FastCarsWiki.com

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 11 2013

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

pretty good gas milage

Cons

throttle tip -in - just so awful

Overall

Highlighted comments from various places about this issue (some editing for spelling and grammar): I was experiencing the same as many others where if you are at a complete stop and you go to accelerate the car doesn't respond right away and you naturally apply more gas and then the car jumps ahead of you. If you were to move to the D/S position, the car was perfect and you didn't experience any lag in acceleration... it was almost like the car was set to start off in 2nd gear vs 1st. Don't know how to explain it....seems pedal has to be pressed more than it should before getting an immediate throttle response. Like a small dead spot, I suppose. Only in normal mode. No lag in sport mode. Response is immediate. It has scared me a few times when pulling out from a stop sign into traffic, thinking you have plenty of time and ease onto the accelerator only to find yourself moving like a snail, then having to stomp on it to get moving as traffic nears. It's not the engine's response I am worried about. It's the ability to drive smoothly. I cannot, and neither can my wife, get this car to pull away from either a dead stop or a slight rolling stop smoothly and with consistent speed, more than 20% of the time. You have three options normally for takeoff in this car: you have to feather the throttle and creep away like a cat burglar; tromp on it and leave like Don Garlits; or use normal throttle input, have nothing happen for 2 seconds, and then feel like a garbage truck just rear ended you. I have a 2009 528i w/ Sport Package. My 5th BMW. They gave me a loaner 2011 528i for my last service and I still can't get over how differently they drove. The 2011 felt bigger but not just that the throttle tip in was much more agressive and combined with the loose electric steering it was very disappointing. If this car was being used for a limo service, the driver would have no repeat customers. If your kids take their driver's exam in this car, they'll fail. It really is that bad. I noticed this with an F10 528 loaner. That throttle lag is not fun, especially if you need to get out of a situation. It's not a delay which decreases a transient surge. It INCREASES the transient surge as the car does not respond to the throttle for a half second then bolts forward with an awkward lurch and a slam. It's much rougher than a normal takeoff would be. It's not at all smooth. Some have described it as being rear-ended. For the sake of clear discussion, let's not call it lag. Let's call it a "lack of a linear response to the throttle pedal". I can't figure for the life of me why BMW would design it this way intentionally. It just makes the car hard to drive smoothly from a standing start. It's stupid. It's not the end of the world but it is stupid. I have demonstrated to my tech that I get a 2 second lag when stepping on it as I coast down to 20mph. He readily agreed that it was an issue. My approach is that it is a safety issue (which it seriously is) and I have been presenting it this way. Edmunds Inside Line has noted the same issue with their long term 528 as well. Its not the turbo, its the throttle and transmission programming. Its not related to actual engine power at all.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 28 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Comfortable, Easy To Drive, Dressy Interior, Super Hwy Mpgs

Cons

Transmission Shifty Around City, Options Get a little pricy

Overall

For the past few weeks I have put together my collective thoughts on what BMW chest pumps as there “ultimate driving machine”. This review comes from a younger driver that works in the auto industry representing the brand Toyota. I’ve had the privilege over the years to drive some pretty amazing cars, when it comes to the delicate balance of looks, performance, miles per gallon, and overall quality/build I am extremely picky. My last three cars were all highly rated cars in much lower class like 4Runners and TL’s. My review is an honest, no loyal brand ownership experience review, which comes with the understanding I still represent and sell Toyota as a whole. I log 22,000-24,000 miles per year and travel 97% highway travel. My comparison car out of the gate was The Audi A6 and The M+B E Class. On paper both of these cars fit the bill of what I wanted in a high end middle market class. I spent some time 300-500 miles in all the models before making my choice. Shockingly the Audi in my eyes had so much going on interior wise and performance wise I had to close up the shed for the M+B purchase thinking that was going to be my top spot, or even a close second. The folks over at Audi do have a fantastic idea about how to really jewel a driver into falling in love with a stupid refinement that goes so deep it’s hard for anyone really to compete with. As far as the climb to the promised land of 100 MPH where sound and feel are inches apart from your teeth becoming part of a guardrail… both the 5 Series and The Audi get the job done in a calibrated performance that even Grandma wouldn’t be afraid of climbing to. The sound notes from 5 Series and Bangle Butts past is gone in this new generation of executive class automobile. But, the choice had to come where what was the next step I was looking for? After all… this is going to be something I am going to spend my 23.8 mile climb through the greater part of the Pittsburgh hills, where for four miles it turns into a speedway with executives late for work. BMW for me was the answer because of the word “balance” it had all the right moves in the correct places when it came to power, and really giving the driver a good sense of safety and visibility. The Audi didn’t offer that for me, hands down the interior brought me into some crazy Bentley like promised land-like interior, but over all I could see the leather and interior’s small-busy like pieces starting to fall apart, the BMW’s interior also provided a more lifelike conservative approached by knowing that they were competing against just one person, themselves… BMW really has a fantastic idea of turning the car into a tiger that most BMW drivers will rarely play out during an ownership experience, The DS mode(STANDARD) which launches the user into another temple of the car where man meets twin turbo V-6 power, where a twenty to one hundred miles per hour really turns the car into something that I have never really appreciated until you spend a four hour journey from Pittsburgh to the flat lands of Ohio almost near the Indiana border. I jumped out with no back aches, and not feeling like I mud wrestled a pig like the Acura TL. The 5 Series for me sets the bench mark for a purchase that many given months and months of consideration to just like I did, what did it for me was knowing what Consumer Reports always takes away in there reviews about the 3 series. The quality spent making this vehicle, and the research that went into really spending sometime considering how people would retrace there the steps back into buying their product after considering the other families from Germantown like the E class and the A6. I hope you enjoy my first ever car review, its overwhelming, but the research that went into my consideration purchase left me with an overwhelming sense of what driving really is once BMW takes the seat and boils the driver down to nothing left to consider.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 31 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Enginer Power, Badge, Headlights, interior appearance

Cons

Bad programming, steering & suspension system

Overall

I bought as a brand new back in 2010 August as Pre-Order. Steering was always pulling to the Right at the beginning (Several owners have same issues per BMW forums) . After waiting 15 months, BMW has issued technical bulletin to dealers how to fix the problem. They fixed my car but as a side affect, my car was drifting side to side badly whenever passing through rough roads, man holes etc. They tried to fix 3 times but finally they gave up. BMW HQ doesn't care my complaint. Service manager said I was not alone with same issue. There are several problems that acceleration from start was never been smooth, they reprogrammed it, and happened again and again. Rear tire worn out after just 10K miles mark and cost $750. Car behave shamefully even on the light snow. BMW let the Power Outlets always ON even locked the door for 10 minutes so that I have to let all instruments (eg. GPS) turn on when I left. (This is what BMW designed for, BMW HQ said). This was my 5th BMW and I sold out and not BMW anymore.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 23 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

The 2011 BMW offers better good fuel efficiency than the Audi A6 or the Mercedes E350. The 8-speed automatic clearly helps conserve fuel. The car is slower from a dead start than the Audi A6. My test drives of all three cars occurred in the NYC area. The styling of the BMW and the Audi were better than the Mercedes. In my area, insurance is slightly more for the BMW compared to the Audi or Mercedes. At first glance, the 2012 Audi styling is unbelievably good. Then I notice the cloth – like material in the upper door panel and the roof line. I keep thinking to myself “how would I ever clean this?”

Cons

Run flat tires. I plan to purchase a temporary spare and convert all tires to traditional tires. The limited truck space is a problem for a car of this class. The “Premium Stereo” is really bad for a car of this class. I have the standard “premium stereo”, not the top of the line premium. It’s obvious that the “ear candy” experience lost out to the “eye candy” experience regarding this model. I think that both Audi and BMW currently use B&O stereo systems. Another minor complaint – you have to learn to get into the BMW without scraping your backside into door cowling as the seat does not auto-adjust to allow you to uninhibitedly get into the cockpit.

Overall

I compared three vehicles: The Mercedes E 350, Audi A6 and the 535i X Drive. For me, the BMW was the better choice. This is especially true as I plan to keep the car for a period greater than five years. While the Audi clearly had more “spirit” and liveliness, the BMW had more in the car “chill power”. The Mercedes is also built well, however I did not experience the “wow” factor when I drove the car. My priorities for the purchase were price, value, and color combinations. I purchased this car used and I got what I considered a fair deal. Speaking of wow factor, the Audi A6 initially has the best of the three. However I plan on owning this car for years, and to me the Audi came across as “Faddish”. The BMW and Mercedes dealerships were clearly more experienced than the Audi dealers. Once I purchased my BMW – I spent the next 1.5 hours getting a course in the car from the sales person. The dealer did not distinguish between pre-owned sales and new car sales

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 26 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Good fuel economy

Cons

The run-flat tires suck, and the service on them is worse.

Overall

August of last year brought me a leaky tire. First dealer in New York State rudely told me to make an appointment and they would deal with it in two weeks - NOT ACCEPTABLE as I am 3000 miles from home. Second dealer was much nicer about it and replaced the tire per the extra-expense warranty, however I had to #$%$ away three hundred dollars on hotel expenses while they ordered the replacement tire. NOT ACCEPTABLE! Power steering quit at about 26,000 miles. MORE NOT ACCEPTABLE. Iam going to sell it. My Ford truck with 100,00 miles on the clock is a much better vehicle.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 21 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I love that put in the twin turbo motor with the x-drive system. it gives it all the more power for speed. I love the Multi contour Seats. My moms 7 series had it and when I went to BMW I knew i needed that Package. I also Like what they did to the Headlights they gave it the clear blue rings instead of the plain old white rings.

Cons

I think they would do better including more options in packagaes and less packages. when you go to place orders on these cars you choose from a lot of diffrent packages.

Overall

Overall love the car and I can see my self sticking with BMW for now on. I use to be a Lexus Fan

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 12 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Prestigious, technology is great, quiet ride, power at passing, fuel economy

Cons

This car is like a super model - stunning looks, super high maintenance

Overall

I love this car and I hate this car. I like the lines, the engine, the responsiveness, the agility, the fuel economy (2011 535i X drive - 34 mpg highway), road feel, quiet, safety features, technology, fit and finish. It handles better in snow than my Tahoe. My 535 i X is 8 months old, I bought it brand new and it's been in the shop 6 different times for four different issues. Three "check engine light issues", one that resulted in the car being completely reprogrammed because the "Efficient Dynamics" profile wasn't charging the battery enough and I got a "replace battery message". That was 2-3 days down time. Then another check engine light came on and it was tied up for another 2 days. Then the drivers side door would not latch in cold weather. That was three trips to the dealer and about 4-5 days of downtime. It was a defective door latching cable that had to be replaced. Of course they didn't have the part and they had to airfreight it in from Dusseldorf or wherever and that wasted more time. I swear that the "check engine" light is on as much as the automatic headlights.I got the car back from the shop after the door cable fiasco and a week later, another check engine light came on. This time is was a an emissions discharge switch stuck closed. Back to Dusseldorf again and another 3-4 days up in smoke. I dropped the car off on Friday and it MIGHT be done late Monday but I was told it could be as long as Wednesday. That will be another 4-6 days in the shop. I have literally taken this car to the shop every 6 weeks for the last 8 months. I have driven every BMW loaner they have on the lot. I baby this car, it's garaged, I wash and wax it obsessively and I check fluids weekly. Regardless, it always manages to pull it's "super model" act and act like a high maintenance bitch. I want to love this car but it's gotten so damned annoying with all these varied mechanical problems that I'm almost afraid to start the engine because I KNOW another "check engine" light is imminent.The dealer is "reviewing my case" and is supposed to get back to me on Monday with some sort of answer. Frankly, it's going to take something really dramatic - like a new replacement car - to retain me as a BMW owner and loyalist. This car is really close to "lemon" status and the amount of time I have wasted bringing it to/from the dealer is aggravating. To be fair to the dealer, they have not gotten back to me yet, they have been cool with the issues and I could be astonished with their actions. I am thinking of leaving the car unlocked in a bad part of town with the key on the front seat. With my luck, some would be thief would not be able to get it started and it would sit there for weeks. Then again it's been at the dealer for weeks already so what's the material difference?

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 14 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

All most everything about this machine.

Cons

Storage spaces.

Overall

It's been about 9 months since i fell in love with this ULTIMATE MACHINE. It has the power and the style all in one package. Only one problem i see about this that it doesn't have too much storage space in front. Other than that.... there's no comparison out there for this price range.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 6 2011

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

great accelation, roomy interior, large trunk, the I drive system makes driving and navigating easy

Cons

to many options should provide most on some type of packages (example : rear and side sunshades, air vented seats, passenger seat memory, auto trunk closer). turn signal on the side mirrors

Overall

Love driving this vehicle

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 31 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Smooth shift, nice power, great look.

Cons

No cons

Overall

This car is amazing, I love it, like others I cannot wait until the M5 comes out.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 30 2011

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Comfortable for long drives. Quiet. Great tourer. Tons of great usable options. Love the braking feel and power, Although not easy, I can get the rated 29 mpg highway milage rating. No one sings a song as sweet as an in-line BMW six.

Cons

Steering does not center and is numb. Base suspension more Lexus-like than BMW. Dips and drops in curves at highway speeds unsettle the suspension and the car floats. You are very much aware you're driving a 4000+ lb car. Auto transmission is slow to downshift and when combined with turbo engine characteristics is sometimes diffiicult to drive smoothly. BMW Germany has yet to solve idle surge problem. All 4 wheels/tires have constantly dropped air pressure since the car came off the show room floor.

Overall

I have been a BMW fan since the 80's who even liked my 1985 325e. I've lived with the famous BMW "twitch", the awful repair and upkeep bills of my 89 325i and loved my 92 535i and its incredible engine. My previous 2006 330i was a delight except for the run flat tires. The bottom line on these cars as well as my three other BMWs is that each was a drivers car, some better than others, but they all shared one common attribute. The driver was one with the car. My 2011 535i X Drive has ended that feeling. I am now a passenger. Although I have acquired more grey hair than I care to admit since my first BMW some three decades ago, it seems BMW "base vehicles" may have acquired more than I.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 11 2011

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

M Sport Pkg with 19" inch wheels and Michelin Primara tires are fantastic, quiet and responsive. Adjustable suspension is great and the other bells and whistles make this a fun car to drive everytime you get in it.

Cons

Have owned the car for a month and the only thing I found was no side adjustable bolsters on the seat. My 2008 5series with the sport pkg. had them.

Overall

I was inpressed at the jump in overall driving pleasure over my previous 5 series, this F10 rocks

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 28 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Perfect Balance of Speed and Comfort

Overall

Gorgeous looking car, that has the perfect balance between comfort and speed. I can't wait till the new m5 comes out. All m5's have a history of being the ultimate sports sedan and I am really looking forward to it

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 14 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Overall

Great car that has great performance and looks. I wish if it had more legroom in the back.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 3 2011

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I would say three things: super responsive, super quiet and super comfortable. We have driven it occasionally after purchase earlier this year. In one winter trip through the twisty mountain roads in West Virginia, the lion from Bavaria woke up from beneath the hood and left everybody else in the dust. The other cars and SUV's simply did not have the agility to handle the curves at that speed. The icing on the cake is about 30 mpg in highways and free maintenance for several years.If you are a Costco member, you can shop through their auto program, worked for me.

Cons

BMW must consider including an overhead place to keep sunglasses. I cannot think of any other thing that they missed. Do not plan to take it to work if your city is notorious for traffic like mine. It will be sheer waste of your money.

Overall

Go get one if you ever wanted one. I have never come across anybody, young or old, who did not love the car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 2 2011

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

This vehicle has the perfect balance of luxury and performance; seats are great, interior as well as exterior finish are top notch.

Cons

None at this time

Overall

A great vehicle, love it!!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

August 20 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Overall

I bought it new, had the older 530 i, Was struggling between S350 but decides for 535i enjoy driving, very powerful engine, very comfortable seats( it has 7 series seats), insides you couldn`t expect more. Outside it`s vert sporty. I had to change back shock absorber after 2000 km, run flat are disaster, very rough, had to change all 4 tires after 6000 km, runflat doesn`t fit to our streets(living in Cairo). second the two knobs for shifting gears, I think it`s waste of money and could be saved, as long you have your triptronic gear. third, the engine is toooo low (which is an advantage), but when you stop your car, start collect your belongings, and leave the car, you don`t hear the enginge and leave it running, it happened twicew left the engine for more that 6 h running!!! BMW should do something, like enging stops auto.when still running after closing with your remote, something like parking light getting off. Fourth, inside the trunk, baggage area, there are places not being colored with same car color, just being left...looking very poor. But otherwise enjoing this car

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

August 9 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

All up a very nice car, gas mileage better than I had expected. about 28 all up and 32 on a trip.

Cons

great deal of windshield glare, balky transmission

Overall

Great, comfortable, good looking car BUT..two things are not good. 1. The trans is balky, very balky. I had a 335i and it was silky smooth. this one is not.Test drive the car before you buy. 2. If you get the head up display like I did, note the reflection(all day long) in the windshield. If I had noticed I would not have gotten the option

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

August 5 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Overall

I have just purchased this car a few month agos in Thailand which cost me about $130,000 at first it was my first BMW for me once i drove it for a while i noticed that there is a problem with the break ( every time when i step foot or release my foot it will make a very loud noise) so i took it back to the BMW dealer to get them check it up and do the service , they did check it and they said all the European car is like that.. So i went to my friend who own BMW as well and swap the car to test drive his car doesnt have the same problem as mine and he said i should complain to the dealer then i called them and they just ignore it , So i just want anyone to know and make sure you have a second though before u decide to buy this one especially the price that i have to pay and the promise that BMW can not do when they said BMW is joy which is not so joyful for me..

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2011 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 29 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Great seats, love the on screen display, looks great, great hndling

Cons

Some concern about not having a spare with the run flat tires

Overall

Our first BMW (2011 535i xdrive) is everything I hoped it would be. No problems at 10,000 miles. It has almost all of the options available and we think that was a good decision. The night vision option is the only one at this time that I might question. Car looks great (lots of compliments), the ride and handling are far superior to any car we have owned and it has all the power and speed that we need. Great gas mileage we got 31 mpg on two trips and probably 22 mpg around town. I am sold on BMW.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

BMW 5-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph