. FUN TO DRIVE, ENOUGH POWER. NAVIGATION IS A BIT TROUBLESOME TO USE, ONLY GIVES RANGES OF ADDRESS INSTEAD OF ACTUAL STREET NUMBERS. I HAD TO CHANGE OUT THE REAR TIRE AND FOUND THAT ONLY MERCEDEZ DEALERS HAD THIS TIRE AND COULDNT HAVE THE MICHELIN TIRE REPLACED OUTSIDE. ASIDE FROM THAT, THIS IS A TREAT TO OWN.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

August 24 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Beautiful car to look at and to drive.

Cons

Did have trouble with the CD player but was promply repaired.

Overall

This car is an absolutely wonderful driving machine. I plan to keep it for the long haul.

2008 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

August 6 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Beautiful, Just Beautiful!!!

Cons

Can't complain

Overall

10 days ago, I bought a gorgeous 2008 white CLS63 AMG. By the way, my trade in was a CLS500. The AMG is a total different beast. It is like no other car I have ever owned before. Its sexy, powerfull 507 hp. Step on the gas and its very satisfying. More satisfying than sex! The seats are very comfortable. Never sat in the back. Never will because I want to be driving this baby all the time. This is my first AMG, and I absolutely love it. Forget all the M's from BMW. The CLS63 looks way better and has more ponies than an M5

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph