FastCarsWiki.com

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

February 27 2013

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Beautiful car sporty comfterble and very fun to drive.

Cons

Poor fule milage ,expensive to repair if you have no mechanical exspearience

Overall

After a few changes were made to repair some of the problems the car was an exalent buy

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

April 27 2011

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

The ride is smooth, the sound of the power is priceless, excellent car, great space. the whole car is just perfect

Cons

The window, how people can break into it so easy, and there is nothing you can do.

Overall

other than the window, the car is perfect

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

January 22 2008

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

This is the finest vehicle that I have ever owned!

Cons

Nothing

Overall

The best car even after owning six new Cadillacs!

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

December 18 2007

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Beautiful and unique exterior. Very sporty but still SUV like. I like how rear looks like, very round and in shape. Aggresive look on the front is also very attractive. Interior is full of surprise, with all-automated seats and cool navigation& rearview mirror. Interior is very comfortable, with nice and soft leather seats always makes me smile when i get in this car. Even thou the car looks somewhat smaller compared to other crossover SUVs, but even rear seats are very roomy and comfortable.

Cons

Though cool, navigation's joystick is hard to use. Touch screen would be nicer. I also noticed that there is few storage space available. Other thing is that this 2004 model does not have auto-lock feature.

Overall

I am very happy with my purchase. It always makes me smile when i m listening to cool music with Bose sound system, and smooth accerleration on highway can literaly make my day, till i get to work..

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

November 8 2007

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

My 2004 has 65000 miles and drives like a new car. Very good performance and decent gas mileage considering. I enjoy the looks of the car, does not look dated at all. I live at high altitudes and the power comes in handy. Although the ride is firm, the handling is superb. If you want a car that drives like a sports car, has distinctive looks and has some of the atributes of a station wagon, the FX is it.

Cons

The materials of the 2004 interior are not very plush. The placement of the heated seat controls is poor. The tires the car came with are poor, noisy, contribute to the rough ride and don't last long(20000 miles max)

Overall

Have really enjoyed it, was a good choice. Wish it would last forever.

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

May 12 2007

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Acceleration and the exhaust sound. Handling is out of this world. 85mph on a 50mph turn is awesome. Very reliable. I had it for three years and I want something new but when I compare other vechicles to my FX, I am not able to choose another vechicle. Laser cruise makes my commute very stress free. Solid as rock.

Cons

Little harsh on your tusch. Radio programming is difficult. Not the best on the snow because of the fat tires. Interior could use some help from a interor decorator.

Overall

Best compromise between a sports car and a SUV.

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

February 21 2007

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

My last three cars have been sports coupes (the last being a G35 6MT), so you know I like performance... but I wanted 4wd to go skiing and to negotiate the twisty mountain roads year 'round... This is the best blend of all wheel drive and muscular sports car... My best friend has a Cayenne that he paid much more ($15K) that I did for my FX35... and it does have some very nice features... but for a sporty crossover, the FX is a better value (better performing than the Porsche V6, fatter tires, better gas mileage (about 2 MPG on a recent 1200 mile trip)...

Cons

For those who want a softer ride in a crossover, the fatter tires and stiff suspension may be more than you like... but that's exactly what I want! The two drawbacks that I can think of are 1) the oil dipstick... it is darn near impossible to get it back in once it is out (but that's a small price to pay for the finest V6 engine and performance package in the class)... and 2) the OEM Bridgestone tires (even though they are rated M/S), they are, at best, three season tires (they are *not* snow/winter tires). They are definitely not good in the snow. I have since purchase an additional set of wheels and put Yokohama Geolander O53's all around for my "winter" tires... and that really helped!)..

Overall

If you want a muscular luxury crossover... that is not a "truck" for off-roading or a minivan for hauling lots-o-stuff, and that is sporty and best in class for windy roads... this is your beast... It doesn't haul a lot, but for four passenger convenience and comfort, I have not found a better combination... and I am always looking!!

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

December 6 2006

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Love the way it looks even though my sons call it the big egg. I drive 35 miles each way to work and test drove quite a few vehicles before purchasing. Considered the Lexus RX 330 but if you look around they are everywhere, and not as fun to drive. Also the FX is much more confortable than the Lexus or Acura even if rear visibility isn't great. The Bose stereo is terrific

Cons

not enough storage compartments

Overall

I will definately hang on to this one

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

November 25 2006

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

nothing like it and amazing service

Cons

Price

Overall

Excellent

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

November 20 2006

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Great styling and performance.

Cons

None

Overall

Great car for the money.

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

September 4 2006

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Style, handling, power

Cons

N.A.

Overall

Best Buy

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

August 13 2006

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Style seperates it from the pack. Performance is great and if you understand the options your buying you get the ride you expect. Handles great. Don't go sport if you want smooth ride.

Cons

Within a week of buying new 2 years ago the power control for the passenger seat started sticking. Fixed under warranty but the dealership damaged the console because of the screws placement to reprair. Has been to the dealership 4 times for constantly squeaking brakes. I know the rest of you out there have it(if not yet you will) because the dealer says it is a well worn complanint they can't seem to fix even with new pads and rotor turns. I was so fed up with them I was going to trade it this week after yet another repair but may just throw Brembo's on it. Hopefully a quality brake setup will cure it.

Overall

Very nice vehicle that performs very well. Minor things that should never be a problem in a "luxury" segment car are unacceptable and would likely make me think again before buying another one. Its a shame because the car is otherwise well worth the money.

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

May 19 2006

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Great headroom and legroom for a tall person

Cons

3750 mile oil changes

Overall

This car handles like a sports car and has great acceleration even in the 35 trim. Many people say they love the unusual styling. The only bad thing I can say about the car is the suggested 3750 mile oil changes. With today's synthetic oil it seems they could double that. Service is excellent, and they always have a G35 loaner to take for the day. Great car I will get again when my lease is up.

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

March 30 2006

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

I owned a Z3 Roadster before buying my FX. The body style get's plenty of looks. The drive is tight with plenty of pick up. The Bose sound system is killer. You have to have great sounds these days and it will not let you or your passingers down.

Cons

The steptronic shift from 2nd to 3rd is not as smooth as the other gears. About 50% of the time using the manual shift has a slight knock from 2nd to 3rd. I test drove other FXs and they do the same. Maybe Infinity will take notice and correct this annoynance.

Overall

I'm giving it a 9

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

January 24 2006

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Highly Reliable Vehicle - with Performance, braking, handling and "Avant garde" styling to match. Fairly OK utility for a luxury sport utility; although this is really a Quasi Sport Car in disguise. Suprisingly, I have averaged 21.3 mpg (both city and highway driving combined). I Would recommned the FX to any that likes a highly rated cross over with sport utility as the primary function as well as an European firm ride; othewise look elsewhere for a softer ride and more utility/hauling type functions.

Cons

A few Squeeks and/or Rattles here & there inside - only on very bumby roads. Otherwise the car has been very reliable. Perhaps a bit of stiff ride, but it is forgiven when you realize that it is truly a quasi sport car disgusied as a Cross Over (after all it is built on the 350 ZX platform with additional structural stiffening).

Overall

Highly Reliable Vehicle - with Performance, braking, handling and "Avant garde" styling to match. Fairly OK utility for a luxury sport utility; although this is really a Quasi Sport Car in disguise. Suprisingly, I have averaged 21.3 mpg (both city and highway driving combined). I Would recommned the FX to any that likes a highly rated cross over with sport utility as the primary function as well as an European firm ride; othewise look elsewhere for a softer ride and more utility/hauling type functions. On the negative side, A few Squeeks and/or Rattles here & there inside - only on very bumby roads. Otherwise the car has been very reliable. Perhaps a bit of stiff ride, but it is forgiven when you realize that it is truly a quasi sport car disgusied as a Cross Over (after all it is built on the 350 ZX platform with additional structural stiffening).

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

December 7 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

new style

Cons

noisy, mild time lag during accerelation.

Overall

Recommended. Cheap Chyenne S.

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

June 26 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Fantastic styling - no other SUV has so much character. Accelaration and handling always surprises. I've become quite dependent on the reverse monitor, which I thought was gimmecky at first. I wish all my cars had this great feature.

Cons

Ride is a bit too firm.

Overall

I absolutely love this car. I bought it as a daily commuter for myself but my wife usually takes it for herself.

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

June 8 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

The vehicle exceeded my expectations from the test drive. It is comfortable, responsive and defect free. I am at 7000 miles and nothing is wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle rides like it is on rails and the 3.5 L engine is responsive enough to blow most vehicles away in acceleration. Gas economy is 24 mpg at 65 and 22 at 80. I average 18 mpg in town driving.

Cons

I have few complaints. There is not much room to put things (i.e CD case etc.) and the trunk room is a bit tight. But, you have to limit the internal room to get the eye catching lines of this beauty. I still have people look at the car as I drive by.

Overall

I would recommend this vehicle to everyone who is looking for style, reliability and pleasurable driving. It has better lines than the RX 330 or X5 and you can get if for 5 to 10 k less. What's not to like.

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

April 28 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Through the many feet of snow this winter in Boston, I never had one problem. The "snow" button was helpful and I always got over any snow banks. The ride itself is smooth while you still feel the power.

Cons

I wish the back window would go down like other SUV's.

Overall

Having the touring, tech, and sport packages, this car is complete...

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

April 26 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

V8 power with the suspension to handle it. Exterior styling draws a lot of stares. One of the best interiors around - really comfy seats. GREAT nav system. Wonderful V8 noises. Bose outdid itself when putting in the sound system in this car. The service has been excellent.

Cons

V8 + Premium = $60 fill-ups. Exterior styling draws a lot of stares. Cargo space is at times, cramped.

Overall

This definitely is more "sport" than in most SUV's. The acceleration can be a neck snapper and really catches those M5 guys with thier tongues on the ground as you sail on by. This thing handles like it is on rails -- there is less roll (and more confidence) than my Audi A6 2.7T Quattro Sport had. The interior is very nice and almost everyone loves the interior (I have the brick/black interior). No one does nav better than Infiniti/Nissan. The "bird's eye" view is something that makes you think, "why doesn't everyone do this?" Once you get used to it, the 2D version just doesn't cut it. This suv rides so well (yes you get some bumps with the sport suspension and 20" tires) that your speed can get away from you and you find yourself going way faster than you thought. I can do without the "adaptive" cruise control, thankfully it also has the regular old set and forget cruise. My mileage is actually better than the advertised EPA ratings, but not by much. Get one ... you won't regret it!

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

April 6 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

I drove the G35 and loved the handling and acceleration, but wanted something a little bit bigger. The FX is an incredible driving machine - great road manners, strong acceleration and it is definitely an attention getter. The FX is an SUV that handles like a sports car and that's what persuaded me to purchase the Infiniti instead of the VW.

Cons

Can be a little noisy at speed and if you're looking for good gas mileage - this isn't your car. Other than that, what cons?

Overall

Great vehicle - fun to drive, yet not a toy.

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

March 29 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Styling, power, features.

Cons

Gas mileage overall, but OK relative to other SUVs/crossovers.

Overall

Excellent vehicle! This is my second Infiniti (my first lasted 10 years with minimal repairs).

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

March 26 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Amazing acceleration! This is such a fun car to drive!

Cons

The gas mileage.

Overall

The best car, Suv, etc. I have ever owned!

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

March 9 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

Styling...Power.....

Cons

I claimed total loss on this car yesterday after my big accident on rainy day. All Wheel Drive didn't kick in nor did Traction Control. The car skid on the water as if it didn't have any traction control or AWD. I thought I paid $$$ to get those features to work when I needed. Although I liked the styling and power, this car consumes too much gas and the rear door passage is very tiny.

Overall

I would not recommend this car as a family car, Gas Consumption and most of all, safety

2004 Infiniti FX review

Date

February 27 2005

Model

Infiniti FX

Pros

I love that it is luxurious and yet sporty. I feel like I am driving a sports car! Handles excellent especially in the rain.

Cons

You can feel the road and the very positive steering. A few blind spots to get used to.

Overall

We love our Infiniti, I like the fact that it looks different than most of the vehicles out there. I think it looks mean yet, classy. It handles really well and the sound system is amazing! Very comfortable seats with ample leg room.

Infiniti FX 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph