FastCarsWiki.com

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

November 15 2010

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

best looking car on the street

Cons

brake pads and rotors, coolant system - just spent over $5000 on both. Rear rims, both have cracked and BMW will do nothing about it all. CHEAP!!!

Overall

not happy at all with the expensive repairs, don't but this car used. You're better of leasing a new one.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

August 15 2010

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

I am the origional owner. Among the first to buy the new '04 645. I now have 30,000 miles and my car has been relitively trouble free and reliable. Great looking and feeling, silky smooth performance. Still has street presence and the styling has held up very well. Very fun car to drive. My 6 has a very planted feel at any speed on any road surface. Very important to me: no rattles, no squeeks, no noises from the body or suspension. Quality car that has held up for 7 years. As nice as it was the day I drove it out of the showroom in '04.

Cons

A number of items fixed under warrenty: replaced all 4 brakes, fixed rough idleling problem, valves made knocking noise, software updates to iDrive & replacement of delaminating interior trim pieces. No blutooth, no iPhone/iPod interface. Routine maintenace is expensive. Example, a battery replacement is $470 on average. It has to be bought at the dealership and has to be registered with the cars computer to power the car correctly. An oil change is $170. Inspection 2 is $1,000...ect The run flat tires are very expensive and the ride is very stiff. Wheels are easily scrached and hard to keep clean.

Overall

A classy, attractive, agressive car that makes me feel like a million bucks everytime I drive it. My expectations are high, particularly when I spend $90,000 for a car. My previous maximum ownership of a vehicle was 5 years. I still have no desire to sell and that tells me this was a good buy.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

January 3 2010

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

Great looking car, especially the exterior.

Cons

I-drive technology user interface still needs improvedt, interior comfort and styling not as nice as the exterior. Very expensive to maintain.

Overall

If you own after 50,000 miles, be prepared for expensive maint. However, it is a beautiful car and fun to drive. Just get a new one every 3 years to avoid reliability issues.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

May 14 2008

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

The handling and styling sets it apart from the other luxury sports cars

Cons

The I drive is horrible. It will keep you going back to the dealer for computer upgrades and malfunctions. It amazes me that it passed BMW's Quality Control standards.

Overall

It's a great driving machine!

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

December 20 2007

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

Nice fast vehicle. Best bang for the buck. Best luxary 2 door ever less than 100 grand!!!!!!

Cons

No room in back, but if you have a coupe nobody should ride in back anyway

Overall

I have 6 cars and this is by far the head turner!!!

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

January 16 2007

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

the looks, performance, and handling.... pure BMW! even perfrmance with the M3... road tested to prove this ;^)

Cons

center armrest and placement of the heated steering wheel switch

Overall

best car i ever owned! room for 2 carseats and trunkspace for a double stroller plus a full golf bag! perfect!

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

November 23 2006

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

Probably the best looking car on the road, I never get tired of driving it and the top is pretty much down from May to October. Great handling, quick as can be, best brakes I've ever experienced. Plus, the back seat is actually usable, a surprisingly decent trunk and the fact you can get it with a stick makes a unique set of qualifications for sports cars currently available.

Cons

The run flat tires (Bridgestone) are an utter disaster; catch a nail -- buy a new tire. BMW gives you no heads-up about this and it's a real drag, monetarily as well as agrravation-wise.

Overall

A truly brilliant car other than the tires (even the I-drive isn't nearly the pain many say). But the tires on the car can rob it of alot of its joy.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

January 20 2006

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

This car handles better than any other BMW or Mercedes I have owned over the last 20 years. Incredible cornering; precise and solid.

Cons

With the sports suspension, this car can be rough riding. However, the handling far outweighs the occasional jolts you'll feel on rough streets.

Overall

This is the ultimate coupe. Every time you park it you'll wish the trip wasn't over!

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

December 19 2005

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

GREAT CAR!!!!!!!!THE BEST FOUR PASSENGER CAR YOU CAN BUY, I HAVE THE BEST LOOKING CAR ON THE ROAD 99% OF THE TIME. AS FAR AS PERFORMANCE, IT SMOKES ANOTHER 99% OF THE CARS ON THE ROAD. UNLESS YOUR DRIVING AN ITALIAN EXOTIC TWO SEATER, NOTHING ELSE COMPARES...

Cons

CUP HOLDER, PUTTING WINDOWS UP, VOICE CONTROL

Overall

I PRETTY MUCH HAD A MAX BUDGET OF $100,000.00 TOWARD THE PURCHASE OF A NEW CAR AND I LOOKED AT EVERYTHING, I ENDED WITH THE 645. ENOUGH SAID......

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

April 23 2005

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

excellent performance, handling and styling

Cons

I consider myself extremely tech savy but this idrive takes very simple operations such as changing the radio station or vent settings and buries them in complicated non-intuitive menus that takes pure memorization to remember where they are located in the menu system. For instance, it takes 3 turns of the wheel and 2 push downs on the wheel just to change the radio station, thats 5 steps for a radio change!!! This is not to mention that the idrive has a painfully slow processor so that there is about a 2 second lapse between when you hit the button and anything actually happens on the monitor. What happened to 6 simple buttons on the dash for the preset radio stations?

Overall

I would refuse to consider a BMW because the iDrive system is ridiculous. I love the car but after 3 months I am selling it solely because the idrive system gets less intuitive the more you use it. such as why is the "voice command on/off" menu item burried in the menu tree under display options?

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

February 16 2005

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

it's a unique driving experience. the engine, transmission ( smg) and chassis are a great mix.

Cons

visibility from the lowered driving position is a slight problem when parking.

Overall

it has elevated my joy of motoring to a new standard.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

January 12 2005

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

Handling

Cons

Back Seat too small

Overall

Awesome car

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

January 6 2005

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

excellent styling which I think is better tha 500 SL, turns the heads, makes people jealous

Cons

it is not easy to close the trunk and many time the trunk is closed and annoying sound tells you it is not. Even the keys are out it reminds with same annoying sound to take the key out. also the seat belt sound is irritating. I wish seats could go little higher. The back seats need more leg room. When go to the repair shop it looks like BMW guy is not familiar with car or how the many system works. I was the first one to get this car in March last year but no major problem like some othe people have, except the recall stuff.

Overall

I think it is great car and fun to drive

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

January 3 2005

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

Everytging

Cons

non

Overall

/

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

January 2 2005

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

I was caught in a snow storm between New York and Massachusetts and I had been told that the tires would not work in snow. Between the handling features and the 50-50 weight distribution the car handled excellent. There is nothing that I would change except that the heads up display would be an excellent standard feature with the IDrive.

Cons

The lack of a standard heads up display for the IDrive.

Overall

It perfect!!

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

December 30 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

The easy riding. The quickness. The way it looks. Its a ton of fun.

Cons

Terrible for a long ride. Rode 2200 miles in it and was complaining about comfort.

Overall

A wonderful toy to have. Great weekend car.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

December 14 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

looks, performance. a great car when it is not in the shop.

Cons

my car has spent a total of 8 weeks in the shop for various recall issues. the dealership(Moritz BMW) is totally lost when it comes to customer service and they still do not have all the fixes for the car.

Overall

do not buy this car unless you want a really bad headache.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

December 13 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

When it runs...........it's GREAT.

Cons

I've owned this car since May 04'. The dealer has had it for a total of 4 weeks to replace various I-Drive and computer parts. Shortly after getting it back the Nav system went haywire and hasn't worked since. The car is great......when it runs. The dealer doesn't have a clue how to fix it.

Overall

At this level in the auto world, BMW dropped the ball with the computer controls in this car. My wife's Lexus is easier to operate and has NEVER quit......for any reason.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

November 27 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

Fast, Comfortable, Fun to ride in and drive. I drive once figured out works nicely and becomes intuitive. Lots of nice features, even though BMW has left some of the newer features out some of which are Ventilated Seats, Power Trunk Closer, Easy Close Doors, etc.

Cons

The backseat legroom is pretty much non existent, could use two cupholders but the single one is very good. Awkward Position of the accessory outlet far down in the Passenger Footwell. About 3 days ago it was taken in for some work mainly the new Voice Recognition Software, apparently there was a problem programming it so they had to reprogram the entire car, which turned out to be a bad idea because now the Navigation system says we are going backwards at all times and is always way off all of the warnings displayed at the bottom of the screen are wrong such as when the driver's door is open it says "door lock button" and to make it worse the voice recognition still doesn't work at all!

Overall

Good Car although the dealer must need more knowledge about how to fix them or something. I have a bad feeling that this may turn into a nightmare. We have a friend who picked up his brand new "5" the day we got our car and his car had a total meltdown and BMW had to buy the car back from him and get him a new car. The dealer service overall was just fair not near lexus though. I have a feeling that the I-Drive problems may be of dealers fault but there is no way to know now.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

November 26 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

its the best

Cons

it should be hard metallic top

Overall

its good

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

November 17 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

Test this vehicle reviews peice

Cons

Test this vehicle reviews peice

Overall

Test this vehicle reviews peice

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

October 15 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

Beautiful flowing lines and great handling and performance.

Cons

Run flat tires

Overall

This car is the best by BMW possible ever.

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

October 8 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

Its a BMW that beats any new stock car

Overall

It's a really fast car and handles real nice

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

October 4 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

The simplification of all the controls into one area. Specifically the i-drive. I know, I know, most of you think it is confusing. It will be your best friend once you ar shown how easy it is. Once all your controls are set, radio, a/c, etc, you just use the steering wheel controls, or voice commands.

Cons

No high line options, as in the Seven Series. The soft close doors, the air conditioned seats, more voice commands. A state of the art phone system. Cupholders? I know it is a 2+2 GT coupe. So what, give us more stuff for seventee five,LARGE. At least as much leg room as the back of the Five would be nice.

Overall

For pure driving, a 9-10. For having as much overall length as the Five, and no back seat, UGH !!!!! When will BMW start listening to thier Customers!!!?????

2004 BMW 6-Series review

Date

October 1 2004

Model

BMW 6-Series

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

a perfect 10!

BMW 6-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph