FastCarsWiki.com

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

March 14 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Love the smooth ride.

Cons

Minor dash rattle.

Overall

Still looks and smells new after 15 months/ 11,000 miles. Great service from the dealer.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

January 30 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Looks, Speed, Feel,

Cons

position of the ignition, and seat belts

Overall

LOVE THIS CAR! More of a head turner than my previous 05e350. This car is fast, looks good, and is just plain fun to drive...

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

January 16 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Looks, comfort, quiet, mileage

Cons

Rear leg room is minimal for adults.

Overall

Took delivery at the factory in Stuttgart then headed out for 2 weeks in Germany, Austria, and Italy. Magnificent experience and Mercedes does it very, very, well. Car arrived stateside about 6 weeks after drop off and was delivered by the dealer just like a new car all over again. It is just a joy to drive and the mileage is as advertised. The 4 cyl turbo is excellent and has plenty of power. The car now has 6,200 trouble free miles on her. This is my second Mercedes with MB Tex. My Jag has leather but I would always opt for the MB Tex.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

January 15 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Good engine

Cons

most unreliable car I have ever driven

Overall

I had many cars in my life and I rented all one can wish to drive. MB used to build good cars, but I don't know what happened with them lately - basically, they started to manufacture bad vehicles... So here are my practical comments: 1. Appearance - it's ok, but curves and lines are way too girly for me... yet it might work for girls, so maybe MB simply didn't target it to men. But it's still 3 stars... I mean, park it in a mall's parking, go watch a movie and then try to find it... 2. Comfort - a decent place to be in a rush hour, but for this buck you want to get a) better quality materials (not cheap plastic on a dashboard) and b) at least some uniqueness - MB use almost same dashboard through entire model range, but this should be more of concern for CLS buyers. It would be also great if MB' designers would spend some time rethinking GUI. 3. Performance - this is not a muscle car, BUT! you would be surprised with efficiency of this engine. It rocks! Not too long though... (see p. 5.) 4. Value - It's a good car, but I think it should be a little bit cheaper. I mean - just open the hood... it's cheap! And it is overpriced, especially considering... (see p. 5.) 5. Reliability. Reliability? Reliability?!? OMG! Forget about it! During last half a year I drove probably 10 different MB's (all C-classes) - 100% of them had the same problem - transmission! These car can kill you! I mean it... If you drive in automatic mode in suburbia you are all fine. But if you will have some fun in sports mode - you will have yellow scary indicator and the car will NOT accelerate at all (for an hour or so, until transmission cools down)... I think it might be caused by some wicked mistake of engineers. It feels like a) there is something wrong with a computer and b) transmission oil circulation. I'm talking about all cars I drove. And don't get me wrong - I drove different cars... Its first rivals, like Lexus IS or BMW 3 don't have such problems if you drive them in the same manner... So, what's the problem I keep warning you about? Here is an example... Just a week ago, me and my friends had some fun (a minute or so) on an abandoned old road. Then I switched the transmission back from sports mode. Half an hour later we crossed a broken yellow line to bypass a guy who was doing some 35mph... So, apparently, I pushed the accelerator and crossed the line, but the car didn't go any faster at all... Engine had zero feedback... and of course in a second there was a truck moving in hour direction. Thanks God I didn't panic, because I already knew that MB's got a surprise for its C-class 2012 customers... But would happen if it was my first ride in such a 'car'?! Luckily there is a happy ending... The maneuver was masterfully handled, and we had to stop on a nearest gas station for a half an hour. The transmission cooled down, and it worked well until the end of the day. So my review - DO NOT buy it if you like to shift manually. P.S. All my friends who purchased late (2011-2012+) MB's spend most of their time in the service...

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

January 12 2013

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

I have owned a C250 coupe CDI for 3 months and clocked 3000 km so far. Acceleration to overtake is phenomenal with 500 Nm of torque on tap. I also enjoy the driver assist package which includes lane assist, distronic, and blind spot assist. They are not as gimmicky as I would think. The cornering bixenon lights are outstanding. The car is not as solid as the E class but that gives it more agility and so much fun to drive. The Harmon Kardon sounds great and nav system is good but could still use some improvement. Fuel economy is best in its class even with city driving ( my previous car was a Lexus IS250).

Cons

There is a small faint dash rattle which I will get it looked at soon. The sunroof cannot be opened without retracting the shade first. The Diesel engine is a little harsh when revved hard but probably not unexpected. The indicator and cruise control stalks are both on the left side and one could possibly be moved to the right side (for us right hand drivers). Voice command works but not 100%.

Overall

The negatives are minor as I love this car the more I drive it. In fact, I am still looking for excuses to take it out for a drive.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

December 18 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Sporty, really fun to drive. Good acceleration, yet great mileage

Cons

Turbo-lag is a little frustrating at low speeds.

Overall

I really love this car. Had a G35 and this little rocket runs every bit as well as the G and gets 27 mgp vs. 21. The ride is solid but not uncomfortable. I have put about 3500 miles so far and am very pleased. Was able to purchase a loaner that had 7000 miles, but it was certified, so got the 100,000 mile extended for a great price.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

December 8 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Handling Styling Comfort

Cons

Need to use premium gas (>91 octane) Front/Rear tires different in size (cannot rotate) Door pins (cheap looking)

Overall

Great car to drive on a daily long commute.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

December 1 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Great entry level intro to the Benz world

Cons

Gas mileage could be better

Overall

Would recommend this car and the 2 year lease is favorable.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

November 9 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

nice ride,handles great with the all-wheel drive, just a nice looking car

Cons

can't park it anywhere people want to door ding you

Overall

would buy this car again great price and the buffalo mercedes -benz dealer was wonderful to deal with.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

October 28 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

the radio

Cons

Most everything you can think of: vinly seats, hard to get in and out of front seats, The sports suspension is the worst car I've ever rode in. Full tank it fills like it has solid suspension ,no springs at all, 3/4 tank of fuel or less it bounces along like a slammed down honda civic rat rod. If you have neck or back or bladder problems do Not buy the Sports handling model . We made the $40K mistake in 2009 and its worth 23K with only 18000 miles on it. vin: 048463

Overall

On concrete roads the car will wear you out

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

October 28 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

thought it was pretty average nothing special for the money

Cons

overall apperance is not my style

Overall

Not really excited about the car at all . nothing jumped out at me to say I'm GREAT!!!!!!!!

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

October 21 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

We are living in Germany and picked it up from the factory, a very nice experience. It is a US spec car that will return to the states with us. I regularly drive the autobahn at 100+ MPH and the handling and performance are oustanding. I love the exterior styling. The adaptive Xenon headlights are great.

Cons

The interior is a bit busy for my tastes (its my wife's daily driver). There is no room whatsoever in the back seat, don't buy it if you want to haul four adults on trips. The placement of the turn signal and cruise control levers is horrible and not intuitive at all. I am constantly hitting the wrong one. Did they try the setup before it went into production? We just had 1 year service done and it was a bit pricey ($100+ for a cabin air filter change). The 4-matic drive brings down mileage a little but I feel beter knowing my wife has it when the weather is bad.

Overall

This has been a fun car to own. We have driven it throughout Europe and have had no problems; it is great for the higher speeds on European highways. We bought the sport model over the luxury model, much nicer looking, no hood emblem to have stolen!

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

October 20 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

I haved owned the 2012 Mercedes C250 Coupe for a year now love the styling, power, and handling of this car. Previously owned 2007 Lexus IS250, there is no comparison in these cars. I;m very happy with this Mercedes!! Great gas milage 28-30 MPG highway, 23-25 MPG in town.

Cons

None

Overall

Great car!

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

October 6 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Fit and finish and the quiet ride

Cons

the back seat leg room could be better as well as trunk space

Overall

I would purchase it again, nice car

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

September 16 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

I drive long distances to work and my 2012 C300 4Matic has been excellent in every respect and trouble free. Very comfortable, 27-28 mpg at 71 mph. I would highly recommend the car. Get the Harmon Kardon sound system....outstanding. Navagation system also excellent.

Cons

A bit more hp

Overall

The car is a very well designed, sold performer befitting the MB brand. I wanted a bit more power, so I just purchased a 2013 C350 4Matic. That car is excellent as well...and the 300+hp is great to have on tap. Mileage is 30 mpg+ at 71-72 highway. These are harder to find but worth the effort. My experience with all my C Class MB's has been perfect.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

August 26 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Really enjoy driving my C250. It has been my best car so far.

Cons

Nothing.

Overall

Love it, love it, love it.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

August 22 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Interior quality is great (I prefer it over the '12 3-series and A4), ride quality is firm in the Sport sedan but very well controlled, a great car to dive-bomb on-ramps and back roads, wind noise is minimal, love the sport steering wheel, love the lighting package w/active curve illumination, great value compared to BMW price-wise, looks fantastic in my eyes in sport configuration (Luxury version looks a little odd), at full throttle the V6 sings - but around town sounds a little thrummy.

Cons

18" AMG wheels w/Continental tires have been a pain to balance and do introduce noticeable (but subdued and tolerable) tire noise, Rear view camera is garbage...no guide lines, no radar distance, and the fish eye view is way too distorted (auto tilting side view is critical to parallel park since the camera is useless), Volvo maintenance plan is much better, Mercedes should go ahead and wrap maintenance into car cost...luxury buyers sort of expect it at this point. MBTex may feel nice, but seems to retain heat more than leather.

Overall

Wonderful car. My cons are really nit-picks, but I tried the Audi A4, BMW 3, Volvo S60, Buick Regal GS, Infiniti G... and I came back to the C-class for comfort, great cornering, rock solid build quality (I love closing the doors), and an all around competence going down the road. It's fun for attacking city corners and ramps, and very comfortable for long highway stretches. The 3-series is great as well, but easily cost $8k more configured the same. If you want a well built fun to drive compact for under 50k, this is a great option.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

August 19 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

I own a 2006 C55 AMG.Previously 550i from BMW. MB is a little harsh but the drive and handling is awesome.This car is all about driving and I mean real driving. It feels like it is on a track.It goes where you want it to go,It accelerates like it is in a hurry.

Cons

A little harsh.

Overall

Completely satisfied.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

August 6 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Good fuel economy and fun car !

Cons

No cons- I am very pleased.

Overall

I had an E320 before this car. I was in an accident and it was totaled. I knew I wanted another Mercedes Benz. I did my research and I compared the E350 with the C250, and found hte C250 had better gas mileage. I knew I wanted something sporty that would seat 5 people, get good gas mileage, and had enough space in the trunk for a wheel chair. I went to Park Place in Dallas, Tx and they found the perfect car for me. I am soo happy and feel soo blessed!

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

August 6 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Overall

I had an E320 before that was involved in an accident and totaled. I knew I wanted another Mercedes. I wanted the same great performance as before, but something sportier. I chose the C250 because the research showed it had great mileage in city and on highway, it gave me a sports car that seated 5 people, and had the trunk space needed for a wheelchair. I test drove it, and it was the perfect car for me! As I drive down the highway, I feel blessed!

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

July 28 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Everything

Cons

Nothing

Overall

This is my 2nd C300 Luxury 4Matic. For 2012 the interior has been completely updated and upgraded. Also, the ride is smooth and the handling is excellant.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

July 28 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Comfortable, excellent ride

Cons

I would prefer a heavier steering feel

Overall

I've had the car about two weeks and really like it. Fit, finish and quality on interior and exterior is impeccable. Daily drive is exceptional, quiet and smooth. The sound system is perfect. Back roads? Agile handling complemented by a smooth and responsive engine and transmission make curves and corners fun. The car I traded was a G35 and I do miss the tighter steering feel of that car. Just a preference not a complaint. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the car to anyone!

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

July 22 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

I have the c250 coupe and i have to say that this car is amazing. The 250 only having 4 cylinders may turn off some folks but the turbo really does add a lot of pep. The styling is great, we got the two tone ash gray and black interior which looks fantastic. The optional audio package looks and sound great.

Cons

the 250 only has 4 cylinders. if you can afford the C63 coupe get it. That thing is a BEAST. The only other thing that I wasn't completely blown away by was the responsiveness of the paddle shifters, which the salesman said shouldn't be slow. He recommended i see the maintenance team to check it out. Maybe i will re-review after having this looked at.

Overall

overall rating is 9 out of 10. A little extra power and more response from the paddles would give this thing a 10.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

July 14 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

handles nicely with quick acceleration. Like the rumble of the exhaust. Mileage is outstanding! I routinely get 30+ on the highway at about 5 - 10 mph above the speed limit. Braking is excellent. Overall styling is excellent.

Cons

Trunk is smallish making it difficult to hold a bag of golf clubs. Wish the seat belts were hooked to seat back so you didn't have to reach so far to grab it.

Overall

Excellent car at a great price. I was torn between G-37 coupe and the Mercedes. G-37 was a little cramped and I like the overall styling of the Mercedes better.

2012 Mercedes-Benz C-Class review

Date

July 14 2012

Model

Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Pros

Fun, responsive great mileage

Cons

Tires a bit noisy on certain roads

Overall

Great vehicle - responsive, fun, great Navigation/Sound system. Amazing gas mileage - 26mpg city, 36 highway.

Mercedes-Benz C-Class 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph