FastCarsWiki.com

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

December 6 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

SUPER VEHICLE!!!

Cons

Braking can feel a little weired from time to time.

Overall

Love the style, handling and acceleration. Would recommend to anyone looking for a full-size sport sedan.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

October 14 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Handeling look everything what is not to love about this four door coupe.

Cons

nothing 0.

Overall

pros evreything cons nothing

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

August 7 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Holy Toledo, so glad I clciekd on this site first!

Cons

Holy Toledo, so glad I clciekd on this site first!

Overall

Holy Toledo, so glad I clciekd on this site first!

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

December 2 2010

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

looks,performance,comfort, best car I ever owned

Cons

poor vision from side paddyview mirrors

Overall

great automobile

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

August 3 2009

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

The styling is what drew me to this car, which I bought new. It truly is a great car to drive.

Cons

Make sure you do your homework on this one with respect to service bulletins etc. My vehicle, within the first 18 months of owning it, had numerous transmission issues (including hard shifting), brake issues (which occurrs to this day with no resolution), the COMMAND center dropping out, stability control issues, mold smell from the compressor...and the list goes on. Some of the problems I mention are still occurring. The brake issue by far is the most annoying. I've complained about brake noise since 7K miles (car now has 54K miles on it). Nobody can figure out what this issue is as it only comes from the right front wheel (even when the brakes are new and the TSB has been satisfied).

Overall

Beautiful car; spotty reliability. I've talked to a bunch of owners who have experienced the issues I have except that they didn't realize some of these things were issues. I wanted to make sure it just wasn't me alone experiencing some of this stuff.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

October 18 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Copious amount of low end torque from the AMG tuned engine. Distinctive body styling. Spacious trunk. Decent surround sound system from Harman Kardon. Ability to lower/raise the suspension for sport i/ii or comfort. Good turning radius for a huge car.

Cons

The command UI can be confusing at first but you get a hang of it. Road feel from the steering is somewhat muted. Huge car. 19-22 combined city/highway MPG.

Overall

Great car. You just don't see them often. A future classic. I like its angry headlights, its nice rear end plus its 4-door, which makes it stealthy. Mine came in obsidian black.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

March 12 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

the look is outstanding.........

Cons

site is a minor problem........ie backing up at time

Overall

great driving car

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

March 1 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Comfortable, drive smoothly, excellent appearance and speed!

Cons

Poor fuel....

Overall

Overall, I still enjoy CLS500 very much. I hardly recommend!!!

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

January 28 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Luxury along comfort,sport and speed.

Cons

retro mirrors placed in an angle some dangerous

Overall

I love it !

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

January 13 2008

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Excellent handling Excellent braking Styled and quality interior Outrageous performance Suspension is the best...Airmatic

Cons

What is not like? Sure the rear may not be made for big people, but you know that before buying it. The car is not made for really big or tall people. I offer a note to some that give "bad" reports on cars. Test drive it, test drive it more than once, look into costs of EVERYTHING on the vehicle, so you know what you are getting into before you buy it.

Overall

The CLS is an excellent experience to drive. The interior is of high quality and detail, the exterior is a work of art. Hands down eye catcher, and gets comments. All I can say is stick to your service schedule, you should be fine. Performance, stability, braking, are all of high quality and works together to provide an ultimate drivnig experience. A helpful hint: Use K&N air and oil filters. Saves a lot of money on getting your service done.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

August 8 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

It's a eye catcher. it's very different from any other car on the rode as far as looks.

Cons

There's a defect with the rims and or tires. i had to replace at least 10 tires since i owned this car. Also I had to buy 1 rim and get 3 fix. Which isn't cheap

Overall

I really like the looks of this car but wouldn't dream of keeping it. I think i'm going to try the BMW 650 convert.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

April 8 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Love the styling, performance, driving, interior appointments. Pretty much everything about the car. This is the ultimate dream car. You will get looks of envy everywhere you go, especially when it is parked at the local strip mall.

Cons

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

Overall

I've always been hesitant in owning a Mercedes because I thought they were for old folks. Man, this car is absolutely awsome. Driving home from work and getting a massage; need I say more. All I can say is this vehicle is very very fast. If you have the pleasure of coming across one, buy it. You won't regret it. I bought mine 5 minutes after I saw it on the lot. It happened to be Roger Penske's personally built CLS55 AMG. This car is decked out with all the bells and whistle, and then some. Only one like it. It is said that the old man even tuned it out. Wow.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

March 27 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

It is the best car i have owned.it is comfortable and luxurious.the GPS system is very good.

Overall

In short this the bes car i have owned.this the third Mercedes Benz i am owning

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

March 26 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Overall

INREDIBLE CAR thats irresistable , when i see it i feel some thing strange and great at the same time i belive its the best over the world

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

March 20 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Bought the Launch Edition (Y86 package) as soon as I saw it at the dealer. Had been planning on buying a BMW6...Ci, but it was an easy decision to buy the CLS after a test drive. The CLS is just a “sharper” car inside and out Great handling, beautiful features, and a real head turner. Styling shape interior wow factor, gas mileage for the engine size is fair, but it doesn’t matter, I bought it for its looks, comfort of the driver passenger and it turned out to be a great handling car to drive. The adjustable suspension is terrific is lets you have “sport mode” with out always having “sport mode” it floats, Rear seat room is meager for long trips, but comfortable on local trips.

Cons

Audio isn't great, sometimes the sub rattles, but pretty darn good. visibility and visibility& side view mirror placement. Every thing cost a lot! $400 for a bluetooth?

Overall

I was not a M-B man, an "old man’s car" you know, but this one… It has luxury, performance, style and class! This car beat out Audi A8, BMW650Ci, BMW750, all great cars. This car handled as well as the BMWs I test drove. It had the luxury of M-B, driving experience BMW and style, and more style. What a car!

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

January 30 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

It looks good and is very fast.

Cons

The AMG wheels are made of soft aluminum and are paper thin. I have had six bent rims in the first 11,000 miles which had to be replaced at $1100 each. The wheels and tires are completely unsuitable to normal driving conditions. Mercedes does not warrant the rims, and refuses to acknowledge a defect. My dealer sold me rim and tire insurance that only covers the rims if they are cracked, but not if they are bent. There have been other complaints to the National Highway Safety Board regarding the same problem. One owner reported nine bent rims and two sets of tires in the first 11,000 miles!

Overall

The car is a good looker, but the rim and tire defect should take it off your list.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

January 17 2007

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Good Looks

Cons

lousy car for the Northeast. tires and wheels do not hold up

Overall

This is the perfect car for the person who does't mind sitting on the side of the road waiting for AAA or Mercedes road side assistance. I've owned 5 Mercedes and this is the worst one by far. I'm fighting with the dealer to take it back. 25000 mi in two years and I've gone through 13 tires and 6 wheels. It is not a car for the Northeast. I drive only in NJ and NY and owning this car has been a miserable experience.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

December 8 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

The style and look of the car makes it worth every penny. Performance is amazing.

Cons

I wasn't impress with the navigation and instrument panel. Bad fuel economy.

Overall

I test drove the 5 series and 7 series and wasn't impress. I suggest getting the AMG appearance package which includes chrome rims.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

September 11 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

styling shape interior wow factor gas milage for the engine size is excellent and somehting i didnt even look at when i bought the car confort of the driver and passenger is excellent let the people in the rear suffer( no head room or leg space) works fine for the kids though

Cons

multiple elctronic defects malfunctions gps system is lousy my house about 25 years old is not on the map toyota's is much better climate control on auto has to be adjusted maually for fan speed visbility of the dirver is very poor almost had two accidents moving in to the right lane very large blind spot

Overall

nothing but problems, anyoying thing on this car have owned it since january (9 months)~ 9500 miles been back to mb 8 times so far 1 the gps, navigation and stereo just shut off and would turn it self back on after about 20 min( they changed a connector 2 same problem they uploaded a new version of the software 3 same problem they replaced the unit completely (has worked fine since then 4 repalce two rims (they made me pay for those i took pictures with me to no avail)that got bent when i hit the 1 inch lip at the end of my drive way @ 45 miles per hour 5 drivers side seat belt would not come out it was locked retracted concern about the transmission not working right press on the gas rpm build up buthte car just cruises along with out acelerating (was told that i probably hit the gear shift lever with my hand) 6 the suplimnetal restrain system malfunctioned 7 the cd changer stopped working (back ordered)still same issue with the trans ect ect out of room

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

August 12 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Great performance and very good looking sports coupe

Cons

entry to rear seats is somewhat awkward, but still has a lot of room

Overall

This is by far the best mercedes ever built for the money. This is my first Mercedes and it lives up to my expectations.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

August 1 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

great looks, nice interior design, easy to customize

Cons

steering wheel vibrates and has a shimmy, tight space, the fastest depreciating car I ever bought,

Overall

I had the car for four months, 2,000 miles. The car has a bad vibration between 50 to 80 MPH. The dealer has changed the tires 3 times, the rims once, the rottors, balanced and aligned tires, adjusted the exhaust and motor mounts, examined the drive shaft alignment. The car still has a prominent shimmy that can't be fixed. I love the looks of the car, but will never buy another MB, the dealer now maintains that there is nothing wrong with the car and walking away from the problem. I cannot wait to fix my big mistake by buying a Japanese car i.e Lexus, where the customer matters and customer satisfaction is #1.

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

July 30 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Excellent handling, appearance and style is superb!

Cons

Front air dam is too low. Easily scraped on curbs when parking, especially by valets.

Overall

Car is an excellent vehicle overall, but I've had the front air dam painted three times due to scraping on curbs while parking, usually a problem with valets. Paint not only scraps, but chips too due to the rather flimsy plastic that makes up the dam. Transmission is real clunky, especially when going up hills. Not a deal breaker - more of a disappointment for a car this price range. MB needs to address this in future models. Navigation system/clock/radio is rather confusing to operate. Some of the controls are buttons on the steering wheel, some controls are on the navigation unit itself. Changing the time alone confused the dealership personel. Took me a hour or so to figure it out when I got home. Other than these issues, the car has been a dream. Great styling, engine performs well, real head turner. Just don't let anyone look under the front end to see your scraped up air dam (it WILL be scaped up, believe me!).

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

July 20 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Brought it home in Jan2006 Drop dead Gorgeous curvy and sexy Capriblue.

Cons

The TURN signal leaver and The Cruise control leaver is far too close to each other.

Overall

I suggest The Cruise Control Leaver be moved to the RIGHT side of the Steering Wheel. Cruise Control gets in the way when using the Turn Signal. Accidentally hit the Cruise Control when attempting to use the Turn Signal. So got to be Careful on this. Who needs a cruise control in this car anyway ... this car needs to be driven not cruise in :) Other than the above all else is absolutely FANTASTIC. No problems so far what so ever. Rides like silk. looks like Venus the goddess of love :) what a car !!! no car on the road has this look ... well maybe the Bently Contnental 4 door. But who can afford that. I just love every aspect of this .... don't change NOTHING .... Well that is except to move the cruise to the RIGHT !!! Well a Manual Shift with ALL wheel drive would be the Ultimate Drive in this car. I was before a BMW owner and it was great too. The LOOK on this car is what made me Change to a benz ..... Love it :)

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

July 14 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Styling

Cons

Rearward visibility & side view mirror placement

Overall

I bought it for its looks, and it turned out to be a great handling car to drive. The adjustable suspension is terrific. Believe it or not, with air conditioning on and cruising at fast freeway speeds, I have gotten as much as 27 MPG!

2006 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class review

Date

July 13 2006

Model

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class

Pros

Great design.

Cons

All models should have Xenon lights...

Overall

A great car. Needs help with phone/radio function big time! Command Center could use larger screen. The car receives very positive comments from strangers...Warranty needs help....Hard to find tires sizes. Rear view mirrors block visability.

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph