FastCarsWiki.com

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 2 2013

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

German engineering at its finest

Cons

goofy cup holder system

Overall

This is a great car, there is no deny it. I purchased a 2009 CPO from the dealer in Dec 2012 with only 23k miles and like many others have stated, you can't help but smile when you're behind the wheel. A lot of people voice concerns about maintenance costs but we also own a 2006 325i convertible which has never been in the shop for anything but oil changes. Yes, the iDrive system is a bit clunky for these model years, but I find it entertaining to play with anyway. I look forward to driving this car each and every time I climb in to the driver's seat. When I look at new Honda Accords selling for over $30k on the high end I can't help but wonder why people buy them when they can purchase a low-mile BMW for the same money.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

December 7 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Good power for a 528xi handles well and feels good. Isn't that what it is about!

Cons

Nothing so far that I couldn't have bought as a extra, but bought used so didn't quite get every thing I wanted

Overall

Just a nice car

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 25 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Let's make this short and sweet. The negative reviews you read here are only for the 535i. That car used a high pressure fuel pump and it had problems. If you buy a 528i, or 528ix, you will be very pleased with the steady and solid feel and performance. The 230 hp straight normally aspirated 6 cylinder is plenty of power, unless you want to take turnpike exit ramps on 2 wheels.

Cons

There are hints of transmission issues, but if you are buying CPO the issues are covered.

Overall

Overall you are looking at a 30mpg car on the highway, and a solid all around performance luxury sedan. Lots of electronics, and a joy to drive. You will look forward to getting into this car every time.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 9 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Driving, handling, Spacious,

Cons

Complicated Navi, Milage

Overall

This is Ultimate Driving Machine. There is absolutely no doubt about it. The drive is very smooth and the way it handles the turns is exceptional. I have driven so many cars in my life but this car is joy to ride. Little bit pain at the pump(came from Accord family) but then realized that all v6 car deliver the same fuel range though they project more on New vehicle sticker. I feel so proud to own this Machine. I feel pride in driving, saying, and owning a BMW. I have driven 2012 5 Series and have to say that BMW have grown to be a lot better car. Lot of difference in 09 to 2012 model. Bottom line: The best car ever driven.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 21 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Handles like a BMW (when it starts)

Cons

Constant Battery & Electrical Problems.

Overall

BMW have had Battery & Electrical Problems with the 5-Series for years (Google BMW 5 Series Battery Drainage). Guess what the blogs and the reviews are correct. I had a Mercedes that you could stop. Now I have a BMW I can't start! My driving habits are the same for both. My wife also has a Mercedes, no problems and we have a BMW Z4 fun car....no problems. BMW blame your driving habits, the underwear you had on when the battery goes flat. The weather. The only thing they don't blame is their crap car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 26 2011

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Fine handling. Decent fuel economy. Rock solid. Trouble free.

Cons

Problematic throttle tip in. Overly complicated climate controls.

Overall

Bought a used CPO 7 months ago with about 35,000 miles. So far, it has been absolutely trouble free other than an issue with throttle tip in/mapping, but that seems to be the nature of the beast. Starting up from a stop is not as smooth as I would like. Once under way, handling is superb striking a nice balance between comfort and sportiness - not too soft, not too harsh. Of course, this is very subjective but I'm very pleased with the driving experience. Would like to see the climate controls simplified, though. They work great, just a few too many steps to adjust the heater, in my opininion. Probably most emotionally satisfying car I've ever owned.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 16 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Performance, comfort

Cons

Read my review of the 2008 model. Same thing. Affected by fuel delivery issues.

Overall

Read my 2008 review of the 535i. Fuel delivery issues. Do not buy this car. Read the blogs regarding N54 issues that affect all BMW's ending in "35".

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 25 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Love it's handle and acceleration. The maintenance free program is great and will make me stay with BMW for future purchases

Cons

This is a great car but Lexus does luxury much better. It has a cold feeling to it. My previous Lexus GS had more amenities for less money and a quieter more comfortable ride.

Overall

If you want an excellent driving experience this is a driving machine.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 28 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Performance! Super attractive

Cons

Quality, too many blind sides.

Overall

The 535, 335, and 135 (any BMW with 3.0 liter engine) has a major flaw. THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILS. I own a 2009 535xi (MSRP $65K), the high-pressure fuel pump failed at 10K miles with my wife driving on the freeway. Yes it's under warrenty, but they can not guarantee that it will not happen again. BMW is aware of this major flaw, but continue to sell the car to their customers (since 2008). Do the research and discover for yourself. Avoid this car. Go to NHTSA web site and review complaints about this car.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 24 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Excellent fit & finish

Cons

Rode like a truck - Since when does a fine road machine have to be so rough

Overall

I drove several configurations of the 5 Series & find it difficult to believe what others are saying about these cars - My wife & I both felt every imperfection in the road, esp. with the model w/the touring suspension. This vehicle was a huge disappointment after driving a new DTS for the past year! Granted the DTS does not match the 5 Series in build quality or on the race track but certainly is superior in ride & overall smoothness of the drive-train in normal driving.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 19 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Fuel economy, Profile, Handling

Cons

Battery issues, HVAC, Remote Control, Power, GPS

Overall

Acquired the car new in Feb of 2008. The usual packages GPS, heated seats etc make the car quite luxurious. There are some flaws that would cause my not to lease BMW again. The HVAC is woefully bad, takes a long time to heat and is erratic on the auto function. Forget the NAV package, it is ancient and is NOT worth the $1,500 extra (my wife has an aftermarket unit for her truck that cost maybe $200 and is much better). I have had the car back to the dealer four times for misc electronic issues. The computers in the TRUNK! had to be replaced (beats me why they would put them there..) Be careful with the remote, I have 'sat; on it a number of times and ended up with the sunroof and windlows all open - not good during rain. The service at BMW is outstanding but this car is just too 'buggy' and I do not know why people rave about the great power. There is considerable lag between 'flooring it' and the car moving.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 12 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Great handling, acceleration, true Lux-Sport

Cons

Bought new in Apr09, 6 times in Service, towed 3 times - NIGHTMARE

Overall

We've had countless BMWs thru the years, including a 645, 750, 528 and this 535 just in the last 5 years. This new 5-Series is VERY DISAPPOINTING. 6 times in Service for total of 24 days - just in 8 months. It takes 30 days in 18 months for Cali lemon law to kick in, then they are getting this dog back. As other posters wrote, the BATTERY DIES every 3-4 days. Seriously. BMW replies with "this is normal operation." Normal? I paid 65K for this fully-loaded lemon. EVERY time I get in and push the ignition, I pray it will actually crank and start. THAT'S the new BMW 535, folks. What else? Water pump failed - replaced; Fuel pump failed - replaced; fuel control system failed - replaced; "unusual battery discharge" (dead battery) - FOUR TIMES - BMW claims it's NORMAL! Other than that, it's a nice car.........

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 12 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

good looking, powerful

Cons

be aware of the LOW front fender that gets caught on parking concrete curb bumps

Overall

I am on my 5th BMW. Always thought it was the best car ever made. Except the 2009 550i which i now own and am about to bring to the service dealer for the 5th time for the same problem. You pull up to the concrete curb stops and when you leave in reverse, the front bumper gets caught onto the curb pulling the fender out of its joint and with it, the grill pieces and side light!!!! 5th time people!!! And each time, it costs me in labor (sometimes new parts) to fix. I called BMW and Emelia in customer service says she cannot do a thing for me! How insane is this for a $60,000 car! Think twice before buying this model.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

January 4 2010

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Style, comfort, handling, fuel economy (Surprise!), performance and luxury.

Cons

None.

Overall

The BMW 5 Series offers style, handling, looks and comfort in a medium size sedan. This car is fun to drive as only a BMW can be. It meets so many needs for an auto I can't list them all. But mostly I like the smile that creeps across my face every time I drive it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 3 2009

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

The car looks and drives very nice

Cons

BATTERY issues

Overall

I have 6 months on my lease and can't wait to get out of this car. The car looks and drives nice, but I can't believe I walk to my car hoping it starts. Battery drains, bmw service rep said I need to charge the battery every night because my daily trips are too short... who has time to charge their car battery??? This isn't an electric car! I've had to jump start this car twice this week, and taking car back to bmw tomorrow for the 4th time on this issue. Sad when you are walking to your car after work and the guy with the 8 year old Kia is helping you jump your 5 series! Bottom line... I can't wait until my lease is over. I'm going to buy a Honda or something. Don't say you weren't warned.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

October 18 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Vehicle acceleration is so smooth; gear shifting is nonexistent even at autobahn speeds. Accelerates from 80 mph to 120 mph with ease. Handling is terrific and braking very good. Sport package seating is very comfortable. Love the usb connection for music. Car is just plain fun to drive and lives up to its name of being the ultimate driving machine.

Cons

I purchased the creame leather. Looks great just have to be mindful of keeping it clean. other than that no complaints so far.

Overall

The car can be expensive but it is a BMW. Shop around. I was able to save thousands off MSRP which makes it an even better deal.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

August 27 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

extremely smooth acceleration; plush, comfortable seats, as opposed to firm in the 2008 Infiniti G35xS; easily seats 2 adults in the back comfortably (86-year-old grandfather can enter and exit the back seat easily and sits for 30+ mile trips without complaint); plenty of space in the trunk; beautiful styling; handles tightly and steers effortlessly; all-wheel-drive system worth the extra money especially in New York and other northern states in the winter

Cons

Handling not as tight and acceleration not as fast as 2008 Infiniti G35xS, but the G is a sports sedan whereas this is a luxury sedan. Middle seat could be better designed to fit a 5th adult, but the same goes for all mid- and many full-sized vehicles today.

Overall

Overall a great value for the money. A solid performer, well-engineered and a great luxury sedan with a taste of sport. The 5 is definitely for you if you're looking for a more of a luxury german sedan thats more reliable than a Mercedes E Class, has a better-known name than an Audi A6 (which is important when one is spending 50+ thousand dollars), but if you're looking for more of a sport sedan, go for the 328xi or, for a better interior fit-and-finish vehicle with much more standard power and sportiness, all for a better value, the Infiniti G35 would be the best choice. Overall: A++

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

August 15 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

quick respond, tons of options , great new google maps , to can send your destnation to your car from any pc ! seats in M sport is amazing !

Cons

fuel pump hi n low prusser is way to senstive n may come as a problem , gas eater ! turning readus is poor !

Overall

great car to own , very fast , def get the M sport pkg if u going to the 535 .

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 12 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

name.

Cons

power. price

Overall

hey ok i got ripped off

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2009 BMW 5-Series review

Date

June 2 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

This inline turbo 6 is pure silk wrapped around a rocket. So smooth and loads of power. BMW really does make an incredibly well engineered great machine and it just happens to be an automobile. The fit/finish will rival anyone except Maybach and Rolls. The leather is not that "looks good this year but in 3 years.. well not so much" leather that has been covering seats coming out of Japan for years. MB... looks good but just too many problems. This BMW is so smooth on the highway and I don't tire while on the road for extended periods.

Cons

Wish BMW had had bigger discounts like a few other manufacturers I looked at. The no maintenance set up is great though. I must not be progaming the garage door set up correctly since it is not getting the door open for me.

Overall

Went from the early 2000s BMW 5 to this. This runs circles around the 530 in everyway, comfort, feel, performance.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

BMW 5-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph