FastCarsWiki.com

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

December 12 2012

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Gas mileage much better than advertised - closer to 40 MPG; Roomy and comfortable front seats; Great acceleration for a 2 liter engine; trunk is HUGE for a car this size!

Cons

HATED the Pirelli tires that came standard - experienced separation issues with all 4 of them! Back seat is really suitable for only one person, but that's to be expected in a small car

Overall

I've had my Focus SES for 4 years now, and still love the car. My only real complaint would be with the Pirelli tires that came standard with the car - less than a year after purchasing, all four tires had to be replaced because of separation issues. I replaced them with a good set of Michelins, and received an added benefit - a substantial decrease in road noise. I drive this car 100 miles per day during the school year, and love the fact that it feels like a much heavier car than it it. Even so, it has a lot of pickup for a 2 liter engine, and I have absolutely no trouble merging into traffic on the interstate. Gas mileage is even better than advertised - closer to 40 mpg than 35. I also use my Focus for weekend getaway trips to the mountains - plenty of room for two adults and a labradoodle in the backseat - and the trunk is roomy enough for all of our luggage. In short, I loved this car when I bought it, and if possible, I love it even more now!

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

October 23 2012

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

look, comfort, size

Cons

Transmission, transmission, transmission! . . .and Ford HQ refusal to replace the transmission to fix the problem.

Overall

This car has been a nightmare for me, and I will never buy a Ford again. I bought this car last year after my Chevy Cavalier was totaled in an accident (I had no trouble with that car the entire six years I drove it). My Focus has been in the shop more than seven times (not exaggerating) in a year for the same problem, the transmission. Ford HQ refuses to replace it and so the same problem keeps coming up. I'm trading it in after it gets fixed this time, because the warranty is almost up and the bills will be insane to pay, and still not get fixed. The only reason I drive it about 10,000 miles or less per year, is because it's in the shop so often.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

October 23 2012

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

comfort, size, sync

Cons

Transmission, transmission, transmission!

Overall

This car has been a nightmare for me, and I will never buy a Ford again. I bought this car last year after my Chevy Cavalier was totaled in an accident (I had no trouble with that car the entire six years I drove it). My Focus has been in the shop more than seven times (not exaggerating) in a year for the same problem, the transmission. Ford HQ refuses to replace it and so the same problem keeps coming up. I'm trading it in after it gets fixed this time, because the warranty is almost up and the bills will be insane to pay, and still not get fixed. The only reason I drive it about 10,000 miles or less per year, is because it's in the shop so often.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

September 17 2012

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Good gas mileage. Usually average 31 mpg. enough space for 5 people and has a nice design.

Cons

Not really a sports vehicle.

Overall

I love this car! would recommend to friends.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

May 22 2012

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Great fuel economy, nice quiet ride

Cons

none so far

Overall

I just bought this car a couple of weeks ago, my first Ford after 25 years driving GM cars. The gas mileage is excellent, ride is very nice, and it gets up to highway speed very quickly for a 4 cylinder...A very fun car to drive! I was surprised at just how nice a car this is for the price.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

February 25 2012

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Comfortable

Cons

Worried about the battery because of all the lights it has

Overall

I really like my new used 2008 ford focus! I got this car recently and bought it for 11,000 dollars and I got a loan. I couldn't find anything wrong with it and the mechanics couldn't either! Its perfect and blue. I love it! I bought mine with no scratches and its looks great and its in excellent condition and I am very happy. I have the one thats loaded and has heated leather seats. Its nice to be warm when its freezing out, with all the luxuries and options it has. Not to mention that its reliable. Its a nice little car, its a cute little car.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

January 7 2012

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

gas mileage/handling/apearance

Cons

the wife does'nt like it, because it's not a truck

Overall

I love it because I pass a lot of gas stations

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

November 15 2011

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

good on fuel

Cons

Not safe

Overall

I find the Ford Focus 2008 version, has a safety concern. I'm having difficulties viewing or see any clearence on the right and left hand side above the side view mirrors. With the windshield and part of the frame, is a blocking problem.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

May 30 2011

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Excellent fuel economy and reliability, made in USA

Cons

paint chipping near rear door, bad factory tires

Overall

I have nothing but praise for my 08' Focus! Most of the time I am in the 40 mpg range with my driving habits which leaves me pass gas stations all week long with my long commute. I have never had the car in for repairs other than normal oil changes. The factory Pirelli tires were a problem I might add. After I changed to another brand, I have not had a problem with tires wearing out prematurely. The front tires (somehow) throw rocks(?) back to the front of the rear tires and have worn the paint down to the primer, but no rust. A cosmetic inconvience I could probably fix with a half a can of spray paint? Otherwise a great car! Did I mention it was made in USA?

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

April 3 2011

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Good gas mileage. Can't understand why people have said it doesn't handle well in the snow. We have snow up to six months a year. I have never owned a car that handled better in snow. The difference might be in having good snow tires and not having snow tires.

Cons

Not enough leg room in the back even with the front seats as far forward as possible.

Overall

Excellent

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

March 19 2011

Model

Ford Focus

Overall

I got a 2008 focus in July of 2008. I am so in love with this car. It's red and really sporty. My friends call it a ladybug and also love it. It's a lil small in the back seat area, but if you let the shortess person drive than you will have a pretty good trip. Lets not talk about the gas, it's wonderful on gas.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

March 5 2011

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Good gas mileage, Sync system, Satellite radio

Cons

Bad Pirelli tire, no spare, automatic transmission replaced at 27000

Overall

I love the Satellite radio. It has a great ride, not accounting for the bad Pirelli tire. Plenty of power when and where needed. Handles great in Michigan and Nevada snow.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

February 15 2011

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Good fuel economy, smooth ride and fun to drive!!!

Cons

Ummm...none so far!!!

Overall

I purchased my focus only three weeks ago with a little over 24,000 miles on it and I am in love!! This car is awesome! However, I must say if you have kids it may not be too roomy in the rear for them. It's great for driving to work or around the town. I drove it from Mobile to Louisiana and the gas mileage was great! It was a smooth ride the entire time and I am so glad I chose this car. If you are looking for a small, fun, and exciting car this is it!!!

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

January 5 2011

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

well engineered and designed. great features and very comfortable driving. the perelli tires are noisy and i will eventually replace with goodyear like i have on my other car. however, great car.

Cons

the noisy tires

Overall

i highly recommend

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

November 20 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

I bought my 2008 focus brand new and i have loved it ever since, this is my second focus my first was a 2000. I love the sync and bluetooth. the gas mileage is very good the best i got was around 39 mpg and average 35 to 36 in the summer and around 32mpg in the cold ( all depends on driving style ). The exterior has a excellent body style and can be improved with just alittle, ie chrome trim and door handles. It also handles good in the snow and slush, living on the snow belt thats a plus. I have snow tires for it and if i put weight in the trunk 60lbs or more it will power through the snow and have good handling.

Cons

In the cold weather the tranny takes longer to shift into the highest gear, and the tranny is more sensitive to the gas peddle on the road ie. shifting down ( I also know the cold is hard on vehicles and its the cause of the prob) . but it works great in the summer heat. The stock tires were junk.

Overall

Over all I love my 08 focus and plan on buying more of them, its a really good car and i'm glad i got it.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

November 1 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

loved the car from day one, now almost three years later, still no problems just hate the automatic trans...seems to always want to down shift when passing or speeding up. but other than that i love it! i'm getting 35 mpgs in mixed driving..still have a couple of years remaining on my loan and i'm debating to trade it in on the 2011 new focus.........

Cons

hate the automatic trans...seems to always want to down shift when passing or speeding up

Overall

If Ford would hold off on the 2011 focus i would keep this car forever

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

September 25 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Great Fuel Economy...Good Ride

Cons

Loves tires

Overall

I Love this little car! I was a diehard GM person until I drove this Focus. I commute 32 miles one way to work and needed something good on gas and good in the snow. GM did not offer anything in this size range with the fuel mileage. Even the little Chevy Aveo gets less MPG than the bigger Fcus. I boughte car in March of 2010 with 27000 miles on it. Now it is September 2010 and I already have 45000 miles on it. The only problem with the car was a broken motor mount which was repaired under warranty and new set of tires at 39000 miles, other than that routine oil changes and tire rotated. Ford has made a believer out out of a GM believer. First Ford in 25 years!

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

September 13 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

great on gas, typical maintenance, has been reliable

Cons

no cruise control, no pick up, no interior trunk release, no lighter or ash tray

Overall

reliable car

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

August 22 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

I love the way it handles and the sync features.

Cons

The interior could be easier to keep clean.

Overall

I have had my auto for over two years and so far it has been great. Everything about it has exceeded my expectations.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

August 13 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Overall

This car is so awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love it man! its my first car and its amazing. It has great MPG and its spacious. its pretty quick to. kicks pretty hard. Everyone should have one!

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

June 17 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

The look for me is great. It handles well, has pretty good acceleration, the gas mileage is good, the interior is spacious; fit my christmas tree in through the trunk with one of the rear seats down! I have not had a single problem with this vehicle.

Cons

No locking exterior gas cap or interior trunk release.

Overall

A great little car.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

March 25 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

I LOVE the SYNC system. The car is very comfortable to drive. I tend to go alot faster in it than what I think I am going. Very sharp looking, and it doesn't look like every car out on the road. Great gas mileage. I drive mostly on highways (but in Baltimore traffic) and still get about 30 mpg. I have had it up to 40 mpg on long car trip with open roads.

Cons

As with my old Focus (2000 SE), the acceleration isn't the fastest but it will get you there. Sync system did not like my iPod Photo. Also would not play music downloaded off of iTunes. Does however like my new Zune and anything from the Zune Marketplace

Overall

I haven't had any problems with the car so far, and I am not the best at taking care of it. I live on a dirt road with LOTS of pot holes and it takes the beating and keeps going. I would definately suggest to anyone looking for a small car witha lot of the "bells and whistles."

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

January 16 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Pros

Sync is awesome. You sync via bluetooth, and download your contacts. You call/get calls with steering wheel buttons while your phone is in your pocket. Even dialing and mp3 player are voice activated. I've had for over a year and get about 31 mpg. Mostly highway driving to/from work. Also great: the back seats fold forward to access the trunk, or to carry long stuff from Home Depot, etc. The SES with leather is a great looking car, and I get lots of comments. I don't know what people don't like about the exterior, it's pretty stylin. Handles good, good excelleration, great for date night or hauling stuff. Big trunk, even when not folding seats forward.

Cons

I love the car but here's some things you might want to know that nobody told me: 1) No spare tire, or even room for one, unless you use the trunk. 2) Right knee knocks against dash, takes some getting used to. 3) No head rests for back seats. 4) Drink holders - one is fine, the other is shallow and doesn't hold many drinks. 5) Not a "silent" ride, but it's fine. Take it for a test ride and you'll love it.

Overall

Great value and awesome car all around.

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

January 16 2010

Model

Ford Focus

Cons

none

Overall

I just got this car i love it. I really didn't care for the focus at one time but after seeing this focus i loved it and had to have it. All the features on the car are wonderful i and still learning how to work them though. I would recommend this car to anyone whos in the market now looking for a car THIS IS IT!

2008 Ford Focus review

Date

November 23 2009

Model

Ford Focus

Cons

AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY

Overall

I brought my 2008 ford focus in june of 2009 and was involved in a car accident on november 19th. A tractor trailor on the highway ran my fiance off the road and the vehicle flipped a total of 4 times. Now the speed limit was 65 mph and not one of the air bags deployed. Not the steering wheel or the side curtain air bags, and i'm pregnant, imagine if I was in the vehicle during the crash. Luckily my fiance wasn't hurt only a little shoulder bruise, but I more than likely would of lost the baby. Safety? yea that's what we'll call it.

Ford Focus 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph