FastCarsWiki.com

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

March 16 2013

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Power & traction

Cons

Battery awful, cooling system awful, flipping check engine lights terrible! BMW Service center awesome.

Overall

This is a great car, just too many issues. I miss my Audi RS6 & my A6.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 24 2013

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

It's a BMW and it looks good in the driveway, the name is about all that's carrying this vehicle.

Cons

Small navigation screens, controls seem "cheap" for a luxury brand, smaller sunroof than other competitors, braking was disappointing, and cornering had a lot of roll in the vehicle.

Overall

Overpriced status symbol in my opinion, BMW has been declining for the last few years, I expect more from a German car maker.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 6 2013

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Power, Standard NAV

Cons

Turbo Lag on city roads

Overall

No longer the Ultimate Driving Machine and now more of the Ultimate Comfort Machine. These cars are becoming softer and I am no longer loyal to the brand. The 550i does come with standard features such as navigation and HD radio, but no XM in a car at this price? Luckily, this model does NOT have stop-start that the other 5-series do. It is annoying.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 5 2013

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

ARS suspension,

Cons

None

Overall

I had a 2012 528i w sport susp. and comfort seats. Very disappointed this no longer drove like the 09 528i w sport pkg. I decided to drive the 535i w M pkg and ARS and standard seats, now we are talking business. I regained my appreciation for BMW. Steering much more improved and ride much more stable w/o that nasty body roll. That should never happen in a BMW.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 4 2013

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Handles like a dream. I have the 528xi and I am averaging 24 MPG in mostly city driving. The ride is a little softer than the previous generation - like the ability to shift from comfort to sport. Seats are very comfortable. Love the brakes and responsiveness. Car has a very classy, well built finish.

Cons

BMW quite possibly has the worst technology package on the planet. iDrive is simply awful. When you click on apps, if often takes a minute or longer to load. Routes on navigation are not found in Chicago although they are on my phone or Garmin. My car has gone into park often when the auto-off function stops the car while driving. Bluetooth pairing does not work reliably on either of our phones. Streaming music does not match descriptions of what is playing. The user interface is very legacy and poor. The voice recognition is worse than my last model. BMW should really rent a Ford Fusion to see how it should be done. Everything just works with Ford.

Overall

This is my 7th BMW - I simply love to drive the car. If BMW does not improve the technology package and reliability of the electronics, it might be my last.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

December 19 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Everything. Much better than my previous 328xi

Cons

Auto off. Front doors open wide can be difficult to reach with door fully open

Overall

Great vehicle. Good performace even in ECO mode. Extremely comfortable even for a short person

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 27 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Perfect power and torque along with decent fuel economy. Comfortable seating and intuitive controls.

Cons

Cost

Overall

This is my second 535 and my first x drive. I have been spoiled and I don't know if I will ever be able to go back to driving a regular car. This truly is a "driving machine". As for the safety of this car - the first one I had was broadsided by a SUV doing about 50 mph. I walked away with damage only to my pride. Excellent structural support and safety cage. If you can afford to pay the extra money I highly recommend the M sport package. The look is second to none and the adjustable suspension makes those longer drives much more comfortable. If you have driven an entry model 3 series and shy away from that stiff suspension but love the performance then you owe it to yourself to test drive a 5 series.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 24 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

To me, this car is the perfect blend of luxury and performance. I bought this car after having a terrible experiance with my Mercedes E350. The BMW feels more comfortable in standard mode, when you kick into Sport or Sport Plus it drives circles around the Mercedes. It only took me a couple of days to get the I-Drive down, the interior has great quality materials and is very comfortable. I love the all around view of the cameras while parking or in reverse. BMW finally got decent cup holders! The large screen is awesome very clear even in direct sunlight and the Premium Stereo sounds great.

Cons

There is a slight delay when shifting from Drive to Reverse (which you have to do to get to reverse)

Overall

I like the larger size, realistically, the car is used for back and forth to work and trips which the new size lends more comfort, space and a feeling of a much larger car with the handling of a sport car when needed or given a chance to stretch it's legs when not in traffic. Very easy and comfortable car to drive and own!

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 22 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Great Fuel Economy - Almost 600 Miles on a Full Tank

Cons

Too Many Speeding Tickets - Can't feel the speed!

Overall

This is a high performance car. I traded in a Mercedes Benz for the BMW, because of the excessive cost of maintaining the Benz. My only regret with having a BMW is I can't feel the speed. I haven't had a speeding ticket in nearly 15 years and just as soon as I got the BMW, I got 3 tickets in 3 months. Thus, there's no need to speed, it will do it for you! Its very light and very comfortable. I feel like I'm floating when driving on long trips. The only things missing are the JAVA CUP to wake you up when you're falling asleep, auto pilot and the self-parking functionality.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 13 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Idrive system is easier to learn and control while driving. The controls are clear and accessible

Cons

1. Electrical problems with car where battery would drain every night from something electrical running quietly in the background-multiple trips to the dealer could not figure this out -sold car for new Audi A6. A6 is significantlt better in every category including the fun factor. 2. Car drove like myFather's old 1960's Buick-spongy ride and the 535i was difficult to keep running between the lines straight down the hi-way 3. 535i was big physically- yet interior space is smaller than the my new 2012 Audi A6. 4. BMW "Fixed" Navigation system is poor & inflexible-often goes to wrong place-Audi for example uses Google Maps--which is near perfect

Overall

This review is being written by a diehard 35 year BMW owner who has owned 3 series/5 series/7 series & loved them all until this 535i. This experience of ownng the "newly designed" 535i was so bad that it opened the door for me to try an Audi for the first time ever. The A6 is cooler, more fun to drive and a better fit for the All Weather conditions we face here in the Seattle area. For more on what other professional car writers have said about the 535i -read the March 2012 review in one of the popular car magazines of the 535i after "40k miles of driving." This article co-written by dozens of writers mirror's much of my experience. Next car purchase potentially a Audi 2013 Q5/Q7 for the wife.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 30 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Overall

This is the most magnificent car I have ever owned. I wish I could have afforded one when I was younger.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 30 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Smart, sexy performer

Cons

Back doors too big

Overall

I love my new 535iXdrive!. This car has everything you want without all the fake flashy gizmos you see in other luxury cars. Classic refined and what a performer! I love driving it and it makes me feel like I am Queen of the road. Watch out boys! :)~

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 20 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

performance and handling

Cons

the run flat tires are a disgrace. I can't understand how BMW has built a car around such poor tecnology. I have had to replace 5 tires in 15 months. It definetely is the weak link of this vehicle. Since it doesn't have room for a spare tire you have no options. If BMW does not change this tires to something more reliable i will never buy another BMW. I am not confortable taking long road trips because I am concern that this very delicate tires are going to blow and I will be far from a dealer and other tire stores that do not keep them in stock.

Overall

Great car but the run flat tires have made owning this car a misserable experience

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 17 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Very good fuel efficient

Cons

none

Overall

My 4th BMW it is wonderful fun to drive powerful and sexy.Will buy one for my son.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 13 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Love the look and handling

Cons

Nothing but problems with it. Computer systems continues to fail.

Overall

Great looking car and handles well however has some seious issues the mechanics

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

August 7 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Power. Sports Mode handling

Cons

Comfortable mode handling.

Overall

I have a 550 X drive with full options, also I have a 330xi and a 328 X drive. I had a 325xi and a 330xi. I like 3 series more than 550, because the handling, however 550 is a comfortable and luxury car. 550 handling is good,if I set sports mode. I enjoy all options including driver assisting plus, active cruse control and head up display. Over-all, I like 550 over 330xi.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 27 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

not bad car

Cons

poor for saleing

Overall

not interesting car

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 16 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Overall

it is not safe car my cousin bought new one and accident happened but the air bag did not open so she pay for nothing

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 14 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

My 4th BMW...2nd 5 series. It just gets better and better! Superb inside and out.

Cons

Run Flat tires are poor performers. Have upgraded tires each and every time.

Overall

Sorta cheapo Navi system for the cost.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 5 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Beautiful interior, solid build quality, fantastic leather smell, iDrive is much more user friendly than it used to be, wind and road noise is subdued as you would expect in a car of this class

Cons

528i 4-cylinder is surprisingly unrefined for a BMW , Start/Stop is way too abrupt and vibrates too much for a $60k car (my feet would throb when I turned it off - the engine vibration is that pronounced), the electronics can be a bit overwhelming at times as you learn them.

Overall

Avoid the 528i unless fuel economy is your absolute top concern, the Start/Stop tech and 4-cylinder isn't ready, in my opinion, for the US market. However, it has plenty of power - just not refinement. Otherwise it's a wonderful car with the handling and performance you'd expect from a luxury maker like BMW.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 4 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I traded a 2010 E350 sport for the 2012 535i. The best decision I made in years.

Cons

None

Overall

Find a dealer near you!

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 21 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Good fuel economy, smooth engine, interior

Cons

Auto shut off, steering feel

Overall

This is my third 5 series, traded in my '08 535i after test driving the 7 series, Infiniti and Audi competitors. The exterior is even better when seen in person and the interior is much better than the previous generation (especially the cup holders). Interior is very similar to the 7 series. The new HD nav system and back up camera are excellent, iPod interface is seamless. My favorite option is the adaptive suspension (DDC) which makes a noticeable difference in the car's handling from soft like a Lexus to sporty BMW standards. My complaint is the new electric steering, you lose road feel when compared to the hydraulic system used in previous generations (and new M5). Also the auto shut off is very noticeable, not smooth. Fix this and it would be perfect, but still a great car.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 21 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Luxury, comfort, stablity

Cons

Cannot think of any

Overall

This car is very comfortable. We have had it for 6 months drove 5000 miles and driving is a joy. People who are considering buying it..it is worth the price.

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 20 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Comfortable ride, excellent handling, great gas mileage, excellent technology, premium sound system, quiet cabin on the highway

Cons

Navigation system is subpar. The map in my 2012 BMW is at least 3 years outdated based on my last car. Given the price of the vechicle I am disappointed. They need to get away from the TOM TOM navigation and move to Navtech maps which are more current

Overall

Great car with the exception of the navigation system

2012 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 20 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Unbelievable Car, traded a 2010 535i on 2012 535i. I love everything about this car especially the new engine and transmission. It's a rocket!

Cons

none yet.

Overall

A perfect 10 in all catergories.

BMW 5-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph