FastCarsWiki.com

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

February 7 2013

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

I owned a Lexus previously and the Genesis is equal to better in every facet. Combined with the price it is a great car and a better buy. I am so happy I bought it. All the controls are easy to get to while driving and the ride is very quiet. I like the 6 speed manual transmission in snow and ice.

Cons

The city mpg could be better.

Overall

I was really hesitant to but a Hyundai after owning a Lexus and after Hurricane Sandy I had to buy a car rather quickly. I saw this car online and went to look at it and was really impressed by the power and handling when I took the test drive. I really liked it when the dealer told me I could have it for $20K. I like a reliable car that I feel safe in and comfortable driving for me and my passengers. The Genesis provides all that and more. Well worth the money and I love it when people ask me what kind of car it is. My oil change guys thought I got a Mercedes when I pulled in. Make no question this is a luxury car for a fraction of the cost.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

November 11 2012

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

For the money...EVERYTHING!

Cons

Nothing so far.

Overall

This is our 4th Hyundai. Obviously we are sold on the value and quality of these cars.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

October 13 2012

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Just bought this car about 2 weeks ago and it is amazing! I test drove one several years ago and at the time owned an Audi 2.7T (which I loved and just traded for my Genesis 4.6). I immediately fell in love with it then and am so glad I elected to go this route. The features, comfort, plush leather, roominess, power and exterior styling are all first rate. The handling is very solid too for a full size luxury auto. I've heard the original marketing catch phrase from Hyundai was.."700 series size, 500 series performance, at the 300 series price." Obviously this comment was aimed at BMW, but pretty well sums it up in my view. **Caviat** ~ Owned a very short time so we'll see on reliability.

Cons

No all wheel drive although I understand Hyundai is rolling this option out on the 2014 release. Also, despite my enjoyment of feeling the road the ride is a little too stiff, but overall still quite comfy. Those who do not like a "performance" ride might find it a bit rough as it does not have that disconnected feel you find in Lexus or some of the other High end luxos.

Overall

Great and unbelievable amount of car for the money! The cons are few and the pros are numerous. I would highly recommend this car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

October 6 2012

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

ride, feel

Cons

handling on ice

Overall

Hyundai matches the engine and transmission to perfection providing a smooth and powerful ride. The 3.8L is more than enough HP. Had to get special tires for the winter in Michigan as a rear wheel light car does not do well. As a GM retiree, I will only buy Hyundai in the future.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

September 9 2012

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Styling, Engine, standard accessories, information system, seats, gas mileage is excellent, and on and so on

Cons

Had problems with the hi tec system for 3 years before it finally got fixed properly. Had problems due to a hood switch not being installed at time of manufacture. Had to have to car boosted numerous times when first purchased due to this problem and not being able to locate the problem. Dealership was great though. Poor quality tires. Problems with some of the boots on the front end wearing which had to be replaced. Leak of some kind that they can't seem to locate and asked me to monitor. All of these issues were dealt with promptly and courteously with my dealership but Hyundai Canada couldn't care less about my problems except to say "Sorry for any inconvenience"

Overall

Even with the problems I have had, the car is top quality for its value as compared to BMW, Audi, Lexus, etc. Some people have even asked me if it is a Bentley.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

September 5 2012

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Appearance, Fuel Economy, Large interior

Cons

Rough Ride, Dealer's don't honor warranty, Unresponsive accelaration (sometime), repair time

Overall

I bought my Genesis used in 2012. First issue I have was the headlight went out less than 30 days. I took it to my local Hyundai dealer and they would not honor the warranty. I had to take it back to the dealership I bought it from which is an hours drive from my house. It took that dealership 3 to 4 hours fix the problem. The second issue I discovered was that when I engage the parking break,the indicator does not show on the dashboard (less than 60 days after purchase). I took it in for repair and they did not have the part in stock. I waited almost a month before the dealership got the part needed to fix my car. Also, since I bought a certified used car, I was suppose to get free satelite radio for 3 months, but the dealership I bought it from never told me. Now to the car, the ride is rough compared to the Toyota Avalon I previously had and when compared to the Lexus my wife has. Occansionally when I try to accelerate, the car takes a second or two before it responds. There is a slight jerking reaction once the car accelarates. Hopefully Hyundai has fixed these issues with the later models.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

September 2 2012

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Performance, comfort, and drivability. The reliability is great and The hyundia warranty has been refreshing for this day and age. The leather wrap pulled loose on the steering wheel, and Hyundia replaced the steering wheel with no questions asked. Price tag for that was about $1500.00

Cons

The perforated leather seats are not very durable, tear easily. 4.6 engine tends to wear out the rear tires fast,, My right foot controls this, as it is hard not to feel the power

Overall

I have owned the Genesis for two years, and I have owned various other brands, Ford, Chev, BMW and MB.. The Genesis is quite frankly the best vehicle I have ever driven.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

July 31 2012

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

I love almost everything about this car. The styling is great, it gets lots of looks anywhere I go. The stereo is great, impossible not to want to turn it way up when it sounds so crystal clear! I love that when you need the "get up and go" to pass, pull out into traffic, or just show off a little it is right there and ready for you. Love the comfort whether you are in the front or back of the car.

Cons

I have to admit I was a little disappointed with the ride on rough roads. It isn't as good as I thought it would be. Really wish this car was all wheel drive, especially living in MN.

Overall

Great car for the money!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

July 21 2012

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Exterior styling, causes Merc & BMW owners to look twice, interior quality, quiet highway ride, VALUE for a certified pre-owned car. Easy to use Navigation/Tech package (haven't read the instructions and never will). V6 fuel economy on highway. Good handling. Interior lighting.

Cons

Visibility: Small side mirrors & somewhat thick window pillars are a bad combo in traffic. No daytime running lights but the 2012 model seems to have them. Jiggly ride on rough pavement.

Overall

I've been driving a Toyota since day 1. Considered the certified Toyota Avalon but couldn't get over its lack of styling or character. Also looked closely at a certified Saab 9-5. Loved it's character and acceleration/handling but the company fell apart before I could purchase. A used Lexus in my price range was too old or too small. Never thought I'd buy a Hyundai till I took the test drive. The car is terrific. V8 version was too much to have traffic in the area. It's only good if you live in a rural area with high speed limits or few police... V6 version is a good combo of acceleration, fuel economy, and very quiet. Styling blends in with Mercedes, BMW, and Infiniti for far less. If it's this good 4-5 years from now I'll be back for another.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

July 21 2011

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

The look, the feel, the price. This is the best bang-for-the-buck luxury car around. RWD power, 375hp, and all the plush amenities you can think of. The sound system is beautiful.

Cons

The fact that Hyundai decided not to separate the Genesis off into its own brand like the Japanese automakers. This car is in the league of Acura, Infiniti and Lexus.

Overall

No matter how much anyone tells you that this car is wonderful, you won't truly understand until you actually drive one.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

May 22 2011

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Purchased new 2009 Genesis 3.8L, loaded, two years now and loving it. Of course I have regualr maintenance as required only 15k miles, mostly used for highway travel. Gas milage ranges from 24 to 28 mpg depending on speed. At 65mpg avg about 28mpg at 70 about 24 to 25mpg. the only problem so far is the rear camera that goes out sometimes mainly caused my slaming the trunk instead of allowing gravity flow. I am amazed at the expression I get when people ask "what kind of car is that'? When I tell them its a hyundai Genesis, the expression is "oh". Not suprising because most people are hooked on name recognition. I just smile and conltinue on, I know I made the right choice for the money.

Cons

Lacks name recognition but gets plenty of attention

Overall

9.8 after two years and 15k miles mostly highway, 3.8 has plenty of power for a 6 cylinder

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

March 21 2011

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Ride Power Gas Mileage(got 27mga on a trip to LI)

Cons

Dunlop tires that came on car.

Overall

Car is a pleasure to own.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

December 4 2010

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

I love this car. I wanted one when they first came out but decided to wait a few models so they could get the bugs out. my 2009 is a dream to drive and other than normal upkeep there have been no problems. we love i Tony and Pauline Alfano

Cons

nothing

Overall

a great bargin

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

November 29 2010

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Cons

none

Overall

I just love my vehicle. I have the technology package and the sound system is the best.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

August 29 2010

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Looks great, comfortable, great price

Cons

rides rough, technicians not familiar, repairs are timely

Overall

Bought my 2009 last October. Have 16K miles. Center rearview mirror lose, have adjusted at each scheduled checkup, comes lose in 1 day. Brake lights stop working and technicians took 24 hrs to figure out that a diode had gone bad. Drove off lot to Miami (350 miles) discovered steering wheel locked making Uturns and parking car. Took technicians 6 days to figure out that clutches in rack and pinion had gone bad, they replaced hydraulic system. Now my panel lights go off and on intermitedly. Could not program garage door opener into overhead system and my new cell phone will not connect with the Bluetooth system though it says it should. Maybe wait a couple of years before buying one.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

July 20 2010

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

375hp, Lexicon Sound, and much more...

Cons

steering is little too soft? (is that bad??lol) fit and finish(little things like glove compartment get stuck and doesn't open at first try when pressed, power seat rattles when operating...

Overall

Car is great for the money..besidesl minor problems i had with my car, i am so happy with genesis. specially love the Lexicon..try to listen classic with surround sound...OMG..

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

July 14 2010

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Beautiful interior, elegant exterior styling. Super fast, and gets great gas mileage, even on regular unleaded. Fantastic warranty, although have not needed it yet! Fit and finish are top notch. Fantastic navigation screen. Sound system is the best I have seen in a car.

Cons

Improved tires. Not too happy with the Dunlop S5000's wear. Personally would opt for Michelins. Active cruise would be nice. AWD would be nice too.

Overall

Awesome car. Runs great, with great MPG's and regular gas. That is a huge savings everytime you fill up at the pump. I got this after trading in my 08 Acura RL. I'm really surprised that some reviews were so negative (ie, car has been in the shop for 30 days!). They have bad luck, or they are flat out lying. I haven't seen anything close to a problem yet on the car. This car gets looks whereever we go. This is a real winner for Hyundai.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

May 27 2010

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Had owned a Hyundai Azera with virtually no problems, and decided to move up to the Genesis. I am not sorry so far. for the Money you get more than you pay for since this company is trying to get into the Luxury market..

Cons

NONE SO FAR

Overall

GREAT CAR FOR THE MONEY

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

May 23 2010

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

Excellent fuel economy

Cons

Trying to find one

Overall

I have own 51 vehicles and I am 66 years old. I have owned Mercedes Benz to Fords, Sports cars to SUV's, and trucks to Vans. I have already put 39,000 miles on my 2009 Genesis that I bought new. I did purchase the maintenance package so all my oil changes,tire rotations and normal maintenance has been free. I also have a 2003 Ford F150 at present. For the price this Genesis is the best vehicle I have ever own. The high dollar vehicles I have own, 2 Mercedes, 2 Jags, 1 Lexus, 1 BMW, 3 Porches, 1 Acura, and 2 Audies all have very high maintenance charges, requires lots of maintenance and have cause me not to want to purchase another one of these vehicles. The best performance car I ever own was the three 911 Porches, but they also seem to get the attention of police cars for traffic tickets. This 2009 Genesis is undoubtedly comparable to the Lexus, Mercedes, Audi, BMW, Acura, Jaguar and the high dollar American sedans in every way except price. The best car with all the features of the expensive cars for a much lower price tag. Drive one, look at all the features, the over all car look and appeal, and check the price difference for yourself.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Hyundai Genesis review

Date

March 23 2010

Model

Hyundai Genesis

Pros

alot of quality for the money

Cons

ride is such that picks up all bumps, not good in the snow, dealers (4) were very difficult to deal

Overall

very good car for first year. feel awd model would be good. dealers so use to dealing wih low end cars have not learned how to work with someone interested in high end.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Hyundai Genesis 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph