FastCarsWiki.com

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

December 10 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Pros: -Beautiful styling -Luxurious interior -Perky acceleration -Great handling -Large trunk

Cons

Cons: -Backseats are fairly cramped -Mine does not have cup holders -Repairs typical of a BMW

Overall

This car has been absolutely amazing. I have had very few problems with this car, I've never had anything mechanically go wrong with this car. The interior is very comfortable and luxurious. Works well in the winter if there is weight in the trunk. Only problem that I can think of is that my version (525i) does not have cup holders, which is kind of annoying.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 2 2012

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

BMW

Cons

No cup holders!!!!!!

Overall

Amazing

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 7 2009

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

beautiful car inside and out, fair amount of power, lots of room yet not bad handling, lots of space in the trunk, V8 engine sounds great, solid German engerniering, heavy so that it's safe, beautiful wood trims on the interior, leather and power and heated seats, great visibility, almost no blind spots.

Cons

NO CUP HOLDERS! a little too heavy, not so good on MPG (I get around 19), great sedan but not so much excitement.

Overall

Great sedan, beautifully made, solid, safe, easy to drive.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 6 2008

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

It's very stylish for a 1994, it holds its value very well, and the car was not cheaply made. You can tell that the manufacturer didn't cut corners with it. If you simply compare the durability of the car with for example a 2006 Honda Civic, the quality difference hits you smack in the face.

Cons

The acceleration lags because of the fact that it is a very heavy car. I have recurrent problems with my seats--they dont recline properly. Also, GAS MILAGE is rather bad. I average a little under 17 mpg city driving, and no matter what I do the car's mpg stays the same. There were some minor electrical problems with the car, but that's really it. Im 17, and I have tried personalizing and adding parts to this car, but it is a pain in the behind. This car is meant to drive as-is. Do not get this car if you have plans on messing with the engine, audio, etc unless you want to either give yourself a heart attack or two, pay tons of money to get things professionally installed.

Overall

It's a very classy, dependable and reliable car.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

March 16 2007

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

It's fun to drive - it's powerfull and solid-feeling. It handles well and stops on a dime. I've had it since it was new and can't think of a good reason to buy a new or different vehicle. Maybe if I win the lottery....

Cons

The transmission is a little funky. Occasionally not as smooth as it should be especially at slower speeds. It is not cheap to maintain but it is worth maintaining.

Overall

Until I owned a BMW I thought "the ultimate driving experience" was just hype. It's not.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

December 12 2006

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Strong acceleration from a smooth straight six. On an eighteen hour cross country trip I never got tired, I arrived feeling just as good as I did when I left. Great stereo for a stack system and love the cd changer in the trunk. Every time I hit the key I have never worried. e34's are tanks and I would buy this car again and again.

Cons

The back seat is a little tight, but I always dirve so that doesn't bother me.

Overall

A great car that I would recomend to anyone. Good looks and safety.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

April 29 2006

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

reliable, sure-footed, still one of the best looking sedans on the market, and did i say reliable. this is why i now own three 5series sedans..

Cons

repair cost can be expensive if you are a non do it yourself type..

Overall

best car series ever made if you ask me.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 15 2005

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

speed, room and luxury

Cons

shifting between 1st and 2nd can be rough at times

Overall

Excellent choice of r a family or business person who wants to travel in style without being cramped. Very quiet and smooth ride, plenty of power and is equipped with traction control for those wet or slippery conditions.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 11 2005

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Mercedes owner & fenatic. Very impressed with my 1st BMW. Bought off EBay with 143k, factory replacement motor done. Drives like an S-Class. No sqeaks, rattles, incredible trans!! Better transmission than my S Class. (This has Veriable 5 speed auto.) Great gas mileage. Nicest looking wagon around.

Cons

Still is NOT a Mercedes. Maintenace verified by every BMW mechanic I talked to, is higher than MBZ. They also are not as reliable & much harder to work on. The quality is still in MBZ. Also the BMW's have never been as fast. 225hp V-8? The MBZ 6 cyclinder have more HP & are substantuially faster. Don't know where the myth about BMW speed came from. None of the BMW's I've driven would smoke a comparrible Benz.

Overall

The handeling is top notch. Extrmely smooth, authoratarian power. Very tight, solid feel to whole car. If you don't go for a Benz, take nothing less than a BMW. Anything less (obvioulsy American or Asian,) is an embarrassing thing to tell people you spent $$$ on, or pull up at the Ritz in Beverly Hills. You don't go through Malibu in an Acura!

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 3 2005

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Awesome styling. This car has 141k miles on it and it rides better than my wife's 2 year old Accord. Quality workmanship. Very good mileage for the size and weight.

Cons

Expensive to maintain. Pesky oil leak that no one seems to be able to find.

Overall

Aside from the oil seepage, best car I have owned.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

February 1 2005

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Love the power this car delivers on a daily basis, but its mild manner in traffic

Cons

The only issue would be with front suspension components. The tend to wear out quite quickly

Overall

I have owned a number of BMW's and this is hands down the best overall car I have ever owned. From the muscular styling to the classic teutonic interior, what can I say....I love this car

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 17 2004

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

The power. Delivery is smooth and always seems to be on tap. This is my second e34 (other was a 92 525i) I wish it were a manual, but other than that, the cars awesome.

Cons

I dislike that I didn't purchase one with a manual, but for the price I paid - I can't complain. DIY'er and friends with several mechanics, keeps my problems to a minimum.

Overall

Love the car wish I could have two (M5 hint,hint)

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

September 24 2004

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I am a serious car guy, but I drive sport utes becuse I need 4wd and space, but I bought a 540I for my wife so I could still occasionally enjoy a really fine car. This is a seriously well built car, craftmanship is impeccable. I actually had to do extensive work as my wife totaled, but I could not give it up so I bought it back from insurance and rebuilt to new and drove for a few more years. If your skilled enough you enjoy working on this one because it is like a finely crafted wood puzzle that fits togehter very smoothly. Polished is the best word I can use to describe.

Cons

Had a few annoying electrical problems, bad power seat cables, fuel pumps. Got to know my BMW parts people very well. Parts are just plain expensive, but are very nice parts if you can stomach. Unfortunately wife with kids recently outgrew, just a little small for a family car. Look for solid car that has been taken care. Things will happen with higher mileage, but don't be afraid of high mileage as they are often used by executives who rack up miles and probably keep vehicles in better shape. If you have the pockets enjoy Figure at least $1500 year in maint over 100K. Kind of one of those catch 22's as most will go for newer models if they can spend more

Overall

I really liked this car for its incredible power, but thought it should be just a little bigger. If you like and can live with a compact go for it. This is a seriously go fast automobile, the V8 tansforms this car but 525 and 530 are also good. If you can ever find a quiet pc of road it is exceptionally rewarding if you get a kick out of really fast and smooth driving, a true blue sports sedan

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 22 2004

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

(No data provided)

Cons

(No data provided)

Overall

A great car!

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 28 2004

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Handling is among the best for this type of car. Very comfortable seats. Quality and reliability has been top notch. Going on 10 years and with over 140K it still looks and runs like new. Style of the car is distinctve and handsome.

Cons

Not quite powerful enough to get excited. Below average paint quality for this class of car.

Overall

The perfect car to take on a long country drive through the mountains. I have truley enjoyed owning this car for the past 7 years. I'm always looking forward to the next trip. Sorry to see that the newer 5 Series have droped the leaner style. They no longer have that distinctive look the BMW's have had for so many years.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 28 2004

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Where to start... The performance is it in a nutshell! Solid V-8 acceleration, 3000 RPM @ 100 MPH with ALOT of pedal room to go is enough said. Tight suspension and steering. Interior comfort and 'quietness' was something I wasn't expecting when I bought it, but is now something I'm spoiled on. Ease of use for all controls and excellent A/C & audio system. Powerful headlights.

Cons

NO CUP HOLDERS!! Occasionally jerky automatic transmission when accelerating. No oil pressure gauge or voltmeter. Parts and maintenance are expensive and limits the

Overall

For the price I paid, I got alot more than a 'Pt. A to Pt. B' car. The comfort and joy of driving it more than makes up for the crummy clear coating that has barely lasted 10 years. Some maintenance is very do-able by the average Joe, but diagnostics and electrical stuff - forget about it. Parts - don't buy from the local dealer! Find a supplier on-line and save your money.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

May 17 2004

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Everything!!!!!

Cons

The 5 speed auto rears it ugly head once in awhile....However 98% of the time it works right, and works WELL

Overall

I purchased the car w/62K on it.... and the engine runs as smooth as a kitten and strong as a tiger.. When you can roll a 3500 lb.car into a turn a 80-90mph with out tire scrubbing something has to be right!!!!

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

April 20 2004

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

The way it looks, handles, performs and dependability.

Cons

The service can be expensive, since there are so many hoses and what not, leaks are difficult to isolate.

Overall

If you can afford it, go for it, you will not be disappointed. It is an awesome machine!!

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

March 6 2004

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I like the leather interior, the V8 engine, 17" wheels w/ performance tires (may not be standard), safety features. Most of all I like the size, shape, and dimensions of the body, as well as the interior dimensions are ergonomic for most people. The fuel economy, handling, power on demand, overall feel, ease and driveability, reliability, design.

Cons

There's not much I dislike. The only reason I would sell it is because it doesn't have all wheel drive or traction control systems. Plus (jerry & doug), it could use a cupholder.

Overall

The car pretty much drives itself it is superior to anything else out there. Look no further than the BMW 530i sedan if you need four doors or something that is not a little racer will fit in with the business crowd.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

December 10 2003

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

It's 2004 and it still going strong and styling is timeless. 70k miles. The paint is starting to degrade, however, I don't have a garage and it is exposed to acid rain since I live in City. Smooth at all speeds and comfortable. Acceleration with traditional 6 Cyl is okay, have driven the 540, awesome power with V8. Never had major roadside issues.

Cons

I have replaced the radiator (cracked in 2000) and still have a little leak maybe through overfill valve, have to clean injectors regularly, front suspension bushings and arms will need to be replaced this year (2003, popping a lot now), had to replace power steering drive in 2000, aircompressor for air conditioner makes a funny noise but not a functional problem. Heard of transmission issues and have experienced intermittent slipping in 2003, haven't had it checked but seems to have fixed itself (?) no problem now, it's a pain to keep the front wheels clean from brake dust. Seems a little laggy when hitting the gas but then decides to go, has always reacted this way.

Overall

Cons continued . . . Maybe a new computer would fix the fuel mixture or response problem ($200). Little swayish in corners but this is more of a cruiser. Needs new brakes this year (2003), it's first brake job. Have to replace tail lights couple times a year. The wheatherstripping around air vents has degraded and sometimes comes out in little black foam peices when turning air on, the weatherstripping around the rear doors have shrunking and do not have an exact fit anymore. The interior leather panels on rear doors came loose and had to use contact cement to glue them back, o yea, the only major problem is the electric headrests have never worked. That problem exists throughout all these models. Most of the issues, besides the headrest happened between 2000 to 2003. Overall . . . Seems like normal wear and tear items are the main cons so I wouldn't consider them real cons. Great car, will always look stylish and has been very reliable.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 26 2003

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Dependability/Reliability: only car I have ever owned (over 10 years now) which started EVERY single time I cranked it up. First battery lasted 6 1/2 years!!! Still working when I replaced it. Rides just as good as when new; has 168,000 miles on it. Showing signs of age in interior, but still looks great when clean.

Cons

Labor is expensive, but on this car it's well worth it, knowing it will drive like when it was new. Will hate to part with it in a couple of months and drive my other BMW full-time now.

Overall

Bought a 2001 X5, but kept 94 5 Series for daily use. Great car. I will buy another 5 Series sedan when I trade my X5 in. Prefer a car ride to the SUV, but not unhappy with SUV either.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 12 2003

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

I have owned 3 E34 cars ('94 530 '95 540 '94 530) and have loved them all. The performance is great, especially considering the age of my current model -- approaching 10 years. I have 120k on it and it still runs good. It cruises effortlessly at triple digit speeds.

Cons

The handling is not terrific, this is a heavy car. The newer body style is much improved (even though it is heavier). The "yuppy" factor still exists from the '80s when many of these cars were purchased as ornaments. All BMW's should be taken seriously by their technical merits which really are impressive.

Overall

One comment I read about alot is that these cars are expensive to own/repair. Because I repair my own vehicles, my experience has been quite the contrary. The E34 cars are old enough that almost all expensive components are available used at 1/4-1/3 price! If you enjoy turning wrenches, you really appreciate the design of the car because it is made to be serviced/repaired (not junked when it has 100k on it). Although the initial build quality may not be quite as good as and accord or camry (you will have more problems from 5-50k miles), after that things look good. For anybody complaining about repairing the car, remember you are driving something that originally cost $40-50k. Isn't it worth 500-1500/year to keep it running almost like new? Compare that to the cost of depreciation and interest on a new $50k car (more like $10k year). For the record I have driven my 3 BMW's a total of $60k over 5 years and have spent around $3000 in repair and maintanence.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

November 9 2003

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Smooth engine (fantastic note), looks great, excellent handling and ride, good features, feels solid.

Cons

Age related reliability issues, smallish interior, sluggish acceleration at low speeds

Overall

The best 10 year old sedan …… anywhere. Yes, alright, a V8 would be nice!

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 13 2003

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

Classic looks, great performance.

Cons

Resale value hurt by nikasil problem (has not affected our 5-speed vehicle)

Overall

125,000 trouble-free miles so far. The car still looks like new. A classic.

1994 BMW 5-Series review

Date

July 3 2003

Model

BMW 5-Series

Pros

The engine is a tamed beast, very smooth. Tranny a non issue-perfect, smooth, adjusts to your driving habits..Around town Sport mode is great. Styling keeps it looking different, a sure classic look, very BMW.. The car is also easy and fun to mod(wheels, tires, sport suspension makes it handle great without reduction of luxury ride)

Cons

no cupholdrers, minor electronic(see bulbs) issues, 50-60 mph shimmy with the wheels the least bit off balance or lower control arm bushings worn..Expensive repairs, but what can you expect!?

Overall

Great, fun, safe, comfortable, beautiful car which can be bought for 10k easily with need for some improvements or 15k perfect. I love the car, it's fun to have for commuter car! Also looking forward to taking it on the track:)

BMW 5-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph