FastCarsWiki.com

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

February 21 2008

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Styling, Quality of build/components, Ride, Acceleration, Comfort

Cons

No opening sunroof

Overall

I just traded in my 2004 M3 for a 2007 650i. I am very happy with the change. This is my 4th BMW and I have always been pleased with the qulaity of the cars. I like the fact that when you buy a BMW you are buying a BMW. Mercedes - Chrysler, Jag - Ford. The car rides perfect. Great balance and handling. Visibility is excellent for a coupe. Acceleration is amazing. Most stable ride I have ever witnessed. Very solid, safe and heavy ( yet nimble ) car. Mileage is actually good....compared to my M3. Average about low 20's when driven conservativley. Did I mention the exhaust sound? A beautiful growl of a magnificant V8 engine. The price may seem high but the quality is superior. My packages and options are: Sport, Cold, Logic 7, Comfort Acces and Pearl leather. Love the comfort access and the pearl leather is the best. Find a used one and you get a nice deal especially if it is certified.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

December 14 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Great handling and great looks; great fit & finish

Cons

The ride can be rough when not on the freeway. If you are a larger person, the car can feel cramped

Overall

I have owned a 6 coupe for about 9 months. It is a great driving car. I have had several BMW's previously, 4 7's and the first 5 series, years ago. This 6 series fulfills the BMW promise as the driving machine. I have read many comments complaining about the I-Drive. Much nonsense to me. I am over middle aged, not a tech savvy guy, but figured it out in no time; it is very useful to me. My coupe has the heads up display on the windshield for speedometer and other information. This is fantastic. All vehicles should have this. Too bad no sunroof that opens fully.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

December 7 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Wonderful except for the problems noted in this review

Cons

Severe lunging and stuttering stops

Overall

Though I love this car I would not recommend it to anyone. The 650 has what BMW calls an "inherent characteristic." If you drive in "manual" shift mode the vehicle is prone to stuttering when coming to a stop. Imagine your head bobbing back and forth like a doll on the dashboard. The vehicle is also prone to severe lunges when driving in m1 (such as you might in a parking garage looking for a spot or while moving forward in a metered freeway on ramp) and to a lesser extent in automatic. The lunges are dangerous and you must drive defensively at 4 miles per hour. BMW states the problem is with the software-it thinks the engine is stalling and the computer gives the engine throttle. It is a known and acknowledged (in writing that I have) but BMW will do nothing further than a software fix that does lessen the frequency & severity of the problem but does not remedy it. For $85,000 you should not feel like a bobble-head on a dashboard when you drive your car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

August 23 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Handling, gorgeous interior and exterior styling

Cons

Jerky transmission, hard tires

Overall

Too bad BMW mandated run flat tires for the sport package. They are rock hard and wreck an otherwise good ride. They also cannot be patched if you have a flat so they try and sell you very expensive tire insurance. I have had several BMWs but while this is the most elegant the transmission causes the car to jerk you forward and back depending on light changes in speed. The brakes are also too strong and grab when you come to a stop so it is impossible to stop smoothly. I have tried to get these quirks fixed but to no avail.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

August 15 2007

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

I like everything about it.In fact I am taking advantage of the BMW 6 Driving Experience this weekend.I will be spending two days at the BMW Performance Center in South Carolina learning about this car. This is all on BMW.

Cons

None

Overall

Great Car

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

July 29 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

TERRIFIC ENGINE, STYLING GETS NOTICED.

Cons

?

Overall

BEHIND THE WHEEL: THE 650I IS REASONABLY FAST ABD HANGS ON WELL, BUT IT RIDES STIFFLY AND LACKS PANACHE.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

July 20 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Awesome ride, head turner, 2+2

Cons

Small back seats

Overall

I just bought my 2007 650ci last week...all i can say is WOW! This thing is comfortable as 7 series and has a thrust of a locomotive! My first convertible and I can't keep the top up...and boy does it turn heads top up or down. You can drive this thing 800 miles in a day w/0 a problem...especially top-down at 120mph! Great, throaty sound from the engine & exhaust...me and my wife fight over it every weekend!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

July 14 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Wow factor. Turns a lot of heads.

Cons

Style of the rear end

Overall

I love this car, I was surprised by all the little extras, door sills light up with the BMW logo and under mirrors lights up upon exit. Sure it's the fastest thing on the street, very comfortable on long drives, and handles like a dream, that I expected and it did deliver, I use it as a daily driver to go back in forth to work. Even good in heavy traffic, before this I had a 330 convertible, the diffrence is incredible when the temperture hits over a 100 I can still cruz with the top down and not sweat, other hand when the temperture cools off the heated seats, steering wheel and heat keep you comfortable well into the 50's. So why put the top up? Because this car looks even better with the top up!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

June 15 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Great Handling, distinctive styling

Cons

Numerous electronic issues, limited rear visibility, run flat tires

Overall

I've had seven BMWs in the past 10 years. Each has had progressively more electronic problems as the systems become more complex. The latest and my last was a 650i convert. Its a great and fun car to drive with better than average acceleration and exceptional conering ability, when the systems operate correctly. Value for the money just isn't there with this car. One would hope that for $90k that BMW could at least provide a functional satellite radio system and an "I" drive that works. Sold the car to get an AUDI S8. Based on the AUDI S8, I'll never be back in a BMW.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

June 15 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Incredible car

Cons

none

Overall

Anyone who would even mention gas or tire prices probably needs to attend a financial seminar. If you can't buy (not afford) gas and tires you may want to quit impressing your friends and downgrade to a Boxster.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

June 14 2007

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

Performance...obvious...it is BMW. Looks? Well I was torn between the new Jaguar XKR Coupe and the BMW 650 convertible. No way on the Jag convertible...great car for women, but the Coupe is the "man's" car. But if you want an awesome looking convertible, the BMW 650 is the obvious choice. Quailty, performance, reliability, and the stares you get drivng down the road, or stopped at the red light!

Cons

I'd like a touch screen navigation, but this is not a big deal. Constantly worrying about where to park and not get dinged.

Overall

If you are in the market for a sub $100K machine that drops it top, then the BMW 650 is the only choice. Go with an M6 if you need to Ego boost. Jags new XKR coupe is beautiful, but if you want to let the sun in and have some fun, then Go with the BMW 650 convertible. If you want a coupe, then there is nothing more geogeous for under $100K than the Jag...make sure to go with the XKR over the XK for needed HP and performance.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

May 25 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Looks, creature compforts, ease

Cons

Too many people will have one

Overall

I am a man that changes cars ever 8 months or so. From Lamborghini Murcilago Roadster to Ferrari 360 spider, mercedies to Corvette Z06 Im a sports car man. This is the first BMW that have owned since early 2000. First lets compare to the SL500. I owned one in late o2(03 modle) and a 2005. I liked the hard top convertable as opposed to the soft top on the 650i. Howwever with the soft top you get a carrage top look with color contrast.The inside feels as though its a hard top, as far as appearence and feel. The I pod connector and front and rear radar and all the other compforts I prefer to Mercedies. The mouse was my biggest draw back untill I learned how to use it and realised that it freed my mind back to the road as opposed to looking at the dash and reaching the dash. Road handling and power were more then sufficant.There is a 1 to 2 second lag when extreem accelerating to enter a hiway.Once you get the feel of the car its not even worth a mention. Mercedies put so many engines in the SL 500 that it made my head spin. Why pay another 75k for a car that looks just like another? I opted to not spend the money on the M for the same reason. Why not pay another 405k and get the LP640 roadster? They would and will compliment each other in the garage. The lp comes with 640bhp screaming V12. They only make it one way.... Fast. As far as the BMW 650i, its the bomb.It rocks the hoose, its elegant and sporty, a great date car and the back seat (unlike the Astin Martin Db9 convertable)actually can hold 2 people without your knees poking through the steering wheel. -Dre~ president Casino Slots L.L.C. and a new BMW fan

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

May 11 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Perfect

Cons

Nothing

Overall

Nice CAr!!!!!!!!!!!!runs good .no problems, good on gas, fits alot of people. leather seats. Goes fast.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

May 6 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

Sytlish & Fast as can be. Trunk holds 2 Full Sets Golf Clubs with top down.

Cons

Front wheels need to be waxed or they attract dirt like magnets.

Overall

Just a wonderful car. Engineered beyond what a normal driver can imagine. Quick as can be 0 to 60MPH; and convertible rides quiet while up. Rear window (Glass) raises up or down, and when top is down this feature STOPS the annoying wind bufferring in one's ears.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

May 3 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

its the best car i ever had and the best brakes it also looks great

Cons

none its so good it doesnt have any exept i crashed my car and doesnt look that good.

Overall

none no no no no no no no no no no no no none it doesnt need any more

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

May 1 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

This car is awsome! It handles well and has lots of power. Plus tons of cutting edge tech!

Cons

The car isnt well known. Not appreciated by most people. It doesnt look like a $90,000.00 car.

Overall

Its amazing that the general public doesnt know this car. I love mine, enjoy driving it, but am amazed by how many people dont know what it is. I would think that BMW would better serve it self to educate the public to the power and cutting edge technology incorporated into this rocket ship.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

April 26 2007

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

This is a very well built automobile. Unmistakeable German engineering. Handsome lines (I don't get the BMW rear end looks complaint often sited.) Very comfortable interior and simple to operate. Idrive took me all of 6 minutes to master. This car has the most well thought-out interior of any car I have ever owned. Ergonomically outstanding. Handles well. Holds corners much better than I would have expected in a car this heavy. After driving the 911 with "cornering oversteer that made any turn at any speed effortless" I was leery of a change to understeering, but this car does not become too heavy in even moderately aggressive turns. Did I mention it is real easy to look at?

Cons

Despite what the BMW people will try to tell you, this is less of a sportscar and more of a touring car. It has more than adequate acceleration and handles well, but there is little if no feedback as to what the car is actually doing or about to do. Sometimes it's as if I am driving a video game! Cornering issue as noted above, but this justs makes the car a bit less exciting. By the way, I test drove an M6 convertible. Wasted money for driving in the US as there is simply no way to enjoy this car here.

Overall

If you want a true sportscar and a convertible, buy the Porsche 911. There is never a question of "what the car is doing and how it got there." If you want a somewhat more sedate drive with every creature comfort possible then buy this car. Either way you won't be dissapointed. From a styling standpoint this car is closer to a "muscle car" but much too refined to be called such. While the 911 is in its own class, I don't look back too hard as this car is an absolute pleasure to drive. Not quite the Ultimate Driving Machine, but an outstanding stand-in.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

April 24 2007

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

The accelleration and handling is superb. This car is a luxury/sports car combined. An absolute joy to drive.

Cons

gas consumption. But what should you expect with a V-8. If you can't afford the gas then don't buy the car :-)

Overall

The Ultimate driving experience. Living in Germany I have the opportunity to enjoy this car to the fullest. I am superbly satisfied. The price isn't that bad compare to other cars in he same catagory. Some folks complain about the rear seats. I have a 14 year old daughter and we have no problems.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

April 21 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

powertrain warranty and aerodinamic,exTREMELY stable Nice GPS system

Cons

really gas will be a problem for some1 who dsn't want to spend much

Overall

first of all i own the convertible version,just got like 2 weeks ago.very nice, fuel will be a problem for someone who doesnt want to spend much and the price of BMWs are real value for money. so if u have big big,grab one

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 6-Series review

Date

April 20 2007

Model

BMW 6 Series

Pros

verey excellent

Cons

verey excellent

Overall

it's butfull and the best car inthe world every thing in it ithink there are n't any thining withe out it and if i get one sporter car that's going to best thing in all my life and i thank this combony about this car . i hop for it every thing good byby ]that's all

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

BMW 6-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph