FastCarsWiki.com

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

March 11 2013

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Retro looks,see camaro first

Cons

Reliability

Overall

By the look department I think camaro beats them all,test drive camaro before you decide.bought one last week and im happy

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

February 2 2013

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Throwback design is a thing of beauty! Comfortable on long road trips.

Cons

Blind spots, trying to get my middle aged friends into the back seat ;-)

Overall

I bought my R/T Classic 5.7L 6 speed manual transmission Hemi on June 11, 2012, and I absolutely could not be more pleased. This car never fails to put a smile on my face when I romp on the gas pedal (which I do way too often, and seriously can not help it!) My husband tells people I drive it like I stole it, and boy, is he is right. It is my daily driver, on a 30 mile brutal commute of stop and go traffic, and even with the 6 speed manual transmission, I wouldn't trade her for the world (well maybe for the SRT8). I have put close to 8K miles on my car, and have had no maintainence issues. I was concerned about buying a Dodge, as my experience has been they tend to have issues, but so far so good.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

January 14 2013

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Head turning looks. A blast to drive and excellent fuel economy.

Cons

A little tough to see out of when backing out of a parking spot.

Overall

After driving all three pony cars, the Challenger was head and shoulders above the rest. The Mustang was cramped and the Sync system was so complicated, the salesman couldn't even explain how to use it. The performance was exactly the same as the Challenger but I felt the 'stang rode too harshly. The Camaro was too closed in and the interior looked plastic-y and cheap. I bought the SXT Plus in Header Orange with the 20" chrome wheels, rear spoiler and black leather interior. The voice actuated stereo and Bluetooth phone system is easy to learn and use. From day one, people would walk across parking lots to take pictures and compliment my car. People who say they don't even like Dodge's say that that the Challenger is the best rebirth of the 70's muscle car of the three contenders. I can't believe the 30 mpg highway and mid 20's around town. I generally drive responsibly but every once in a while I'll pop it up to 130 or so just because I can. My Pentastar V6 has the same horsepower as my old 2000 Trans Am with a 5.7L LS1. The built in 0-60 timer is cool and fun to use. The ride is solid and the ESC has gotten me out of trouble more than once already. The Sport mode makes it even more fun to drive. The Challenger is the only 5 passenger of the pony cars and the backseat is surprisingly comfortable. It also has an armrest, drink holders and air conditioning vents. Plus your head actually sits safely under the roof rather than the rear glass as in the 'stang. All in all, I'm VERY happy with my Challenger 1 year and 15K miles later with ZERO repairs needed.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

January 11 2013

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

My 2013 Challenger is a white R/T with 6 speed manual transmission and 3.73 limited slip (Dodge calls it Sure-Grip, I think) rear end, without options but compared to cars of yesteryear, it's full of options. This car doesn't have to be practical or get great gas mileage. By 1970 standards the gas mileage is excellent (I avg. 21mpg) for a 4000+ # car with a 375 hp/400 lb. ft. torque, 5.7L (345 CID) engine. It's turning 1600 RPM's at 70 mph in 6th gear on the freeway. It's my toy. It reminds me of the Challenger that Kowalski drove in the movie, Vanishing Point. I love this car. It's the best looking car of all time, to me. (I was a Mustang/Couger fan from the early '70's to the mid '90's)

Cons

Nothing! (I will note however, that it easily exceeds the speed limit by 10-20 mph, if you're not paying close attention)

Overall

Very comfortable at speed, feels tight and has good handling, has more than enough power/torque to get in all the trouble you want to get in and then some.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

January 6 2013

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

A hot rod with fuel mileage. Who caint love that

Cons

Not much back seat to much trunk.

Overall

Was most impressed with the handling and stout look. It really reminds me of a 69 roadrunner that I once owned. It has a good balance 55/45 weight and the computerized system is a plus. I like how it goes to eco mode all the time. but launch every time I punch it. Great all around. Not good for passengers in the back seat, but all around vechicle. Like the sign says SRT. I wish dodge would come out with how many of the YELLOW JACKET's that they actually made. I took mine to Little River Raceway and recorded 12.5 to 12.9 in several passes. Thats without blowers, turbos, charges, Just stock and great for fuel mileage.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

January 1 2013

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

There is absolutely NOTHING negative that I can say about my Challenger! She is my mid-life crisis car and so much more than I hoped when I purchased her. The color is not one of the popular colors - Blackberry Pearl, hence her name is Pearl, and I am asked frequently if she is black or blue. The handling has a sharper turning radius than many smaller cars, the pick up in speed is great when the need arises, and the comfort is wonderful. We took the mother in law and I rode in the back seat to Florida and had plenty of room. I would and have recommended the Challenger to anyone that asks! At 10,485 miles, and not any problems.

Cons

NONE!

Overall

I would and have recommended the Challenger to anyone that asks! At 10,485 miles, and not any problems. I have yet to pull up anywhere and not recieve questions about how she handles or how she looks! The general comments are "D**n, cool car!" Thanks Dodge. My Challenger is also a great reminder of the car my parents had with the 1972 Dodge Charger that mom sported around the Air Force bses where my dad had been stationed! LOVE LOVE LOVE Pearl!I am ready to see what the future holds with the Challenger seres!

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

December 15 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Everything. I have no complaints. The styling is so retro compared to the Camaro. A real cool muscle car!

Cons

None

Overall

I love this car. It is a real head turner. There is nothing I don't like about this car. I have the R/T classic with manual shift. It is ablast to drive!

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

December 9 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Great performance, stands out of the crowd and gets lots of attention, simply fun to drive.

Cons

Maintenance issues, very large and heavy car, rattles and squeaks after 10k miles.

Overall

The Dodge Challenger was my dream car since I saw the first concept renderings back in 2005. When I laid my eyes on the concept car at SEMA the following year I knew I had to have one. I waited until 2012 and finally purchased a brand new fully loaded 2012 RT Classic. I was in love from the moment I drove off the lot. The car was a dream to drive, it handled great, had great power and growled better than most cars on the road. In the modern Pony Car race, the Challenger stood out amongst the Mustang and Camaros. Every where I went I got tons of attention for the car. However almost immediately I began experiencing some issues. At 2k miles the driver seat motor broke and had to be replaced, 3 days in the shop. At 7k the power sunroof motor burned out and needed to be replaced. That would not have been that big of a deal except it was stuck wide open with no way to close it during the middle of a hot Southern California summer. 5 days in the shop. At 10k the front rotors warped and needed to be replaced. This is where my dream car started to become a nightmare. During this replacement the dealer damaged the front quarter panel of my car due to lifting it wrong on the hoist!! 7 days in the shop. The dealer installed the plastic molding at the bottom of the car wrong, it warped and had to be replaced. 1 day in the shop. While that was being replaced the dealer dented and scratched the drivers door. 7 days in the shop!! At 15k a strong vibration developed while driving above 60mph. The drive shaft went bad! The dealer (not the one that damaged my car) had to order the parts and I could not take the car as it was not safe to drive. 7 days in the shop. All warranty repairs, but 30 days in the shop for warranty work in 9 months??!! Now a rattle has developed in the drivers door and the top of the line nav dvd stereo intermittently crashes requiring the car to be turned off and restarted. I loved my Challenger but am extremely unhappy with the problems in the first 15k!! Consumer reports rated it a poor quality choice for 2012. Wish I had read that article first. Time to trade it in on something.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

December 7 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Fun, speed, looks, ride and engine note!

Cons

None

Overall

WOW. My family loves this car. We don't use it as a daily commuter, but instead leave it for nice weekends and special trips. There is nothing better than getting into this vehicle and blasting down the road. Every time I push the button to start this car my blood pumps just a little bit higher. My Vehicle: 2012 RT Classic Redline, Tungsten Wheels, 6-Speed Manual, Super Trak Pack, Leather and Sun roof. Current Upgrades: Deep Tint, Skip Shift, E-Brake Pedal replace and radio DVD bypass. 2013 Upgrades: Cold Air Intake, Catch Can, Stablizer Bar, Performance headers and exhaust.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

November 20 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

I love almost everything about this vehicle this is after I've been driving it for a year and have had no problemd at all. I think most of it has benn engineered very well see below for what i dont like. For the price and the equipment i received i think it was a good value. I shopped three dealerships here in Austin texas and am happy I chose Nyle Maxwell to buy from and have used them for my service also...this is the way you would expect a dealership to be....im totally satisfied.

Cons

There are two minor things i dont like. the first is I wish the steering wheel would tilt down a little further so I could see the speedometer with out having to move to look over it....very annoying but i realize not everyone is the same size or positions them selves like i do. also...the is a challeger name plate in chrome located above the glove compartment on the dash which often refects the sunlite directly into my eyes while driving, i correct this by keeping a towel in the car which i place onto the dash when this occurs it couls be cured by the factory simply by relocating this name plate down further on the dash where it would face down due to the other angle.

Overall

Being a ragtop drive and chevy man I held onto my 2002 camaro waiting for chevy to produce a convertable model of thier new Camaro. When I went to look at one I was very disappointed then went and looked at a mustang. My daughter who took over my old Camaro talked me into looking at the challenger. after driving one and oreding the exact equipment i wanted i am very happy with the vehicle naturally i wish they made a convertable model...the sacrafices one has to make. I have owned Dodges before but I believe after driving this car for a year now they have come a long way in quality I have had no problems with it.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

November 11 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

I have two and RT and a SRT8 LOVE them both

Cons

ZERO

Overall

I would by more. Love the new Dodge Challenger

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

November 4 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Regardless of the trim level, the Dodge Challenger is a very comfortable car. I would have NO problems taking it for any distance on a road trip. All the controls are withins easy reach and the automatic climate control system is hands down simplest to use I've seen! Sirius XM is included for a year (Instead of 30 days like most) and the remote start system works flawlessly, a real plus in the winter or in the rain! I'm really happy with my choice of a 2012 Dodge Challenger R/T and suggest that you at least take a test ride at your local dealer. Not the fastest, but actually the best all around American sports car for the money.....

Cons

Due to Federal Emissions, the Challenger 5.7 V-8 has an MDS (Multi Displacement System) that shuts off 4 cylinders of the V-8 while you are cruising. The change is instant, but is very annoying when you need to pass, or have installed a freer flowing performance exhaust system. There is also speculation that this system damages the timing chain installed in the engine. Fortunately, you can disable this system with a negliable loss of fuel economy and it can be turned off completely with a simple computer download.

Overall

Love the car! Very powerful, handles very well and still gets acceptable fuel mileage. I get 18.1 MPG in the city and 26 MPG on the interstate highways at 65-70 miles per hour No rattles, no warranty issues, no problems so far after 1 year . If you're looking for a head turning, sporty car that is'nt way over the top (500-600 HP?! ) The Dodge Challenger is definately worth a look!

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

October 28 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

The quality all around, MPGs for the V6, and roomy

Cons

Bumpy on rough side streets . but expected for a sports car

Overall

I have not driven a Dodge for over 20yrs. My first car was a 70s dodge Charger, and after that I drove cars that ranged from the Plymouth Horizon to a Dodge Diplomat, and all had quality issues. This 2012 Challenger is well made and light years from the Dodge cars from the past. On the interstate I go 80-85 mph and I get 25 to 28 mpg, in comfort, and you cant tell your going that fast, it's a solid machine. I like the retro all American in your face look, not the PC, chickafied going green look. ITS WHAT AN AMERICAN CAR SHOULD BE...

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

October 27 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Appearance---Performance---Resale value. I sold it for a proffit.

Cons

skip shift. I disabled it myself!!

Overall

I should have kept it longer!!!

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

October 21 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

everything

Cons

nothing

Overall

excellent

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

October 21 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Beautiful, eye-catching, fast!

Cons

Base model is VERY basic

Overall

I got this car after I totaled my Dodge Neon, so needless to say, it was a major change. Very affordable, handles well, and the big tank lasts as long as 3 weeks for me!!! I'm in love......

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

October 3 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

I am in lust with this car. Mine is a 2013 black with silver hood to fender striped R/T. The power is great, as is the GPS, bluetooth phone connectivity and sound system. The best thing about this car is that it fits. I am 6'4" tall and the Mustang and Camaro feel cramped. Not only does this car offer better styling, in my opinion, but it just fits right. Comfortable cruising down the highway and it actually handles well (I have the Track Pack option - although I've not driven one without it).

Cons

The Mustang GT actually feels a lot more powerful, but you trade off looks and roominess to get that extra power.

Overall

Drive them all back to back - Challenger, Mustang, Camaro. Mustang will feel the sportiest, Challenger the easiest to live with and the Camaro feels like you're in a WWII bunker.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

September 29 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

great looks

Cons

car vibrates on hwy and if you read challenger forum,they are blowing timming chains like theirs no tomorow.

Overall

very poor drive train in this car,chrysler ,you should be ashamed of yourselfs with todays tecnologies,selleing cars that vibrate and snap timming chains before 20 thousand miles,what a discrace.also drones in 4 cyl mode inside car. GREAT LOOKING PIECE OF GARBAGE. traded a grand prix gxp with 4 cyl shut down,and it did it effortlessly,will never buy a chrysler product again JUST TRADED IT IN AFTER 6 MONTHS OF VIBRATING DOWN THE HWY,CHRYSLER SAYS IT THE CHARICTUREISTIC OF THE CAR.' GREAT ANSWER. ANYONE LOOKING TO BUY THIS CAR SHOULD READ DODGE CHALLENGER FORUM ,AND TIMMING CHAIN ISSUES FIRST.IF YOU DONT MIND PUTTING NEW ENGINES IN EVERY 10 THOUSAND MILES OR LESS THAN THIS IS THE CAR FOR YOU.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

September 27 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Outside appearance, inside comfort, speed, smooth ride, all the extras of a high priced sedan but who wants to drive one of those? Rather drive the "sports car" any day.

Cons

Blind spots when backing up or changing lanes but I have learned to use my mirrors a lot.

Overall

I keep reading reviews from "guys" and wanted to let the girls out there know that this is a great chick car too! I bought one a few months ago - V8 RT Hemi and absolutely love it. You won't go unnoticed in this car!! Traded in that family SUV and bought my mid life crisis car and have absolutely no regrets! Love everything about this car.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

September 22 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

I like the Retro styling Of the challenger I have the v6 version 305 hp pretty cool I use it to commute from the burbs to the city I get around 21 in the city And 31 on the highway It has the sst package leather sunroof it makes my commute more enjoyable it handles great It is a lot of fun.

Cons

the v6 version could come with a standard 6speed transmission or a 6 or 8 speed Automatic for the challenger and the blind spot but use the mirrors

Overall

I love my challenger it is fun to drive and I get great gas Mileage and a comfortable Cruiser

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

September 16 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

This is a phenominal automobile!!! Everything from style to performance. I have a 2011 I purchased in January 12. that has got compliments from EVERYBODY that sees it. The model I have is the 305hp V6 VVT engine Ralley package. Everything from the Toxic Orange Pearlcoat paint, to the 20" chrome clad alluminum wheels, leather interior and accessable instrument panel, as well as the explosive audio system are stunning and jaw dropping to those who lay their eyes on it. The vehicle runs like its on rails and is such a comfortable and exhilirating drive, that I always look for an excuse to drive it. Excelleration, steering and braking is top notch!!!

Cons

It doesn't fit in my living room!!! ;)

Overall

There is no other in my book!!!! Outstanding vehicle, way to go to all the Dodge Muckey Mucks that conjered this baby up!!!

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

September 12 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Surprised. I have the 2012 redline package/ V6... I didnt need the V8 and Im getting 21mpg in town for that trade off. The quality is very good and the car is very solid.. I been a fan of the imports and swore off domestics espcially dodge products, because of quality issues. The last dodge I drove was in the 80s, which was the dodge diplomat, and they were junk. ( retired Law man). Dodge hit one out of the park, and Consumer reports and JD powers gave it an acceptable rating.

Cons

nothing yet...

Overall

Great mid life crises car. Back in the day I had a dodge charger and that was a blast. Dodge did it right by going retro, with modern updates and comfrots, and keeping it American( which we really need NOW)....

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

September 8 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

What I like abiut this car? EVERYTHING!!! I just had to have another Challenger that I could really drive. I was in the process of building a 72 but I couldn't find the time or the help to finish it so I gave it and the parts to my nephew to finish. I also had a 71 brand new way back when, so when they started to make them again I had to buy one. I don't think a day goes by that I don't get a thumbs up or a comment on how great it looks. Pretty good gas mileage if to can keep your foot off the pedal. Really good braking and handling and NO problems mechanically. I'm starting to see more on the street in various colors but not my color-B5 blue pearl. I LOVE IT!!!!!

Cons

The only thing I really noticed is the blind spot,and I can live with that.

Overall

If you've never had one you just can't understand and if you've had one you always want another.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

September 8 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

I really liked the overall value that the car had in comparison to the Mustang. Acceleration, fit and finish and styling all equal to if not better than the Ford and priced lower. WOW!!!

Cons

Blind spot in the cabin.

Overall

Hands down a better car overall than anything else on the market.

2012 Dodge Challenger review

Date

September 8 2012

Model

Dodge Challenger

Pros

Great styling- Just Purchase the SXT- with SS package 20" wheels and upgraded audio/nav. Was a little leary about the V-6 with the weight of the car- Boy was I surprised- The engine is smooth, responsive and has great accelleration, especially ay mid speed. The interior is not overstated- steering wheel controls are easy to use. Trunk Is mamouth. Handles, Corners and accellerates great! Sound is phenomenal and easy to use-

Cons

These really arent cons, but.... Yes there is a blind spot issue as others have mentioned...but use mirrors and your fine. The front buckets can have slightly longer seat bottom length for support- not bad, but.... I'm 6'4 and 220 lbs- no issues with room- couldnt even attempt a stand or camaro.

Overall

Great car, great ride at a great price. Absolutely reminds me of my Dodges from the 70"s with the 21 centure technology. Solid body and feel. A new american classic!!

Dodge Challenger 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph