FastCarsWiki.com

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

December 12 2012

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

The overall handling on the road is better than average. It corners well and hold the road. Gas mileage is okay. Wife likes it.

Cons

Brakes seem to be an issue with the 09 to 12 Civics. Honda tells you after you go through your first set of brakes at 25K that that is average. I would not call 25K average on any car. My CR-V got 132K on a set of brakes. 90K+ on an Oddesy My wife's Mazda 6 at least got 45K. Seems to be a lot of people complaining. At over 200 dollars a pop, I do not call that a minimal issue.

Overall

Probably will not buy another Civic unless Honda fixes this brake issue and compensates the owners.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

October 10 2012

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Very well built and reliable. I have owned my 2009 Honda Civic EX-L Sedan since new and I have 25K miles so far. The ride and handling is much better than the 1989 Acura Legend it replaced and is also better than the new 2012 Honda Civic (a huge disappointment and several steps back for Honda). The seats are confortable on even the longest drives (longest was 14 hours this past summer) and the heated seats are a treat in the winter. Visibility all around is a strength with minimal blind spots with the larger side mirrors. The cabin air filter has been a lifesaver during allergy season.

Cons

This is my 5th Honda and it always seems like they are 10-15% underpowered. This Civic is no exception. Wish I bought the Si model but I'm the only one among the drivers who can operate a manual transmission so oh well. The fuel economy has never lived up to the EPA estimates and I drive very conservatively. The city fuel economy has been particularly disappointing -- around 20-22 mpg even with the AC off. The factory tires (Bridgestone Turanzas) are treacherous in snow/icy conditions so I purchased a set of Bridgestone Blizzak LM-60s which is one of the best snow tires for the money. The noses of these cars are flexible and after a slow 'bump', I crushed the top of my radiator! Be careful!

Overall

The 2006-11 Civics are unsurpassed by any other generation of Civic (and their peers) and has the best combination of quality, durability, reliability, safety, and amenities. After trading in my old Acura Legend under the "Cash for Clunkers" program and getting a really good deal on my Civic, I will drive this one until it falls apart. I hope to get past 250K miles at least. The new (2012) Civics are too junky -- Honda cut way too many corners and turned off a lot of loyal Honda owners. This generation Civic is a lot quieter than the new Civic and rides a lot better. The size of this Civic is comparable to my late 80s Accord and can seat four comfortably (five is tough unless the three in the back seat are pretty small/thin). The price for excellent visibility is a lot of glass and on the hottest days (high temps/humidity), the A/C system gets overwhelmed easily and the cabin is rather warm. The omission of AC+heater vents for the back seat passengers is a crime.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

August 17 2012

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Very Clean & Sleek Design,Peppy Engine,Good Pickup,Fun to Drive,Like the new design on Dashboard

Cons

Should have had fog lights (I think I am being too picky)

Overall

I bought this 2nd hand from a dealer (2009 model). It is fully loaded (what I was looking for). My wife and I fell in love with this car. I think this is a perfect car - has good combination of fun along with good mileage. Best of both the world. I like the way the car handles at turns and has a good grip on the road. It has Michellin tires. Although this is not a head turning car, I think that Honda design engineers put in a lot of thought when they built it. Sure there is a little road noise, who cares, but if you want to have fun ... then go for it. You would not be disappointed.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

July 11 2012

Model

Honda Civic Coupe

Pros

Fuel mileage

Cons

Low tire pressure occurs often

Overall

I love my civic! Get me in to work have hit 115mph at the drag course and it's a beast! Have done alot to it and it looks amazing. I lowered it 3 inches more and replaced tail lights with smoked ones tinted the windows and added HID lights to give it a good look at night. Added fog lights and replaced the H Honda emblems with Red ones. Great car for years to last. Driven to from Chicago to new York,Vegas, and Mexico City and no trouble... LOVE MY HONDA!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

June 22 2012

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

Economical

Cons

None.

Overall

It's a Car that get's you to point A to point B in comfort, style and reliablity. I simply love it, I can't complain. 2009 Honda Civic Dx VP A/T in White. 40k miles.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

April 23 2012

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

everthing - looks - comfort-mileage-dashboard letting know main problems (if any) & lots of color selections

Cons

nothing

Overall

fantastic

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

April 12 2012

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

great little zippy car

Cons

great little zippy car that police like to stop

Overall

I traded my 2000 civic for this model. I LOVE IT! It is very stylish, gets very goos gas mileage, and is very affordable to drive. I now have 74K on this 3 yo car. I keep up with the mechanical stuff and so far no problems. Okay, I did have to get the visor replaced (under warranty for defect). Since this is a MT I am not sure how I would like an AT. LOVE THE CAR

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

March 27 2012

Model

Honda Civic Si Coupe

Cons

ok

Overall

i want the address this car. i want to know how much this car.i love this car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

February 21 2012

Model

Honda Civic GX

Overall

comfort bad bad jush dont go to far not comfort not not not not not not

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

December 9 2011

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

The gas mileage is excellent. It controls very well. Very responsive.

Cons

I hate to say anything negative about this car, but, It has alot of blind spots, I guess due to all the airbags, which I just pay extra attention to, that's a fair trade off I guess. The seats are very uncomfortable on a long drive, I took it from VA, to Boston, twice, and was completely worn out due to it being so uncomfortable, but I got incredible gas mileage! I've not had any problems with the maintance, other then the LCD lights in the back window quit working, and of coarse the warranty has expired. I also strongly suggest that any buyer insist on different tires then what the new cars are equipped with, due to character limitations here, I can't explain that.

Overall

Overall, I'd buy this car again, because of the reliability, and the gas mileage. But I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who wants comfort.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

October 25 2011

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

It beats my old car kinda...

Cons

It's a piece of s*#!

Overall

"It's a piece of s...! Piece of s...car, I got a piece of s... car..." I went from being very excited & happy about my Civic to very disappointed almost instantly. I have tried unsuccessfully to have my driver side window repaired by the dealer due to the constant wind noise generated from it, but I may need to consult with my local news station to get it fixed. The seats are a pain in the back. The headrest severely limits my hairstyles...no ponytails in the Civic. Poor acceleration at 70+...The car shakes like it needs a tune up. Doesn’t start at times. The paint job is very poor, scratches easy. Honda is a joke! So much for certified Hondas...I highly regret not going w/ a new Hyundai. Every time I see the new Elantra and Sonata, I shake my head. Life’s full w/ regrets and buying a Honda is one of mine.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

September 26 2011

Model

Honda Civic Sedan

Pros

mpg

Cons

all else

Overall

i own a 2007 civic and thought this information might be useful for anyone considering a honda...this car has been through half dozen recalls...my air conditioning no longer works due to a blown compressor after four years of use...my tires had to be replaced after two years...needed a new battery after two years...and no one at honda responds

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

June 3 2011

Model

Honda Civic Coupe

Pros

GREAT CAR FOR WHAT IT IS!!!!

Cons

not much, could have more headroom. I'm 6'1"

Overall

I bought this car April 2009 and have 27,000 miles on it.I just luv this car. Great gas mileage. Better than estimated on window sticker.Only one minor problem since I bought it. the chimes that ring when lights are left on stopped working. So ps. next morning battery was dead Other than that.. EXCELLENT!!!! I have had BMW, Audi, Saab,all good cars but expensive to maintain.. This CIVIC will cost very little to keep on the road. Overall just a great little car...

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

May 22 2011

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Sips gas even at 75mph gets, 35mpg

Cons

Not having the remote open the trunk.

Overall

Have my 2009 civic coming off lease & love it so much I'm going to buy it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

February 1 2011

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Good looks,Nicely finished

Cons

Road Noise

Overall

Excellent vehicle

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

September 10 2010

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

The most awesome and coolest car to own! The Dealer offers a lot of accessories....the entire body kit is great (front bumber, rear bumber, side bumper) and wing spoiler.....gives an aggressive look. The interior is too advanced for its competition.....the two tier instrument panel is great. In other words, this car offers quality, comfort, great performance and an aggressive look!!

Cons

none

Overall

The most awesome and coolest car to own!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

August 17 2010

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Love the styling both exterior and interior. The two-tier dash is awesome. Takes no time to get used to and actually makes sense since you don't need to take your eyes off the road to see your speed. I am averaging about 29 mpg around town in mixed driving. Highway mileage on a recent trip was 38 mpg.

Cons

No trunk release on the remote for LX... not a big deal. Stock stereo doesn't have much bass, but again, no big deal. Road Noise? Yeah, but no more than in other compact car with a 4-cyl engine. My only real complaint about the interior is that is hard to clean the inside of the windshield and back window because of the slant... just takes a bit of time to get it right :)

Overall

Overall, an excellent car. Do yourself a favor and research then drive the Civic. If you have not done so, I believe you will be pleasantly surprised!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

July 30 2010

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Fun to drive, interesting dash layout.

Cons

A bit of a roar with road noise at speed.

Overall

Excellent fun car for the price.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

July 26 2010

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Fuel economy 30-40mpg, style and handling.

Cons

Stereo could use a bit more power. Road noise

Overall

This is a fantastic vehicle. Great fuel economy. I do both city and highway driving and get just over 600km on a tank and I only let it go halfway between empty and a quarter. Performance is great even with the automatic. I choose navy blue for the color. My only cons are the stereo is not the best but definatley better than the corolla which was just boring even for their redesign. I will put in a more powerful head unit and speakers. Also the road noise was pretty bad at the beginning but I replaced the stock tires with Goodyear Assurances and that made a big difference.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 Honda Civic review

Date

March 25 2010

Model

Honda Civic

Pros

Style Overall, Gasoline Mileage, Economy, Reliability, Performance, Ease of Use, Accessories, Stylish Interior, Stylish Exterior

Cons

Low Acceleration Front Cup Holders Over-priced Noisy Cabin (Road Noise) Sitting Uncomfortable especially while Long-runs Not a lot of Color choices

Overall

Very good vehicle considering the above pros and cons. I've owned the vehicle for about a year now (purchased it brand-new,) and I haven't had any problem with it so far (fortunately; knock on wood.) Civic definitely surpasses the likes of Toyota Corolla or any other vehicle in this segment. This is perfect for recent graduates who don't have the money to buy more expensive cars in the next segment, but they want something similar to that. If you're looking to keep your purchase for at least 4-5 years without seeing too much of a depreciation in its value, then Honda Civic is the perfect choice.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

Honda Civic 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph