FastCarsWiki.com

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 9 2014

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Incredible handling - I came from a Lexus - so I love the tight steering. Bells and Whistles - this car has it all - love the hands-free bluetooth features. Virtually EVERYTHING can be controlled from the Steering Wheel and Voice Commands. Sublime seat warmers. Plenty of Power and reasonable gas mileage !

Cons

Run flat tires do not provide for a super smooth ride on rougher roads, but it's not horrible - I'm just spoiled in that regard from my Lexus. Cup Holders could be designed a bit better Take out the Ashtray entirely, a waste of space.

Overall

I had always wanted a BMW and recently found a 2008 with only 14,000 miles on it for a great price. Sheer delight to drive. You feel like you are "one" with the road. On smooth roads - it's absolute perfection and was surprised to find myself going 80 mph - I am not a speed demon - but the car will climb to 100 mph and beyond effortlessly and smooth as silk. Now I know why they call it the "Ultimate Driving Machine." Highly recommended.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

December 24 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

I love the engine and the transmission.

Cons

There isn't much to dislike. Maybe the cost of upkeep. But you have to pay to play.

Overall

I had a 2007 335i that I sold a few years ago. I then bought a CLK55 AMG. Sold it and bought the 2008 335i. That was the only car that I ever missed! Fixed that problem. I love the engine and the smooth 6spd.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

November 8 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

excellent safety and breaking, good sound system, decent fuel mileage

Cons

no sync climate controls, padel shifters wierd feel, odd noises from time to time

Overall

i will always own a BMW

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 10 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Third BMW. But only after two Corvetts, three Audi's and one Volvo. Best car yet. Have the convertible series, top I am surprised does not leak. Great control, braking, and ride. You will definitely get noticed in this car.

Cons

Runflat tires very noisy. Have to swerve around manholes and potholes due to low ground clearance and look out for curbs. Very high maintenance cost.

Overall

Overall a great ride.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

December 10 2012

Model

BMW 3 Series Sedan

Pros

Love driving the car when I'm not stranded on the side of the road.

Cons

Reliability. The car is not worth keeping after the warranty ends.

Overall

Two months after the warranty ended, the water pump and thermostat failed. 2 days in the shop and $1,400 later and got it back and traded it in for an infiniti G37S. I have owned Honda, Toyota and Ford, and I have never been left stranded on the road. Not good for a 50K+ car.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 27 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Braking system is terrific Good acceleration using the 6 speed manually.

Cons

accelerating using auto transmission creates lags.Pedal to the floor or halfway down....you wait before it goes. In my judgement this lag is dangerous. BWM told me it's normal.Turning the heating 0r AC system off requires you to continually depress the off button before it stops. If the fan is on high you have to depress the off button about 5 times to shut the system down...BAD IDEA ultimate driving machine engineers. Run flat tires may help you if you get a flat but the ride you get is very hard. Give me softer tires and a spare. Steering is very stiff maybe good for 150 mph but not around town. When you spend the "wood" for this ultimate driving machine it should be just that...it's not

Overall

Overrated

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 27 2012

Model

BMW 3 Series Convertible

Overall

love it....one of the best cars I ever drove. ive never had any problem with it...

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

September 4 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Acceleration and handling is great. Hard top convertible an engineering feat.

Cons

Run flat tires are abysmal. I have 42,000 miles on the car and need to purchase my 4th SET of tires already. In retrospect, I would have opted out of run-flat option. The car sits way too low in front. It takes extremely cautious driving to not bottom out or hit potholes. Mechanically, I have had to replace starter already (at 40k miles) and the electronic system needs repair. Keyless entry failed at 35,000 miles. I have been a BMW owner for two decades and this is the first time I am considering something else. Meanwhile, I still have my 97' BMW 328 convertible and it has been relatively pain-free. The Parts Dept guys at BMW recommendation is to stick with pre 2000 models.

Overall

This is one BMW aficionado that is sad to leave the fold. Auf Wiedersehen BMW!

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 13 2012

Model

BMW 3 Series Coupe

Pros

fun to drive

Cons

seat is a bit low

Overall

Loved it from the start!! A few small problems while under warranty, but since then no problem at all. Quick responsiveness, great turning, and without trying everyone is way behind after the light turns green. Stares are normal, everyone seems to love it.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 6 2012

Model

BMW 3 Series Sedan

Pros

Fantastic handling and speed

Cons

BMW doesn't stand behind its product

Overall

This ia a great car and I do love driving it. With only 35,000 miles and just barely out of warranty (due to time) my water pump failed. Found out on the internet this is a recurring problem and BMW knows about it and won't do a recall or provide any assistance even though they know it is defective. Although it is a great car, I need a great car from a car company that stands behind their product.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

June 12 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This car is THE best car I have ever driven. It is incredibly fast and highly upgradable with engine tuning, exhaust, and intake upgrades that can turn this already beastly 300 HP rocket into a 400+ HP super sedan. Some complain about the non-flashy look of the car, but I like knowing I have a super car without the super car looks. I have the automatic, but drive it mostly in manual mode which is completely different performance-wise, so if you test drive, definitely switch it to manual. The acceleration will blow your mind. This car is almost M-worthy, but at a non-M price. Are they faster cars out there? Yes. Will you find one in a sedan at this price range? No.

Cons

None.

Overall

Drive this car. You will be impressed.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

June 10 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

turns heads where ever I go, excellant handling. Appears to have great gas milage for this type of car.

Cons

does not seem to have quite the acceleration that my 2006 330 had

Overall

I would recommend this car to anyone who loves performance

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

May 1 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

styling w/power and good MPG

Cons

amount of tire wear, cost of dealer service

Overall

Great car

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

April 23 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Torque in all gears. 6th gear 1,500 rpms touch of the pedals and instantly the vehicle is on the go, no turbo lag at all.

Cons

While having tons of torque, 300hp is a bit low for this porker. Don't get me wrong the vehicle is certainly fast but with the upcoming 328's getting 240hp/260lb with their new 4 cylinder turbo's its time the 335 make the jump to the 330-350 range.

Overall

Great vehicle, I bought mine used and have had it for a month no issues. Will be buying an ecu tune to unleash the cars true potential as it should have came from the factory.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

April 15 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Beautiful car that turns heads. Great performance and handling. Wish I had this car when I was 21!!!!

Cons

needs updated radio

Overall

none

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

March 29 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

handles like a dream. love the hard top convertible.

Cons

run flat tires ride rough and are very expensive

Overall

would buy another

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 12 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

dark grey colour better than silver, wheels, tires, sit on a road, tin windows in front as well, bmw power - fast like no one, inteligent 4x4, roof window with iron krist, looks normal, angel with devill inside, special radio future, start without key or card just in case

Cons

have not any i thing,

Overall

this car is in my mind u can see that car first look normal

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 9 2012

Model

BMW 3 Series Coupe

Pros

sleek and sexy, good MPG

Cons

off the line acceleration

Overall

i love this car! this is my first "luxury" car. I got my 328xi with all the bells and whistles. It handles great! Love the exterior and the interior is very comfortable and nice. I love the iDrive, only took a couple trys to get get fully adjusted. My only complaint is the gearing(?) and torque. I'm used to coasting more in my previous GM cars i drove. The BMW seems to slow down extremely fast when i take my foot off the pedal. I dont know if its because its AWD or the gears in the rear end. It seems to be a little slow off the line as well but as soon as i get going, i'm at 80+ MPH without realizing it lol. Shifts really smooth. The run flats arent that bad and BMW offers a pretty good protective plan on the certified vehicles.. I payed 1400 for 5 years of coverage. If i bend a rim, i get a brand new OEM rim, sensor, and tire from BMW for free..cant beat that considering if you mess up your rim once, its about 1400 dollars down the drain to fix..no limits for replacements either, i can bend a rim every week and get a new one lol.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 6 2012

Model

BMW 3 Series Sedan

Pros

Good fuel economy, comfortable, stylish

Cons

Poor acceleration, backseat a little cramped

Overall

I absolutely love this car! I waited years to finally get a BMW. The 328xi is a driving machine..smooth shifting, tight steering! I lucked about and bought used and got all the bells and whistles! Really fun to drive. The only complaints I have is the acceleration and rough ride due to the run flats. The acceleration is slower than I'm used to and the run flats are noisy and rough. I bought the 5 year replacement plan for the run flats, if I bend a rim, everything gets replaced for free. It was 1500 bucks for 5 years but it will pay for itself after replacing 1 rim, tire, and sensor! Gives me a piece Of mind is something happens.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 15 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

One of the greatest sport sedans on the road - Does all things very well, probably the best for some drivers, great power good mileage. If you are like me - buy one!

Cons

Cost of maintenance! But when you play you pay. If you want Asian like maintenance costs; buy asian and enjoy your boring ride. This is a far more complex and exciting machine.

Overall

Cold Asian competitors don't have the experienced soul of this car, but how could they? Asian car companies have no real sporting history and their people dont even have the freedom to drive their vehicles in a sporty fashion in their own backyards. Ask Asians what they want and BMW is at the top.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 11 2011

Model

BMW 3 Series Convertible

Pros

good fuel haaa yakachipa papeturu apa nyc luks every1 turnsheads in town very stylish

Cons

too low for Zim roads

Overall

nyc bawlers cars emaculate drive good fuel efficiency, nyc seat trim my is a 2L perfoms like a v6 ha daddy this is a ryd and a half

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 8 2011

Model

BMW 3 Series Sedan

Pros

Performance, Appearance. All my freinds and co-workers love my car.

Cons

I have had 2 flat tires, may be bad luck.

Overall

If you can affort it, buy it. You will love it. I plan to keep mine for 7 to 10 years.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

June 27 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

none

Cons

horrible car

Overall

not worth it

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 25 2011

Model

BMW 3 Series Coupe

Pros

great looking, ridiculous acceleration, and banging brakes

Cons

feel every little bump on crappy new jersey roads due to the sports suspension

Overall

True German engineering. The car is perfectly balanced and the acceleration is just unblievable. Like all bmws the brakes are very good. It's grabby at first but will get use to it. The paint job is top of the line. Gets a lot of attention when cruising down the city. Adaptive xenon headlights are bright and fashionable, and the sound system in the car have more speaker than you can count and very crisp. The orange letter trim looks great with my alpine white exterior paint job, and the orange ambient light on the door panel made it stand out more during night time. One thing I don't like about the car is the run flat tires the bimmers put on their cars. It trash. It only last 15k miles and every expensive to replace. My suggestion is don't get the run flats after your first set, because it's a waste. I live in new jersey and we are known for the worst road pavements in the world, and the sports package just made matter worse because you will feel every little road imperfection. Otherwise this is one of the best car on the market. Better than the g37, cts, c-class, and a lot better than the audi a5. the a-5 definitly got the looks, but bmw will own the audi in every performance category.

2008 BMW 3-Series review

Date

September 12 2010

Model

BMW 3 Series Convertible

Overall

It is so fast and great fuel economy I call this car my little go cart

BMW 3-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph