FastCarsWiki.com

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

May 2 2014

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

evrything inside and out - bought it used .. its in a amazing shape . 138000 miles runs great - 5 speed manual shifts so nice and smooth . engine runs and idles so quietly - its unbelievable !!

Cons

can't think of anything i dislike .

Overall

they don't built it like this anymore. this 97 328 i is awesome.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 24 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

solid and very reliable,,,

Cons

nothing

Overall

outstanding.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 12 2013

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Very nippy and Germany engineering can't beat it

Cons

The cup holder's lol

Overall

Excellent car to have

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

December 30 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

My 328is is almost 16 years old and people still come up to me and ask if I'm willing to sell it. Enough said

Cons

none

Overall

A wonderful car and model year to own. A very lean looking car. A BMW before the "Honda" effect took over the styling.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

September 12 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Just before I had this guy, I had a 2002 745iL. Let me tell you, I'll take the 318i over ANYTHING!!!

Cons

Window lifting motor is to powerful for this light window, therefore the regulator breaks easily. Gives a bit of a head ache.

Overall

You Got to try it to know what I'm talking about. "THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE" was born when the E36 was born!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

September 10 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Even after 15 years, this car looks awesome (esp with the top down - I have a black on black m package) and drives really well. The gearbox, the handling, the driving position, everything is so nice about this car and boy does it go at high speeds - the engine just keeps pulling. Driving most brand new cars is just plain boring after you get a taste of this baby. Pure driving pleasure!

Cons

It is more expensive to maintain than most other cars that you can get in the price range, not because its overly problematic, but because its a BMW. I wish I didn't have to pay so much for repairs/maintenance for a car that's 15 years old and won't sell for a lot. But then that's the price you have to pay for the joy it gives you.

Overall

Timeless...

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

July 28 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Styling, acceleration, handling (sports package & 5-speed), strong engine, overall quality

Cons

poor quality stock radio, dashboard LED issues, brake light circuit display comes on too much, expensive to maintain (original catalytic converter failed)

Overall

OVERALL, AWESOME SPORTS CAR with 4 DOORS!- I have owned this car for 8 years and still love it. It drives wonderfully and is still compact for city (San Francisco) life and great for the freeways. I keep it in great shape (a must) and fix it whenever there is a problem. Use synthetic oil every 5,000 and get visual inspections from a pro..........If you like to drive in a spirited way, sports caresque, and also have the functionality of a 4 door sedan, then this car is for you. I have 5 speed manual, sports suspension and a few add ons for increased power and I cannot get myself to buy a newer car! You will need to upgrade your music system. Stock is of poor quality. Cup holder(s) are good for 1 person drinking a beverage, but you own this car because you like to drive and open it up when you can (where safe); and let it grip and glide around corners of mountain roads. The car is an absolute pig in the snow, so avoid snow wherever possible. Enjoy!

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

July 22 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This awesome car is pleasure to drive on any road. Can be great commuter car, has plenty of room in a back, spacious trunk with flat folding back seats and super comfortable driver/passenger seats. The handling is 10 out of 10, responsive steering, cool acceleration (60-less then 7), great balanced BMW suspension and 5-speed gearbox capabilities won’t ever let you down. Nice sporty looking and reliable car which gives incredible MPG (up to 30 on highway).

Cons

hard gas pedal, tight steering

Overall

Worth its money.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

July 3 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Economical (25 mpg in town, up to 36 on the road if I don't lead-foot it). Got 40mpg on a daylong country drive. Perfect city car, easy to park even in San Francisco where it fits between the driveways. Cavernous hatchback -- I've used it to move furniture and give rides to two large happy dogs. Can cruise at 100 all day., plenty of torque. Nice big sunroof. Decent factory sound system. High enough clearance that it will not scrape pavement on driveways. Goes up dirt roads quite well without bottoming out. Parts are not very expensive; the 318ti was the simplest car BMW ever imported so indie shops will work on it and there are plenty of aftermarket parts. Looks great when cleaned up.

Cons

It's a sporty car, not a living room sofa so the ride's a little harsh and the seats could be a bit softer, which doesn't matter in town.. BMW economized on sound insulation in the doors. Does require a little downshifting in the high Sierra. Tinny window regulators bend and go out periodically. Getting into the back seat is for agile, skinny people only. Once in there, two can sit fairly comfortably. Horn could be louder. Theft alarm has gone off randomly in cold and damp, so I disconnect it in winter.

Overall

The car has served me amazingly well for the past seven years and 70,000 miles. I replaced my 750il with this 318ti and still think I got the better car.. Aside from normal maintenance, the largest piece to go was the transmission, which lost the synchros to 4th gear. I replaced it with a junkyard transmission for $1200 including labor and new clutch. Driver door window regulator has failed twice. I had the radio rebuilt and recently had some cosmetic bodywork done and the headliner replaced. The 4-cylinder engine is bullet-proof, designed for 89 octane.I used to change cars every couple of years, but can't find a reason to replace this one. Just took a 1,000 mile road trip through back country, desert and mountains, and it ran just fine. Mountain passes required a little downshifting, but cruise control handled the freeway well. Too bad they stopped importing these cars and brought in the Mini instead.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

June 21 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

I really enjoyed how the car handled and how much fun it was to have as my first manual tranny car. I really regret trading it in. I wish I would've kept it along with my 06 325i that I have now.

Cons

Not much, just the price of parts and labor. Had to replace the water pump one time and also the clutch.

Overall

I would really recommend this car to anyone, and to hold on to it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

April 17 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This lovely is a 1997 318ic it never quits nor complains.just return the love back and she Will take care of you.parts are some what cheap and some are must buy it.

Cons

The back seatbelts are not made for husky bodies.

Overall

It's a good car and with some love and care you will last for ever.do not give up.she needs you to drive her.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

March 6 2012

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

performanc and handeling...for a 15 year old car it still has modern technology...have gotten it to 140mph without a sweat..love it!!!

Cons

seatbelts are far back and cupholders cant hold anything...dont like the plastic rear window, wish it could be glass

Overall

excellent car...give it tender love and care and will last forever...the e36 body is so sharp....if i took off the 318i logo it would look like a M3...totally recommend one to all bimmer fans

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 13 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

The appearance is eye catching even after 14yrs. and the economical value. (21MPG city)

Cons

No tilt wheel and had to purchase a center arm rest.

Overall

The acceleration and styling is outstanding(Mine is triple black) the seats are vinyl but look better than leather at this age. The mileage piles up but the car maintains its mechanical and styling excellence.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 3 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Overall

nice car great handling and still turns heads everyday be sure to get a sunroof

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

August 1 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

This car rides great is very snappy performance-wise and quite reliable. Parts are cheap...if you know where to look. The car's engine compartment opens up nicely for moderate repairs, so don't be afraid. Standard tools (Metric & SAE) can be used for alot of the work. Good wax, good weather and a garage has made all the difference.

Cons

Stock radio was not very good. An aftermarket Sony did the trick. Cup Holders are downright crazy. Power Door Lock acuators (just a bad design)

Overall

Well, I bought this car new and did the standard maintenance over the years; this car has been very reliable and fun. In 2009, she almost didn't pass smog and was due for some serious parts replacement based upon my Inspection II summaries and research. 2009 - Environmental Control Module failed (A gaint cloud of fog shot into the interior; fun, but costly) : BMW Replacement $550 ...this made me realize I had to do some of this work myself. 2010 - Window Regulator & Motor (Drivers Side) broke: BMW Replacement $600 ...I wouldn't be a seasoned horseman if I didn't get thrown off for a second time. 2011- Mission Repair the Car by myself!!! After 57 new parts, 13 new tools, and $2056.00, I have brought my 1997 318I back to great shape. 2011 Smog Inspection Passed w/1997 like numbers - Runs and Rides like a new car. Priceless! Don't give up on the 318I if you have the facility, faculty and fortitude to do the repairs.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

April 17 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Great car for 14 years.

Cons

Falling Apart.

Overall

It has been the best car for 13 years. But, now it is falling apart, piece by piece. First it overheated and then the radiator broke and now it sounds like a horse flapping their lips when it starts. I loved our 14 years together, but the end is here.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

January 25 2011

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Acceleration, handling, looks, this car has it all! I bought mine only 4 months ago and I have fallen in love with it.

Cons

Maintenance cost, if you are buying a bmw this old you better be mechanically inclined, or you will find that labor is very expensive

Overall

A great car for the money, I bought mine for $500 from someone that had given up on it because of maintenance costs, but I dropped 2000 in parts and accesories and have done almost all the work myself including a new clutch, new brake rotors, new front seats, new headliner, new AC unit, new fog lights and corner lights, o2 sensor, tie rod ends, brake light circuit. For my $2500 I have an awesome looking beemer that still turns heads! This cars are very simple to work on (except the clutch, that I paid for someone to do it), dont be afraid to do it yourself, this car will reward you with a smile everytime you drive it.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

October 15 2010

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Bought the car new in 1997. I have had over 50 cars and this is the best by far. The 4 banger is amazingly responsive and I have pushed to 130 with no moans and groans. No major problems.

Cons

If there is a con, it is the cost of maintenance. But, if you can afford to buy the car, you should never complain about the cost to maintain it.

Overall

Great car!. The recommended fuel is 97 octane but it will use 87 without a complaint. Responsive, feels eager to get out and run. Passing acceleration is fantastic for a 4cyl auto.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

September 28 2008

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Ultimate driving machine is a strong claim that I used to dismiss as way too grandiose, but... This lil' car feels as solid as my 02 RL, handles better than my 04 TL and at just 189 horses accelerates like a 240 hp car. It begs to be driven fast, seemingly becoming more steady the faster it goes. It has convenience features not found in most other cars including Acura, Infinity and Lexus until up to a decade later. With the top down, I feel somewhat like a star on sunny days. Engine is strong and solid even at over 100 thousand miles, no oil leaks, smells, squeaks or roughness.

Cons

Can be expensive to repair, cats cost over 3k to replace at dealer, brake switch was over $100. Some electrical mysteries arise such as the alarm-set responding as it wants, the left turn signal working sporadically. My roof sticks a bit when opening. Seats could be more cushioned. Hydraulic clutch prevents reckless burnouts and strong take offs.

Overall

At $6,000 it was a great deal for me, worth all repair costs so far. Be sure that the check engine light is not hiding some major issues when the seller finds a way to turn it off. Real fun on a sunny day and still has what it takes to hang with some of these 4 bangers fast and furious types.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

1997 BMW 3-Series review

Date

July 14 2008

Model

BMW 3-Series

Pros

Gas mileage, comfortable to drive long distances; She's pretty spunky!

Cons

Needs cupholders for the back seat. Tres expensive to repair.

Overall

Would definitely buy another Bimmer in the future.

Tags

0-60, zero to 60, 0-100, zero to 100, power to weight ratio, specification, review

BMW 3-Series 0-60 mph Times

Tags: Zero to Sixty, Zero to 60 times, 0-60 times, Quarter mile times, 0-100 times, 0-100 kph