FastCarsWiki.com

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 15 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Gas mileage. Handleing, comfortable on the road. Responsive

Cons

n/a

Overall

We have owned and driven BMW over 20 years. This one has been the best. No problems, no recalls, all positive.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 12 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

great road handling

Cons

not reliable

Overall

i had 2004 525i, sold it. miss it now now own 2008 535i twin turbo. this car is nothing but constant problems engine malfunctioning light comes and goes as it pleased battery died, right head light bulb blows once in a while

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 25 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Hella fast

Cons

small issues now and then

Overall

GOOD-the ride is butter smooth, comforts that adjust to ur every curves, exellent handling, near perfect appearance, feels like zero G when takind a 90 degree turn going 45 mph! BAD-have to hit the shop more than the average car

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 21 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Overall

My name is Godfred Nortey. i went u to send money and books to good buy. will u talk me as your brother or son .

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 26 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Interior, seats; fast

Cons

tires dunlop bubble up at 10k; handling verry pour; engine issues; price tag; insurance cost.

Overall

The car is not worth the price tag. Knowing that he engine has been around for years now on the market the evil engine light just brings you to the point of wanting to bring it back to the dealer and leave it there once and for all. I have been to the service department over 10 times, the engine light started from the second day I drove the car out of the dealer. Just now 14k miles later and after 8 visits the fuel pump was replaced with new. I have the M package which has the Dunlop SP 01 tires, the front left tire developed a bubble and blew out. The blow out cracked the rim which I had to replace out of pocket. Front bumper got ripped off twice on the conc. wheel stop which is not covered by warranty; they (BMW) do not tell you that your bumper is too low for public parking lots. It has been a nightmare so far and its only one year since I got it.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 25 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Style

Cons

Performance

Overall

We bought this car used and it was a Demo. My first impression was it is a great looking car with great style and nice wheels. After the first month, I noticed a ticking sound. It turned out to be a defective head. It was in the shop for a month. After that the car rides great. The engine, 230 horsepower, V-6 lacks quick drag off the stoplight. The Continental tires after 35,000 miles are done. With better tires, this sedan would ride even better. The driver's seat power adjusting just went out. For the money, I would consider an Infiniti M. The tight steering in BMW's is nice, but overall, like braking, I am not impressed. I had a 2004 BMW X3 which had the sport suspension, and felt the brakes were better.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 7 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Drive , feel and styling of new 2011 535i

Cons

Dealership

Overall

Drove a 2011 BMW 535i and MB E350 back to back. No comparison. The MB350 was awful in comparison to the BMW. Bought the BMW right away. The drive, interior, feaures of the 2011 BMW are outstanding. It feels and handles like a sports car yet fits in my family of 4 on the weekends. At every traffic light you get the look....makes me feel young again...wasted my time driving a Lexus for last 8 years.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 5 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

beautiful drive

Cons

free service is a hoax

Overall

saying bmw service is free is fraudulant, because they say the card needs no service. Have owned many bmw's and now have multiple ones. We paid for the extended service to 100,000. When the car would go in we were told it could go 25,000 miles between oil changes. Really? Getting the dealer to actually service the car is like pulling teeth. It is crazy to build such a well handling car, and then turn off customers. BMW advertises free service as a selling point, but check with them and see, they won't change oil yearly on cars driven 7500 miles or so, they won't chang oil until 25,000 miles, and also, the coolant is lifetime, so they never change it.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 1 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Exterior styling, fit and finish, performance

Cons

Driver's seat comfort and drivability, conveniences of controls/buttons.

Overall

This is our 2nd Beemer. The first was a 2003 525 which we loved. We decided to trade it in because its warranty was expired and our first trip to the dealer for maintenance caused us to morgage our house. We selected another 5 series because of cost, need for room and affordability. My wife drives it most often so she had the first choice for options, color, style etc. We've owned it for 1 year and its been the shop more often than my 2004 Expedition with over 100K miles for little nitnoids like burned out front and rear lights, check engine lights, leaky tires and other minor annoyances. I've driven it on long trips and frankly - hate it. The adjustments for the steering wheel are limited and hard to adjust so that I can see all the instruments - especially annoying is that the right hand turn signal light disappears when I adjust the steering wheel to my comfort setting. Seats are not comfortable and feel loose when you drive the car to its power potential. I hate the I Drive and the electronic gear shifter as both are counter-intuitive. Frankly, I think the car is overnegineered. I am of average height and am challenged getting in and out of the front seat. The overall difference between the 2003 and the 2010 is like night and day and not in a good way.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

August 8 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Styling

Cons

Fit and finish and driving feel

Overall

I narrowed down my list of new mid size sedan to the new 5 and the E class. Before test driving the cars, I was leaning more towards the BMW, based on the styling and power. I decided to test drive both cars to see which one of these cars I choose to drive for the next 5 years. I test drove the BMW first. I was utterly disappointed with this new 5 series. I wondered about all the hype that this car is getting and how true these reviews can be. My first inspection of the exterior found major fault with the cars exterior fit and finish. The driver seat was not comfortable and the driving experience awkward. Not what you expect from a $55 thousand dollar car. The Mercedes did not have any of these problems; however, the styling seems old and not sporty. After driving both cars and considering the price, it?s a easy choice which one of these cars I would choose.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

August 1 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Sport Seats Very Comfortable

Cons

Engine Malfunction Light / Turbo Not Working

Overall

4 x in the shop in 2 months for engine malfunction / reduced power light. Still not fixed - lack of empathy from BMW customer service is unbelievable for such a high level brand. Reps must be trained in the "Sgt. Friday" technique of "only the facts". Turbo not working - horsepower greatly reduced. Stay away!!!

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 13 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Great car to drive when it works.

Cons

I have brought in to BMW for Engin Malfunctions 3 times in two months

Overall

It is a great car to drive when it works - it just does not work often enough. In two months I have had to bring my 535 in 3 times for "engine malfunction - loss of power" problems which can mean anything. In desperation, I brought it to Manhattan BMW who, as a company owned dealer, I thought would have a better understanding of what was wrong. Their response was basically " The electronic test show all is OK. Just drive it around and hope it does not happen again" . Not a very satisfactory answer. I would not purchase this car until BMW assures everyone the problems are solved.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 26 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

handling.

Cons

FUEL PUMP!!!!

Overall

I love this car when i doesn't break on me. I have took my 535i in 5x for the fuel pump. They replaced it 3x and 2x then have ran software updates on it. I dont drive it out of town im afraid it will break down on me. STAY AWAY from this car. Get a 528i instead. Im currently trying to get BMW to buy it back. If not im going to look into the class action lawsuit pending. $63k not well spent thats for sure!

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 16 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Read my review of the 2008 535i. Same car. Same problems

Cons

I really did not care for the repeated fuel delivery and software issues or driving through Montana with the warning lights on. Arranging for flat bed towing from Utah to Las Vegas wasn't much fun either. Nor was the response from BMW that 3 software replacements, 2 fuel pump replacements and 1 fuel injector replacement constituted normal repairs in the first 20K miles. Buy an Infiniti and forget the unreliable BMW product. PLEASE read the blogs regarding the N54 engine problems before buying this car. I wish I had.

Overall

Do not buy this car!!!! Not worth the risk for that kind of money.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 3 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

What a car, bring tears of joy when its jumps from 0 to whatever and pegs you back in your seat. Sport package is amazingly smooth, don't feel bumps but still feel 'sporty' . rear collision detection is great, head-up display is amazing, its fun to see those numbers flip fast as you accelerate. If you have money buy it :-) mine is 72k with options. Good average for 400 hp engine

Cons

none

Overall

Best car hands down.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

April 7 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Handles well

Cons

SO MANY ISSUES

Overall

I have had this car two years. I bought it used. 23,000 miles on it. It has been in the shop every six weeks since purchased. This car is one very good looking lemon. It has so many little issues and now that it is out of warranty, I could never afford to get all of them fixed. My ABS brakes warning comes on weekly. I have learned NO HARD BRAKING. My sunroof will slide back, but not pop up. My anti trap windows are malfunctioning. I just replaced a fan motor for $700 at the dealership. Sadly though, I still love the handling. I am living with all the "quirks" but I must say this is the only car I have ever had that has so many little things wrong with it....I am debating trading it in on a Lexus IS 350?

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

March 7 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I left Volkwagen and Lexus for the BMW series. This is by far the best sedan so far. Excellent sound system. Load the DVD's and take them out of the car. The blue tooth feature is awesome and the voice activation is great for dialing and changing stereo stations. The car is very quiet, and better mileage than expected. I am averaging 30 on highway and 24 on backroads in the hill country of San Antonio

Cons

leg room in back seat is limited and I often run out of places to place glasses, and all the junk you carry in a car. The iphone takes most of the space in between the seats in the storage compartment.

Overall

If you want a car that is quiet, easy to drive and has every technological device you would want then this is the car. I especially love the cd/dvd feature of copying your CD's to memory and removing them for storage.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 28 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Performance

Cons

HIGH-PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILS

Overall

This car has a major flaw, the high-pressure fuel pump fails. The pump is under warrenty and BMW will replace it with NO GURANTEE that it will not happen again. KEEP AWAY, ALL 135, 335 and 535 have this problem.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 27 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Handling and Looks

Cons

Reliability highly questionable

Overall

Good driving machine. Design appearance is very good. Too many options to buy! Too many computer electronics to reduce product cost and to reduce free maintenance. Too many battery issues. After free 4 years maint. coverage, the car may not be worth keeping because of cost to maintain. Car needs too much cares.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 3 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Looks gorgeous and luxurious. Even with many of them on the road, the BMW still stands out with its design. Performance is unsurpassed. External quality great. Internal quality can be better. For example, softer leather, more interesting radio/dashboard appearance, but these are trivial details.

Cons

I have had three BMW 5 series in my life. Although the quality keeps improving - electrical system, engine cooling problems, A/C all better with each new car - the iDrive still baffles me. Maybe I am not that technologically skilled, but I don't like using it. The electical system is more complex, but BMW has sorted out all the earlier problems. However simple is the best. Just give me the knobs and dials and I'm a happy camper!

Overall

Great car. Compares with the Lexus in quality [except lately with Toyota's quality issues!], but BMW engineering and styling is still the most unique in the market. When you are paying that much for a car, you have to have it all.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 17 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

All around a great car to drive. Well made, solid & stable ride. Nice Navigation system and the new I-Drive is a big improvement. This is my third 5-series and the best one yet.

Cons

No rearview camera, but other than that the car is a winner.

Overall

Each trim level of 5-series has its own character. Although the 528xi is considered an entry level model '5, it offers all the luxury and pinnache of its bigger engine brothers. Great all around vehicle that will not dissapoint and decent deals are to be had with the new model coming out in April.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 10 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Speed, Comfort, Handling

Cons

Engine, Direct Fuel Injection. BRAKES when reversing, etc..

Overall

First off, BMW's are way overpriced! but i guess your paying for all the maintence fees ahead.. My 535 has had soo many engine malfunction coming on and off and airbag sensors going on and off! NO JOKE! even BMW engineers did not know what the deal was.. brakes when reversing made sqeeky noises, had to replace rotors, sensors and shocks! Direct fuel injection was replaced 4 times! Basically anybody trying to buy a 535, stay away! nothing but trouble... plus when your warranty is up! HAHA good luck!

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 2 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I purchased my 2010 BMW w/ M3 Sport Package in Germany and i am very impressed with the performance of this vehicle. You can cuise in this or when need be whip it right in to speed mode and the car does not hesitate. This car does everything but drives itself. A feature on the car that I was unaware of ... the tire pressure resets iteself depending on the temperature. It snowed and the car alertedme that the tire pressure was off so it reset to get the maximum performance. Also the side mirrors move when in reverse in order to et a better picture. i could go on and on with the performance of this car but bottom line this has been a great investment thus far!

Cons

The only problem that I have with this car is that the leg room in the back seat is limited.

Overall

Overall this is a great purchase. You get more for your money when it comes to the engine performance, technology, and appearance. This investment is one that will go on for yesrs after all the other cars have come and gone. Would not have purchased any other vehicle.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 1 2009

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

The vehicle has great handling and performance.

Cons

I've had a 5 Series for a few years now. At only 85000 miles, I had to replace the transmission!

Overall

This is a good car. I just did not expect to have to replace the transmision on a $50,000 vehivle at less than 90,000 miles. The BMW dealeship wanted almost $7,000 to replace the transmission!!!!Well, i did NOT go that route. I have to drive about 2,500 miles per month and quickly find out the quality of my cars. Nissan Maxima (347,000 mi), Ford Explorer (200,000), and my recently purchased vehicle...Acura RL (over 25,000 mi already!) I have had no significant problems out those vehicles considering the cost and maintenance.

2010 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 6 2009

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Nice handling, great feel, smooth ride

Cons

sports pkg with tires create a rougher ride

Overall

Once I got into the car, it drove great, the comfort features and the Nav / computer system were very user friendly. However, getting in and out of the car was the difficult part. Seems the front doors are made a bit small with the door frame 6" or more in front of the seat itself. I'm 6' 200# and have no trouble getting in and out of my G35 If the door frame were a bit larger, I would have left with a new 535

BMW 5-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph