FastCarsWiki.com

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

November 5 2012

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

spacious interior,trunk,

Cons

no lumbar support,less storage then my last car

Overall

Very comfortable car, I am 6'5 and I have plenty of head and leg room, and enough gadgets to spoil you.I went from a 14 year old luxury car to this 2008, with 21,800 miles on it and I paid $13,000 for it from an estate sale.I just wish I could play my tape cassettes in it. My wife loves it, especially her own temperature control..

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

October 16 2012

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

its classy look

Cons

i wish it was a flex fuel vehicle

Overall

beautiful car lots of room and compliments

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

September 30 2012

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

EVERYTHING -- ONE OF THE BEST CARS I HAVE EVER OWNED,

Cons

THE FACT THEY STOPPED MAKING THE VEHICLE

Overall

DIAMOND WHITE IN COLOR

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

September 3 2012

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Handles smooth and comfortable.Truly a big car feel. 22.2 miles per gallon

Cons

i would rate the Radio so, so.Carpet round transmission keep falling down. Velcro does not keep the carpet firm.

Overall

Pleased overall with my purchase

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

July 17 2012

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Comfort, ride, room, engine

Cons

Mirrors

Overall

After owning Audi's, Volkswagen's and Saab's for the past 25 years I decided to take the American plunge. I have no regrets (yet!) and I have found there is little to dislike about this car. The only exception are the mirrors. Both the interior and exterior are much too small for a car this size. This is one of the few "cars" where 4 full-sized adults can ride comfortably. That is justification right there to buy it! The seats are some of the best I've sat in. The Northstar engine is smooth albeit kind of a gas hog but I knew that when I bought it. I feel it's better to have the power and not need it than not have it and be in a situation where you might. Have taken several long trips and it was a much more comfortable ride than my European cars. I will admit that the Audi handled better but it should considering the size difference and what it's built for. Would I buy the Lucerne again? Only time will tell, but for now I'm very happy.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

December 18 2011

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Nice lines.. Northstar V-8 provides plenty of cruising power.. Comfortable & roomy adjustable seats.. Good front & rear leg room.. Large trunk space.. Good gas mileage at highway speeds..

Cons

Large turning radius.. Could use a larger fuel tank.. Think Buick is making a mistake by not continuing the model for 2012...

Overall

Buick & V-8's always go together well...

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

July 10 2011

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Quality of trim, smoothness, performance, and quietness.

Cons

The sign language on most of the controls and elimination of the double and extendable visors that the 2000 - 2003 LeSabres had..

Overall

See above.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

June 23 2011

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

The ride and comfort. I also got very good gas mileage when I slowed down. Driving 70-75 mph, I get around 26 mpg. Slowing down to 65-70, I averaged 28 mpg over 4700 miles of mostly highway driving. Through two tanks of gas, I averaged 32.6 mpg. For a car this size I think that's pretty good. The car runs so easy though, I have trouble holding it down under 70.

Cons

The only thing I don't like are the Michelin tires that were on this car when I bought it in Feb. 2008. They are the noisiest tires I have ever had on a car. I now have right at 50,000 miles on it and since they are tread warrantied for 45,000 miles, I'll probably be getting rid of them shortly, replacing them with quieter tires I hope. They won't be Michelin's.

Overall

Overall this has been an excellent car for us. Most of the miles have been put on travelling around the U.S.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

May 28 2011

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Good Value

Cons

Gas mileage

Overall

Affordable luxury in an attractive package

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

March 1 2011

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Quiet ride, Dashboard Layout,

Cons

Front & rear visibility, Narrow Window sill Ledges, Miniscule Door pockets, Low Horsepower

Overall

I bought (2/23/11) the 2008 Lucerne CX used with 11,000 miles on it. It was a 1 owner car. Overall, it rides smooth and quiet. I bought it as a replacement car for my 2005 Park Avenue that was totaled at the end of January. The Lucerne is okay, but it does not measure up to the Park Avenue in size or comfort. My CX has the cloth bench seat, which are identical to bucket seats but have a small cushion in between with a fold down armrest. The cushion & armrest open up to store things in. The front of the cushion flips over to reveal a dual cup holder. No adult can sit in the center of front or the back seat. A 6 year old girl, maybe? The manually operated passenger seat is hard for the driver to move while seated in the driver seat. Manual Seat Back Recliners move in very small increments, which is nice. The back seat center is too hard and the center armrest presses into your back. Outboard seating for adults is fine. Headroom in back is ok.There is no storage in the rear seat armrest, but it does have 2 cup holders and a small storage slot for a phone. There is a rear seat pass-thru into the spacious flat floor trunk. The worst thing about the car is if your 5' 10" tall the inside rearview mirror is right in your eyeline. Even with the mirror all the way up my vision is blocked. The Rain Sensor for the Rain Sense Wipers is fastened to the windshied behind the mirror and the center of the headliner comes down in the middle to also interfere with the mirror height. Having the Rain Sense ON cuts off the wiper delay. Front seat headroom is tolerable, but hats brims get caught in the visor. Another big problem is trying to buckle the driver seat belt. The buckle end is too short. In thirty years of driving I have been able to buckle the seat belt in my 7 cars and every car I've ever driven, with my left hand. I have to use my right on the Lucerne. Its a hunt & feel procedure to buckle the belt. From where I got the seat set the window sill ledges are high up. They are also to narrow to rest your arm on it, it falls off. The exterior mirror glass could be bigger. The steering wheel seems to be a bigger diameter and my hands get sore sometimes. Love the buttons for the radio & cruise on the wheel. The Radio Buttons on the dash are confusing and to many buttons need to be pushed to get where you want to go. Driver Info Center tells you everything you need to know at a push of a button, but readout should revert back to always displaying the Odometer and a trip meter. Manual AC Control has three easy to use dials. You don't even need to look at the blower or temperature dial to know where they're set at. The Column Gear Shift in Drive blocks about two inches of the digital readout on the radio dial. Big glove box, but difficult to close due to the hinge dampner. I love the fact I can drive with NO DRL's or the Headlights on, even at night. You can drive with the parking light on if you want. Switch on the Highbeams and low beams are on as well. I can back up the driveway at night now and not fill the neighbor's bedroom window with light. The headlight switch is blocked by the steering wheel. The Ultrasonic Rear Park Assist is nice. Audio Tones and Flashing lights on the backshelf warn when your getting close. When looking backwards don't try to even find the trunklid - you can't see it, its too low below the window line. The rear window is flat and squeege's off very easy. The front bumper has to be removed to change a headlight or turnsignal bulb. Way to go GM engineering !!GM eliminated the inline Gas Filter, its in the tank now. If you work on your own car it can be very easy for tools to get lost under the hood. Virtually ever surface is curved or sharply angled and screwdrivers and wrench fall off down into the engine compartment. If Nissan & Toyota can build a 3.5 V6 with over 260 horsepower, then GM should be able to accomplish the same thing. The 3800 is so underpowered (197hp).

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

November 6 2010

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Extremely quiet ride, comfortable interior, improved design

Cons

Speaker system could be stepped up with Bose Speakers

Overall

Over all I give it a five star rating. Comfort, dependablility at a very competitive price. I owned a LeSabra for 7 years and thoroughly enjoyed it. I find the Lucerne to be just as dependabe with a sportier look and feel. The CXL package makes a difference. I drove a caddilac DTS in this same year model and with the difference in price it was an easy decision on purchasing the Lucerne. The comfort and ride was verey comparable to the cadillac. Cadillacs stereo system was the only superior feauture.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

July 6 2010

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

richard brewer i've had the car a little over 2 years.love it very good ride, nice style plenty of roon inside the trunk is very large.if i was to buy a new can today it would be a new buick lucerne cx.if you want better gas milage don't buy a car this size. have 35000 miles no problems and no regrets love it

Cons

there isn't any thing about this car i do not like.i have had 9 new cars in my life and this is the best one yet.

Overall

great if gm keeps making cars like this i guess they will get out of there troubles.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

February 28 2010

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Lools good and runs great. Good mileage lOVE THE TRI COAT DIAMOND PAINT

Cons

THE INSTRUMENT PANEL IS VERY HARD TO READ

Overall

GREAT CAR EXCEPT FOR THE POOR LIGHTING OF THE INSTRUMENT PANEL

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

January 22 2010

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

comfortable leather seats, heated seats, stearing wheel, roomy back seat.

Cons

no locking gas tank, no self closing trunk. Awful sounding cd player, I will replace it with another. This is a nice car but I drove a 1994 Park Avenue for 16 years and it was a much better car. I would have driven it forever but it rusted out.

Overall

Nice but no Park Avenue.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

September 16 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Extremely quiet and smooth ride. Good power and not bad MPG considering V8. We are averaging 24MPG on all types of driving.

Cons

Not much we don't like except for the instrument panel. Very hard to read especialy in day time with sunglasses. Can not imagine a car can be this good with such poor engineering of the panel.

Overall

We like the car a lot and would recommend it highly.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

July 26 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

This is a very comfortable car and I get a lot of compliments from my back seat passengers. I have a royal blue Lucerne and it is beautiful. I get 20 miles per gallon in the city and I average 27 mpg on long trips.

Cons

The rear view mirrors took some getting used to. I would like for them to be about 1 to 2 inches lower. They get in my way more often than the last car that I had.

Overall

I like my Buick.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

June 1 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

The warranty was the strongest selling point. The overall outside styling is attractive.

Cons

I am short and getting in and out of the vehicle without getting the back of my legs dirty from the rocker panel is impossible. The seats are hard as bricks and we feel every crack in the road when we go over it. Also, compass and outside temps are not visible to passengers for assistance in navigation. Certainly not like the Park Avenues we owned previously.

Overall

More than likely the last Buick we will ever own. Big disappointment after the Park Avenues.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

May 22 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Smooth ride,excelleration,large trunk,roomy back seat,On Star

Cons

truning circle,only 4 speed automatic,no bluetooth

Overall

I have had this car for a couple months now. I love this car. It has all the power I would want with an extremely comfortable ride. It is just a pure pleasure to drive. All the controls seem right and options are very nice. With better than average reliability, this is a great deal for those who need a larger car or want more luxury. What would improve this car is more than a four speed automatic, bluetooth, and voice control over the stereo

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

April 28 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

This is a beautiful car. It rides very smooth, is very quiet, the interior is very luxurious, has all the bells & whistles. It's not an "old folks" car at all! The gas mileage could be a little better, but, we carpool so we can live with it. We really like our Buick!

Cons

Only slightly annoying - we live 30 miles from town, so our road is windy and when it's "pot hole" season, the alarm for going over the line can get annoying - turn up the radio!

Overall

Great car, beautiful to look at (red) and it fits our needs and lifestyle. I recommend all to take it for a spin, the car handles great and it's built very well.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

April 25 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Very smooth, comfortable, solid and more than enough 6 cylinder power. I am pleased that I purchased my Buick.

Cons

Backing up is a tad more difficult for my wife.

Overall

A wonderful American car that I am happy to own.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

April 3 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

I better than I imagined. I've had two leSabres before this and they do not compare. The only issue I have is I have been unable to get ink out of the back of a seat and dirt seems hard to wash out of other parts on the door and arm rest. I have light leather in the interior and I do not know nor does the dealar know wheter the areas I am trying to clean are leather or vinyl. I would reccomend this car to anybody who wants quality for less than a Beamer price.

Cons

Milleage is not has high as I expected. The best I have had is 20 highway and 19.6 all around.

Overall

I rate this vehicle very highly in all ways except milleage.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

February 26 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Very comfortable, quiet ride, great looking,

Cons

None

Overall

Just bought our first Buick 2008 Lucerne CXL, we just love riding in it, the more we drive it the more we want to go places. I am a Buick person, always will be.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

February 16 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

We owned many used Buicks, Bought our first new one in 2001, Century. Then upgraded to a new 2003 LeSabre.That was a keeper, we paid if off and my husband drives it.Last summer we traded in his 1992 Buick Park Avenue with almost 150,000 miles on it for our new and beautiful 2008 Buick Lucerne.I thought the LeSabre which was replaced by the Lucerne was the best until we drove the Lucerne.What a car...quiet ride, great pick up (can't beat the 3.2 engine), great looks and all the bells & whistles. My friends and family are envious!I'd buy another tomorrow if we were looking for a second car.

Cons

I could do without the low tire warning.My garage floor has a slant towards the floor drain so this frequently throws the level of the tires off which sets off the warning.

Overall

If your looking for a new car you can't go wrong with this one. You'll be glad you bought Buick. My dad retired from Ford with 40 years service and even with the ability to get his discount...I drive Buick.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

February 5 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Excellent ride and handling

Cons

Exit mode on memory seats

Overall

Just picked up a 2008 leftover Lucerne. Really no difference other than the Flex Fuel engine that is available for 2009. Love the side alert and lane departure warnings. This really not your father's Buick. I have had Buicks since 1972 and they keep getting better. Sad when they discontinued the Park Avenue, but this Lucerne makes up for it.

2008 Buick Lucerne review

Date

January 19 2009

Model

Buick Lucerne

Pros

Great looks, excellant handling, reaponsive steering, Northstar V8, quiteness.

Cons

4 speed tranny, Bridgestone tires, gauge visability,

Overall

Replaced a Park Avenue with the CXS. Impressive - after three weeks the more you drive the more you want to drive. Handling is crisp with no wallowing or wash out, steering is on a par with my MX5 Mazdaspeed, brakes dead on, the Northstar V8 can pin you back and has just enough exahust note during accerlation while being whisper quiet at idle. As a matter of fact I find I am leaving the radio and CD turned just off or down to enjoy the mechinals and quiteness of the CXS. Interior is tasteful with most of the doo-dads and gee gaws you need and more than enough room to carry five comfortably. To quote others; my brother who owns a Lexus and two Volvos and prior car was a 3 series Mercedes - Man I love it, the most awesome car I have ever driven. This was after a 600 mile plus trip on all types of roads. Another friend who is SCCA insturctor licensed and competes in the One Lap. "A 'Vette with a back seat." Another friend who owns a 5 series BMW and Porsche Cayene; Great! quicker and quiter than my Bimmer. To appreciate this car you need to drive it. The more miles you cover the more it grows on you. Gas mileage is not a good as my last 3.8 engined Buick but it acceptable for a nearly 300 horsepower V8. On the first trip picking up the car the other vehicle was the MX5 with a 1.8 four banger. first fuel stop the Buick took 9,9 gallons and the Mazda 9.1. The next 10.8 versus 8.9 a result of higher speeds and the air turned off in the speed. I had read a lot of "expert" reviews and was leaning towards another vehicle until I put my cheeks in the seat. Glad I did. I found the reviews I read to contradict each other and my personal experience. For example; one reviewer did not like the quick steering. Funny as how the steering is on a par with my Mazdaspeed which was praised by his mag for great steering. One reviewer stated handling was lackluster while another quoted crisp. I found the Magitronic suppension kept the car flat and stable while offering comfortable ride. You can feel when the system adjusts to your driving style. Hey if this suspension was lackluster why would Ferrari use it? Buick needs to change a few things. The first is to ditch the Bridgestones. Second more speeds in the tranny. Six speeds would improve gas mileage. The gauges are sometime a little hard to read in the daylight. Drop in a 6 disc holder for the sound system. Bllue tooth would be nice. I really don't care but some folks love it. You can use the On-Star but they charge $18. a month to couple with my AT&T. To sum up Buick Lucerne CXS - a luxo cruiser that can gallop.

Buick Lucerne 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph