FastCarsWiki.com

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 6 2014

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

I bought the 330i used and its fully loaded. I love the styling, the power, and the feel of driving it.

Cons

The only complain I have is the gas mileage is under 20, may be I do mostly city driving.

Overall

You have to spend money to upkeep the vehicle to perform. never a cheap task on expensive cars.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

December 20 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Looks, more than adequate acceleration, handling, steering feel

Cons

Maintenance issues

Overall

The vehicle drives amazingly well. The acceleration is smooth, and pretty powerful. It has a nice growl in the higher-rev range as well. The handling is excellent, and the interior is nicely executed and even at 90,000 there are very few rattles. I love how adjustable the seats are, and how well the leather has held up. Of course all the good characteristics of the car come at a cost. the Cost: Maintenance. Boy, this one is a killer. Now, let me first start off by saying I have never been stranded, and the car has never refused to start. I have one burnt out Halo bulb, I've replaced both bulbs within the past two months, I need a new serpentine belt, tensioner pulley, camshaft position sensor, and front rotors. Just when you think that you've replaced everything but the engine, another small issue comes up. This morning my passenger side mirror got stuck after reversing, (when you reverse the mirror folds down to help with parking). Overall this is a great vehicle, just costly.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

December 2 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

love the way it drives and power..... I have the 2006 330i amazing the way it drives and girls love it.....

Cons

just when I hit the 100,000 miles the water pump went out...... so just replaced it and also the thermostat and is ready for another 100,000 miles....... I spent 1,000 dlls on those two things and that's all the mayor problem I had it since I bought it.......

Overall

love this car.....

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 20 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Style, handling and image. Excellent! Strong engine in V6. Safety level is great. I don't have any machanic problem is far in the pass 7 years. I just pump gas and regular oil change. So far it's a good communte car.

Cons

low gas milage in city below 15 miles per gallon. Not enough room space. Comfort level is low. Passanger side air bag sensor always on and off.

Overall

Over all I give it A- or B+ for an entry level luxuary car.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

April 20 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Exterior paint quality is great. Handling is magnificent. Overall performance (minus the runflats) is great.

Cons

Runflat tires, low quality interior components, poor quality gaskets/seals

Overall

I could have put a child through college with all the money I spent on tires for this car. I will NEVER buy any car with runflats again. I have 105k miles and I feel like I've replaced every seal & gasket. I replaced the rubber gasket/seal around the windshield- that was literally crumbling away. I also just replaced the driver's side locking mechanism. Most recently, I replaced the coils. The interior "paint" is chipping off the steering wheel and the door handles. The leather is in ok shape but has a couple places where it's worn. This is my 3rd and last 3 series.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

April 20 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

the appearance,exhaust system,so confortable

Cons

no room for an extra tire and the run flat tires are very hard for the car and made noises

Overall

it's an amazing car,I recommend it

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

March 28 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

The straight 6 cylinder engine pulls like a V8. Buckle up for safety!

Cons

My cupholder broke. That's it.

Overall

Get the money and buy one now.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

March 9 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Handling, Handling, and Handling. I bought this car used with only 27k on the odo. Six years old, but showroom cond. Its like I got a brand new Bimmer for 16k. Seats are supportive and comfortable. The AWD system works great in the snow. The I-Drive is great once you get it down. Styling is timeless. Everywhere I go people think I bought a brand new car. It is without a doubt a drivers car. If you want basic transportation with a little bit of status you may be served better by a Lexus or the like, but if you are a "Driver" there is no substitite in this class.

Cons

Interior materials are not on par with the competition. The run flats are noisy. No dipstick for the oil, instead a tempermental electronic sensor. Lousy in-town mileage.

Overall

Great car, albeit a little quirky. This car is not without a few shortcomings, but if your buying it for the reasons you should be buying a Bimmer you certainly wont be dissappointed. I actaully speed up to go around corners, its that fun to drive.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 21 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Good looks, good gas milage

Cons

Many problems that inhibited performance and comfort. RFT very poor performance, many electrical problems

Overall

Poor

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 5 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Style,performance and handling. a very good quality vehicle and not bad gas mileage (overall around 26mph) and yes it will run just fine on mid grade. Car is tight, no rattles quiet and rides great with Michelin.

Cons

. Brake dust is a constant problem and if one doesn't keep it clean it can ruin your alloys. Body paint is good, but some of the small interior and exterior parts seem to be a little shabby paint wise.

Overall

Over all my wife and I love this car. Purchased car in 2009 with 23.000 miles . It now is about to roll to 54,000 miles and runs great.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

December 13 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Cornering performance is excellent.

Cons

Michelin Run Flat Tire Pilot Sport 2 are not suitable for LA road condition. It is ok for road in Germany but not LA.

Overall

Over qualified for LA road condition.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

November 19 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Handling, style

Cons

Kick back from braking, quality of some exterior and interior trim (side lights, side treim), outside trim quality, limitation of service options and cost

Overall

Great handling and style, but service issues, quality of detail external and internal not as expected, and cost/llimitation of options for service

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 9 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

97k miles and it runs like new. quiet at freeway speeds, no vibrations, squeaks or rattles. 35+ highway mpg. very high quality. good power, brakes and handling. many features

Cons

not much

Overall

would defiantly recommend

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

June 12 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Handling and performance are excellent.

Cons

A continuous string of problems that have ranged from annoying to severe. Almost immediately the rubber coating on the door handles began peeling. The car eats tires like you wouldn’t believe (lucky to get 30,000 mi from set). Car has had miscellaneous electrical problems that began popping up just after the warranty expired. Brake job needed at 60K and parts alone were almost $1000. Now with only 72,000 mi it needs a new A/C compressor, tensioner, and oil filter unit gasket to the tune of $3,000. Don’t be fooled by the 4 year maintenance plan, you will pay in spades after the warranty expires. Can’t wait to get rid of it and go back to Lexus or Toyota.

Overall

Buyers beware!

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

March 24 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

The car drives great. That's it.

Cons

Interior finish very poor, peeling plastic on the steering wheel which is sprayed on, quality is non-existent, and you expect better workmanship and detail in a $46,000 car. Like one poster said, "High Priced Junk."

Overall

I love the way my 330i drives. I like the looks of the car. My BMW 330i has a problem - interior is poor!!! Peeling plastic, leather seats not up to par,and guages difficutl to understand. The manual is made to confuse you, so you have to call BMW. I will even say the paint is not as good as my 1995 BMW. Working with a BMW dealership is a pain. The talk down to you and they act like SCAMMERS. You call corporate BMW, and they blow you off. BMW has major major problems.One piece of advice - don't go by what the manual says, if you can understand it - get a GOOD BMW MECHANIC, and change your oil every 7,000 miles - not 15,000. Changing the oil every 15,000, sets you up for major problems and expenses. Keep the car maintained, with a good mechanic, who knows BMWs, and things may go Okay.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 15 2012

Model

BMW 3 Series Sedan

Pros

good on gas

Cons

none

Overall

One of the best cars I ever owned. Going to drive it forever. Good on gas

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 16 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Great looking car. Excellent handling/steering, hugs the road (especially on the back roads). Excellent braking. Quiet interior. Premium & Sport package with navigation system.

Cons

This is my second BMW 3 Series. I owned a 2003 325i previously. In my experience, the 2006 325i had numerous problems within two years after the warranty expired. The problems I experienced: 1) DSC/Flat Tire Monitor malfunction. 2) O2 Sensor/Camshaft/Crankshaft Position Sensors faulty. 3) Passenger Restraint/Air Bag System Failure. 4) Water Pump Failure which led to car overheating, Hoses (including high pressure hoses) needing replacement. 5) Moonroof Failure. 6) Oil Gasket leaks. 7) Oil filter housing cracked. 8) Ignition coils failed. 9) Belt tensioner cracked/bearings shot. These were not cheap repairs! Oh, and not to mention, interior parts started peeling even with good care.

Overall

Overall, if it weren't for all the problems I experienced, it would be the "Ultimate Driving Machine." If you're willing to pay for expensive maintenance/repair cost, this is the vehicle for you. After 65,000 miles and spending over $6K in repairs, I decided it was time for me to go back to driving Japanese vehicles.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

September 12 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

I love it is smooth and fast. Run flat tires are a little stiff but not too bad. As I work in Buffalo we'll see about snow tires over the continental 225/45 17all season that it came with. Also only had 11,180 miles when purchased in August 2011. Automatic.

Cons

Small trunk.

Overall

I love this thing. It goes.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

March 25 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

The performance

Cons

The quality is crap...for a 60k vehicle you would expect a little more quality in parts. Did not know that most BMW parts are fabricated in China. This means low quality, mass production. I could not count the amount of times I have gone to the dealership to fix an issue with this car. Valve ticking, suspension bushings, engine rattling...High priced JUNK

Overall

Good performance but bad quality. If you're gonna buy this car, make sure there's plenty of warranty.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 6 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Performance/ power.

Cons

It fishtails on snow-covered streets. (If I could do it over, would have bought 330xi instead of 330i.)

Overall

Superior car.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

November 28 2010

Model

BMW 3 Series Convertible

Pros

classy and stylish

Cons

hard to open doors, low visibility with top up,

Overall

I love my 2006 but am about to upgrade to a newer 3 series convertible. Doors hard to open, somewhat rattling ride, low front bumper has gotten caught on curbs

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

July 17 2010

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

power prestige handling styling

Cons

brake maintenance

Overall

great car, no serious reliability issues to date

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

May 11 2010

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This thing looks great and drives even better. There is more than enough power and the 'X' drive may be the best winter weather system I've ever used and that includes many 4x4 trucks! The interior is comfortable and well built. The stereo is hands down the best I've heard.

Cons

The trunk is a little small. I struggle to get my golf clubs in and out of it. A couple of minor glitches with some warning lights, but they were fixed imediately by BMW and have not been a problem since.

Overall

This is by far the best car I've ever owned. I've gone through about 10 cars in the last 15 years and this one is a keeper. It's a wonderful combination of practical and performance. Highly recommended.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

December 9 2009

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Great handling sedan (sport pack is a MUST). comfortable and looks beautiful especially black on black with tinted windows. great 6speed manual was a must for me and it saves you over 2 grand. Very fun to drive... when its running.

Cons

MAINTENANCE, MAINTENANCE, MAINTENACE! i bought it in feburary and i kid you not, iv've lost count how many times its been in the shop. BMW has decided to "coat" its interior plastics for the intent of " it feeling better to the touch" only problem is.... that paint starts peeling rather quickly if its a daily driver. last but not least, the engine. its a great engine dont get me wrong, plenty of power BUT check the TSB's if you own one, your dealer can tell you as well. its a laundry list.

Overall

I bought my 2006 325i blk/blk 6speed E90 as CPO for $24k with 22k on the odometer in feburary. This is the 6th BMW I've owned, and this by far is the worst. It's been to the shop abut 10 times, and the following parts have been replaced. Driveshaft and joints (not lubbed properly and damaged the joints), all 4 wheels (oxidizing), windshield (leaking), new cupholders and other misc interior parts (paint peeling), aluminum roof slider rails ( the rails that hold a roof rack if you want one.. paint peeling and replaced). coil (ignition) for cylinder# 1 ( that kept me for getting to work one day because the car was running on 5 cylinders). Oh and 2 more things that I'm waiting for parts to come in for. New lifters for all cylinders AND a new oil pan. It's tough love owning this car, b/c when its running good, its the best time you'll ever have behind the wheel. Only problem is, you're usually experienceing BMW from a loaner car LOL.

2006 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 31 2009

Model

BMW 3 Series Sedan

Pros

good fuel eco

Overall

This is my first BMW! Glad I made the buy. Love he look and all of the bells! BMW should re-think the run flats! Give a rough ride for a BMW, need to have another option, overall, once you are rolling you forget about the tires. Great on gas, and it turns alot of heads, that's if they can keep up with you! (lol) The car really live up to its name. I'll check back in at the next rest stop!

BMW 3-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph