FastCarsWiki.com

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

August 24 2012

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

i own a 85 coupe that has been converted to fuel injection love this car. ive had it for the last 12 yrs it has 3.45 traction lock rear end 4 speed auto 25 mpg all the time long trip i get 27mpg its a great 5.0 stang everyone should have one!!!!!

Cons

nothing i love this car

Overall

wouldnt ever buy anything but a mustang there in my blood

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

April 28 2012

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Great Handling, Acceleration is awesome, it is the perfect summer car to go for a drive in and a great first car. The center of gravity on this car is very low so I would never worry about it flipping over in a accident.

Cons

Not the best on gas but the horsepower makes up for that, the stock brakes aren't so nice and safety wise their is only one airbag.

Overall

Fast and turns a lot of heads. Great first car for a highschool student who wants to win races and put black marks on the road.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

October 11 2011

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

wide variety of parts

Cons

heating and air conditioning, and mpg

Overall

very good reliable car.. fun and good handling

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

November 18 2010

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

I love this car I bought it in 1991 and have really enjoyed it ever since. It has the power and the looks to get your attention. Handles like a dream especially around curves. If you have never driven a GT convertible you are missing out on one of the best rides around. Would not think of selling my pony.

Cons

Not a thing

Overall

Great car, great ride

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

April 7 2010

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

torque

Cons

fuel economy

Overall

thats a good car short wheel base driver expiremanter

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

August 14 2009

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

POWER. This model empowers the driver with a feeling of exhiliration and confidence. FUN. Not hard to make the wheels smoke. EASY to work on and find parts for.

Cons

Convertible is loud at high speeds. Requires consistent maintenance.

Overall

Not hard to fall in love with. Strong aftermarket if customization is desired. Large fanbase, do not purchase if you don't like to be admired. GREAT CAR.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

January 26 2009

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Might only have 225-250HP, but 300TQ makes up for that. Mash the throttle at any RPM and the 5.0L will respond quickly. Hatch back is a big plus if you DO have to move items. I personally love the styling of the vehicle, and as many have said it has a HUGE aftermarket and spare parts are abundant. Power to weight ratio is better than any other V8 car out there. And even with a different rear axle ratio (3.73) I see 20+ MPG highway. In town, not so much.

Cons

Where the heck are my cup holders? Seriously.

Overall

Love it to death. I've owned a heavily turbo'd SRT-4 Dodge Neon, 350-swapped '79 Datsun, stroked Jeep Wrangler, etc. etc. and I'd have to say that this Mustang is my favorite so far. After a couple mods, the fox-body Mustang is one of the quickest out there. Least expensive to buy, least expensive to modify. And while you might be fixing things often (hello electrical system!), the parts are cheap enough that it's not a headache. I will never sell this car.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

June 30 2008

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Fast!

Cons

Needs alot of work!

Overall

Fast car!

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

March 2 2008

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

I like that handling, looks, speed of the car

Cons

nothing

Overall

I bought this car in 1999, yes I have stuck some aftermarket parts on, and repaired some other problems from buying a used car. But other than that I love this car. I wouldn't trade for anything.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

June 25 2007

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Great gas miliage, wonderfull handeling, great comfort, and low noise.

Cons

low ammount storage room, and low leg room in back seat.

Overall

Overall this is a great car has potential. can be modified very quick and easy for racing. or just for upgrading engine and accesories.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

June 6 2007

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Great power, steering and handling; surprisingly good gas mileage (well over 20 mpg overall) on regular unleaded gas if I am careful; plenty of replacement and or performance parts available at reasonalbe prices; very reliable for a 19 year old car, especially the bullet-proof 5.0; tight, efficient styling to LX model; value is on the rise.

Cons

Interior quality is low; gas mileage is poor if I keep my right foot in it; still a lot of beater Fox bodies on the road, so not a lot of respect; chassis flex is severe, especially with convertibles so adding stiffening is critical.

Overall

I used to own British sports cars--Triumphs, MG's, along with a Fiat 124 Spider. They were fun cars but expensive to maintain and repair, and the prices are out of sight now--especially the British cars. The Mustang is so much more civilized with good air conditioning, heat and defrost systems that really work. And it never overheats. Take care of your 5.0 Mustang and it will reward you.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

August 21 2006

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Incredible low RPM power, vast aftermarket, easy fish tails, melts tires.

Cons

It's from the 80s, and it shows. Tranny's (T5) made of glass.

Overall

Great, Fun car, but rough around the edges compared to today's cars. (no more than expected though)

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

July 26 2006

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

My 1988 LX 5.0 convertible is plenty of fun to drive. Family and friends enjoy the ride as well. Engine is stong and reliable. This car is easy to work on (mostly) and parts are readily available. I prefer the look of the LX over GT for this era Mustang.

Cons

Suspension is hard. Manual transmission is not all that smooth to shift. Interior trim plastics have become brittle over the years. I could never keep the A/C charged despite a number of repairs - finally gave up on it (no big deal, it's a convertible). Replacing the passenger cabin heater core is a major job (you have to remove the dash). The 5.0 needs premium gas. Minor problems with many of the electronic devices - fuel gauge, power windows, power door locks, A/C, tape deck, fuel pump inerita switch, coolant temperature sender. Most of this stuff I was able to fix, myself, for minimal cost. A car this old will need some care to keep everything operating.

Overall

I special ordered this car from the factory in the summer 1988. At the time it was one of the more powerful cars around. For the most part, it has been a Sunday driver for the last 18 years and it has less than 50,000 miles on it. It is still bone stock and I'm keeping it that way. I was thinking of selling it, because I don't use it much. My brother said he wanted it. Then my wife and kids declared it their car and that I couldn't sell it. Enough said.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

January 21 2006

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Cheap, fast, style. 5.0

Cons

Gas Mileage.

Overall

One of the best deals out there and prices are on the rise.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

September 24 2005

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Powerfull & comfortable very close compared with other very expencive cars .

Cons

None.

Overall

Very Good for the price ..great performance ,handiling and comfort + a great legendry american muscle car.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

February 11 2005

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Looks great. and drives fast. true sports car.

Cons

FORD. Fix or replace daily. it's true.

Overall

I bought the car to go fast, and that's what the car did. end of story.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

January 4 2005

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

Performance and ease of modifications.

Cons

Interior.

Overall

excellent vehicle for the performance enthusiast who likes to upgrade their cars performance.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

July 18 2004

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

A lot of head room without the top. Fast with the 5.0 liter engine. The car has an edge that catches everyone's eye.

Cons

The space in the car isn't that big, tight and somewhat compact. The car is big enough for two, could be good.

Overall

Fun car, sun or shine.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

March 30 2004

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

My mustang used to be a cop intercepter in Georgia. It has 103,000 miles and not a spot of rust anywhere. I put a superchip in it,cold air intake,and an accell coil and plugs in it and the car is just amazingly fast.My 5.0 runs great with absolutley no problems. If you've never owned a mustang ,then you just don't know what your missing!!

Cons

Interior could use a little help.

Overall

Go out and get one--You won't regret it!

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

March 17 2004

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

This car is extremely fun to drive

Cons

Horrible in the winter, Trans problems

Overall

This car is worth the worry.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

March 11 2004

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

Excellent car, best bang for the buck!

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

March 8 2004

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

The on demand power provided by the v8 has got to be the biggest thing I notice. I owned a Porscha 944 for 11 months and the got the mustang I fell in love with the raw power of the vehical. the realy knew what they were looking for when they designed this sports car.

Cons

Interior is alittle lacking in design and quality of materals the fablic seem dawl and not catching to the eye. sam with the consaling and gauges.

Overall

This car will rival many cars to come and has left its mark in history!

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

March 6 2004

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

It is a pleasure to drive. Everything is easy to repair/replace if needed. It is truly a classic

Cons

n/a

Overall

I really enjoy the car. If you're looking for one of the true American race cars. This is it!

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

January 21 2004

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

AMAZING POWER AND SPEED ALL YOU CHEVY OWNERS TAKE A GOOD LOOK AT THAT SEXY FRONT END AT A RED LIGHT BECAUSE WHEN THE LIGHT TURNS GREEN ALL YOU WILL SEE IS THE REAR END. I OWNED AN I-ROC Z WITH THE 350 V-8 WITH SOME WORK DONE TO IT AND I WOULD ALWAYS GET SMOKED BY THOSE 5.0'S NOW I HAVE ONE AND I KNOW WHAT POWER IS ALL ABOUT. THIS IS THE BEST SPORTS CAR AND ALWAYS WILL BE CHEVY HAS FINIALLY FIGURED THAT OUT BECAUSE THEY STOPPED SELLING THE CAMERO AND FIREBIRD DUE TO SLOW SALES AND BASICALLY GETTING STOMPED ALL OVER BY THE MUSTANG. THE MUSTANG WILL NEVER DIE!!!!!!!

Cons

OWNING ANY SPORTS CAR BUT A MUSTANG.

Overall

IF YOU DON'T HAVE ONE THEN YOU WILL NEVER UNDERSTAND WHAT A REAL PONY CAR IS ALL ABOUT. BYE BYE IMPORTS.

1988 Ford Mustang review

Date

December 21 2003

Model

Ford Mustang

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

Great Car. Fun to drive

Ford Mustang 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph