FastCarsWiki.com

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 14 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I love this car no problems in 80K , gas is 27-29 on the highway. Bluetooth work correctly

Cons

BMW needs to do audio better, but my service loaner shows me they are starting to get it.

Overall

I will keep it for 200-300K let see how far it goes.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 6 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Good fuel economy

Cons

Ride is too rough

Overall

Appearance is excellent,comfort to drive, best performance.high value and reliability.I love to drive BMW.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 23 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I bought a Certified Pre-Owned 5 Series in 2010 from Nicholas Alexander Imports in Los Angeles with a Sport Package and Navigation. Two years later, I cannnot complain. It's had standard work done (brakes, air conditioning tune-up, tires), nothing major. It is such a beautiful car that I'm still surprised when I get into it! :) I have three children, and my oldest son is 6'6". He fits nicely in the back, and has ample room in the front. I'm 6'0" and have finally found a car that doesn't make me feel like a Flinstone--I fit perfectly into it! I also have back issues from a car accident, and I drove from California to Washington just fine!

Cons

There is not a thing I don't like about this car. If you are considering it, don't hesitate.

Overall

Be prepared for a sudden urge for a long road trip!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

March 19 2012

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Handles well, good drivetrain

Cons

Breaks down too often, poor cupholders

Overall

I love to drive this car - when it works... I've had it for 2 years now, and it has cost me more downtime and trips to the dealer than any car I've ever owned. A/C has gone out twice, coolant recovery bottle broke, could have lost the engine, and now the trunk got soaked from the rain! The last car where that happened to me was a '72 Toyota that had been rear-ended! The rain got in somehow, and fried the computer module and shorted the battery - and possibly more. $2k estimate, and the dealer isn't sure that this will fix the problems! I should have bought a new 2010 Chrysler 300 Limited - I'd be ~$5k ahead right now, and not in the shop so much!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 23 2011

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

this is definitely a "I've arrived" vehicle. Its ride, performance and quality will soon make you forget how much you paid for it.

Cons

I don't have a bad thing to say about this car.

Overall

buy the best and cry only once.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 25 2011

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

It's a very roomy and comfy euro ride. The 530 xi has good gas mileage for a big sedan, it also looks very modern.

Cons

There is nothing i do not like.

Overall

It looks extremely cool, a classy design by BMW that will defenetely stand the test of time. Great work!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 5 2011

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

BMW handling/performance, fuel economy, standard maintenance plan. Very smooth and quiet at highway speeds (even 80). Prompt pickup for merging onto the Interstate or passing. Excellent standard amenities

Cons

The transmission is jerky in sport mode, BMW should adjust the alorithms for this. They can also do better than a single CD player and standard vinyl in a car in this price range. The MB E class has a more luxurious interior even though it doesn't handle as well. Compared to my 2003 it has less omph and a less luxurious interior.

Overall

Overall a great Beamer. I'm glad I bought it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

April 27 2011

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Awesome handling, good acceleration and braking

Cons

none

Overall

bought Certified Pre-Owned with 35k miles, premium pkg, sport pkg, Harman-Kardon sound. Now after a year and half still Love It. Cannot find much anything better, or equal, out there.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 18 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

handling

Cons

wind noise from sunroof

Overall

the best driving machine

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

March 25 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Very nice gas mileage for the powerful engine

Cons

nothing yet

Overall

great power, great mileage, comfortable and only 40000 dollars new

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

March 1 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

styling and performance

Cons

take off is somewhat slow

Overall

enjoy the driving experience very much

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 2 2010

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

All wheel drive rocks in the snow and ice. Good power and fuel economy. Amenities are nice. Suspension is tight.

Cons

The E60 steering is too sensitive at highway speeds and has no road feel. Like Ann noted in the 2004 review small movements can get you into big trouble fast. I don't have as much confidence to manuever the car in traffic at 70 mph like I did in my E34. Braking in sport mode is jerky, unsure, and imprecise because the transmission holds rpms and the downshifts are felt. The dealership mechanic noted this was normal, was a BMW apologist and noted that the M series was worse - yikes. Edmund's review noted the characteristic was infuriating and I agree. The car is large enough that it's difficult to brace in cornering. The sport seat option would be plus if you like hard cornering.

Overall

The car doesn't have the soul of the earlier models. The E34 felt like it was part of me - the E60 is a sterile driving experience and I'm more reserved driving it than I want to be. The gas tank had to be replaced and I had a loaner 335i coupe for a week and drove it like a maniac. Part of it was the smaller car, but the steering was more appropriate. The jerky braking in sport mode is a crock. BMW could get some pointers from John Deere on this one. I've been driving it like a semi-automatic. Use sport mode to accelerate and if braking is needed flip it to normal mode. Why not adjust the algorithm to hold sport mode in acceleration and use the normal mode for braking? The amenities are great, but BMW should review why people buy a sports car and put the "driving" back in ultimate driving machine. I think the 3 handles more like a sports car, but is smaller and is noisier.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 30 2009

Model

BMW 5 Series

Pros

Handling, ride, iDrive, interior noise, presence, build quality, mileage

Cons

None

Overall

There is no other word to describe this car other than perfect. I have the Sports package which comes with the 20-way seats, 18 inch wheels and Sport wheel. Before this, I had a Cadillac CTS-V, which I thought had good handling... my 5 has far less body roll than the V and is much, much smoother over all roads -- not harsh at all. The BMW feels like one piece whereas the V felt like a bunch of pieces put together. The solid, vault like *thunk* you hear when you close the door cannot be found in any other car. The sports seats have the adjustable side bolsters which hug you so you will not move even through the tightest of corners. I have no idea why there were so many complaints about the iDrive and the various controls around the steering wheel -- I think it is all perfect. With the iDrive, your arm doesn't need to be lifted from its comfortable perch on the beautifully constructed armrest to do anything as your fingers dangle right next to the leather capped iDrive controller. In addition to my CTS-V, I also had a 2008 Cadillac STS4 and there is no comparison between Cadillacs and BMWs. I could not be happier with my 2007 530i Sport and I will continue to buy 5s or 7s as family cars until something better comes along, because there is no current car as good as the 5 -- the E class is its only real competitor and I am pretty unhappy with the newest rendition as well as the last....

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 20 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

This is my second 5 Series. This car replaced my 2003. This time I opted to get the sport package. After only having the car a few weeks all I have to say is WOW. I love this car. After having been an E-Class driver for many years I didn't really take to the '03. The handling of this car more than makes up for any minor complaints I have

Cons

There is no space in this car. I also own a Toyota Avalon. The exterior dimensions of the Avalon are roughly equivalent to the 5-Series but the Avalon feels so much more spacious. Suspension with the sport package is stiff but not jarring.

Overall

I really love driving this car. I'm not sure it's as comfortable to ride in as it is fun to drive though. My car is Black on Black and I get compliments everywhere I go. There are some things that are options that I think a car in this price range should have standard but other than that, nothing to complain about.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 13 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I have the sport package, navigation, ipod, run flat tires - in other words, all the options you can get on this great truly sport car. I get compliments all the time from people who say that is a great looking car. When they ride in it, they are amazed at the way it handles, rides, etc.

Cons

Nothing.

Overall

BMW service is the best, but with this car you won't need them much except for routine maintenance.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 10 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Beautiful styling matched with the handling one could only expect from BMW. Interior is very comportable and functional (minus the i-drive) with all controls easily accessable to the driver. Good kick in the engine and reliable braking from decent speeds. Easily room for the family as long as you aren't excessively large group of people. Love the bluetooth phone feature as well.

Cons

The i-drive system is not very funtional when driving down the road. It is confusing and often times offers too many options for a basic need. The SOS system is a downgrade from OnStar but I guess it would be OK if you needed it. Single CD player is a frustration as well.

Overall

Overall a great motorcar. Great quality of interior and exterior both. I would recommend it to anyone looking for the BMW driving experience.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 8 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I may be alone on this, but I actually really, really like i-drive. I think it is designed wonderfully in the way it integrates bluetooth for the cell phone, allowing you to see your contact list on the display. Also, the rate at which these cars hold their resale value is quite pleasing.

Cons

I could live without the "shark fin" antenna/GPS receiver, however, it honestly does not look that bad. Also, the front cupholders are cool, but what about the backseat?

Overall

This being my first BMW, I now understand why this is considered "The Ultimate Driving Machine". Everything about this car makes it apparent that driver satisfaction is the number one goal, with luxury seething from every corner of it. For having not that powerful of an engine, this thing can haul, with immediate response to pushing down the accelerator and the wonderful whining noise the engine makes as it effortlessly moves up to the six and seven thousand rpm range. In response to some reviews I have heard, I find the heater to be far superior to many other cars I have had, almost immediately blowing hot air after starting the engine. While not a race car, but however, definitely not a slow one, this car and the BMW brand epitomizes luxury in the form of a vehicle. There is not one thing in this car that I absolutely do not like, and will from now on continue to buy these cars. The looks of envy from others as you get in and out of this car are worth the price of the car itself!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 9 2008

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

First BMW experience.Best drivers car I have owned thus far... I drive ALOT and this car makes the miles fly by. Comfortable, quick, fuel efficient, great entertaiment & navigation systems. Dealership has been a joy. They drive 45 miles to pick my car up, bring me a loaner, and then bring my car back! Bought my wife a Bimmer 335i cabrio for graduation because we love this one!

Cons

Had some computer issues when Sirius was added after purchase. Fixed in a couple of days. No major issues.

Overall

There are no bad Bimmers... just bad owners!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

April 22 2008

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I love the Navigation system, the bluetooth, the ipod integration, the smooth ride, and the overall look of my 525i. Oh yeah, I love the heated seats!!! Those are a must!

Cons

I dislike the amount of time that it takes to heat up the vehicle. I drove a 1998 Honda and that baby would heat up in 3 minutes. Usually, the car heats up right when I get to work! Also, it is a pain to fill up my tank!! Sometimes I feel like I should just have a SUV with the amount of gas it takes!

Overall

I noticed that others do not like the I-Drive? I actually like it!! I ordered my BMW when I was stationed in Germany! I was able to pick everthing that I wanted. I can say that I am now official car spoiled!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2007 BMW 5-Series review

Date

April 2 2008

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

It is exactly as advertised,great road car, comfortable and responsive and fun to drive. I like the nav system and will eventually figure out all the intricasies of the I-drive.

Cons

visibilility for me is poor, and when steering wheel and seats are adjusted for my comfort, I cannot read the full intrument cluster.

Overall

great car and enjoy it more and more everytime I drive it!!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

BMW 5-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph