FastCarsWiki.com

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

January 23 2013

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Fuel Economy

Cons

Idles and everything is breaking!

Overall

My husband and I bought a new 2012. The heater keeps breaking. I know it sounds crazy but I am taking it to the shop for the 3rd time to get it fixed. It is driving me crazy! It was 1 degree this morning and I was freezing on my way to work :( Also I took it because my battery died. They told me not to plug anything in to the outlets because that will drain my battery....Hello why have them in the first place!! NOTE I unplug them when the car is not running! My husband is very anal about that. Anyways I am very disappointed in this car and I have claimed a lemon law. :( I just expected not to take a car to the shop with only 12,000 miles! It also idles pretty bad which I find strange in a new car but I don't know much about cars...I do know that I also have a 2006 Chevrolet Equinox and I love that thing. Never had any problems with it besides roaters......... But if it didn't have these problems I would still love it like I used to.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

January 11 2013

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Nice looking. Fuel Economy pretty fair for SUV. Interior Decent.

Cons

Resale Value drops faster than a rock off a bridge!

Overall

I purchased a 2011 Mainstreet AWD in early 2011, price was $29,000. We had it for almost a year and a half, 12,000 miles, and swapped it in on a 2012, got $21,000 trade. Had the 2012 SXT AWD, $30,200 for 6 months(7000 mile) and wife hit a deer with it. It took out most of the front end so I decided to swap it in for a new vehicle after it was fixed at the dealership, with all new parts. KBB & NADA trade in is between $17,000 & $18,000, I got $17,500. It lost over 40% of it's value in 6 short months! If you like trading vehicles occassionally this isn't a good investment!

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

January 6 2013

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Quietness, solidity, overall smoothness! Very powerful V6 that provides 19 mpg around town and 32 mpg on a highway run. Excellent handling and driveability and all the bells and whistles function as they should. Beautiful styling, aggressive looks, very impressive!

Cons

The seats aren't as comfortable as my old Intrepid but in all fairness, "that wasn't a car, that was an automobile".

Overall

All Dodge has to do is keep building cars like this Journey and they will rule the market. This is by far the nicest car I have ever owned and I had alot of them. Chrysler is on the right track again, engineering, quality, reliability!

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

December 4 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

looks and runs decent

Cons

gas gage,and miles to empty are wrong cant get fix, .

Overall

i am very unhappy with this car. dodge says it is normal for the miles to empty gauge to vary wildly in its readout,even sitting at idle not moving! fords and chevys dont do that we put less than 2000 miles on it and had to have fuel pump assembly replaced because gas gauge was inaccurate, we ran out of gas, put 2 gal. in it, drove25 miles and ran out again. that is 12.5 mpg.the vanity mirror on pass. side sun visor was cracked when purchased,and dodge sent dealer 3 driver side visors before finally getting the right part. i will never,ever buy a damn dodge again,in fact,if they gave me a new one, iwould tell them to shove it in the scrap pile where it belongs! the shifter is also hard to move, worse in cold weather

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

December 4 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Comfortable ride, stylish, versatile vehicle, plenty of HP

Cons

None

Overall

Bought the Blue color Dodge Journey SXT AWD, V-6 pentastar engine 283hp with automatic 6 speed automatic transmission, got lifetime extended warranty for repairs, reliable, affordable & an excellent value for the money.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

November 30 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

I have the Crew edition and I love that is drives like a car with the space of an suv. I owned an suv and a minivan before this and the Journey is much more fun to drive!

Cons

Wish the rear had more storage room behind third row.

Overall

Love it! Fun to drive and getting better fuel economy than expected.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

November 23 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

ride,performance, quality excellent

Cons

google maps are not current

Overall

Excellent quality and quiet smooth ride. I have the rt with 8.4 screeen with nav . Easy to read and the bluetooth and voice recognition works great. I was surprised how well the navigation syncs with the two screeens when aturn is coming as well as the street view that comes up of major ramps coming . I drove it from Ont to BC already and now have 20k with no issues with the car. However the nav which is software from google maps are not upto date . That is to say they are as upto date as google has.dodge needs to pressure google to update more frequently with no cost updates.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

November 18 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Sporty handling and acceleration

Cons

Leather package seats a bit firm on the longer rides

Overall

I purchased this vehicle in June 2012. I already have 13K miles on it. I have the crew package w/the euro style wheeles, leather, the works. The family loves it w/the TV's and all and has a fair amount of cargo space w/the third row seats down. I've gotten tons of complements from complete strangers on it. Those who are displeased witht this vehicle I would say did not do thier research prior to purchase.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

November 18 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Ample room, Handling comfort

Cons

could use better tires

Overall

I am very surprised and very pleased with the overall quality and performance of this car. Very good handling, and the four banger has plenty of pep. I drive 80 miles a day, mostly freeway and have no problems keeping up, doing quick lane changes and passing. Drove from Memphis to Detroit and back with two Great Danes in the back and everyone was cumfortable and happy. Only down side is KUHMO brand tires. They dont seem to be very durable, had to replace one and repair another in the first two months of ownership, and the dealer did not carry the tires in stock. I will definately upgrade to another tire when time to replace.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

November 16 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Where to start... The Journey drives a lot better than the competitors owned by my friends, all of which I drove first. We just came out of our beloved Town and Country to this car after 280K miles in the Chrysler. The Dodge is decidedly sportier looking but also handles quite well for a vehicle its size. Power is more than my buddy's Lexus could dream of, and yet is subdued in noise. Overall we have had it about 6 months now, and ours came with the big brakes. We have constantly gotten better MPG than the sticker says. Overall, we have not had a single complaint or gripe except MAYBE that the third row seats are a little small for anyone larger than a 10 year old.

Cons

The ONLY thing I actually dislike is that it did not come standard with crossbars for the roof rack.

Overall

I would highly recommend it to a young family. I have watched this segment closely and though the earlier ones had brake trouble, that is all gone on the ones built after May 2012. Been absolutely perfect over 6 months.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

November 13 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

I have had the Dodge Journey for three months - I am in LOVE !

Cons

Nothing yet.

Overall

Its a great vehicle. I have the optional third back seat, which I am glad that I did get that!

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

October 28 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

The price "Bang for the Buck!!!" for the amount of items that are included in the standard base model and overall cost we didn't go wrong. First long trip at 75mph avg 28MPG.. great... City right now is around 18-19MPG

Cons

They wanted rating on performance and you can't add Acceleration, Braking & handling in the same catagory... Braking great, Handiing great. But 4 cylinder is just that so with that being the case it did very well for a 4 cylinder. Dealer in town would not budge on price so I went out of town and got a heck of a deal so shop before you buy, for me an extra 300miles was worth a $3000.00 savings. so shop at different dealers berfore you sign and I think you will be surprized on cost saving from one to other

Overall

Love it and my parents like the cost and amont of items for cost. They are really looking into getting this model since they are on fixed income.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

October 24 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

OVERALL I LIKE THE JOURNEY AWD V6. IT HAS EXCELLENT TOP END POWER FOR PASSING. THE MATERIAL USED IN THE INTERIOR IS VERY NICE, NOT PLASTIC LIKE MANY OTHER MAKES THAT I TRIED OUT. IT IS QUIETER THAN ANY CR-V THAT I HAVE OWNED. IT ALSO GETS MUCH BETTER MPG'S THAN CONSUMER REPORTS SAID. I GET ON AVERAGE 22 MPG. AND ON A TRIP I GOT 29MPG. THAT IS BETTER THAN THE CR-V'S THAT I HAVE OWNED. I LOVE THE 8.2 TOUCH SCREEN. HAVEN'T HAD ANY MAJOR PROBLEMS AND I HAVE OVER 30000 MILES ON MINE.

Cons

I ONLY HAVE A COUPLE OF SUGGESTIONS. MAKE THE FRONT SEAT BOTTOMS GO DOWN A LITTLE FURTHER. MY LEGS GO TO SLEEP WHEN I DRIVE ANY DISTANCE. MAKE THE MUD GUARDS STANDARD WE HAVE SOME STONE CHIPPAGE ISSUES. AND LASTLY MAKE THE VENTILATION SYSTEM A LITTLE MORE SENSITIVE. IT DOESN'T WANT TO SEND ANY COOL AIR TO ME WHEN MY WIFE IS COLD. ALSO IT COULD USE A LITTLE MORE BOTTOM END TORQUE, TOP END IS FINE.

Overall

NICEST DODGE I HAVE EVER OWNED. I WOULD DEFINATELY OWN ANOTHER.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

October 2 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

The handling is great fun to drive.

Cons

I wish it woulld get better gas mileage. I thought it was going to get 25 mpg but at this time I'm gettingf 21mpg on the hwy. See what happens the car only has 17,000 miles on it.

Overall

It's a very nice vehicle.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

September 30 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

quiet good gas miliage looks and drives good

Cons

nothing at this time

Overall

great car keep up the good work

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

September 26 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

We leased an AWD Crew 7 passenger in which we take long comfortable trips. Excursions with our 4 grand kids and the dog are effortless with the grand kids "fighting" to sit in the rear most seat. Highway mileage is respectable. Interior appointments are the best ever.

Cons

I wish all models came with a back-up sensor. Ours doesn't have one and it's dearly missed. The back light of the dash needs to have color choices from the mundane crimson color.

Overall

A fantastic vehicle, especially for the money.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

September 26 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Beautiful styling, good fuel,extremely comfortable and quiet, better than a Lexus!!!

Cons

None

Overall

Absolutely, the nicest car I have ever owned and I have had a few. This car is smooth, extremely quiet, powerful, solid, I can't think of enough adjectives. All of you who drive other makes need to get behind the wheel of this car and other Chrysler products, you will be very surprised at how Mopar blows the competition away. Just do it...if you don't agree with me, you can go back to whatever you drive and settle for what you have!

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

September 23 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Overall

got this thing new have had at the dealership to multiple times for the same thing.tell me nothing is wrong are they can't dupilcate the same effects.called cyrsler still no help at the point to having lemon law procedings. hate this car wish i would have never got it.brakes,motor mounts,electronics,key undeteced,overall unhappy

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

September 16 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

low wind noise, extra seating for grandchildren , when needed. Sound system is good.

Cons

rear view with seats up.

Overall

We rented a journey and had it for nine days, taking it on a trip. We liked it so well , we bought one a month later

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

September 9 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Interior is roomy with very comfortable seats Handling is decent, especially when compared to my older 1997 CRV. It handles turns much better with stability control option. It is very stable during highway driving and quiet. Keyless entry features and other technology features are a real plus.

Cons

Gas milage is very poor. Car is so quiet it easy for a busy person to forget that the car is still running when leaving the vehicle. I keep the radio on so that if it doesn't turn off when I open the door, I know that the engine or accessorys is still on. I got the 4 cylinder but based on the gas mileage I have experienced so far, I wish I had gotten the six cylinder model. Visibilty is poor with rear seats up and the third row seats seats are for kids. The only thing I really, really hate is the front head rests, very uncomfortable!

Overall

It took a lot of courage for me to not buy another CRV after having owned one for 14 years with very few problems.I can't believe I brought a DODGE! I'm very pleased with the Journey's handling and features especially for the price. The styling is middle of the road but still quite nice. If not for the poor gas mileage and uncomfortable head rests. I could easily see rating this vehicle as a perfect 10.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

September 5 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Overall

The crew trim package, is the best, the V6 engine give it power you need haul or pass trucks, interior, comfort ride best on the market. You can't go wrong with 2012

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

September 4 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Comfortable ride

Cons

None

Overall

Have owned this vehicle 3 months, driven 3100 miles. The ride, economy and utility value are exceptional. The V6 engine is powerful and responsive. Great value for the money. Vastly superior to the Toyota Rav 4, the Chevy Equinox or the new Ford escape.

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

September 3 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

This vehicle has allot of positive comments and It is well deserved! I had a 09 with over 100K on it and loved it! The 2012 has only gotten better from what I see! More people have to look at American vehicles instead of just thinking about imports. The build quality in many American vehicles is now excellent and reliabilty is great! The Journey is a great family vehicle and has allot of interior room and has amazing out of view storage places. The seating is comfortable and the ride is very good. I had a very good experince over all with the 2009 I had and would surley recomend this vehicle. MPG averaged about 23-24 ! Much better then the new Jeep Liberty I have now!

Cons

I don't totally trust the transmison. I would use synthetic fluid and have it serviced more often then they recomend. I never liked the way it responded when I went to pass some one. There is blind spots with seat head rests blocking your side and rear view. I removed them when I didn't have passengers with me or folded down the seats. My new Liberty is just as bad.

Overall

Great family vehicle! I dont think buyers would be dissapointed in it. Loved all the storage it had. Very comfortable ride! I tottaly agree with most all of the other comments you already read here! Great vehicle from Dodge ! Great value ! I 'm glad to see the Chrysler Corporation is comming back so well !

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

August 24 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Overall

Coming out of a BMW 3 series, I had pretty low expectations as far as handling, but my new Journey has pleasantly surprised me. It is smooth, comfortable and handles very well. The inside is gorgeous, and I love the touch screen and how well it integrates with my iPod and iPhone 4S. There is plenty of cool storage, and the doors open a full 90 degrees in the back so easy in for kids and car seats. The only downside for me is I wish it had more "pep". I did get the v6, but find there is a slight delay in the acceleration. Excellent gas mileage, just as good, if not better than my sedan, and yet so much bigger! I read many reviews before purchasing, and although I wouldn't touch a 2009/2010 with a 10 foot pole, the 2011/12 had pretty great reviews overall. Opted for the extended warranty in case. Would totally recommend the Journey!

2012 Dodge Journey review

Date

August 18 2012

Model

Dodge Journey

Pros

Everything but.....

Cons

Replacing brakes

Overall

I love my car. It has great looks, lots of room for everything I do (vacations, golf, etc) and it is very reliable. That is until I have had to replace the brakes twice on a 2009 with under 29000 miles.

Dodge Journey 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph