FastCarsWiki.com

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

August 29 2012

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

If you don't want lots of attention, don't buy this vehicle. It's a work of art, and will receive much deserved attention when driven anywhere. The handling and 0-60 in less than 5 seconds are fabulous pros. What you get for the price is incredible and more than worth it. The reasonable cost to maintain and reliability are pros as well.

Cons

Getting in and out of the vehicle is a trick, (so what?, I'm in good shape), and yes, the interior is spartan, but this is a street legal race car... it doesn't pretend to be anything else! If you want a luxury sports car... go buy a stuffy Mercedes. So, yes, I would not recommend this vehicle to everybody.

Overall

I've had this vehicle for 5 years.... LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

July 30 2012

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

the thrill I get everytime I look, sit,and drive the car on a daily basis, best way to describe it is driving a go-cart , its that much fun all the time and maybe not for everyone but for me its over the top !!!!

Cons

well there's no doubt entry & exit are somewhat arduous,stay in shape will help dramatically,but I think thats all the part of the experience

Overall

nothing but fantastic every day I get behind the wheel -- and supercharge it - you wont regret it

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

May 30 2012

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

Gorgeous looks, Breathtaking performance, Blast to drive. Superb handling.

Cons

Too much attention, be prepared for many pictures\videos\questions. Very costly body work

Overall

I see it as one of the best sports cars ever made. What a wonderful peace of engineering. Yes the ride is rough and bumpy, but you are basically getting a street legal race car while at the same time getting ~ 30 + MPG. I have absolutely no complaints.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

May 22 2009

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

This is a gorgeous car! I love it! Even after 4 years of ownership, every time I see it I feel the same way I felt the first time I saw it! I just LOVE this car. It is fun and easy to drive. I love hearing the click click of the metal clutch pedal and stick shift as I shift from gear to gear. Visibility is great in all directions!! My car is Chrome Orange, and can be seen from a mile away!! In a small car, I thought that was a great safety feature! This is an awesome vehicle!!

Cons

Getting in and out of the car is somewhat less than elegant.

Overall

Outstanding!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

February 26 2009

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

Fun and great to drive...head turner...well worth the money for a high performance, amazing handling convertible.

Cons

you're girl/wife will not be comfortable

Overall

LOVE IT

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

January 21 2009

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

Handling , low maintance cost.

Cons

Peaky engine, lack of bumper.

Overall

Hard to find a better looking and fun performing car at this price range. While it has some obvious drawbacks

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

November 15 2008

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

Literally the best handling car in the world. It won't keep up with a Z06 on the straights, but in the twisties, you get it all back. Reliable Toyota engine that's been tweaked by Lotus. 0-60 in under 5 sec. Great 6 speed gear box, also sourced from toyota. Stunning looks. Relatively inexpensive to maintain, considering other cars of similar performance level. Funky British car with character.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike. There are upgrades, however. It could use a bit more power. Once you've had it a while, you get used to the 5 sec 0-60, and start craving 4sec. Lotus has dialed in a bit of understeer when you do reach the limits of adhesion. This is a safe setting for most people, but I'd prefer a little oversteer anyday, so it could use a little more rubber up front. A lot of the things people don't like about it, give it charm, to me.

Overall

There is great aftermarket support for anything you find it lacks. I'm personally looking into ohlins suspension, a supercharger, lightweight forged wheels that are slightly wider, especially up front. A few aero bits are probably necessary, as well. It is very neutral at speed (140mph), however, I prefer to have a bit more downforce when reaching those mph, which will be easily exceeded once supercharged. It's a fantastic car as is, and will outhandle anything as it comes from the factory. If you want more of what it does so well, get the exige. I personally like the removable top, and rearward visibility, so I've stayed with the elise, with upgrades. Also, I don't think hardly any of these reviews are by people that actually own the car :(

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

July 12 2008

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

definitely a stylish little beauty that will lead the sports car for the next 30-50 years got the excellent performance with the toyota motor, which also make the car reliable.

Cons

not a very comfortable interior or I will say its rather a cockpit. but I guess that what it is. not designed for long drive or daily ride.

Overall

owned for more than 3 years, still love it as the first day I picked up the car. if you love pure sports cars and not ready to dump in pick buks. this is it. your dream car before 35

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

January 18 2008

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

HEY , IT TODD AGAIN FROM SAN DIEGO,(SEE PREVIOUS POST) ITS NOW 01-18-08, AND IM UPDATING MY PREVIOUS POST.. THIS CAR IS STILL BEAUTIFUL AND EXCEPT FOR MY SON SLAMMING THE PASSENGER DOOR REALLY HARD ON ACCIDENT AND KNOCKING THE WINDOW OFF THE TRACK, THIS CAR HAS NOT GIVEN ME 1 SINGLE PROBLEM!! AND I STILL LOVE EVERY LITTLE INCH OF IT!! IT IS THE PERFECT LITTLE "CANYON WEAPON" AND AFTER ALL THESE YEARS IT STILL PUTS A SMILE ON MY FACE EVERY TIME I DRIVE IT.

Cons

YOU WILL NEED TO REPLACE TIRES ABOUT EVERY 10-12,OOO MILES AND THEY ARE ABOUT $200/EA FOR THE FRONTS AND $295/EA FOR THE REARS PLUS MOUNT & BALANCE (ABOUT 1150. OTD) AND THE RADIO RECEPTION STILL STINKS!!

Overall

STILL DOLLAR FOR DOLLAR THE MOST FUN CAR ON THE ROAD. YOU CAN CRUISE IT, AUTOCROSS IT, OR SCCA RACE IT..TAKE YOUR PICK,..IT IS AN AMAZING VEHICLE WITH A GREAT FOLLOWING OF LOYAL OWNERS AND ENTHUSIASTS THAT ARE REALLY NICE. YOU WONT GO WRONG BY OWNING ONE OF THESE INEXPENSIVE EXOTICS IF YOU REALLY "LOVE " CARS

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

May 22 2006

Model

Lotus Elise

Overall

I like that car very much but if you could make it black with red stripes going up from the bonnet to the boot i'd like it more.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

May 18 2006

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

Looks that kill and a ride to back it up!

Cons

it only has two seats!

Overall

My SVT convertible gets me only on the weekends I have my two daughters. Otherwise,...I wouldn't drive anything else! In all honesty, I couldn't give it five stars for comfort, the 05 seats are foam flavored yet,...I enjoy nearly every moment. SUV's often miss me so you have to keep on your heel and toes. I'm averaging 27 around town and 36 on the highway. My one small way to stick it to the Oil companies... I have a blast every day to work and fillup every 1.5 weeks. You sit low and tite which makes one feel very secure. The tires rarely bark, even on fast corners. Handling on wet roads has exceeded my expectations. Thanks to my IPOD, the minimal interior storage isn't a problem. I get more than enough attention and it's all positive...she's quite a looker and so pleasing around corners. Mine is Bordeaux and I wish I had room for all my other favorite colors.. I have every stock option save the hard top which is fine since I enjoy top removed driving. Like you've read before, this car won't fit everyone (I'm 5'10")... yet it truly is a go cart for the street and worth every penny spent! I can hardly wait to take her to the track... Do yourself a BIG favor... go get one! As Arnold Schwartzenegger puts it DO IT NOW!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

May 13 2006

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

Light, quick, purity, fun to drive

Cons

Leaking, expensive insurance (at least in Europe), not for daily use

Overall

Living only a few miles from Hethel, Norfolk, UK, i find it very hurting that someone is calling something as dull as a Chrysler Crossfire as competition for this car. This is brilliant enginered, got its typical english sportscars "specialities". Which means that you cannot trust it is not leaking in rainy weather.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

April 12 2006

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

There is nothing on the road like it. The only other sub-ton vehicle out there is the Honda Insight. It's truly like driving a "shifter kart on steroids"

Cons

No cupholder Needs a factory 240hp+ supercharger/turbocharger option available

Overall

Highly recommended if you have a 2nd more convenient vehicle.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

April 11 2006

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

speedy grippy fun!

Cons

bad radio, tough for some people to ride in

Overall

I love my Elise. Man, it sticks to the ground like nothing else and is the perfect car for driving around all the crazy mountain roads we have in SoCal. It attracts a lot of attention (good and bad) - but its got the goods to back up the look. My only big complaint is the bad radio reception. I'm short, so I don't have the ingress/egress issues that some do, but this car is definitely not made for really tall or "big" people. The seats look like they have no padding at all but are surprisingly comfortable, I've had many passengers comment on how they like them. Basically.. if you love driving, you'll love this car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

March 9 2006

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

Styling, handling and not your usual car on the road. Very nice acceleration and overall road performance. Highly recommend if you are looking for fun and very different to drive!

Cons

Really nothing...it's a made for the road sports car.

Overall

If you are looking for better than BMW performance but forgoing the idiosyncracies of a want to be sprts car, go for the Lotus. They are capturing the ideal sports car fan

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

February 21 2006

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

L O O K S, F A S T

Cons

Attracts too much attention, can't drive it without someone looking for a one-on-one

Overall

Five minutes into the free way and there's a modified rice rokcet trying to prove it can hold to an elise. Talk of David trying his luck with Goliath. The real Goliath mustangs and corvettes avoid looking my way, knowing full well they can be emasculated. This car is fast. It flies. If you don't let up the gas, you'll be past 100mpg in no time. That VVTL feels like turbo. But then it doesn't feel too straight on the road. Maybe it's the uneveness of the road. And the noise. Good luck with talking on your cell phone. Finally, slippery traction is a joke. The traction control is useless. If you want RWD on snow or ice, go with Cadillac or Mercedes. But on dry road, Elise is the beast.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

January 28 2006

Model

Lotus Elise

Overall

An absolute blast to drive! Since I have had mine, I have had several people speed up and take pictures from their camera phone! For the money, you wont find a more attention getting car! Aside from the attention, this is the most fun car I've ever driven. It handles like its on rails, and so quick! I LOVE IT!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

January 6 2006

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

I love it

Overall

This is an awsome car, it is the best! It feels as comfratable as it looks!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

December 17 2005

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

Fun little car to drive and enjoy the scenery as you pass it by

Cons

The fun quotient outweighs the rough ride on city streets

Overall

Just bought it and both my wife and I have nothing to be sorry about what we pleasantly call our investment in fun for now and for the years to come.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2005 Lotus Elise review

Date

November 29 2005

Model

Lotus Elise

Pros

Very unique little sportscar.

Cons

Test drive it first.

Overall

Getting a proper perspective on this car is important because it is so far out of the mainstream of ordinary sports cars. For example, putting the passenger(s) inside an epoxy bonded box frame that you have to basically climb over to enter is a feature found in several other cars nowadays but none of them are sold as anything other than pure racing machines. Likewise with seating that puts your bottom within one inch of the floor pan. I mean, this car looks like a smaller, cuter version of several other exotics but the basic structure and layout of the car make it quite a bit more of an extreme toy. One reason to test drive it first is that about half of the people who typically buy such cars in America could not get in and out of the drivers seat no matter how much they wanted to (with the top on.) Little Ms. Elise simply hates fat people and makes no effort to hide it. The handling is superb in the sense that there is neglible body lean, massive tire grip, instant communication with the road. Along with that are unmerciful reactions to pot holes and expansion joints. If you study the front end of one of the cars done in a light colored paint scheme you will have trouble seeing an actual coherent shape. That is because there is so little there except lights, painted fenders, and airscoops. The darker paint colors create almost an optical illusion of a solid shape - and a very beautiful one, I think. But everything solid and mechanical is down inside the aluminum tub, you are just seeing added on composite-built aerodynamic devices. This is nothing like your fathers BMW. This car weighs 1000 lbs less than a Mini Cooper convertible. Think about that for a while. I am helplessly in love with mine. It is all I really want to drive.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Lotus Elise 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph