FastCarsWiki.com

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

December 15 2012

Model

Honda Civic Coupe

Pros

great fuel economy, smooth ride, roomy inside, digital HUD.

Cons

no power, low turning capability, electronic acceleration, not enough car, odd shift points.

Overall

This was an excellent first car for me. It has excellent fuel economy which was good on my wallet. It has a very soft suspension which gives it a smooth ride but also some unwelcome body roll. It has a VERY small 1.8 liter engine with NO power and NO torque. Honda should really consider dropping a v6 in it and giving it all-caliper brakes, all-coil suspension, and some good sway bars. While it may protect you in a head-on collision, especially with a big truck or SUV, There is very little room between the front bumper and the driver. What is there is the engine, the transmission, and the drivetrain, all there to absorb the impact! Talk about expensive! Otherwise, the four-seat 2-door design gives you a lot of room. It is difficult to get in the backseat though while back there, an average sized person has plenty of room to move around. With the car being so small, thin, and low to the ground, there is alot of unpleasant road noise, and the SVC (Speed Volume Control) on the radio dosen't go high enough to compensate for it. The speakers suck, the sound system all together sucks, but the radio is very clear and the CD player is pretty good quality. The Digital speedometer is a plus, and the fact that you dont have to look down to see how fast you're going is nice. Keeps you out of innocent speeding tickets. *THE SPEEDOMETER IS NOT IN THE WAY*, one of the reviews of this model said it was. The car does not turn very sharply. I expected the opposite of this coming from such a small car but i was wrong. My mom's Ford Expedition turns sharper than this thing! The electronic acceleration is somewhat delayed, making it hard to accelerate smoothly. The shift points of the automatic transmission suck. The difference in shifting between 2nd and 3rd is huge! The shift point for third is much lower, that is where you will find your most acceleration. All-in-all, with me being a guy, i got a lot of #$%$ from my friends about it having such a small engine with no power and it being so quiet. If i had had the room, i would have swapped the current engine out with the v6 from a prelude. That, or i would have just put some pretty major engine upgrades in it starting with a manual flywheel transmission and ending with a turbo. It just needs more power.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

December 12 2012

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

The handling of the vehicle is very easy to manuever. The steering is responsive. The styling is cute. I have very few blind spots and in other cars that I test drove in 2010 I could not see at all out of the rear even when I adjusted the seats. I felt the most comfortable in this car- I am 5'3 and I felt other cars were just too big for me to drive. The steering does not compare to other cars Good gas mileage

Cons

The slow acceleration, low to the ground, loud, and not a great sound system. But some music sounds better when I use my IPod. Brakes!!! May need to replace much sooner than expected I am at 27,000 miles in about 3 years. Day 2 I had a problem with the ignition switch getting stuck and not being able to start the car. I had to call road service and they told me to twist the steering a little. Says this is common with newer cars.

Overall

Overall I bought the car for its reliability and the mspg at the time and I am not disappointed. Its fun to drive. I always get compliments on how nice it looks in the brownish gold color.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

October 13 2012

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

My 2010 has 40,000 miles on it, and besides brakes and tires needing changed have had NO problems with it. Plan on keeping it for my now 11 year old daughter to drive when she turns 16. Fingers crossed!!

Cons

Live in central , PA mountains and it doesn't go well in snow....I usually have to take my 4WD jeep if snow is exspected.

Overall

Love this car, trouble and worry free.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

August 18 2012

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Incredibly reliable, amazing gas mileage. I drive the EX model and I think the rims are my favorite part. No issues with braking or accelorating. Not a regrettable buy.

Cons

Not very stylish compared to competitors. And as usual, the bells and whistles of technology, like Bluetooth for instance, are lacking.

Overall

If you need a car that is incredibly reliable, to rack miles on, or just an all around good drive, the civic answers all those needs.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

February 16 2012

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

The car drives very smooth, is very comfortable, is super responsive for an automatic, the iMid display, iPod hookup, and steering wheel controls are very user friendly. To top it all off it does not need a major service for 10000 miles.

Cons

it is not the best looking (inside and out), or most technologically advanced of all of the competitors.

Overall

go for it

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

February 9 2012

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

We love the mileage,comfort, and handling of this vehicle.

Cons

The only negatives we find are the interior noise level. I believe this should be of concern to Honda. I might add that the vehicle is very low to the ground and therefore scrapes everywhere and is difficult to get in and out of.Nice Car

Overall

This is a wonderful vehicle, and we truely have enjoyed it. I do wishthe"CONS" were corrected, but even so, we would highly recommend it.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

September 26 2011

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

mpg

Cons

everything else

Overall

i own a 2007 civic and thought this information might be useful for anyone considering a honda...this car has been through half dozen recalls...my air conditioning no longer works due to a blown compressor after four years of use...my tires had to be replaced after two years...needed a new battery after two years...and no one at honda responds

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

July 8 2011

Model

Honda Civic Si Sedan

Pros

Honda Reliability? 2012 is supposed to be better? Looks like a stealth fast car.

Cons

Rough, loud, and weird; Tsunami pricing.

Overall

I test drove a used one with 10,000 miles on it and almost ran screaming from the dealership. Yeah, it has power, but with such low torque, the car is screaming at high RPMs all the way to grandma's. The car just had a weird feel to it. Yes, it was a new car, but if felt like someone took a car from the 80's and modified it. This particular car also smelled like weed. A used car, sure, but I have noticed that smell with other new Hondas. Also, the dealership priced the car at about $1,000 over the original MSRP!! I know that is just the asking price, but typical Honda dealership gaul. On the bright side, Honda increased the torque on the 2012, so the engine will probably be smoother at lower speeds. Though I bought a GTI, I will remain open to recommending the 2012 if it warrants it.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

April 4 2011

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

Exterior & Interior Design

Cons

Seats

Overall

I bought it new in March 2010. Still love it since. This is my 4th Honda Civic. Why you asked :Economy, Style and Reliable. My last Civic had 250K and still on the road. I like the Ex Model because of the sunroof, the aluminum wheels and the rear disk brakes. I hate drum brakes; those things should be banned. I really like the gas mileage. I drive it everywhere: My friend borrow it once, he thought the gas gauge was broken. Afterward, he bought one himself. It just good basic transportation. If you want comfort, go for Lexus. If you want phenomenal gas mileage go for a moped.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

March 14 2011

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

The fuel economy is excellent. 40-41 mpg on the commute which is about 2/3 freeway. The car is fun to drive, handles well, has good acceleration and easy to park. The instrument panel lights are nice and adjustable. Decent room for a coupe... and remember it is a coupe. If you have a family get the sedan. Unless you must shift gears, or live in the mountains, get the automatic as it gives the best economy and works flawlessly with the 4 cylinder engine.

Cons

I think some of Honda's parts suppliers are not up to traditional Honda standards. I had 2 issues with mine early on that were fortunately covered under warranty. In the 2nd week of ownership the AC compressor went bad, and then at 30k the power steering rack seals went out. Both items were replaced with no hassle. There is a blind spot right rear that you need to be aware of... tho not an issue for the sedan. As far as road noise is concerned, I upgraded to Michelins which solved that minor issue. Keep at 35 psi for best results.

Overall

Excellent commuter car. Fit and finish are also excellent. There are several good cars in this segment that you may want to also consider. This is one that is better than most. If you like what you see, it's a no-brainer. Mine is actually a 2007. It has 90K miles and I plan to keep it til the wheels fall off. It's almost due for it's first tune-up... Ha!

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

February 10 2011

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

The styling is great and I get a lot of comments.

Cons

The trunk lid doesn't stay up (I get whacked in the head when bending inside to get things). Both back window seals leak and leak, down the outside of the car, after washing/drying the car. The (front) windshield is so large that the sun visors are ineffective. It's like they were an afterthought or addition that the engineers didn't think through. The coat hooks in the back seat hold exactly ONE hanger. They are very nearly unuseable. I purchased a pole-type rack made to run hook to hook and the hooks are so shallow, they wouldn't hold the pole. The instrument panel is slanted so that most of the time, the driver cannot see the instruments because of glare.

Overall

The car is very low-profile and I have whacked the bottom A LOT. No matter how careful I am, I still scrape on most driveways. I have had to replace the a/c system (not a warranty covered item) due to a rock hitting inside the engine compartment. I have had eight flat tires in one year with this car. Coincidence? I've replaced the brakes three times in the year I've had it (this is NOT a fast car, folks) and some springs in the front that made the car sound like an old junker. Unfortunately, I've been hearing that sound AGAIN lately. Like I said - it's not Honda's best. It's cute and stylish and moves along okay, but has a lot of bugs that should have been worked out on a car that's been around as long as the civic a long time ago.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

February 3 2011

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

Good fuel

Cons

Ride is too rough

Overall

I honestly think people should get a Toyota Corolla instead of this junk car. The inside is so uncomfortable the drive is horrible. I had this car for a month then I got rid of it and got a brand new toyota Corolla S. The Corolla is a better drive and much more roomey inside too. Gor for a Corolla u wont be sorry.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

January 20 2011

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

Fun to drive, 28 to 30mpg city and 36+ mpg highway, great options

Cons

None

Overall

Will drive this car for many years. Love the leather heated seats, the economical cost of owning, the moon roof, layout of the instruments. This is a car that is economical to own and fun to drive.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

January 15 2011

Model

Honda Civic Si Sedan

Pros

Very fun to drive, Powerful, Most comfortable seats ever

Cons

Road Noise, Tires tend to lose pressure in cold weather areas

Overall

I bought my 2010 Civic Si around 8 months ago and I love it. Great Honda reliability with a little more power than I was used to with my old civic. When you need it to take off for you it will. The look is much more sporty than your standard civic. Honda is the master of squeezing every ounce of power out of the 4 cylinder engine and this car is no exception. The seats are the most comfortable I have ever seen in a car and also look slick with the black fabric and red Si badging. On the downside the car is a little bit noisier than your typical Honda. Also living in a cold weather environment I have noticed that tires tend to lose pressure fairly easily as the temperature drops causing the tire pressure indicator light to come on. Other than that I have no complaints about the Civic Si.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

January 10 2011

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Cons

mechanical defects with less than 3k miles this is totally unacceptable

Overall

this is supposed to be reliable? I have had many american made cars and never had problems with them with less than 3k miles. Sounds like front wheel bearings are bad. Why does the press give a car like such high marks. Sounds like a hidden agenda

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

December 16 2010

Model

Honda Civic Si Sedan

Pros

Seats, exhaust sound, looks, high revs, tranny

Cons

Low torque, second gear feels rough

Overall

THis is my first car and I love it!! It is powerfull enough and the seats are really comfy and supporting, especially iin the turns.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

November 26 2010

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Have this car 3 month. Last month drove 3000 miles from Miami to LA with no problem. So far overal is very good car, definetely recomend this car to buy.

Cons

Performance: Braking and handling is very good. Inside: driver side is comphortable and have a plenty space. Quality is good.

Overall

Acceleration is below with 140hp, but its acceptable and save gas. Have only 1 electric outlet. Total 5000 miles and have no problem.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

November 6 2010

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

Quick,nimble & great fuel economy

Cons

None

Overall

I have to roll my eyes at some of these OTHER consumer reviews here; this is about the 2010 Honda Civic- not some previous purchase. Let's stick to the topic of what we're supposed to review here in an objective way. Now I bought a brand new 2010 Honda Civic LX. I've driven it for nearly 200 miles now and have had no issues whatsoever. I drove a 1995 Honda Civic EX (178K and it was still mechanically sound before I sold it) before and the upgrades from that have been pretty darn good. I'm getting nearly 30+ MPG; I'm a daily commuter who doesn't always take the freeways either. It handles very well and is quick & nimble. I have no fear whatsoever about merging onto the freeway with this car as it's got some pep when I step on the gas. It seems much roomier than my old Honda and little things like an adjustable telescoping steering wheel and height adjustment on the driver's seat is pretty nice. From a driver's POV, the dashboard is laid out very efficiently although it did take some adjustment for me to get used to the digital speedometer & the tachometer being on separate planes. I can reach the radio controls, heat/ AC, and all of the other controls relatively easily without feeling as though I have to search and diverting my attention elsewhere. Nice map lights were a pleasant touch and the steering wheel is comfortable. Visibility through the massive front windshield is spacious. My only few knocks on this car are that I thought the seats could've been a little more plush. The headrests seem stiff and there could've been an armrest in the back seat (I guess the EX model has one back there). Interior wise the materials were a little more plasticky than I prefer but I know I didn't buy a Bentley. The brakes have yet to be really tested with hard braking but they seem a trifle stiff so far. I found this car to be a great deal (was offered .9% financing) and if it lasts as long as I've had my previous Honda (15+ years), I will be more than happy with my purchase. It's been a nice upgrade for me so far and I couldn't be happier with the purchase of my 2010 Honda Civic. I'd recommend this vehicle to my friends and family too.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

October 11 2010

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Best in class styling, both inside and out. Interior fit and finishing are very good, though some rattling noise inside the B-pillar, at the passenger seat belt hanger area. Competitive pricing.

Cons

VERY ANNOYING to start my Civic 2010. I had experienced two failures of starting for the first time, within 10 days owning this brand new car. On both occasions, the outside temperature was merely 15C (~59F) and the CIVIC was left at parking lots between 1 to 4 hours during the day. The 2nd attempt to start were successful, though still a little sputtering. The mechanic at dealer shop suggested waiting for SIX SECONDS at the ON position (i.e. II at ignition) before starting. I am concerned about the long term reliability of the starting system. My own search in the Net reveals wide-spread complaints by 8th Generation (2006-now) Civic owners. Honda, please come clean with a recall.

Overall

A very stylish, good looking car both inside and out. My wish is that Honda corrects the hard starting problem with Honda Civic. Then this car is perfect.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

October 9 2010

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

economical, gas saver, and EXL leather trimmed

Cons

rough ride, stiff and small steering wheel, bumpy and rough on turns.

Overall

i think this car is overally bad. The ride is harsher and bumpier than the honda accord. It has enough power to move you for everyday commute and college in a compact size car. compare to the 2005 model it has significant upgraded engine power per gas mileage. However, there are many negatives in this car. -transmissions becomes jerky after few years -harsh and stiff steering -bumpy ride during turning -no center armrest console on LX models and below I recommend buyers to test drive a sentra, which is more excited to drive; a corolla, which is more comfortable and has electrical power steering. Both of these cars have better torque than the fake torque that honda engine offers. And they require less effort to gas.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

September 22 2010

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

Good MPG and handling

Cons

Rough ride and noisy

Overall

Interior comfort is poorly thought out as I find it impossible to see the odometer and speed at the same time. The parking brake handle hits me in the knee and is in a poor location. There is also a ridge along the center console that imbeds itself in the side of my leg. The gas pedal and brake on the automatic are too close and when I used to brake with the right foot I sometimes would also be hitting the accelerator.I now drive two footed. This car has no power and the only way to get power is to rev it high. This engine has no torque and is about as noisy as my semi tractor. I thought I would try a foreign manufacturer even though it is built in Indiana and I don't think I would buy another one. I drove a Buick before this and it was twice the car that this is.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

September 15 2010

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

Cute car

Cons

rough ride , road noise, major mechanical issues

Overall

We bought this car new in 2008 for our college age daughter. Got an extented warantee just in case. At 36,500 miles the A/C went out, gas mileage plummeted. Cost $900 to repair- thank you extended warantee. Mileage has gone down to 25mpg. At 40,000 miles the transmission went out. Again waranteed because we bought the extended warantee to 60,000 miles. Now car is making weird noises after being warmed up. Honda mechanic can't figure it out. Needless to say we will never purchase another Honda. Wife and I drive Toyotas. Never had ANY problems.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

August 23 2010

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

good looking design, good gas mileage superb handling.

Cons

nothing I can think of except road noise(easily reduced by buying good tires) engine design. see below.

Overall

Great eceonomy car. I love the look and the handling is great. It turns on a dime with minimal body roll. Only thing I didn't understand is why did Honda change their engine from a dohc to an sohc? Dohc engines have more intake and exhaust valves so they run more efficiently. This new engine is not as peppy has a model from 2005 I drove.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

August 21 2010

Model

Honda Civic Si Sedan

Pros

none

Cons

uncomfortable, noise, no power

Overall

This is the most uncomfortable car I've ever been it. No matter what I did after 20 miles my back hurt, its hard to get into and out of. At anything over 35 mph forget caring on a conversation because the road noise is so load you can't hear yourself think. Thank God I only rented it for three days and didn't buy it. Compared to 07 the KIA Specter we use for around town the Honda is junk.

2010 Honda Civic review

Date

August 16 2010

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

140 horsepower engine is more than enough power. i love the digital speedometer and guage cluster placement. sterring wheel feels great and center console layout is perfect. radio on EX sounds great for a car of this class. When i need that punch of power, that V-tec engine has no hesitation. The overall styling is perfect inside and out. Great trunk space

Cons

the only complaints i have is the obstructed view from the drivers side A pillar and the fact that i cannot see the hood from the drivers seat. The front slopes down so much its not visible even with the seat set at its highest position. it' hard to gauge distance from the curb when parking, which i can prove with the scrapes under my front bumper. Interior noise is a little loud, but not a deal breaker

Overall

I love my Honda civic. My last car was a lemon and i went from a 300 horsepower BMW 335i to a 140 HP delight. i was scared i would miss the extra power but a fully loaded car and packed trunk was no problem on a trip to Vegas, up the 215. Yes, i might not win any races with this car but it serves its purpose well and is a smooth drive. Interior is great and although the plastics aren't the highest quality, they certainly aren't cheap. I love the gas mileage too

Honda Civic 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph