FastCarsWiki.com

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

April 8 2014

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Value listed Here is very LOW, due 2people not educating themselves on this Maker's Year/Model, Especially on how to own a BMW! Small Maintenance is everything! & saves U all those Major Issues that People claim is BMW's Fault! This Make,This Year, w/ both Sport/Premium Options are worth almost double as U R basically buying an 01' M3! I didn't until after 4 yrs when I stumbled onto E46Fanantics, great site. It will most likely be the Collector Edtn Model down the road! VERY IMPORTANT, FIND AN OFF HRS MECHANIC THAT KNOWS BMWS & BUY YOUR OWN PARTS IN PERSON OR A TRUSTED BMW DEALER ON-LINE! That will save you ^40%!!

Cons

BMW- the Dealerships! Their unbelievable costs for every item. Every Business that over charges as soon as they hear you say you need a BMW part! They all think BMW owners have money, maybe those driving the new models every year, but most of us, love the cars we own and want to keep them! Keep them Running as Smoothly as they Can, which is a lot better then most newer makes and models! Newer is not Better! Proven, Tested over Time, That's what you should spend $ on!

Overall

If it's never been totaled or hit hard where an airbag was replaced; it has had the suspension on any high milage model was correctly replaced w/ similar or exact BMW parts to get the exact driving experience you want. The sport models handle great! Like a Vette! Seriously, you are low to the ground, make sure your suspension, tires, etc are all working perfectly! Don't skim on parts, find them cheaper, they all rely on each other! Especially after 150k, if you start using other parts, you will be fixing & you can afford the Maintenace of $1200 a yr for Oil, Brakes, & Neccessary Needs, BUY IT!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

December 16 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

its the perfect style, so classy and cool. my dream car is getting old. the body is so well made. just some scratches from jealous people .

Cons

the seats are too hard and same style year after year. it has a bad blind spot .

Overall

overall the car gets the best gas milage ,it took some time to figure it out expecially during the rise in gas prices. the tire rims were spectacular i never seen anything like them everyone asks me if i bought some where, there can with the car when it was bought used. its a great looker car and fun to drive.....leaves everyone in the smoke. >das good auto!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

November 19 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

I absolutely LOVE the speed of my car as well as the style and look of my car!!!! I handles great!!

Cons

I would never trade my car, but it does have problems with braking down every so often more then a usual car. As well as the cost to repair my car, but other then that my car is awesome!!

Overall

This is the best kind of sports car you can get that is affordable. Also just make sure if you happen to come across one that you are interested in; run it by a professional mechanic first, they are very costly to fix.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

April 28 2012

Model

BMW 330

Pros

Basically everything

Overall

I absolutely adore this vehicle, have owned one since January 2012 having looked at them for a number of years. BMW engineers always manage to balance everything just right, there is nothing impractical about this car really, ergonomically it is very sound and well balanced. When it comes to minor maintenance, such as changing a light bulb this is exceptionally easy too. The car has a very powerful engine, so you can have some fun here, it cruises at around 40-50mpg also. So all in all, nothing about this car is pathetic, needs changing or is poor quality, its all sound.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

November 2 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This was my first car. A 2001 325i sedan. It had 120,000 miles on it when i bought it. It now has almost 150,000 in just a year and a half. I've put this car through the ringer. Lived in the hills snow and dirt. ( very minor off roading ) engine runs awesome, car is GREAT! never had any issues other then a crack in the coolant line and needing new motor mounts but hey the cars 11 years old. They need that. Very comfortable and good for a cheep reliable commute car.

Cons

I wish the back seat was a little roomier but I never sit back there anyway. Put roof racks on mine looks sport and now is versatile. Oh yea my only other complaint PARTS ARE EXPENSIVE! lucky mines been fantastic so far ( knock on wood ). Don't buy one unless you have the money or connections. Lucky there where plenty made so cheep parts from salvages are available.

Overall

Overall if you find the right one. Mine was a one particular original owner. Car still looks and runs Good. You shouldn't have to many issues right now. Remember these cars are getting old so things obviously start happening. but its and awesome fun car!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 10 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Styling and low turning radius

Cons

I will say this car is more like a death sentence on road, with so much problem popping up now and then i was spending like $1000 a month for various repairs/no accident though. Driving on I-95 from NJ to DC was more feeling like a suicidal step forward. these problems seems like very calibrated and happening like a chain reaction despite i was very religious on maintian oil changes -- battery discharge -- alternator failure, -- coolant system failure --engine oil leaks --smokes --blower resister failure --transmission light

Overall

Please-Please do not buy this car even if someone give it to you for FREE, similar experience was with the BMW 2003 series. Safety rating is mostly for new cars so NHSA doesnt capture it

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 28 2010

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Long lasting styling. Quiet. Easy to work on (5 minutes to change the oil filter). Great DIY web presense. Good handling. Decent fuel economly (34 mpg highway observed!) if you get a 5 spd sitck. Adequate space for four. Reasonable acceleration.

Cons

Cooling system requires work every 75,000 miles, Window lifts break, A-pillar fabric debonds and falls off, front suspension bushings require replacement every 80,000 miles, Sunroof sunshade is fragile and requires a certain degree of understanding and care. Steering and handling aren't as precise as the previous e36 body style cars.

Overall

This is a great enthusiasts car. The on-line community is extensive. This is not a car to be driven like an appliance and ignored, or just taken to the dealer for service as recommended. If that's what you're after, buy a Lexus! If you do "old school" maintenance on this car the only thing that will kill it corrosion (if you live in the rust belt or NE USA). Old school maintenance means having ALL the fluids changed at regular intervals and changing oil (make sure it's synthetic!) twice as often as the dealer recommends. Find a good independant shop that specializes in European cars and you'll be fine. Better still - if you do most of your own work and enjoy doing it, this can be a very economical and rewarding car to operate.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

April 8 2010

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

luxurious and sporty

Cons

expensive to maintain and kind of fragile

Overall

Very nice looking car, very fun and comftable to drive, drives fast and handles well.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

March 5 2010

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

My car has the premium and performance packages and it has the fully automatic convertible top. It has the 5-speed manual transmission and 60,000 miles on it. I have not had anything go wrong with the car since I bought it except a little hard plastic panel had a tiny crack in it that is only seen when the top is down. I easily fixed this. The reliability has been very good. This car has excellent performance and sounds fantastic. (This might be due to the performance package.) It also has excellent styling. Mine is a rare color (gold) and I think it probably extra attention for that. The interior is very good in my opinion. It is surprisingly quiet on the highway for a convertible.

Cons

The M3 wheel that come with the performace package are hard to clean and clean them you shall. The brakes are fantastic but produce a lot of dust. (This is the way good brakes are supposed to work though, to prevent rotor warping and squeeky brakes.) Maintenance costs a lot if you're going to a certified BMW dealership. (The dealership I use does a great job though.)

Overall

I could write a lot more about the positives of owning this car. I hear some persons have reliabilitiy issues. My greatest fear is the fully automatic convertible top malfunctioning because there are so many mechanisms that have to function in-sync but it's never given me problems. I really haven't had any issues even though I expect to have them. Maybe it's because I take good care of it. It gets a lot of attention and compliments. I am always surprised to see a negative review. Also note that I use it as a secondary car so I don't drive it as much as some of you folks. These cars hold their value well too if you take care of them.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 2 2010

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

With the sport package and manual transmission it is the most naturally handling car I've driven. Fairly reliable.

Cons

Reason you see most for sale around 75,000+ miles is the owners ran out of warranty and into the (potentially expensive) repairs and maintenance that become common around that age and are dumping them. Ignition coils, window regulator, fuel sending unit, power steering hoses are all common failing parts.

Overall

Probably my favorite car I've owned, despite it becoming costly to own and service once warranty ran out I still regret selling it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 2 2009

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Beautiful inside & out. Great accelaration, braking and handling. Shifting is flawless. Great sound system (harmon kardon).

Cons

Repairs and maintenance get very expensive once you get past 80K miles. I have the sport tuned suspension with lower profile (Z-rated) tires which are also very pricey. Ride can be harsh except for on the smoothest highways. The car has always had minor cosmetic problems (door seals, etc). CD player has always skipped over even the smallest blemishes in the road. In 2005 the new body style came out and now 4 yrs later the car is starting to look a bit dated.....

Overall

I bought this car in 2004 when it only had 41K miles. It's a lot of fun to drive w/ good tires and if suspension is in good shape. The engine still works flawlessly but again this car has consistenly had cosmetic problems. Car now has 105K miles and needs roughly about $3500 worth of work (front tires, front suspension lower control arms/bushings, water pump, etc). Yet the car is only worth maybe $6-7K so I don't see the logic in putting more $$ into this thing. This is only just my experience, maybe others have fared better. I would drive another 3 series in a heartbeat and am a BMW loyalist. That being said, if you can I would suggest opting for a lease on a new unit and have all the maintenance covered for the 1st 40k miles.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

November 25 2008

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Styling, snob appeal.

Cons

Dealer network, breakdowns.

Overall

I have owned 4 3 series BMW's, this is the last. They used to be more fun to drive and you always were proud to drive one. The dealers have started taking advantage of BMW's name and are bilking the owners. On the way home from a "xxx miles service" the check engine light came one, turns out my dealer does not check what BMW recommends to be done on this service. Same thing happened with a different dealer. I'm tired of the expensive repairs. Buying an Accord.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

June 9 2008

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This car looks great with the top down or up and it drives like a dream. It has all the 'get up and go' you could ever need for city driving... and when you're on the highway and you need to pass that Sunday driver, just pop it into manual and you will breeze by them in no time flat. Best features for me are the power convertible top, all-power windows, and easy access controls on the steering wheel/column.

Cons

The convertible is loud on the highway, but that's to be expected. Not having owned a BMW before, the maintenance costs were a bit of a shocker, but nothing unmanageable.

Overall

Would totally recommend BMW to friends, family and strangers alike. Definitely the best (looking and driving) car I've ever owned.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 18 2008

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

I TRADED THIS 330CI FOR MY OLD 325IS AND I MUST SAY THE 330 IS A GREAT VEHICLE A FEW MODS AND THE CAR IS PUSHING 315 HP.

Cons

DOORS TRIMS AND SEALS GO OUT OFTEN

Overall

GREAT VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY AND STYLE

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 12 2008

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

fdsf

Cons

fsdf

Overall

sdfsd

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 2 2008

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Stylist and efficient

Cons

Price

Overall

The car is great!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 17 2007

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

I love how BMW manages to create a luxury car that can truly perform. To use the cliche a wolf in sheeps clothing describes this vehicle perfectly. The average bmw driver has no idea how to extract the potential out of these cars and most people just think of the 3 series as a family sedan. Prior to this car i had a 5spd is300 and from a performance standpoint these two cars simply cannot compare. Also this car gives you a sense of security that you simply dont find in most other cars.

Cons

Maintenance (suspension components, window regulators, etc), could use a little more power.

Overall

I also drive a lancer evo mr so the 330 feels like a buick with blown struts in comparison. But with that comparison aside, this car is truly a great luxury car that offers a great deal of performance considering the price comfort and other factors. A BMW is not for everyone. The average buyer would be better off in a tsx or possibly an is300. For those that are willing to pay a premium (in both initial cost, depreciation, and maintenance) for superior handling ergonimics and all around quality, I see no reason to look any further. I have owned a host of sporty cars including an is300, nissan maxima se, honda prelude, acura gsr, subaru wrx, and of all of these cars this is probably the best all around car i have experienced. It seems to offer everything one could want.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

March 25 2007

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

The styling is just beautiful. If you live in an area with generally good weather you have to get this car in its convertible version. It makes a great evening cruse.

Cons

As with all convertibles, it's a bit noisy on the highway but nothing to be concerned about.

Overall

The car handles great, looks great, feels great and makes the driving experience so much better.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

February 23 2007

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

It looks good thats about it for me

Cons

Problems, problems problems, going on 3 weeks in the shop, o2 sensors, oil leaking from valve covers & oil pan, mass air flow sensors, not to mention the front grill both sides came out at the same time!! this happend 2 days after the rear window regulator went out-yes this all happened with in 3 weeks. It just reached 66K miles! When it rains it pours!. this car has been nothing but a money pit for me-I will NEVER OWN ANOTHER BMW AGAIN-i see why rich people own them b/c the can afford the repairs!! Buyer beware! Honda here I come.

Overall

unless you have extra money to repair the car, keep looking for something else.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

2001 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 29 2007

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Best car I have ever owned. It handles great even in the winter with just all season tires. Love the sound & performance of the engine.

Cons

It's a little pricey to repair, but some things are just worth it. Also this car seems to bring out the race car driver in me, but so far no speeding tickets.

Overall

I would not hesitate to purchase another one or recomend others to do the same. I would recomend that you find a good reliable mechanic that know these cars and stay away from the dealerships as they charge over $100. an hour, plus the parts are expensive.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

BMW 3-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph