FastCarsWiki.com

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

February 28 2013

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

I bought this car last fall and now have almost 4000 miles on it. I got a loaded up hybrid at a terrific price and I could not have asked for more. Mine is steel blue with black leather, and also with nav, back up camera, auto start and blind spot plus THX Stereo and Sirrus radio channels which I have to decide if I am renewing soon. See if I can get as good a deal from Sirrus as Lincoln gave me on this MKZ. The car is super, and I am set for the next 20 years I figure.

Cons

Nothing comes immediately to mind. I don't do as well with the mileage as I thought I would but I admit I have a bit of a heavy foot. I blame myself. The engine has plenty of get up and go, and I never feel like I am in some kind of weak car. On the contrary. I still get great MPG, but I have to ease up maybe a bit. It's just a pleasure to drive and own. Very comfortable, good looking, strong and tight.

Overall

Great Car. Great Deal. Looks better to me than the newer (2013) style. The 2012 is a little more conservative maybe, but that's OK with me.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

February 16 2013

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

THX sound system

Cons

powertrain, SYNC, Lear Car2U

Overall

Amazing sound with the THX system. Does not match up to the imports quality and service. Poor acceleration, particularly in highway passing and merging. Terrible resale value. Lear Car2U is inferior to the Homelink garage door opener. Falls far short of EPA city mileage rating.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

January 15 2013

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Excellent quality. Good handling and the AWD is fantastic in the snow and poor weather conditions. Fun to drive and comfortable.

Cons

Very little.

Overall

If you want a technologically advanced luxuary car at a reasonable price, you won't beat the MKZ. Great driving car in the snow.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

October 20 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

I love the size and handling, a luxurious car that is comfortable without being the size of a tank.

Cons

None so far.

Overall

I LOVE this car. Quiet, comfortable and AWD for getting up the hills in winter.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

July 31 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Great ride

Cons

Not as good as the FWD

Overall

Traded a 2010 MKZ for this 2012 and love it BUT the 2010 was Front Wheel Drive and used less Gas. Bought the Same color CANDY APPLE RED w/ Black Leather Seats. A great CAR ! Can't say anything is wrong as I love it. I trade every 2 years even though the last one only had 8,500 miles on it. Never liked the old Lincoln's but the MKZ is GREAT !

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

July 29 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Great fuel economy

Cons

Nothing found to complain about. We love it.

Overall

More than expected for fuel economy, looks, handling and comfort? Would buy another hybrid in a heartbeat.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

July 15 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Fuel Economy, comfort, quality

Overall

Car is a bit overpriced, but bought it anyway since it was a hybrid and came highly recommended. I have put way more highway miles on this car than intended and I'm pleased at the economy. Avg MPG over 23,000 miles is 37.0 and it actually gets better mileage than advertised on the highway. Ride is extremely comfortable and amenities abound. I can't stop playing with the computerized dashboard. lol

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

July 14 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

averages around 650 miles to a tank of gas

Overall

Love the looks, the and all the bells and whistles, but it has a popping sound in the front end when you turn the wheel and you notice it most at lower speeds and parking, very annoying and disappointed to have to listen to this, the dealership is unable to pinpoint where it is coming from so we just have to drive it this way, very frustrated.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

June 11 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Fuel economy, technology package

Cons

Exterior styling is dated, plastic chrome wheel covers look cheap

Overall

40 mpg & 650 mile range. Nav system, audio, blind spot warning, backup camera, adaptive headlights, & ambient lighting are very nice.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

May 27 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

smooth ride, quiet, absolutely NO mechanical problems

Cons

Would prefer the armrest to have a lock to prevent sliding

Overall

2nd MKZ, love it. First one was hard to give up but lease was up. Long drives were very comfortable (IE FL to Mich). Like the improvements in this car but miss the slot in the armrest for the cell phone.Service was tremendous at our dealer.. Autoway Lincoln in Clearwater, FL. When asked for their best deal there was NO back and forth and the "let me speak with the manager" bs you generally get. Mike Camody was a straight shooter. Highly recommend them.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

April 11 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Do expect Lincoln Service Center in Detriot to help with problems

Cons

The 201A package that you pay $3000

Overall

I have not been satisfied with the navigation system, the phone sync system, the speed limit is not displayed as the book says it should be nor is it easy to use. The navigation system is inconsistent in giving direction and often tells you to take a route that just doesn't make sense. If you get your phones unpaired with sync, sometime it hard to get a second phone repaired again. Detroit just tells you it is working fine but the dealer says it is a programming problem and they can not do anything about it. That Ford has to reprogram but Ford says it working great and they buy it from a third party vendor. The guy who said the $100 Garmin works better - is right.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

April 9 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

When will ford and others look at design first. They keep reguirgating the same old -old. Fire some designers, design approval people and lets move into tomorrow.

Cons

About as ugly as the worst flee bitten duck.

Overall

I would rather ride a bike as be seen in the piece of sad design.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

April 6 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Good Fuel

Cons

The SYNC syatem

Overall

The navigation system is bad, my $100 Garmin gives me better information and is more reliable. The Ford SYNC has me driving in corn fields, you tell it you want to spell the street name it tries to find a street named "spell street". You can be on a road 50 years old and it tell you you are not on a raod. For 5 months I have been trying to get Ford to fix it. I was promised two updates in January, but them was told to wait until a new flash drive come out the first quarter of the year. Didn't get so I inquired yesterday and got an email back I was not eligible, that my car had the latest updates. They are now trying to figure out what they promised.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

January 17 2012

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

like driving on a cloud

Overall

bought this car from Lazare Lincoln in Albany N.Y. 2nd MKZ we owned; First one was a 07. Great car - Great dealership.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

October 25 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Good looking, All the bells and whistles, fuel economy

Cons

Interior a bit crammed for storage

Overall

I first saw this car on display at a local mall. It immediately caught my attention as it was nice looking, offered a great first step into a luxury hybrid market. I was impressed by what it offered for the price and in our market was actually available at 3 different dealers at competitive prices to gas only vehicles. I wanted to test drive other Hybrids such as Buick LaCrosse and Lexus but none were available to test drive. I would also mention this car has been rated among the most dependable year over year in its class. I was struck by the appearance. It was not gaudy and fit my profile as a first time Luxury car buyer. I felt the value of getting this car as a Hybrid was at the top of the market. I like the Ford Thunderbird type of lights lay out in the rear. It looks classy. Only on first 1,000 miles so a little early to do a full evaluation. I bought the fully decked out version with sync, back up camera, moon roof, etc. Performance -- As it as been stated by others it is not fast but offers an extremely quiet ride, an expectation of any luxury care. Ride is not significantly better than Ford Fusion but it is definitely quieter. Been a pleasure for 45 minute commute. My gas mileage has been a little over 37/mph in Houston but based on others reporting, I expect it to go up over time as it gets broken in. With large gas tank looking over 500-550 miles before refills at 1/8 tank level. Ergonomics of the seats are awesome with memory, heat/cool, lumbar support is awesome. Individual a/c works well. Initial problems with SYNC module when I took delivery. System was replaced and it works wonderfully. Dealer replaced and no problems. Gadgets with SYNC are great once you get used to them. IPOD works great, phone paired up fairly easily, Bluetooth works fine. Enjoy the voice operation features. Other gadgets like the blindspot buzzers and lights really do help. Be careful to watch the road though and don't get distracted too much looking at the gauges. My only real knock on this car is the layout of cupholders and interior storage is not that great. Sunglasses holders are too small and the ergonomics of the cup holders are not good in the front. That has been a disappointment. For the record, this is also a problem in the next model up, the MKS. I hope Lincoln figures it out on future models. We got the fully loaded car which has the moon roof which will likely never be used and it also has the headlights that turn with the car. Latter is nice but moon roof is a waste. I really enjoy the vehicle so far and other than small glitch intially with SYNC module, it has been enjoyable. I can't wait to truly stretch its legs on a longer trip. One other thing to consider is the seats. The dealers are pushing the "camel" color. I highly recommend avoiding them and going to the dark charcoal. They will definitely stand up better. Already been told that blue jean dye will get into the camel leather.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

October 2 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

This 2011 mid-size sedan rides like a full-size car. "It rides like a Cadillac" may not be an appropirate expression for a Lincoln, but it does. With its 263 hp 3.5L V6, engine performance and response are smooth, quick and quiet. Interior is what's expected of a luxury sedan - well appointed with real wood trim. The 2011 MKZ is a high-tech sedan and more so with the navigation package. Features like GPS, bluetooth with steering wheel controls, voice activation and control and "blind spot" warning are included in the package. If I had a redux I would also opt for the tuned sport suspension with 18" wheels (17" are standard). Actual city/highway combo gas mileage is 23-24 mpg.

Cons

Having bought this car just two weeks ago, I am still under the ether, but one Con is the mid-to-high $30's MSRP. Pricy for a Lincolnized version of the Ford Fusion. However, that's not a fair comparison because the MKZ is much more that a "twice-baked" Fusion. I bought a Ford product in order to "buy American" from the only car company that did not take any stimulus money. Cool, right? NOT! 45% of the parts are made in Mexico, 20% in Japan, 20% US/Canada and 15% Other. The final assembly point is Hermosillo, Mexico. I think I am coming out from under the ether.

Overall

Smooth quiet ride, good acceleration, bells and whistles including navigation, bluetooth and sirius satellite radio, heated and cooled leather seats, good gas mileage. $3000 rebate or 0% APR for up to 60 months or 1.9% APR for 72 months. Additional $500 rebate when financed with Ford Motor Credit. Although the MKZ is made in Mexico with an American engine and a Japanese transmission, the ride, comfort, performance and high-tech features compensate for the non-American birth certificate.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

October 2 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

user friendly everything at your finger tips, like the new blind spot mirrors, beautiful finishes inside cabin smooth quiet ride. usually trade in yearly but this one is a keeper

Cons

numbers and letters on gauges are white and hard to see during day time

Overall

great car love the black paint loaded with silver with biege interior real sharp looking

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

September 14 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Comfortable, Quiet, Great AC, 40+mpg

Cons

Neither fast nor sporty.

Overall

Very nice car for my rush hour commute - relaxing and easy to drive. I come home from work much more relaxed than I did driving my BMW. I've averaged over 41 mpg in the first 1200 miles and that number seems to be rising as the car gets broken in. On most days I see between 44 to 47 mpg to & from work in stop & go highway traffic.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

September 3 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

too many to list

Cons

none

Overall

Wife wanted a hybrid for her next car. I shopped them out. This one won easily. Lincoln is not charging extra for the hybrid this model year. I was concerned about the acceleration with the 4 cylinder engine. It does fine. I need a substantial seat because of a lower back condition. The seat is very comfortable without my falling into the bucket and exasperating the back problem. I got this car without the first option. The color was not available so the dealer let us order what we wanted. We have just turned over 1500 miles and are starting to reliably get 42+ mpg combined city/highway. That is with the ac pumping out in hot-humid Florida. I've got 9 speakers in this sound system without upgrading. I've got beautiful styled wheels without upgrading. I've got more electronic goodies than I will ever know how to use without upgrading. We've got air conditioned and heated 10-way power memory seats without upgrading. We already had a portable gps so why pay for the combined navigation/sound upgrade? The tires and suspension make the handling close to a sports car, however the ride is soft and appealing to my 65 year old body. Two years ago we had two Toyota's. Today we have two Ford products. Even though we were happy with the Toyota's we are more happy with what we have now. Life is good.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

August 19 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

I owned a 2008 MKZ, liked it so much bought the 2011. Car has great style, is very quiet and comfortable to drive. The Microsoft Sync is great, can have immediate stock reports, news, sports scores, weather, doppler radar, etc

Cons

I only buy black cars, the black offered by Lincoln had a glitter in the paint. I would prefer BLACK.

Overall

In two or three years if Lincoln offers a real Black color car, I will probably buy a third MKZ

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

August 4 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

COMFORTABLE, ECONOMY

Cons

NONE

Overall

This is best car I have purchased considering cost, fuel economy, comfort and all the tech features you could wish for. The hands free, voice activated functions actually work. The sound system is excellent.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

July 5 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Great "Made In America Mid-Size" Sedan

Overall

Recently purchased fully-loaded 2012 MKZ model from Eddie K / Internet Sales Mgr. at Sanderson Lincoln on Bell Road in Phoenix,Az. Provided Upfront Pricing and treated us in a Professional manner without the games other dealers play....Referred family and friends to Eddie K for their vehicle needs.

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

May 29 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Smooth shifting good ride and very comfortable

Cons

just to low

Overall

great car for today we are getting close to 50 around town and 42 on the interstate

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

May 27 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Cons

none

Overall

Great car one of the best I have ever owned. Great MPS's we are getting around 44 mpg around town and close to that on the highway Auto Way Clearwater is the place to go for a great deals ask for Robert Grissom

2012 Lincoln MKZ review

Date

May 23 2011

Model

Lincoln MKZ

Pros

Roomy for my 6 foot 200 lb body, front seats very comfortable, good room in the back seats

Cons

a lot of geek info to learn for an old guy.

Overall

I bought this car new 4 months ago and I am impressed with its performance, but a little disappointed because the engine assist to the electric motor seems to run more than I thought it should. This effects the gas mileage. The technology, though, is awesome. The built in phone system links to my personal cell phone, negating the need for another phone number. It has the multi-purpose display that I can talk to so I don't have to take my eyes off the road when calling, navigating or many other functions. For the price, most other brands charge more for hybrids, but not Lincoln, giving an excellent. I looked at the Cadillac and this won out hands down.

Lincoln MKZ 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph