FastCarsWiki.com

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

May 13 2009

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

This car is drop-dead gorgeos. Despite awesome acceleration the ride is smooth and quiet which even allows listening to classical music. By far the best car I have ever driven.

Cons

The trunk is a bit small.

Overall

Awesome in appearance, performace and comfort

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

March 27 2009

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

Super sweet looks, great speed and handling, excelent iterior

Cons

No big ones

Overall

I love this car so much. It has incredible iterior for a sports car, and is so sporty. I make a 45 minute comute to work everyday, and i love driving this baby there. I have found nothing wrong with it so far, except for the fact that there is no ipod connecter like in my wifes mercedes S500

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

February 6 2009

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

sound of the engine, luxurious leather interior, excellent and original design by Pinnafarina...

Cons

a bit thirsty when driving around the city. no ipod hookup

Overall

this is one of the best GT in the market. great engine, great handling, exclusivity, beautiful design, and lots of interior room compared to other GTs. I drive it to work and the sound of the engine and the excellent handling makes it a joy to get up in the morning to drive to work. I can't wait to drive it everyday. I found the Sports mode to be adequate in the regular GT but for people who want a bit more speed and power the S version should be more than enough with 35 more hp.

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

September 28 2008

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

Overall well designed car. Handling is excellent and I like the fact that you can switch from auto to manual on the transmission. Interior is well designed and a very comfortable ride. Outside body lines are outstanding.

Cons

Only negative is we had to bring in for service because the hold latch cable came loose. The dealership repaired that day and gave me a nice loaner to drive.

Overall

I'm glad to see that Maserati is back in the US market again and hopefully they will continue to develop more exciting, trend forward cars. Female executives check it out!

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

September 14 2008

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

Great looks, adjustable suspensin that is always supple, gorgous interior, excellent egress

Overall

With a Ferrari designed motor and transmission the car performs exceptionally well. It handles a winding road sure footedly, somewhat like a cat with Velcro paws. The suspension is never harsh and does not intrude on the driver. The interior is a notch above other cars in this group in materials and comfort. This is a true GT car in which you can spend an entire day driving and emerge ready and eager to spend the next day similarly. At 110K the car is a bargain.

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

September 13 2008

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

looks great and is fast.

Cons

AWFUL computer system!

Overall

The music and gps system are awful. No satellite radio, no ipod hook up. There is a hard drive "jukebox" that you can load music off of discs - but it takes FOREVER to load and if you burn discs that don't have the music info (title/artist) on it - you have to sit and enter it, or just not have the data. Plus, it's not user friendly, in general. The GPS - not user friendly at all. And this is coming from a tech-freak. (Range Rover has the best GPS system going) But... you deal with those annoyances to drive in what is one of the best looking cars out there!

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

August 30 2008

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

Italian design to die for..both inside and out

Cons

A bit heavy on gas consumption

Overall

I traded in a 2008 Porsches Turbo Cab and never looked back. This italian machine has the power and comfort!! I feel like a star. A real head turner everywhere I go. Love that there are not many around yet either. Such a GREAT car!

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

August 9 2008

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

Although the ratings are poor, my experience has demonstrated substantially better fuel consumption

Cons

5,000 miles and I'm still impressed with fit and finish. Leather to die for.

Overall

This is car that you won't find yourself mistakenly trying to open or enter at the mall... I have done exactly this with my MBZ S550. At the end of this year maybe make that two years, I will turn in my S550 and buy the newest model. I know I will be happy but not in love. Things will be different with my Gran Turismo. I believe this model has found not only place in my garage with a few other beloved collector's cars but in my heart and I'm sure the love affair will be a long one. I have waited for some years for Masserati to be "a Masserati" again. I would urge anyone that can justify parting with a $160 to $175K to give the Mas GT a good look and at least a test drive. It will be an experience not soon forgotten. Mine, well check back with me in 10 years or so. Maybe by that time the smell of the the hand stitched leather will have faded and a new model Mas a glimmer in my eye. Maybe then it will be on the secondary market... but Until then, Chow.

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

July 28 2008

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

Great look fun to drive

Cons

could use a bit more power

Overall

Its a great car great styling good lines easy to drive lots of room upfront. Not many of them around gets great looks people love the car. Runs well could use 40-50 more hp but only for the car guys. Just a great car I have had it 2 months. By one

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

June 12 2008

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

best in the world

Cons

poor performence

Overall

top notched model

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

May 23 2008

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

looks, exclusivity

Cons

steering, a bit underpowered, only available with automatic

Overall

The car looks fantastic inside and out. It has room for 4 people (for real!). However, it feels heavy and the 4.2L engine is not entirely up to the job. The breaks are not as good as, say, Porsche's. The steering feels a bit too assisted at high speeds. Unlike the new 911, the engine does not have direct injection (which would help with both power and economy). That could come in 2010 together with the new QP. My main complain is that the car is only available with an automatic. Even in manual mode the computer overrides the driver at high revs (where the GT really comes to life). These issues are fixed in the 4.7L S model (coming in November) which, however will cost $135k+. Still, the car has more character and passion than any BMW. The Porsche 911 and even the Aston V8 are not direct competitors since, unlike the GT, they are pure sports cars. I hear that waiting lists range from 6 months to a year. For those interested, a convertible should appear at next year's Geneva auto show.

2008 Maserati GranTurismo review

Date

April 29 2008

Model

Maserati GranTurismo

Pros

An Italian Supercar Everyday Diver

Cons

None

Overall

A bargain considering Pininfarina styling with Ferrari based technology with a 4yr/50,000 mile warranty. The 2+2 seating is larger than a BMW 6 series and the hand assembled interior is awesome. Of course that engine sound is what makes it worth it and everyday driving is a pleasure.I enjoy this car more than my 911 or my Lamborhini gallardo.

Maserati GranTurismo 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph