FastCarsWiki.com

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

October 11 2012

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

Super smooth, fast, sporty, luxuious, lots of tech. and ventilated seats.

Cons

Not as much storage space. Short lag on highway acceleration.

Overall

Amazing vehicle. Smooth, fast, sporty and looks great! Elevated like an SUV but handling like a real sports car and with the acceleration. It comes with lots of bells and whistles, and much more tech stuff than any other. Ventilated seats are a MUST! The paddle shifters are also a must. The 7 speed Automatic transmission is perfect, especially when coupled with the steering mounted paddles for shifting. They can be used immediately and when you stop shifting, the transmission goes back to Drive. This is very handy, especially after you stop, you don't have to worry about being in the right gear when starting again. But you don't ever have to shift manually if you don't want to. When in Drive, i found that the transmission shifts smoothly down or up and it's always in the right gear. A minor problem I found was when accelerating on 7th speed, there is a lag there perhaps because it has to gear down a few gears to get the power. This won't bother most drivers and most probably will go unnoticed. The best thing is to use the paddle or the tiptronic shifter for instant propulsion when cruising at high speeds. All in all, a fun to drive luxury SUV.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

March 10 2010

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Unique styling, great performance & handlnig

Cons

rear seat room a little lacking. Rear visibility isn't the best, but well complemented by large side mirrors and back-up camera

Overall

Great vehicle! I owned a 2002, then traded it in for a BMW X5... which I traded in to go back to a new FX35

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

December 26 2009

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Extremely well-made, fiendishly fast - don't tell anyone, but at 130 MPH it remains glued to the road. I am averaging almost 20 MPG's, much better than expected. This is the luxo-cruiser for long trips. I'm prejudiced, but I very much like the aggressive looks over the FX45. Interior is first rate

Cons

Ride is quite stiff - don't go for the Sport Package, it's a waste. Also, backseat is rather small for adults, and less comfortable than my M45. A small quibble - I ordered the chocolate colored interior leather, but the dash is still in Infiniti grey.

Overall

I ordered the FX as I already had an M45 (the best car for the money I've ever owned). The FX is an incredibly technologically sophisticated car that I have no doubt can go 200,000 miles and still ride like it came out of the showroom. Infiniti is so far superior to Lexus as a driver's car it isn't funny, and faster and $25,000 cheaper than comparable BMW's or Mecedes. And they are so well-built, never had any major problems with my M, FX or QX56 - every four years, I get a new one, pass the old one down to my wife and she gives hers to our son, thus, for us, Infiniti is an incredible value.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

October 26 2009

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Great looks and power. Definitely a head turner.

Cons

There are no cons

Overall

By far the best crossover out there.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

September 18 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

Progressive Style, Outstanding Performance, MPG that beats those boxy SUVs

Cons

Doesn't come in Red

Overall

I'm now in my 15 month behind the wheel of this 2009 FX35 beauty. This vehicle met every one of my requirments from step up height to styling to pickup. Who wants a car that when you drive down the highway you see 5 others every 5 minutes. The progressive styling makes this a unique SUV. Not an SUV for those who want to drive in a box on wheels. This SUV's styling is progressive from front to back. The 3.5, 305 HP engine has passing power whenever needed. At 70 MPH if you press down on that accelerator, 3 seconds later your pushing 100 MPH - WOW is what I said. No need to bottom out that accelerator either. I park in a garage that has BMWs, Mercedis, Land Rovers and all those other high end SUVs. I've gotton comments that mine was the nicest looking SUV in the garage. Might be a little rough but then I don't do 45 over those 20 MPH speed bumps. Great ride. Oh, my grandson says 'real kool'.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

September 8 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

Agressive yet polished looks, luxurious ride, sporty handling, extras on the interior

Cons

Small trunk space, no auto trunk lift.

Overall

"She's a bad girl that needs to be spanked" - those were the first words out of my husband's mouth when we went to test drive the FX35. We had spent the last 5 months looking/test driving just about every luxury SUV out there: BMW, Mercedes, Accura, Lexus (the new '10 RX), Audi.... NOTHING moved us like this car! If you are going to spend this kind of money on a vehicle, don't you want that rush of pure pleasure every time you see it and drive it? The FX35 did this for us. We got the deluxe touring, premium and navigation packages. The drive is smooth, yet agressive. The look is sexy, yet agressive. The interior is elegant, yet agressive. You get the point. I would say this is the perfect guy/gal vehicle. The men won't feel like soccer mom's and the ladies won't feel like they are driving a beast. My only wish would be an automatice rear door and more trunk space. I have also noticed that as you prepare to come to a stop the car automatically slows and breaks at certain speeds without me doing anything. I have never had a car that did that. You will also need to get used to the larger blind spots caused by the design on the back end of the car, but it only took us about a week to get acclimated. The 360 degree camera view is especially helpful with that and really cool to look at. Score another home run for Infiniti!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

September 3 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

Excellent design, options, comfort and unique style.

Cons

Gas mileage 16/21 mpg.

Overall

I was in the market for a new SUV/CUV. I looked at and drove the following: Acura RDX, Highlander, BMWX3, Infiniti EX35 and Lexus RX. In my opinion the FX35 blew all of them out of the water. What drew me to the FX35 was the redesigned appearance. Its sporty, yet luxurious. No other vehicle looks like it. Under the hood, you get 303 HP which is plenty of power for anyone. The handling and ride are far better than most SUVs I've driven. The only drawback was the MPG. It does get 16/21 MPG which is a little lower than its competitors. However, Infiniti definitely made up for that in other places and paid very close attention to detail on the exterior and interior. Cargo space is average for its class. Another cool feature is the around the car cameras. I believe there are 4 cameras on the vehicle which helps tremendously when parking. The other thing I'd like to see standard is a 20 inch wheel package. Currently you can only get 20 inch rims on the Touring package (~2800$ extra). FYI, I bought this vehicle in Aug 2009. When I searched the internet, I wasn't able to find too much with regards to what people were actually paying for their vehicle. My FX35 AWD MSRP right at 50K. I was able to get it at about 46.5K minus 5K dealer cash rebate, putting the cost down to ~ 41.5K for a 50K MSRP vehicle. I purchased in KY.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

August 14 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

Looks, perks, power

Cons

rough ride

Overall

I might have very likely be the first person who purchased this car in Southern California, apart from the dealers of course, in August 2008. Since then it has been at the dealers more often than my other non-luxury vehicles such as Toyota, Honda etc. Lately I noticed that upholstery was peeling away in the rear. Took it to the dealer once again, they ordered the wrong part, and now want me to wait for the right part to come in. To top off this nonsense, took it to the dealer the other day because I thought the brakes needed to be replaced. They told me that the bolts under my front Chassis had come loose. What? I just paid $45,000 on this thing and you are telling me that they forgot to tighten the bolts!!! Sensors are losing it also. Some times the rear sensor simply doesn't work. Brakes...that's another story. Only have 17,000 miles and have had them replaced twice. My overall suggestion to anyone considering buying this vehicle is don't!!! I wish I had bought a BMW instead. Can't wait for my lease to be over....

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

July 6 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Overall

Excellent SUV. Overall very reliable and appreance is eye catching. Very comfortable to ride. Powerful when pressed on gas.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

July 3 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

Styling, interior, Birdseye camera... this is AWESOME

Overall

I had a 2004 FX35 and have now had a 2009 FX35 since July 2008. The 2009 has a more plush interior (heated/cooled seat, real wood interior, birdseye view - this is AWESOME, hard drive for music, etc). I never really liked the front of the previous generation of FX. I always liked the side profile and the back. Infiniti must have read my mind...the front has an agreesive look and very similiar side and rear profiles to the previous generation. My 2004 had the 20"tires. This made for an amazing handling, but stiff ride. I loved corner in the vehicle but with the condition of many of the roads in Maine being somewhat lackluster the ride was a little rough from some folks and required some driver attention on rough roads as the low profile 265 wide tires would track in the cracked and rutted pavement. The 2009 has slightly softened the ride. While you do sacrafice some in the cornering department compared to the previous generation the overall ride is more comfortable and easier on the driver. For those of you who had the 18" tires on the previous gen FX this is less of an issue as the higher profile tires softened the ride. The changes have been wonderful, I love the stying and it is unique enough that is fits my personality.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

June 23 2009

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

My last FX35 went six years with ZERO mechanical problems. AWD works flawlessly and the ride is improved. The feel is solid and rattle free. MPG is really improved with the six speed transmission and the interior is much quieter at highway speed. It is more refined. If you like the sporty feel with luxury touches and flexibility in who and what you carry, why go anywhere else. Last but not least, this vehicle has no YAW to it with its' stability control system

Cons

The transmission shifts occasionally in low speeds when you are coasting--but not seriously.

Overall

Don't waste your time looking at GMC or Toyota. For 40K or even less, you will get everything you want. This is a "precision" vehicle. Plus, Infiniti dealers treat you (the customer) like a decent person that they want to help! They listen to you and talk your language. American SUV's cost MORE with the same features and LEXUS costs a bunch more.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

June 15 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

Looks, features, engine, quietness, handling

Cons

Claustrophobic inside, limited view, small trunk, fuel economy

Overall

Rented this car thru Hertz and drove almost 800 miles in Colorado in June. The car feels, looks and is very luxurious, loaded with features like rear view parking camera, heated seats, leather, Bose stereo, etc.. It drives like a dream too with responsive engine and sedan like handling. The front view is somewhat limited because of the huge appointed hood and lower roof which gives it more aggressive look while making the inside claustrophobic and cramped. The front seats are extremely comfortable and have all imaginable ways to be adjusted making it feel like you are in the cockpit of a jet or a sports car. The trunk space is limited, it only fit two suitcases and a stroller so I woudln't recommend it for the families with children. The car had only 8,000 miles on it and felt extremely well build and solid. The ride was quiet and huge wheels made bumps non existent. The average fuel economy ended up being 19.9

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

June 15 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

Handling, power, electronics, comfort

Cons

Cargo room

Overall

I love the vehicle. I've had quite a few SUVs and this is by FAR the best handling and performing one. Like alot of others I looked at the Lexus (owned one before) and MDX and I have to tell you it is not even close in performance and I think they do a much better job of making the technology (which is top notch) simpler and look classy. (I think the MDX looks cheap or too gadgety on the interior). The only downside for me is cargo room, the "trunk" floor sits up quite high and that takes away a fair amount of storage for the overall size of the vehicle. We are a family of four and it works fine for weekend trips, but would probably not work as our only vehicle for longer trips. If storage space isn't a major buying factor for you, I think the FX blows away the others in every other category. Not to mention it's a little unique.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

May 19 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Overall

There are so many innovative features on this vehicle, I can not name them all. The best by far is the the Nav, definetly would recommend getting that. It is state of the art, also incorporates your ipod, or iphone for that matter. Works well with bluetooth and no problems picking up calls even when the ipod part of iphone is busting out some tunes. Handling is great and the looks are awesome. Had everyone from my fols to the priest ask me what kind of car that is. Rear seats fold can recline, very comfy. Has enough space for 5 plus my large and furry 4 legged best-friend. Very convenient. I would recommend this car, you will not go wrong.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

May 19 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Overall

Incredible vehicle. I had a G37 and had to acquire a larger vehicle because of new additions to the family. Handles and drives like a car, very much like the G but without the grippy road bumpy feeling. It corners turns really well, acceleration is not as fast as the G but is very much quite acceptable and way faster than what I expected from an SUV. The big picture great vehicle, I do wish I had AWD and Intelli Cruise but my RWD with Navi is fantastic and I recommend it without any hesitations.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

May 15 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

ipod connection,outside body styling, seat cooling,push start engine,20 inch wheels,to name a few.

Cons

I have had my car for 1 week. At first I noticed blind spots, but not anymore.

Overall

This car looks great! I get so many compliments. I love the ipod connection, the outside body styling, the camera for backing, I could go on. I used to drive a QX4, which I loved. I also had an I30. I love Infiniti, and would want to buy nothing else. I researched other vehicles in this class, none could compare with the FX35 in performance, styling and technology. This car is all you could want in a luxury crossover.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

May 11 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

Great looks inside and outside, lots of features

Cons

Surprisingly rough ride, no power rear hatch, poor visibility

Overall

Just got my car. Overall I am happy with it, but here's a few things I wish I had thought more about before buying: 1) The 20" wheels look fantastic but either because of them or something else, you feel every bump in the road. At first its "sporty", after a while you wonder if being jostled so often on city streets is really "luxurious" 2) Front seat bottom has very firm side support which feels fine at first but after a while I notice it digs into my backside, kind of like you're sitting on a fat wallet. I hope this goes away after a while because right now it is pretty uncomfortable for long drives. 3) Got the java interior sight unseen. Mistake. It looks weird. Go with the charcoal. 4) The lack of a power rear hatch is confusing... seems like an obvious feature on a car that has a ton of them. One big personal plus for me: The front seat is incredibly roomy. I am am very tall (6'8") and fit great. (Other choice was Nissan Murano, which also has great room for tall drivers.)

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

May 10 2009

Model

Infiniti FX35

Pros

handles great and best looking in class.

Cons

slight delay on downshifting automatically

Overall

I have had for 5 months now and now complaints. I traded in g35 for this because the offer was to hard to pass up. Less then $600 a month for 39 month lease. I highly reccomend the upgraded 20 in wheels and premium package. The ipod connection and blue tooth phone is a must in all cars. The stereo with direct connect to Ipod is superb, you can really hear the difference between normal CD. The car has plently of power so unless you have cash to blow there is no reason for upgrading to x50. Actually corners better then my 05 g35, which I had sport suspension on and it has more 0-60 speed. The only complaint is the 7 speed automatic has slight delay when down shift automatically becuase it tends to go up to 7 speed when not needed. But the power shift handles on steering wheel come in handy for quick lane changes. Gas average is around 17 but with large 22 gallon tank I fill up less then the g.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

May 8 2009

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

all exept cons

Cons

tail door hase to gat automatic open-close

Overall

good

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Infiniti FX review

Date

May 5 2009

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

I like the Intelligent key, Ipod connection, Welcome lighting, Climate controlled seats and Around view monitor is an excellent implementation. The 1 thing I can tell you is all the tech toys in this car really work as they should unlike may others. I used to own a previous gen FX35 as well and this one is a remarkable improvement in pretty much everything. Interior is top notch when comparing with similar suvs like the mdx.

Cons

I feel a little bit of blind spot on the A pillar section. May be this just me. Other than that I cant find any.

Overall

This car is an excellent buy. If you are in the market for a crossover this definitely needs a look. This is not for people comparing function over form. All you care is a crossover that drives like sports car then this delivers just that. This is my 5th Infiniti till now and it keeps getting better and better. Over all I'm extremely satisfied with the FX. Even if I had a choice to get something now, there is nothing else I would choose other than the FX. Remember not to compare with other makes and you will soon realize how good it is. Btw this gives better mpg than my old FX because of the 7 speed auto not that I would care but good to have.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Infiniti FX 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph